Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dumb/Great Facebook Status {merge} [No Names]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Three words come to mind.

What is one, the is the second, answers on a postcard for the third.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

fussyonion wrote: »
    Jesus what is with girls who are pregnant telling everyone about every fcuking moment of their pregnancy?!

"Guna get me 1st scan 2day, cnt wait 2c if its a boy r girl"

Three hours later:

"De midwife sed little bean is an activ little ****e lol and anyway its a boy i am so ecxited now i can boot it down ta heatons and stock up on blue stuff no way am i goin to mothercare its way 2 dear"

That evening:

"went 2 heatons got loads luvly stuff jaysus im wreked and i cant even hav a blue wkd to cool down"

This morning:

"Had a great sleep wit the little bean all tucked up in me womb now for a day in town and munchies in kfc gota luv a family bucket wha"

Lord help us.

Please tell me you just made that one up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Please tell me you just made that one up!

I wish I had

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

I only drop in on this thread once a week but it always gives me a good laugh. Thanks to all the contributors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭pedro1234

my block list is after getting longer and longer :) now if I unfriend you dont take any heat too it :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

http://tinypic.com/r/2rrnoz8/8

Hahaha can't stop laughing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

She can spell "lesbian" but she can't spell "this".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

I know nobody will read my status but sometimes, when I'm bored, I get wrapped up in a sleeping bag and lather butter all over myself and slide around the kitchen floor pretending I'm a slug

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

^^
    Hey, I often do that too! The missus goes mad! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭indigo twist

Apparently that's another of those stupid breast cancer "awareness" status updates. Yeah, because reading that on someone's page makes me somehow more "aware" of the existence of breast cancer. :confused:

You know, for all the stupid cryptic meaningless "awareness" status updates I've seen on Facebook, I've seen very few posts that actually give information about breast cancer and the symptoms to look out for ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

I honestly couldn't understand anything in these 2 posts ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

the_monkey wrote: »
    I honestly couldn't understand anything in these 2 posts ...
    First: Someone rang asking about an apartment and was told it wasn't available. Her brother rang and was told it still was, so Kathleen got caught lying.

Second: Person is annoyed at someone who made a fake profile of them and posted loads of sh!te. Insulted the person by saying that his sister is a lesbian and threatened to put him in hospital.

http://tinypic.com/r/jkef61/8

Are people really so desperate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭dee_mc

http://tinypic.com/r/jkef61/8

Are people really so desperate?

I've had something similar to that, commenting on how gorgeous I look in my profile picture... most flattering, except my profile pic at the time was a Strawberry Shortcake cartoon!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Taylor365

dee_mc wrote: »
    I've had something similar to that, commenting on how gorgeous I look in my profile picture... most flattering, except my profile pic at the time was a Strawberry Shortcake cartoon!
    You looked absolutely delectable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Little Lion Woman

This appeared on my feed

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

woodchuck wrote: »

Seems to be a thing at the moment, I've noticed similar slug comments cropping up after youtube vids in the last week or so.

Presumably originated on reddit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

"I'm lying? Was it not you banging on my door this morning drunk looking for a change of clothes cos you wet your pants. If you believe in karma you know well its coming for you not me. Can't wait till you sober up and loose your big head."

This from a girl to her bf. They have a kid and live together. Cos all of their drama is totally our business :rolleyes: There was more from last night but they've been deleted, basically she is mad that he seems to be going out drinking a lot instead of staying home with her and a sick baby. (legit reasons of course, just dunno why it's being made public). They're usually one of those couples that takes pictures of their dinner thanking each other for another lovely meal, talking about how lucky they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭pedro1234

rawn wrote: »
    "I'm lying? Was it not you banging on my door this morning drunk looking for a change of clothes cos you wet your pants. If you believe in karma you know well its coming for you not me. Can't wait till you sober up and loose your big head."

This from a girl to her bf. They have a kid and live together. Cos all of their drama is totally our business :rolleyes: There was more from last night but they've been deleted, basically she is mad that he seems to be going out drinking a lot instead of staying home with her and a sick baby. (legit reasons of course, just dunno why it's being made public). They're usually one of those couples that takes pictures of their dinner thanking each other for another lovely meal, talking about how lucky they are.

