Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Chillout Zone (Off-Topic Thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭homerhop

Spent the day up at Shanes Castle, great to see dog agility, mushing and retreiver trials all at the one show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,964 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

Myself, the 2 oldest girls (age 6 & 4) and the dog went to an agricultural show yesterday, the 2 girls each entered a class in the dog show. The older girl went first and they didn't place, the younger one told her it was ok because she still got a rosette and if she won any money on her turn she would half it with her, of course she won the terrier class and came out with a big red rosette grinning from ear to ear and announced that she had changed her mind about sharing the money but just forgot to tell her before hand . . . . world war 3 ensued and we all had to go home without waiting for the final :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

homerhop wrote: »
    Spent the day up at Shanes Castle, great to see dog agility, mushing and retreiver trials all at the one show.

I was there yesterday, with the Tails 'n' Trails crew, had a good day.

belongtojazz, sorry, should have multiquoted. Take care of that wound, do exactly what your doctor tells you, it is frightening how quickly a bite like that can become badly infected. If it goes red, and that starts spreading, get medical treatment immediately. I hope the experience doesn't change Jazz completely, maybe she's just feeling a bit cranky:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭belongtojazz

ISDW wrote: »
    I was there yesterday, with the Tails 'n' Trails crew, had a good day.

belongtojazz, sorry, should have multiquoted. Take care of that wound, do exactly what your doctor tells you, it is frightening how quickly a bite like that can become badly infected. If it goes red, and that starts spreading, get medical treatment immediately. I hope the experience doesn't change Jazz completely, maybe she's just feeling a bit cranky:(

All seems to be on the mend here thanks.... wound is no longer yeuchy green colour and seems to finally have started healing and Jazz is getting back to herself.
    She's still a bit short tempered with our other dogs but doesn't seem bothered when she sees new dogs. So am working on improving relations at home :o

Might start a thread to get advice on how to stop her taking every growl as an invitation to get stuck in... she's a bit highly strung our Jazz :o

:mad: Ok this is getting fecking ridiculous now!!! I was just out at my car to close the windows and Jazz was with me. My neighbour walked up with her golden lab who launched herself at Jazz and shook her like a rag doll. I had to pull the lab off her.
    I really believe the lab would have killed Jazz as there was no way she was letting go.

My neighbour has promised to get a muzzle for her lab as this is not the first time she's done this and I've asked her to get someone in to work with her, they have another dog, a gogeous pup about 6 months old and they need to do something before he ends up like the older dog.

This is getting beyond a joke now, I am so upset I just want to cry.
    Poor Jazz was shaking and yelping when I picked her and while not seriously injured is clearly in some pain.
    I'm going to see how she goes overnight but if she's still in pain tomorrow she's going to the vet and my neighbour will be getting the bill :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭ppink

GOd BtoJ where in the world do you live??? With a load of muppets around you by the sounds of it!
    Poor Jazz and poor you. It is easier to be attached yourself that to watch your little dog being attacked:(.

i hope you are both ok today and defo give that neighbour the bill!:(

ppink wrote: »
    GOd BtoJ where in the world do you live??? With a load of muppets around you by the sounds of it!
    Poor Jazz and poor you. It is easier to be attached yourself that to watch your little dog being attacked:(.

i hope you are both ok today and defo give that neighbour the bill!:(

You'd think it was a dog fighting den we live in rather than a supposedly nice established residential area the way we've been going recently :mad:

Poor Jazz is still feeling very sorry for herself and we can't touch her thigh as it clearly hurts her judging from the yelps. She's happy enough to go for a walk but it is a walk rather than her usual tearing around.
    I'm going to go along to training tonight but really only so she can socialise as I don't think she'll be up to jumping but I can't risk letting her socialise around here for now and I need to rebuild her confidence.

My poor baby :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Ah jesus poor Jazz. Have you spoken to the neighbour since? It's a shame; such an incident can have such a knock on effect, and the other dogs owner could well be thinking that it's fine because she's physically ok.

How is she now? and how did training go?

We were at training yesterday, there is a westie there who seems very nervous about other dogs and was training in a little hidden away area, I don't know if she'd attack or just get very scared as I was across the room. Anyway we were walking past her area and Harley started growling lightly under the door :eek: I've never heard him at crap like that before. Westie could well have been growling at him but still, not right.

