Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Group Training Sessions - Where & When

• Registered Users Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Date: Tuesday, 27 November
    Time: 7pm
    Location: Meeting at Taylor's Three Rock pub carpark, running across to Kilmashogue Lane, up through Kilmashogue Woods to Three Rock and maybe some of the trails.
    Distance: 10-20km
    Pace: Whatever, no pressure at all smile.png
    Terrain: Mostly fireroad, and maybe trail if visibility is good with the headtorches

Micilín Muc
    Belcarra

This run went very well last night. Four of us met up and we're hoping to grow the group.

We're looking at organising 2 sessions a week, probably Tuesday and Thursday evenings. Please see the main thread for these runs, Night-time Trail Running in Dublin Mountains.

If you're thinking about coming along, put your name down and try not to think about it, and before long you'll be at the summit of Three Rock Mountain looking down at the lights of Dublin.

Headtorches are essential for the trails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Anyone around for about 15 miles in the Phoenix Park on Sunday?

I am pretty flexible on time and pace.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,686 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Maybe - depends on family stuff on Saturday. Will text you maybe?

Cool, the later the better. I can meet you wherever if you prefer a run outside the park.

Saturday 8th Dec
    Time : Very flexible, but say 10am
    Distance : Circa 15 miles anyone?
    Venue : Also flexible, Phoenix Park? Clontarf kinda area? Somewhere new in Dublin?

I'm doing the aware race in the park (starts at 10.30) if you want I can join you after 11 for 6-7 miles?

I was supposed to do that too, but I have a few aches and pains from not keeping up with my stretches and core work, so speed work right now is a road back to my physio :)

Maybe I will do the 10k at marathon pace for a bit of a tester without going mad, and finish 10 mins behind you [or whatever] and we can do a few afterwards?

Would that work for you?

I was supposed to do that too, but I have a few aches and pains from not keeping up with my stretches and core work, so speed work right now is a road back to my physio :)

Maybe I will do the 10k at marathon pace for a bit of a tester without going mad, and finish 10 mins behind you [or whatever] and we can do a few afterwards?

Would that work for you?

Yep, that suits me. With a 2-3 mile warmup about 6-7 miles after the race will be plenty...

Funeral to go to in the morning Im afraid - so running tomorrow at all is off agenda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭rasher_m

Sunday: 16th of December
    Venue:
    Phoenix Park, Papal Cross car park
    Time: 11 am
    Distance: 10 - 13 mile run
    Pace: 10 - 10.30 min pace

Rasher_m
    FiFi

Saturday 29th Dec
    Venue: Phoenix Park, Papal Cross car park
    Time: 11 am
    Distance: 10 - 13 mile run
    Pace: Flexible

Vagga

Saturday 5th Jan
    Venue: Clontarf - Meet Free Car park on Clontarf Rd near dart station (not the dart staion car park)
    Time: 11 am [or so]
    Distance: 16 mile run [or so] - out and back, in direction of howth/sutton
    Pace: Circa 9 Min Miles

Vagga

• Registered Users Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Saturday 5th Jan
    Venue: Clontarf - Meet Free Car park on Clontarf Rd near dart station (not the dart staion car park)
    Time: 11 am [or so]
    Distance: 16 mile run [or so] - out and back, in direction of howth/sutton
    Pace: Circa 9 Min Miles

Vagga

Could you hang on til 12 ? Crusaders kids training is on til 11.30.

Only seeing now sorry - don't think I can, day quite tight tomorrow :(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭PaulieC

No worries. I'll meet you on your way back :-)

I was delayed leaving this morning due to some last minute stuff, so did not get out until 1pm in the end :(

Sunday 13th Jan
    Meet: - In front of Sandycove/Glasthule Dart Station http://goo.gl/maps/WSH7P
    Time: 1pm
    Distance: 20 mile run out and back to Bray
    Pace: Flexible, probably 8- 9 Min Miles

Meno
    Marthastew
    Mr Stew (maybe)

Anybody else interested in this one?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭Emer911

menoscemo wrote: »
    Sunday 13th Jan

Meno
    Marthastew
    Mr Stew (maybe)

Anybody else interested in this one?

I'd love to do this one-way with ye, but I'm afraid my pace is WAY slower at the moment and there's no way I'd be keeping up :o
    But if anyone wants to do this at 9:30 - 10:00 min miles I'd be happy to tag along :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Emer911 wrote: »
    I'd love to do this one-way with ye, but I'm afraid my pace is WAY slower at the moment and there's no way I'd be keeping up :o
    But if anyone wants to do this at 9:30 - 10:00 min miles I'd be happy to tag along :)

Why don't you join us anyway Emer? we can keep the pace slower till we get to your neck of the woods and then pick it up on the way back.

For anyone else thinking of joining us, it's a really great route;great scenery and plenty of hills (especially good for Connemara-bound boardsies). We basically run along the dart line so there is plenty of scope for a shorter run. There is free parking in the carpark beside the dart for anyone driving

Sunday 13th Jan

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭beeduybe

Saturday 9th February
    Venue : Phoenix Park, Papal Cross car park
    Time : 9am
    Distance: 14-16 miles
    Pace: 8.15-9 min miles

beeduybe

Any interest in a Saturday morning run around the park?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

I might join for 7-8 miles - the ickle one is running in Santry later on.

Have you got a time travel machine? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭blockic

beeduybe wrote: »

Leave it wih me, I'm interested but can't commit yet. I have to do 21 and there is no way I'm doing all them on my own! I'd be venturing towards 8:15 more than 9min/miles though if thats ok? :)

menoscemo wrote: »
    Have you got a time travel machine? :)
    ahh Jaysus - where's the delete button. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭beeduybe

Cheers for the offer lads but ye missed a great run around a wet Phoenix Park LAST Saturday :) Have a few things on so don't think I'll be able to commit to a day and time this weekend though.

beeduybe wrote: »
    Saturday 9th February
    Distance: 14-16 miles
    Pace: 8.15-9 min miles

beeduybe

:rolleyes::o...Might have been handy If i looked at the date! I blame RK for setting me off!

Saturday 16th February
    Distance: 21 miles (or part thereof)
    Pace: 7.45-8:30 min miles

blockic

I know the Donadea 50k is on, but if anyone else is up for an LSR let me know! Time, Venue and Pace are flexible enough.

As above - I can do 7-8 miles - unless you want to start at 8:30 :-)

Will take you up on that offer! 9am will be the earliest I can do though as I'll be going up the the big smoke that morning! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

Shame, if it were this coming Sunday at the same time I'd join in, but can't do Saturday. I'll be hitting the park on Sunday around 9am.