Yes you do...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,537 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

"Bought two adidas pantses for 80euro!its madness. There's a muscle top for 50euro.the prices in champion are too high in fairness. Id a a good mind to take the cocky security guard with a bop and blow him into the shoes if he didnt stop looking at me. And just take the ****ing muscletop haha ugly pimply pumped fool"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

On the page of the retail shop he owns... Way to scare off your customers!

Hello there,

I would just like to begin by thanking all the people out there who have been supportive over the last few weeks.

I have received many kind messages and trust me I did not set out to make some of you cry,I'm not like that.

But I do get carried away.

I shoot from the hip and since the first day I went to school I was the one.

I think I got most of my education from outside in the hallway looking through a small pain of glass at the rest of my class mates.

Maybe that helped me focus on the real things.

Questioning authority for me is an instinct.

People think that I am an arrogant smart arse but they really do not know me.

I am ultra confident and I admit I have a high opinion of my self.

But this comes through years and years of slaving to my passions.

And this whirlpool that is my life is the result.

I broke my fathers heart from the day I was born until the very day that he died.

Now I know some of you can relate to this but hold on a minute here.

I broke my fathers heart.

I remember to this day as if it was yesterday the day he grabbed me by the scruff and drove me to the police station in Rathcoole county Dublin.

A seven year old child.

A little bastard yes but this?

No.

As he drove away my world imploded.

I remember the warnings and his frustration clearly.

This was building up for days, till one day I said to him ‘do it see if I care!’

Ten minutes later I was alone in the freezing cold outside the gates of a very ominous looking building.

I can feel it now as I write this.

The numbing terror.

He had warned me.

How was he to know that he was creating a monster.

Under it all, he was like me and I was like him.

After all blood runs true.

I was my fathers son.

I remember the day my parents were having a family get together.

Aunties,uncles the works.

My parents owned at the time the local public house called The Blue Gardenia.

It is closed now, another victim to their recession.

Well as it happens I struck gold again.

There was and still is a crab apple tree in one of the fields my father used to own.

Since that time the field was sold but the old tree leans over my land and to this day most of its fruit falls on my side of the boundary.

I am a dreamer and a romantic at heart even though people mostly see the other side of me.

I prefer to think that tree knows me better than I know my self because we spent so much time together as friends.

Well, on that faithful day we were to be bonded for good.

I burst in on my folks.

The loud and obnoxious ***.

Everyone turned as I shouted out ‘I did it,I did it.’

My father was the first to react.

‘What did you do?’

‘I climbed to the top of the crab apple tree and jumped on to the back of Smokie.’

Smokie was my fathers pride and joy.

She was a beautiful grey mare, she would die a few years later giving birth,the good news was we saved her foal.

He became midnight.

A monster that went onto become a fine show jumper.

Now I have tears in my eyes.

Anyway.

I repeated my self just to hammer my genius home.

I think I was not even eight at the time.

I could have been younger and the police story could have been a year earlier too it is hard to remember forty years ago.

The time frame lets us down but the imprint never goes away.

Well back to the kitchen and the aunties and uncles.

My father stood up from the table, he appeared delighted for me.

I remember the big beaming smile on his face.

This was the second lesson life was to bestow on me.

Another unwanted treacherous gift.

When I think back, my childhood was just a boundary less mess.

He put his hand on my shoulder.

‘***.’

‘That is amazing.’

I should have shut up there and then.

But I did not.

‘I galloped Smokie all around the field you shoudda seen me da!’

Then he said it.

‘Sure let’s do it again so everyone can see your cowboy skills.’

Now in my head I am saying your frigging joking me aren't you?and god actually knows what my reaction was then.

But a few minutes later I was standing under that crab apple tree.

And I was not alone.

They all came to watch.

There was no reality tv in those days.

But that did not change the fact that there was reality.

And did I mention that our crab apple tree was a monster.

It was.

It stood at least thirty feet straight up.

And I was only a wisp of a lad.

How much trouble can you pack into one small child?

Then he said ‘Hold on a minute.’

I watched him walk to the far end of the field to where Smokie was grazing oblivious to us all.

She at that distance looked like a small thing.

And I was a hopeful hoper.

