Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gardai carrying Guns

15678911»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

Just go to a dictionary and look the word up.

I did. It doesn't mention killing. I see your still not listening, so in the interest of letting the thread get back on topic, I'll go have more productive conversation with a wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭Corcioch

Ha ha ha ha . . .What a thread!!!

I haven't logged in here is ages . . . .im bored stupid at the mo . .obviously.

Despite an absence I see its still the exact same folks in the exact same roles . .

The same people arguing a pro Police/ Garda stance, no matter what the debate/ allegation etc . ..and the same old heads putting the Gardaí down at every chance, occasion and on any and all issues. Its laughable.

Im a Garda ( could get sacked for typing that )

I have been face to face with well armed criminals (he had Handgun & 2 rifles, I had a wooden truncheon ). Attacked with a samurai sword/ Katana, hammer etc among other weapons

. .And I have had the displeasure of having a knife driven into part of my body . . .all in the course of my duty.

Would I like to carry a gun everyday . . . . .NO. No flippin interest. It wouldn't have stopped me being stabbed the way that fight went, and I wouldn't have wanted to, shoot the guy who had just stabbed me/ kept trying to stab me. There are other ways to deal with most things. I can do without that hassle that would follow shooting someone dead . .both mental and administrative/ legal

As for the specialist armed response units . . . .Pah. As a spontaneous incident response . .they are useless in most parts of the country.

You can keep your guns . . .Guns are for cowards imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

So if you are being stabbed you would prefer the offender not be shot?

I don't understand it but I respect your viewpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,505 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Corcioch wrote: »
    I have been face to face with well armed criminals (he had Handgun & 2 rifles, I had a wooden truncheon ).
    Ah Jebus, a perp with three arms! At least you had a free hand. :)

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭Corcioch

Esel wrote: »
    Ah Jebus, a perp with three arms! At least you had a free hand. :)

Ahhhh. The thread clown. I forgot to mention you in the post above. Smart, smug and glib nestled behind your laptop/ tablet etc etc. Legend . . .indeed. Worthwhile . . . . .not so much.

Why in the name of Jesus are serving members wasting their time coming onto threads here with the level of trolling?? I don't get ye lads and lassies. I haven't been here in a while, and I wont be back for along time . . .but its the exact same. If someone comments on each and every say Garda thread on the ES page, with a view to knocking you, AGS etc each and every time no matter what the topic, incident etc . .well folks that is a Troll. Place is riddled with them. Why would you bother. Life is far far far to short to have moments of your day populated by such bottom feeders as trolls.

Slán agus Beannacht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

wow:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭MEMBER12

Corcioch wrote: »
    Ha ha ha ha . . .What a thread!!!

I haven't logged in here is ages . . . .im bored stupid at the mo . .obviously.

Despite an absence I see its still the exact same folks in the exact same roles . .

The same people arguing a pro Police/ Garda stance, no matter what the debate/ allegation etc . ..and the same old heads putting the Gardaí down at every chance, occasion and on any and all issues. Its laughable.

Im a Garda ( could get sacked for typing that )

I have been face to face with well armed criminals (he had Handgun & 2 rifles, I had a wooden truncheon ). Attacked with a samurai sword/ Katana, hammer etc among other weapons

. .And I have had the displeasure of having a knife driven into part of my body . . .all in the course of my duty.

Would I like to carry a gun everyday . . . . .NO. No flippin interest. It wouldn't have stopped me being stabbed the way that fight went, and I wouldn't have wanted to, shoot the guy who had just stabbed me/ kept trying to stab me. There are other ways to deal with most things. I can do without that hassle that would follow shooting someone dead . .both mental and administrative/ legal

As for the specialist armed response units . . . .Pah. As a spontaneous incident response . .they are useless in most parts of the country.

You can keep your guns . . .Guns are for cowards imo.
    I respect your post but I disagree with you. It's time for Ireland to follow the rest of the world, bar England, Wales, Scotland and New Zealand.