There was a very vocal dog or 2 at the class, all pretty young. All with high pitched barks. One started, then another, next this Harley let a big deep "mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm rouffff" It echoed off the walls, it startled everyone and I was terribly embarrassed. He was just joining in but he sounds very different.

We did have a lovely morning though, off walking at the lakes. The weather was fab and Phoe had his first proper swim. I've gotten a new camera and having a great time trying it out. 400 pics yesterday :o.

Today we're being lazy and relaxing out the back with some food and drink (ignoring the really long grass). Our walk will have to wait until tonight when it cools a bit. It's really feeling like summer isn't it.

Whispered wrote: »
    Ah jesus poor Jazz. Have you spoken to the neighbour since? It's a shame; such an incident can have such a knock on effect, and the other dogs owner could well be thinking that it's fine because she's physically ok.

How is she now? and how did training go?

We were at training yesterday, there is a westie there who seems very nervous about other dogs and was training in a little hidden away area, I don't know if she'd attack or just get very scared as I was across the room. Anyway we were walking past her area and Harley started growling lightly under the door :eek: I've never heard him at crap like that before. Westie could well have been growling at him but still, not right.

There was a very vocal dog or 2 at the class, all pretty young. All with high pitched barks. One started, then another, next this Harley let a big deep "mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm rouffff" It echoed off the walls, it startled everyone and I was terribly embarrassed. He was just joining in but he sounds very different.

We did have a lovely morning though, off walking at the lakes. The weather was fab and Phoe had his first proper swim. I've gotten a new camera and having a great time trying it out. 400 pics yesterday :o.

Today we're being lazy and relaxing out the back with some food and drink (ignoring the really long grass). Our walk will have to wait until tonight when it cools a bit. It's really feeling like summer isn't it.

Hhhmmm not sure how she is to be honest:confused: physically she seems to be ok, still tender but back to running around, otherwise though she is a nightmare :( her recall is gone completely out the window it is like having a pup again, she looks at me when I call her and then runs the other way:o I have put a huge effort into training her and it would appear I'm back to square 1. I may be antomorphing (no idea how to spell it) but maybe she's blaming me for not protecting her and then for hurting her further by picking her up when she was injured? either way back to the long lead and lots of field time :eek: She seems ok with other dogs but a lot more submissive than she used to be but I think with time and lots of interaction (and no more attacks) that will resolve itself.

I've spoken to my neighbour since and was not impressed to say the least. I told her Jazz had been quite badly hurt and that I had had to bring her to the vet for pain relief and her response was almost dismissive. Didn't even attempt to offer to pay.... that really annoyed me, when my springer got into someones binbags I cleaned up replaced the bags with extras and bought chocs as an apology, this womans dog tried to kill mine and I get shrugged shoulders and an " i'm glad she's ok" aaaarrrrggggh.

Ok rant over:D

On another note as Jazz was not up to her agility class yesterday I decided to see how the big bad Boe fancied it, bearing in mind this guy is nearly 9 I wasn't expecting brilliant things from him but he actually did quite while. A couple of his neurosis came to the fore... he wouldn't go over a jump if it meant landing in grass and he was straight up to the gate at every chance, but the only time he barked was when one of the other dogs, a gorgeous GS/Rottie cross thought he looked like a girl and tried to hump him... a collie tried as well may be time to get his hair cut again :D

How is Harley getting on with his training? I used to get embarrassed by my pair occasionally but gave up on that in the end as I reckon I was going to be tomato red for the rest of my life if I didn't just accept that my dogs are just plain bonkers lol:p

How is Jazz doing now? Have you seen or spoken to the neighbour since?

On another note as Jazz was not up to her agility class yesterday I decided to see how the big bad Boe fancied it, bearing in mind this guy is nearly 9 I wasn't expecting brilliant things from him but he actually did quite while. A couple of his neurosis came to the fore... he wouldn't go over a jump if it meant landing in grass and he was straight up to the gate at every chance, but the only time he barked was when one of the other dogs, a gorgeous GS/Rottie cross thought he looked like a girl and tried to hump him... a collie tried as well may be time to get his hair cut again :D

How is Harley getting on with his training? I used to get embarrassed by my pair occasionally but gave up on that in the end as I reckon I was going to be tomato red for the rest of my life if I didn't just accept that my dogs are just plain bonkers lol:p

I'm surprised you brought another dog. That's a great idea. Is it easy to get them doing? I think Harley would be great at it. He has so much energy and is very happy to please, interested in new things etc. I might give it a try once we've finished the basic obedience.