I would always hope to be sure,just in case.

She snorted in my face.

I jumped with fright.

My dad loved horses and was a great horseman and me?

I was allowed to shovel the ****.

Now I was up to my neck in it and there was nothing I could do to change it.

I may have been a kid but even then I knew it for what it was.

Me against my Da.

Another stand off.

The simple thing would be to tell the truth then and there.

No doubt they would have laughed it off.

But no.

Not me.

Not now.

Not ever.

I was a bollix back then and if anything I am a bigger bollix now.

I just said.

‘Right then.’

I remember turning to the tree.

Everything was extra extra real.

It was the middle of summer and the foliage was literally weighing the branches down.

The pungent smell.

Mmmm the air tasted thicker the closer I got to that moss laden giant.

There was no helping hand.

This was one mans war.

Behind Smokie snorted as if she was impatient,I did not dare turn around.
    I climbed upon a broken bit of fence it was greasy.

From there I reached out and grabbed hold of the nearest branch.

For a second I steadied myself,my standing foot was sinking into the rotted fence post.

I hauled my self up.

I remember there were flies absolutely every where.

I remember smelling fresh dung as it plopped unceremoniously to the ground.

Every branch encountered my death grip.

I was terrified.

I had never climbed this tree before or any tree for that matter,I was just a kid my tree climbing days were before me.

I looked down through the mosaic of leaves.

My father was kind enough to bring Smokie right under the tree.

She looked so different.

The width of her back alone.

She was so broad,big and strong.

I had never seen a horse from above before.

My Da told me to hurry up.

Do you know something?

I would give anything to be there that day witnessing this.

I miss everyday without my father even the not so good ones.

Anyway it took an awfully long time but I made it to the last of the thick branches.

The thinner ones crumbled my resolve.

I was at the end of the road as my father called out.

‘Are you ready yet?’

How did I let myself get into this situation?

Now don’t get me wrong I ask myself the same thing nearly everyday.

But that was a monumental day for me.

Like a date on your computers system restore.

I remember hugging that mossy damp branch with every ounce of my puny strength.

I hugged it so hard that to this day I think that might have been my first sexual encounter.

It felt weird.

The tighter I hugged the tighter I wanted to hug.

My father called out again but I ignored him.

I had my eyes tight shut hoping he would go away.

After a short while he did.

And I was left there.

On my own.

Again.

I am not sure how long I clung to that branch.

How could a man do this to his son?

But in truth what did he do?

He called my bluff.

Was this a crime.

He did not force me to do anything and I know if I had told he truth things would have worked out differently.

I think he was a very wise and loving man.

He just choose not to be open about it.

This was just one of many lessons he taught me.

The full meaning of which only hits home now,ten years after we buried him.

Some people have a gift.

He handed me the rope with which to hang myself and I took it,gladly.

Now I am here today.

Confused but blessed that he was my Da and no one else s.

I look at the world and it makes me sad.

I think of all the souls who must have felt this way at some time or other in their lives.

The one thing I hate him most for is turning me into a carer.

He opened my heart.

I remember watching Gorillas in the mist with him.

I secretly cried my eyes out.

In fact I nearly choked.

He stared at the screen a mask of emotion.

Stoic.

But why did he not cry?

I am not an angel.

I know some of you read my stuff and I really do not know what to be thinking.

How does any of this fit in with what is happening today?

After all this is just another stupid story.

Like my music.

The creator becomes immune to the magic he creates.

We do not see it as a wonderful thing.

It becomes our gaol.

As the hours whittle a way a little part of us cries out not to be forgotten.

Take you for example.

You have read this far.

I know you have your own story.

But will you tell it?

I am not afraid to talk to others and tell it like it is.

Others can hide behind their words but I do not need to.

We have all been thrown together by a common purpose.

And to be honest I think my father would be proud if I manged to achieve just one thing.

Some of the bestest people I know are the oddest ones.

They speak from the heart even though others look down on them.

Why do we persecute those that are different.

Are we that insecure?

Why do we say horrible things online or in person when a kind word could bring us both happiness.

If I stop you on the street and say hello what would your reaction be?

Who thought you to think that way?

Who thought you to be angry all the time.

Who thought you to steal?

