Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ah lads, this heat is taking the piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I know. Come on man, give me a bit of credit! I even used pac man... :D

Its the heat, you better hire a 4 door car as you already have one passenger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Quite cold and was fairly misty in Dublin when I was cycling home an hour or so ago,will have no bother sleeping anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭TheGoldenAges

This thread is why I love AH

• Registered Users Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Ruu wrote: »
    Downright muggy as Gerald Fleming would say, great word.
    Dylan Moran: "JAYSIS! TIS FIERCE MILD!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Whenever I can't sleep I just listen to Enya, never fails...

..to give me a raging boner and then I just watch 70's porn 'till i konk out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Nib wrote: »
    I'm this close to throwing the mattress out the window and sleeping in the garden.

Only got 2 hours sleep last night. Up at 7:30. :(

Anyone else finding it tough?

Suck it up baby. Will ye whist moaning. A few weeks time and you'll be talking about the rain/cold/Kim Kardashian's ar$e.
    This is why people fly away to the sun.

Whenever I can't sleep I just listen to Enya, never fails...

..to give me a raging boner and then I just watch 70's porn 'till i konk out.

Jasus, if Enya can do that to you think of the seismic movement that Ms Danielle O Donnell could cause.
    You need to see an analyst pdq

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

We are sleeping in the parents recently insulated converted garage. It is like a bunker, you cannot here a thing in here if you shut the door. My oh said he didn't sleep last night with the heat. I dunno, it is warm but it feels nice. I hate the cold though so maybe this is my perfect temperature. I have been to hot hot countries with unbearable heat. Even being naked with air con hasn't cooled me down. So this weather isnt bad at all tbf.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

WhatYaSay wrote: »
    Further proof that Irish people really aren't happy unless they have something to complain about.

In fairness, it's fierce humid tonight. Haven't sweat like this since my last time in confession.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭A Greedy Algorithm

This is the warmest night since records began.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

It's 19 degrees out. Room temperature is 21 degrees. Give over. Jaysus you'd be bollixed if ya were in Florida.
    Do people have the central heating on 24/7 or what that they cant tolerate the heat?
    pebbles21 wrote: »
    Have any ye been on holidays in Spain etc ???

Take off your fcking night dresses ye big pussies
    Knex. wrote: »
    You don't need air conditioning for 20 degrees. Christ on a bike.

Would you's ever give it a rest, we're not used to these temperatures and you know full well that that is why it's so uncomfortable for lots of us!

• Registered Users Posts: 24 Rogers830

I have a fan so im quite content

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

WhatYaSay wrote: »
    Further proof that Irish people really aren't happy unless they have something to complain about.

This overused argument is, always has been and always will be absolute nonsense. It's the same as making someone go outside with no clothes on, and they moan about that, and when you make them go out instead with ten jackets on, they moan about that too - and your responses is "You're never happy!!"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

whirlpool wrote: »
    Would you's ever give it a rest, we're not used to these temperatures and you know full well that that is why it's so uncomfortable for lots of us!

You'll get used to it - that's the beauty of the human body, we have the ability to adapt to different climates.

I actually turned my fan off tonight because it's only 15/16*C here. Last year was much worse, but I still welcomed the heat with open arms.

People need to insulate their houses more.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

People need to insulate their houses more.

I think they just need to get out more, I found it to be a bit chilly in the shade today and yesterday.

If your name is Kelvin, 187 .......... then it's a frosty -88C ;) Absolutely!

When they are stuck inside with central heating systems on full blast and watching 7 hours of soap a day the immune system goes to wreck. Fresh air and the outdoors is the key.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,653 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

My room is 24 degrees atm, working on my tan

When they are stuck inside with central heating systems on full blast and watching 7 hours of soap a day the immune system goes to wreck. Fresh air and the outdoors is the key.

Words of wisdom, old bean!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Spent the Summer in heatwave-ridden Chicago a couple of years back. Shared a bedroom on the 3rd floor with 3 others and no air conditioning - that was unbearable. Had to get plastered drunk and sleep with an ice pack every night to have any chance of sleeping. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

It's so muggy any kind of physical activity has me dripping in sweat, I only get out of the shower and I feel yucky again, it's horrible. I really dislike heat, I really dislike this, heavy, muggy crap. I love the Autumn and Winter, my favourite time of year by a long shot, I have never visited a hot country and have no plans to unless it is the cool period of the year, I cannot deal with this crap, it makes me grumpy and petulant. I get that to some people this is nothing and they don't think people should be complaining but I just hate it, the same way a lot of people hate the cold.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Lone Stone wrote: »
    I made love to an ice cube
    You stay away from my wife!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I'm just back from a 2 hour walk. Lovely out. Calm, dry, quiet and pleasantlu warm.
    I'm tired enough now that I could sleep in a furnace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

Nib wrote: »
    I'm this close to throwing the mattress out the window and sleeping in the garden.

Only got 2 hours sleep last night. Up at 7:30. :(

Anyone else finding it tough?

Considering it was 42 C here today and is currently 32C @ 11:47 pm ......yes.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Our air con was broken last week and the temp was 33 degrees in the bedroom. Now that's unbearable!

We had a blackout for two hours when I was going to bed yesterday(storms must have knocked out a power line) so I couldn't turn the air con on. 27°C and 90% humidity.

Ended up dragging the bed half way across the room in the dark so I can sleep right under the ceiling fan :o

• Registered Users Posts: 5 NightOwl88

I thought there was somethin magical in being able to dunk my soup roll in my pants..!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

It's the humidity that's the problem.

The humidity and the bollocks who insulated my house more than any house needs to be insulated.

If your house is well insulated it will stay cooler than the outside. Go into some of these old stone cottages with 18" walls - cool :cool:. The heat is coming from the sun not from inside. You're right about the humidity though. Our sort of tempretures are pretty piss poor compared to Spain and the Med.

Physics huh - who knew?:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

--LOS-- wrote: »
    Drinking water, it do nothing.

I sleep with the balcony door wide open and no duvet and still boiling :(

Now we all know and you just told The Syco :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

I find it hard to believe that anyone would prefer cold, rainy, miserable weather than what we have now. Y'know, it being summertime and all that.