Obedience is ok, last one now tomorrow. I'm finding it so hard to find proper time for practise at home though. Working 4 nights a week so I'm shattered during the day. My oh exercises them mainly, and he's all gung ho - they swam for 20 mins, chased the ball, had a great run with Jake and Molly etc etc but no proper lead walk. :rolleyes:

He already has very good obedience (at home). He knows all of the usual sit stay etc. Our issue is really that of keeping his attention when he's out. So his recall and lead walking is perfect in the centre, because he sees that this is training time and he's having fun. But as soon as it comes to being out and about, he'll be good until something interesting happens then he pulls or doesn't come back immediately. We did get some great lead walking tips though, and saw that he actually does know what is expected from him, he's just learned that he doesn't have to do it. Also some tips on how to teach him to greet guests with a bit of respect instead of him diving around. So I guess we need the training not Harley. :o

We're planning a camping trip this saturday, and hope to have some good news on an animally matter of which I will say no more until definate ;) , so all in all looking forward to the weekend. I think the weather is to improve too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭dammitjanet

I know this might be more suited to the bargain alert forum but I figured it would apply to more people in here- I just saw that pigsback.ie are doing a voucher for €10 off when you spent €20 in petstop. Thought it might be of use to some boardsies in here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

So I decided to bring a ball walkies today, see if we could manage a game of fetch.
    I threw the ball and off the two dogs went racing after it, both dived for it....nudged it, looked back and ran off. Repeat x20.
    I have had dogs all my life and have never known one that didn't play fetch...now I have two dogs, neither fetch.:confused:

So I have one dog that can't swim, but appears to love rock climbing:rolleyes:, one that like to save me from salad (she will slowly and noisily torture and kill any lettuce she can find, only lettuce, no other plants), and neither will fetch.
    I also have a cat that thinks he's a dog and comes walkies, no wonder my neighbours think i'm nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

mymo wrote: »

I also have a cat that thinks he's a dog and comes walkies, no wonder my neighbours think i'm nuts.

I had a cat like that, she was 'semi-feral' but often used to come on the 4 mile walk round the bog with me and the dog, I just used to shake my head and think 'if anyone sees me...'

If anyone is thinking they might someday have a go at building their own A-frame . . . seriously, it isn't worth it! I'm not even half way through, my brain is fried and it's going to be complete rubbish when it's finished :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,918 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

If anyone is thinking they might someday have a go at building their own A-frame . . . seriously, it isn't worth it! I'm not even half way through, my brain is fried and it's going to be complete rubbish when it's finished :rolleyes:

An A frame what ? A house, a shed ?

Yes, I'm building a house over the bank holiday weekend :p

I suppose you do what you can to survive up in the wilds of Donegal :p

Now I have an image of AdrenalinJunkie on a remote mountainside, trying to build a shelter with a pen knife and her bare hands (Ray Mears style), surrounded by poor hungry wet doggies looking sad and bedraggled:p

No such luck! Some idiot robbed my good pen-knife so all I have is a couple of sharp stones :(

I'm sure you've been taught all the skills you need to use them effectively.

Hows the A frame coming along? Are you making any other agility equipment?

An agility A frame - any decent handyman would make one in a couple of hours :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

Was wrecked after work so went for a little nap when I came home. Overslept a little (by over 4 hours :o) and was awoken by a cat using her paw to move all my hair out of the way before sticking her paw in my ear. This is her new trick for waking me up, it works! :D

Unfortunately there aren't too many decent handymen around here so I'm stuck doing it myself :p.

It started off much bigger but then I chopped it because in my mission to make it as cheap and lightweight as possible it ended up a flimsy mess that was never going to stand up on it's own. I've left it half made as it was making me mad :mad:.

I made a tyre jump and weave poles instead, tomorrows mission - seesaw, that'll be fun, especially as I'm making it up as I go along! :p

Unfortunately there aren't too many decent handymen around here so I'm stuck doing it myself :p.