Lie.

Cheat!

Kill?

It was not I.

Who thought you to hate?

You were the most beautiful child in the world.

You meant so much to so many has this changed?

Do the same people not love you anymore?

Does it even matter?

I have done bad thing too in my life.

At the time I went with the flow.

Today I am still ashamed.

But I think I am a better man for realizing.

And I hope the people that I have hurt like the man I have become and not the memory.

I can see clearly now.

Maybe I am at the stage in my life where I get a second chance.

Who knows,it has to happen first before we can make sense of it.

If I could live my life in reverse I could be such a wonderful person.

And you.

Maybe you can make a difference.

I am not a weak man.

I am a strong man.

I have stood in the ring toe to toe and I will ever back down.

But there are two sides to every person.

And society has killed you.

You cling to the raft of what is left.

Every day the wave.

You struggle to keep your head clear as you gulp down the brine.

They want you to remain in a permanent state of panic.

You do this and their job is done.

When I speak out about injustice I speak for those who cannot speak for themselves.

I speak for those that have not reached for that first branch.

I speak for those who would have said nothing in the first place.

I speak for those that would have jumped onto the horses back because some of us were great men from the beginning.

I speak for the women.

They know.

I speak for every mother that waits for the day.

That dreaded knock on the door.

I speak for those who have lost.

I speak for the wonderful people in our lives that will die.

Some today, some in the near future, it matters not when for it will happen.

Our time to be great is now.

Today.

Yesterday belongs to my father and to the many fathers that share his place in the grand scheme our creator has designed for us.

It is our time to live as a free people of this I am certain.

Someone has to walk clear of the crowd.

Our governors have been found out.

The chameleon has grown boldest of late.

We are livestock!

Our pathetic lives matter to no one else save ourselves.

And still you cling on.

Others will stand up but it is you that will live to regret the day you chose to be a coward.

I climbed the tree.

As an infant I stood alone outside a police station with the fear of god in my heart,but I stood there defiant till my father came back for me.

I stood outside the door on the day he died because he did not want to speak to me or set sight on me.

I placed a book of crosswords and a pen in his arthritic gnarled hands,my hero,dead.

I knew he loved crosswords so much that it was my parting gift.

Then they shut his coffin forever.

If you cannot feel the pain in your heart then you will have never lived.

If you sit back and let me go to war by myself then I feel sorry for you.

No,I feel sad for you.

I always said I would never fight another mans war.

I will not be here pawn or any mans slave.

But I will fight for the ground I stand on.

What will you fight for?

Why don’t you make a start.

Listen to the crazies.

They do not want you to listen to the crazies.

Those men and women are my brothers and sisters.

We are all family.

Today we stand at the precipice.

Two opposing armies.

This is our land.

Here you will find our homes.

I will not grovel for gruel anymore.

I will show you what it is to be a man.

You can beat me but you will not break me because I am an Irishman.

And I will walk in the footsteps of our heroes the way it was meant to be.

And where injustice fouls I will set free for one man is an army,if he is the right man.

Are there others out there?

Will you help me make my country a better place for the sake of our children?

If not for me then do it for them.

This government will break us.

Have no doubt.

The time has come to hear our voice.

The mighty roar of the ocean.

Our leaders have failed us.

They steal from our future.

They laugh at our past.

When will you listen to the voice of reason?

When you are alone on your death bed.

On November the first if our creator is willing will you march with us?

Will you sing our songs and join our hands for freedom.

As family we will be strong.

We will show the world our unity.

We will change this country for the betterment of all not just one of us.

And we will do this the correct way.

Not with the gun but peacefully.

Thank you for being my friend.

