Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

^ Stop reading after 'no' would be my advice here

• Registered Users Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Would like to say congrats to Castletownbere, fantastic win yesterday, their hard work paid off after years of heartache.

I know there were a few sore heads today :D

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Heard yesterday about the death of another young GAA player - many of ye would have heard about Dessie Fitzgerald from Charleville who was left paralysed following a freak accident during a game in Buttevant during the year - his younger brother James collapsed and sadly passed away on Saturday, a great young player by all accounts. Another young player taken - he was 16 years old and a student at Charleville CBS - that family have gone through so much this year already.

RIP James

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/sudden-death-of-teenage-hurler-is-latest-tragedy-to-befall-family-210859.html

• Registered Users Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Heard yesterday about the death of another young GAA player - many of ye would have heard about Dessie Fitzgerald from Charleville who was left paralysed following a freak accident during a game in Buttevant during the year - his younger brother James collapsed and sadly passed away on Saturday, a great young player by all accounts. Another young player taken - he was 16 years old and a student at Charleville CBS - that family have gone through so much this year already.

RIP James

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/sudden-death-of-teenage-hurler-is-latest-tragedy-to-befall-family-210859.html

RIP.

That town has had bad year in general with tragedy.

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

Have a few friends in Charleville, this is a tragic story for the Fitzgerald family. R.I.P

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,320 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Charleville has had an unbelievably tough time over the last year or so - so sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Tragic to see it happening. Heart goes out to his family

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭bookie basher

whats happened to rebel gaa lads???, cant get on to the site the last few days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

RIP James

oh no

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

whats happened to rebel gaa lads???, cant get on to the site the last few days

Dunno, was trying to get onto it as well, friend of mine has had trouble with it too

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

Tonight's results; County Under 21A hurling championship final Blackrock 4-16 Duhallow 2-10. County Senior football championship semi final Castlehaven 2-9 Carbery Rangers 0-9.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,320 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Kilmurray came back and got 2 late points to draw their final.

Brian Dillons also drew their final - a cracker apparently.

While in the big match of the day....Delaneys won the city J3FL final in Ballinlough against Ballinure this morning:D

• Registered Users Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Hope Kildorrery win the replay.

They been very unlucky in finals in recent years(mostly Football)

• Registered Users Posts: 39,438 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Was at the Dillons kildorrey game. Jesus Christ. I've taken tomorrow off and will need it.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,438 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Apparently the replay is Sunday November 4th.

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

Castlehaven v Duhallow in the County senior football final on Sunday. Even though I'm from the division I'll be rooting for the Haven. After the disgraceful carry on of the Duhallow board in 2010 to award Kanturk a place in the Junior football championship semi final instead of Rockchapel even though Kanturk had lost their 2nd round game in the championship just to accommodate Aidan Walsh was the biggest injustice ever and I vowed never to support the division again and that I stand by. UP CASTLEHAVEN.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

I wasn't at the game, but heard that 2 of the sending offs were soft. I don't think any of them will miss the semi final. They were all for 2 yellow cards I think.

Dragging up a slightly old topic because i feel i have a point that needs to be made. Three men sent off, all yellow card offences, all correct decisions. Fair play to the ref, colin lane as someone said, for applying the letter of the law and not giving fellas "last warnings and ticks". If its a yellow card and persistent fouling, off you go, how else are we to encourage proper tackling and eradicate cynical fouls if the ref allows teams to persistently foul. There's this thing whereby a referee feels under pressure not to send a fella off cause he might ruin the game, its not him that ruined it its the perpetrator of the foul. We've all seen the GAA matches (especially at club level) whereby the best player on the other team is targeted and not allowed into the game through constantly being fouled but the offending team spreads out the foulers so as not to get anyone sent off. The Carbery/Bishopstown game seems a great example of how a team was trying to kill the game dead but thankfully the referee did not allow this to happen. As it turns out Bishopstown did not take advantage of the ill-discipline but this is not the referees problem nor prerogative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Castlehaven vs Duhallow today, hope we can win this time around. As a supporter, It'd be gutting to loose 2 finals in a row. As a player, I could only imagine....... C'mon the HAVEN

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Aidan Walsh confirmed yesterday he's not playing hurling with Cork next yr.

A real loss. Fantastic option from puckouts alone and well able to take his score.

St. Vincents win a cracker.....12 v 11

• Registered Users Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭deisedude

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    A real loss. Fantastic option from puckouts alone and well able to take his score.

Was very impressed seeing him play for the U21's last year but saw him recently in the intermediate final against Kilworth and didn't think he looked intercounty material at all. You would be expecting more than a point from play at intermediate level from a player if they were a genuine intercounty hurling prospect

• Registered Users Posts: 5,030 ✭✭✭zetecescort

deisedude wrote: »
    Was very impressed seeing him play for the U21's last year but saw him recently in the intermediate final against Kilworth and didn't think he looked intercounty material at all. You would be expecting more than a point from play at intermediate level from a player if they were a genuine intercounty hurling prospect

walsh has been carrying an injury the last few weeks. fine hurler but dual never an option.
    2 club sides
    2 divisional sides
    2 Cork sides
    and he is now in college in Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭deisedude

walsh has been carrying an injury the last few weeks. fine hurler but dual never an option.
    2 club sides
    2 divisional sides
    2 Cork sides
    and he is now in college in Dublin

True, really in this day and age it seems nigh on impossible to do both given the level of commitment required. Cadogan being the exception to the rule

• Registered Users Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Well i think it's great that he's reaffirmed his full commitment to the football.The footballers are not far off winning a second all ireland.All they need is to revamp their tactics and gameplan.Maybe he might give the hurling a go once he's hopefully landed a second football all ireland medal.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Good win for Castlehaven today. Down to 14 but a late goal gave them the win.

deisedude wrote: »
    True, really in this day and age it seems nigh on impossible to do both given the level of commitment required. Cadogan being the exception to the rule

Cadogen has two less teams than Walsh because he doesn't play divisional hurling or football. Don't know about the footballers winning a second all Ireland, Counihan doesn't inspire me with confidence at all. If Eamonn Ryan had them, I'd be much more confident!

Sham, have you the Haven team??

• Registered Users Posts: 5,030 ✭✭✭zetecescort

watched it on tg4, looked a horrible game. not an advert for Cork football. Castlehavens experience told I think, better at taking their scores. Mark Collins was the best player today, got one great point near the corner into the Blackrock end.

Was that the full game or highlights?