Nah they are just too scared to go anywhere near your place - might never be seen again :eek:

I would take a look at your local dump. An old aluminium step ladder makes an ideal foundation for an A frame - just bolt on some wooden slats. Then it's easy to transport & fold away when you don't need it.

I would take a look at your local dump. An old aluminium step ladder makes an ideal foundation for an A frame - just bolt on some wooden slats. Then it's easy to transport & fold away when you don't need it.[/QUOTE]

Oooh, Discodog, your not just a pretty....username!

AJ, what did you use for the weave poles? I was thinking of using bamboo canes.

For jumps I had in mind to make 2 T shapes from some left over timber, join them at the base and use those cups for holding clothes rails to make height adjustable jumps, probably using bamboo canes again.
    Well when I say I, my 13 year old needs to learn some DIY skills, she wants to do agility with the dogs, she can make the equipment. Keep her busy over the summer:D

I wouldn't as they can have sharp edges & splinters. The plastic electric fence poles might be good as are cheap, tough & have a spike to go into hard ground.

Standard white plastic water pipe is idea for jumps & possibly for poles.

Fair play for putting all that together. I wouldn't even attempt it. I can imagine - swear words and hammers flying. I'd be an impatient disaster. :o

swear words and hammers flying. I'd be an impatient disaster. :o

Are you sure that Whispered was a good choice :D ?

Discodog wrote: »
    I wouldn't as they can have sharp edges & splinters. The plastic electric fence poles might be good as are cheap, tough & have a spike to go into hard ground.

Thanks, I actually have some water pipe hanging around somewhere, I'm sure I can rig up something simpler than my original plan.

Flexible pipe cut into approx 2' lengths and wrapped in insulating tape for asthetics, I got some round 'dowels' (if thats what you call them :confused:) to make poles for jumps and nailed 2 inch pieces to a straight piece of wood, the pipes then fit over them.

I got a load of this stuff, making bases for everything out of it, ran out of enough connectors to make my see-saw base so I have to go on a mission looking for more, at least it isn't a bank hol up north!
    Fair play for putting all that together. I wouldn't even attempt it. I can imagine - swear words and hammers flying. I'd be an impatient disaster. :o

Oh, but there are swear words and hammers flying everywhere! :rolleyes: My garden looks like a lumbar yard.

Are you sure that Whispered was a good choice :D ?

I was going for the ironic angle. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭lrushe

Tent poles are good also

We were coming back from our walk there and drove over a baby bird. It wasn't injured by the car, we were going slowly and it was tiny so we passed over without going near it.

We turned around and K picked it up and I put it deep into the ditch at the side of the road. It hopped off no bother.

So my question - isn't it very late for a baby bird unable to fly? I don't think it was injured as it stood on my hand and it hopped further into the ditch once I put it in a bit. It was tiny and downy so I'm almost sure it was a baby not a bedraggled adult.

And did I do the right thing putting it into the ditch? Or should I have just left it on the grass verge on the side of the road? There was an adult bird on the other side of the road watching proceedings so I'm hoping it will be able to help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭lrushe

We were coming back from our walk there and drove over a baby bird. It wasn't injured by the car, we were going slowly and it was tiny so we passed over without going near it.

We turned around and K picked it up and I put it deep into the ditch at the side of the road. It hopped off no bother.

So my question - isn't it very late for a baby bird unable to fly? I don't think it was injured as it stood on my hand and it hopped further into the ditch once I put it in a bit. It was tiny and downy so I'm almost sure it was a baby not a bedraggled adult.

And did I do the right thing putting it into the ditch? Or should I have just left it on the grass verge on the side of the road? There was an adult bird on the other side of the road watching proceedings so I'm hoping it will be able to help?