Let us look at Irish water and privatization again in the little mans language.
    First and foremost.
    The water we drink is not for free.
    Anyone who says differently is either delusional,clueless or apathetic.
    We have been taxed since the dawn of time.
    The government does not make mistakes when it comes to squeezing the vitality from us the ordinary peasant.
    Our water falls from the sky and will continue to do so until the sun burns itself out.
    Would you like to challenge or change this fact or can we simply move on?
    Now water to us is like the sand to the Arabs.
    But water to the Arabs is more precious than oil.
    To purify their saltwater costs a lot of money but still the Irish will make a bollix of reason and our water will be three times the price the Arabs have to pay.
    Does this make sense?
    That would equate to the Arabs selling sand to their people at three times the price we sell sand over here.
    Now stop for one moment, how can this be?
    How can water in Ireland be three times the cost of water that does not fall out of the sky?
    The answer is simply this.
    The Irish government are out to bleed you peasants dry.
    Or have I missed some important point here?
    The biggest issue has been avoided totally.
    Like every major issue we have to deal with in Ireland.
    If in doubt take a look around and see for yourself.
    Use Google.
    Ask.
    But make sure you look wont you?
    Here are some facts to consider because I have looked and checked outside Craggy Island and the results are alarming.
    Did you know there are over 20,000 people without water in Detroit.
    Why?
    Simple.
    Water has become unaffordable.
    Now I am pretty sure the same bull**** was shoved down their throats at the start.
    The result?
    120% rise in the cost of water thanks to the utility company.
    Now it’s no pay no drinky poo time....in other words die we do not care.
    Hold on a minute, do we care?
    Most of them seem to be Afro American any way, sure they always cause trouble and never pay for anything.
    Wrong!
    They are people just like anyone else.
    They have families and friends and lives.
    We should be outraged.
    Remember the Irish know only too well what it was like to be treated less than human.
    Read your history books.
    Argentina,privatization nearly brought the country to its knees.
    The poor suffered as always because that is the lot of the peasant.
    The infrastructure was neglected because it was all about the dollar.
    The private company got their marching orders in the end thank god.
    France has had enough too or didn't you know?
    Do you just spend your time watching daytime Tv?
    How come I know this and you do not?
    There is a world out their folks, it is time to get with the program.
    Private water nearly screwed up Africa but they fought it!
    And for the same reasons.....neglect versus poverty versus profit........and the winner was profit!
    But they put a stop to that.
    So the winner became the people.
    Greece fought and won.
    Are you following this?
    Italy?
    In fact other EU countries will be mounting their own resistance.
    You can be sure of this.
    Water is the new dollar now.
    To raise its value, it must be privatized.
    To secure that value, no one can be allowed to access it for free.
    In other words if 20 % of the country is allowed to make free petrol and the rest of has to pay top dollar how long will it be before chaos ensues?
    In the USA, ten states have already banned rainwater harvesting.
    Did you know this?
    No sure only wackos and lunatics can know facts like these.
    Real people just shut up and die off.
    Yea people like me, **** stirrers and wasters.
    Scroungers.
    Well I am self employed.
    My business has one many awards.
    We are now listed in the top 40 UK for what we do.
    I built it from nothing so I think I deserve a little respect here.
    I have better things to be doing than fighting your cause.
    But I am a human.
    Without you I would have nothing.
    Without you I would be alone in this world.
    You make me smile.
    You make me cry.
    Without you I will die alone.
    I want to be the best person that I can be.
    I am here for you.
    And I will fight for you.
    Even though I have not met you yet.
    I am your brother.
    And this is a fight, make no bones about it.
    Water is no longer your right.
    The price will rocket.
    All vital commodities tied into our survival will be paid for in blood if need be.
    Soaring prices like eagles in the desert sun will rise on the thermals of their greed.
    And there will be no quarter given.
    No exceptions peasants.
    The colour of skin will go from black to white,it is they who will read about us.
    The riots in Ireland.
    Oil up.
    Electricity up up and away.
    This is not a political issue.
    Stop arguing among yourselves.
    This is a people versus Goliath issue.
    Rte should be closed down for its treachery.
    The new broadcast charge will be €300, are you going to let them do this to us?
    Add it to the list, remember there is only going to be one revolution I do not have the time for two.
    Party politics will not save us.
    Take a look around.
    Party politics is the sand in the grease that slows the cog to a grinding halt.
    We do not need politics.
    There are bigger companies in Ireland today than our entire government, you do not see them make as many catastrophic mistakes do you?
    But worm tongue whispers ‘you need me master,you need me.’
    Kenny in charge.
    Oh my god.
    Noonan the bond holder?
    Something wrong here.
    We are being played like an out of tune piano.
    My ears hurt.
    Will some one please tell that eejet to stop banging out that tune it is awful and you have been playing it for 100 years for feck sake.
    Here’s my solution.
    Let us take the power back.
    We have the numbers.
    They just crunch them.
    We have the resources to leave Europe.
    Now it will not be easy but I am used to pain.
    No doubt you are too.
    Politicians no.
    If Iceland can reset the clock then so can we.
    We will manage our own company.
    The money we will save by sacking that lazy shower will be enough to have wine pour out of our taps.
    Red wine for hot tap and white wine from the cold tap.
    Stop listening to propaganda.
    I want it to be illegal to lie to the public.
    This folks is common sense.
    Sorry peasants,I meant peasants, I nearly raised your rank there for a moment I was getting ahead of myself.
    You need to start thinking for yourselves and the betterment of others.
    What would happen if a bomb flattened us tomorrow?
    What would happen if all the politicians got themselves killed.
    Life would go on as it always does.
    We need to use our talented.
    We need to raise ourselves from the mud.
    I am sick of eating **** pie for breakfast,lunch and yet again re heated **** pie for supper, day after fricking day.
    No, we wont pay again for our water you stupid gimp.
    We are going to remove you and a whole lot more from power.
    I am thinking prison.
    This is where they should be.
    We need to mobilize.
    We need to inform everybody we come into contact with.
    Like a disease, we need to infect public life, make it too sick to survive.
    We need to take the good ideas that work all around the world and put them to work for ourselves.
    We need people to go back to work because it is the right thing to do.
    We need to send non nationals home if they are not paying their way.
    I would expect the same treatment.
    If you pay your way you should be made welcome in any country but if you stop it should be goodbye come back next year have a safe trip.
    Stop talking like knackers and learn to spell and speak properly.
    No one will listen to ‘Alri boss’ ‘was d story’
    This will not cut it.
    Clean up your own streets you lazy free loaders and paint your houses get some pride back into you.
    Police your own kids.
    You are the reason the streets are full of thugs.
    Take charge of your life, why?
    Because you are the power.
    You are Ireland.
    Better yourself.
    This will scare them.
    Speak to them in their own language.
    Educate yourselves.
    Think.
    Put your idea forward but speak as if you are one of them.
    Speak like a northsider or southsider you will bring a wolfish grin to their faces.
    Stop stereo typing yourselves.
    Wtf u may be tinking.
    Omg d cheek of u fer callin me a peece of ****.Whoo d fuk d u tink u r?
    This does not cut it in the real world peasants.
    And I hate to have to say this.
    The difference between you and I is.
    When I need to, I can switch modes.
    I can hang low and I can swing high.
    Think about it.
    I am not trying to pick a fight with you.
    My father told me from the start.
    Speak properly.
    Better yourself.
    Be proud of who you are.
    Never look down on anyone.
    I am no slob.
    I am not posh.
    I am not rich or privileged.
    I am one of you.
    My mother is from Keeper road for gods sakes.
    But I know how to play the game.
    Just like I know when I see a game being played.
    People of Ireland heed good advice.
    I am a peasant too in their eyes.
    I have nothing to gain by lying to you.
    You already owe me enough.
    I have spent countless hours over the last ten years trying to get you to believe in and think for yourselves.
    Remember this.
    You earn your station in life.
    It will not be handed to you.
    If you want to live in **** ville for the rest of your life then go for it but do not drag the rest of us down with you.
    Rise up.
    You are my future.
    And I am yours.