If there is a good enough food supply (and judging from the amount of flies around lately there seems to be) birds with often try to rear a second or third clutch of eggs, I would say the chick was from a late clutch.
    Putting it the hedge is fine, if there is a parent bird around it will call it out when the coast is clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

Left the house where I was renting a room today, been there 9 months and grew very close to the dogs! Missin them like mad I am :/ loved them to bits. They would peer under the blind when they heard the car coming :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Misticles wrote: »
    Left the house where I was renting a room today, been there 9 months and grew very close to the dogs! Missin them like mad I am :/ loved them to bits. They would peer under the blind when they heard the car coming :(
    Aww! Well now ya know you'll be ready to get a dog when ya get a gaff of your own ;) Its so so easy to get attached and ye dont even realise it happens until you have to leave them. 8 years of petsitting will do that to ya (says me who has gotten ridiculously attached to other peoples pets) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Not sure if there's a dedicated "Aaaawww" threads but here's a couple vids

• Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭antomagoo

Be warned API people, you are not safe. I popped into a shop about 15 minutes drive away from my home this evening, only to be accosted by someone working there, asking if I was ISDW!!! It was a fellow APIer, now I know what she looks like as well:eek::D

Nobodys safe! :D Apologies if I came across all stalker-ish, I'm just good with faces (it helps that the last time I served you you paid by card with your name on it :p). Actually bumped into you in the vets a while back also, was going to say hello but I got jumped on by a woman asking me was your dog a wolfhound and telling me all about her cat who was put down because of bowel cancer.

Happy to see your still alive anyways, either you got the dog out safely or he's still in there! :eek:

Enjoy your cornflakes! :p

Nooooooo, now one person knows your secret identity the world will*.....

I'm still in slight shock over a woman I spoke to in the dentist waiting room one day tried to add me as a friend on facebook :eek:

*May be a slight over reaction:D

I now have visions of you arriving at shops with a load of huskies in harnesses . . . how else would they know? :p
    I'm still in slight shock over a woman I spoke to in the dentist waiting room one day tried to add me as a friend on facebook

Ah, what you encountered there was a lady with a serious psychological condition . . . a face-book friend collector :rolleyes:

I now have visions of you arriving at shops with a load of huskies in harnesses . . . how else would they know? :p

Nope although that would have been quite interesting. I'm now giggling away to myself picturing a whole team of huskies plus sled pulling up to the petrol pumps, ohh I'm easily amused. :D

Oh thats brilliant AJ, mental picture is so funny. Does it help that one of my huskies is actually called Diesel?:P

Now that is very weird about the dentists and facebook, that would freak me out a bit I think. Being asked if I'm me by someone that I have chatted to on here and who seems to share a lot of the same views as me;) was absolutely fine. My memories hopeless though, so next time I see you I'll probably forget who you are. I also met another APIer today, at a husky club event, so its been a good day for meeting people.

I got the dog safely out of the van, gave her a good run in the field, and bless her, she was obviously just incredibly scared. She has been lovely since we got home, kept checking that she could see me in the field, and would come back to make sure I hadn't left her.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,052 ✭✭✭✭tk123

I'm still in slight shock over a woman I spoke to in the dentist waiting room one day tried to add me as a friend on facebook :eek:

Hmm I got a random FB request the other week and wondered if it was a boards person. I post here all the time and on dog training ireland's FB and would post pics of the madra..they made a reference to me by my boards user name on how I was accused of working there and I lol'd about it on the FB page then I got tne request! :P

Hello everyone btw :D

I know what she looks like as well:eek::D

Gosh the poor girl can't look that bad :D

Come on Zappy - get your own back !

Life moves on, but isn't it nice to know that some things never change. My favourite API poster is back being as condescending and ridiculous as ever. But its okay mods, cos apparently I'm on their 'ignore' list, so they'll never know I'm talking about them. But have to say, if it was me that was basically being accused of animal cruelty, there would be serious words being had. Ho hum

No forum issues allowed in this thread! For forum issues, problem posters and so on - PM a fourm mod of your choice or just report the offending posts ;)

Ah, what you encountered there was a lady with a serious psychological condition . . . a face-book friend collector :rolleyes:

I can go one better, we live in a small town so everyone knows me and my dogs, while in the next town over one day, dogs in tow, two teenage girls ran over squealing "OMG!!! Its Oliver!" Oliver is my dog, I didn't know these girls...so I asked how they knew him.
    They are fans of his facebook page (made by my daughter), and were friends of her school friend and spotted his page.
    They even commented he'd had a haircut since his profile pic!

Gosh the poor girl can't look that bad :D

Come on Zappy - get your own back !

Well I have attached my picture you can judge for yourself! :p