This is a message for those among you that have not quite made up there mind as to what they should do concerning the civil unrest around the country.

I attended the march last Saturday the 11th of October.

This is a first for me.

For the last 20 yrs i have been to caught up in everyday life to ever even considering taking to the streets to protest against the miss management of our land.

I come from a professional conservative family.

I grew up surrounded by opinions based around being a good citizen give or take one or two issues.

Okay i was always the black sheep and unfortunately i still am.

People can say what they like about me but my family instilled a strong sense of morality in me on an almost cellular level.

My father whose father was a detective for the Gardai back in the day was the most morally strict person i have ever known and believe me i know a lot of good people and you know who you are if you know me and you are reading this.

I never once doubted his convictions and words because he never faltered.If he said something he stuck to it and that was that.

He thought us to be honest to the point where i hear voices in my head when an issue of right versus wrong raises its head.

Now do not get me wrong i am not a saint.

There is a difference.

I am talking about the line.

I am talking about knowing the difference and standing up for what you believe to be fair and just.

Sometimes this may not work in our favour.

But if that voice that speaks as your conscience tells you you are right or wrong well then you should heed it.

Because that voice is the only friend you will truly ever have.

That voice like the rings used to identify a trees age is a culmination of a lifetime of often harsh lessons.

It is the vice that whispers consequence into the deafest of ears what you choose after that is between you and your maker.

I hear that voice loud and clear and it has guided me for over forty years.

And i know some of you that know me will understand what it is i am getting at.

I do not need a law to tell me not to rob.

My mother and father taught me that.The indignation and hurt in their eyes as they collected me from Store street Garda station taught me that.

I do not need judicial guidance to know that treating people unfairly makes you less than a man.

I do not need a statute book to tell me that if someone is in need of help be it on the side of the road or just through every day circumstance it is our duty as a citizen of this country to lend a hand irrespective of personal gain.

She is someones sister.Mother.

He could be a father or brother.

Everyone has a story just as important as our own.

The point is we are facing the biggest moral dilemma of our life time.

That is why i marched on Saturday the 11 th of October.

To see for myself.

To see through the fog of deception.

To believe in my convictions and i swear to you i heard a voice that day as i stood amongst thousands of my people.

I was doing the correct thing.

And i was witnessing a just awakening it was over whelming.

I know now the lies.

Everything has clicked in to place.

I cannot say for sure if my father would approve i guess we will never know the answer to that.

But what i can say is i believe that my protest is morally just.

And i believe that the people of Ireland have the irrevocable right to stand up and put an end to the injustice that has become our gaol.

Many of you are lost to the cause.

Maybe the timing is just wrong our like myself you are to caught up in your own little world to care i have to admit i know this.

Maybe its because i am at a stage in my life that i can care about more than myself.

I am not here to judge but the question must be asked for the sake of transparency.

Is it morally right to let the stewards of our destiny enslave us.

I use this word because we have been enslaved.

These are the words of a madman rummaging or his gun.

These are the words of a man that sees the world for what it is.

Harsh.

Cruel.

Unforgiving.

We have been sold lock stock and barrel.

The voice of my father in my heart told me to get up off your arse and get out on the street and tell the world that enough is enough.

And so i did.

I got off the Luas and stepped into a sea of emotion.

There were thousands where i had hoped to find a few more than hundreds.

There were songs where i thought to have herd the voices of scumbags and thugs.

There was solidarity where i thought i would feel isolated and alone.

Wow!

For those that missed it all i can say is wow!

The young the old the brave and the bold.

They were all there.

I was carried by the tide the wave after wave of emotion that flooded over around and through me.

And above all else it felt right to be there.

For the first time in my whole life i know what it feels like to be an Irishman.

I know now what all the songs are about.

Every man woman and child that ever sacrificed himself for this country was honoured that day by the thousands upon thousands that flooded the streets of Dublin.

Does feeling good need a law to diminish that guilty pleasure.

They will tell you that it does.

Does caring need a bi law to reduce it's efficacy by thirty percent at the bequest of our tormentors?

Are crumbs from the masters table enough to feed our families.

When the voice in your heart screams louder than any unjust law is it wrong to stand up for what you truly believe in.

Are you content to let the heroes from your most beloved films and stories loose their meaning because the coward in you hides in the dreamworld.

Our slavers have been found out.

The great Oz is a hoax.

The Greeks have shamed us but that shame unites us.

We are not here to be laughed at.

We are not here to be bullied.

We are here to be free.

There is no law that can be contrived that will ever change this because the law in our hearts will not allow it.

So from now on think upon what i have said.

I do not do this for me.

I have made my decision already.

I do this for you.

We must put aside our differences.

We must unite.

And together we will stop and help those less fortunate regardless of what our masters say.

Together we will protect Ireland until she regains her strength.

If this makes me a traitor then there is no law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

What a tit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭westernfrenzy

Did anyone actually bother reading all that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,654 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Far too hungover for that!

Far too lazy for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭deafroadrunner

gave up halfway through the first one. couldn't take any more waffle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

FFS! I read the first part, and I hate myself for it. The guy is a dope.

I never got past the first line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I must find him, I must befriend him on Facebook and I must batter him.

what did he do to the poor horse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Jesus Christ, Magenta, did you have to post all that?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭skirtgirl

A check in on facebook
    "Friend" is watching August Osage county movie 2013

Friend 1 " Any gud?"
    Friend "Ye so far"

Well if it was any good you wouldn't be posting on facebook. This is the same woman that has to tell everyone what she has for lunch everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭dori_dormer

My friend from the us just posted about their fun girls weekend away. It was a pic of 3 girls sitting on the sofa all looking at their phones..... Sounds like loads of fun to me......

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭seaniemoylan

"Bought two adidas pantses for 80euro!its madness. There's a muscle top for 50euro.the prices in champion are too high in fairness. Id a a good mind to take the cocky security guard with a bop and blow him into the shoes if he didnt stop looking at me. And just take the ****ing muscletop haha ugly pimply pumped fool"

haha :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

Far too randy for that.

Giggled at the first few lines tho

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

Far too randy for that.

Giggled at the first few lines tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Ain't nobody got time for that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

We went Santa shopping in '05. We love our guy. Pricey, but I insist on only the best for our Maximillian.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 202 ✭✭Arnold Tanzarian

" Happy Birthday ****** , a beautiful girl, we love you loads ****** best daughter in the world, Love you mam and dad"

Posted up with a picture of the daughter.

Dear user , Your little girl is not on facebook and will never see this post. Could you not of just wished your daughter a happy birthday in person naah? Most of her adult friends comment under the pic with " happy birthday ****** " .

Same person posts up pics of their kids every single feckin day. give it a break with these kid pics

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Zemuppet

" Happy Birthday ****** , a beautiful girl, we love you loads ****** best daughter in the world, Love you mam and dad"

Posted up with a picture of the daughter.

Dear user , Your little girl is not on facebook and will never see this post. Could you not of just wished your daughter a happy birthday in person naah? Most of her adult friends comment under the pic with " happy birthday ****** " .

Same person posts up pics of their kids every single feckin day. give it a break with these kid pics

That sounds an awful lot like my aunt. Pictures upon pictures of her kids, statuses about how she loves alcohol and vomit inducing 'I love u. No I love u' with her husband when they are both in the house. Am I just a cynic or does anybody else hate this sort of crap?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Zemuppet wrote: »
    That sounds an awful lot like my aunt. Pictures upon pictures of her kids, statuses about how she loves alcohol and vomit inducing 'I love u. No I love u' with her husband when they are both in the house. Am I just a cynic or does anybody else hate this sort of crap?

I hate it too, but even more than that I hate the ones that write messages to loved ones in Heaven with the 'angles'. I usually type 'They don't have f**king FB in heaven' but then I just calmly delete it and don't post it. As sadly I'm related to these people :(

pc7 wrote: »
    I hate it too, but even more than that I hate the ones that write messages to loved ones in Heaven with the 'angles'. I usually type 'They don't have f**king FB in heaven' but then I just calmly delete it and don't post it. As sadly I'm related to these people :(

So you have relatives who are 'angles'?
    You lucky sod!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

coolhull wrote: »
    So you have relatives who are 'angles'?
    You lucky sod!

I'm not alone read back through the thread and you'd be amazed at the 'gawjus people' who were taken early by the 'angles' :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 202 ✭✭Arnold Tanzarian

pc7 wrote: »

I got in trouble before , i came in one night after being out all day on the lash with the lads and wrote up under a neighbours status who was saying "RIP Timmy (her dog) hope your up there in dog heaven looking down on us".. anyway i wrote underneath it "theres no such thing as dog heaven timmy is dead and never coming back"

And well said. Even if he is up there in doggy heaven, the chances of him coming back are pretty remote.

coolhull wrote: »
    And well said. Even if he is up there in doggy heaven, the chances of him coming back are pretty remote.
    Unless he was buried in an old Indian graveyard ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,037 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

I hate birds sh!tting on me or my car. Imagine the damage a dog would do if he was "up there"!!