Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Pretty sure were the 'special ones' who got all the rain :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Pretty sure were the 'special ones' who got all the rain :(

Yes you were :D

With that said, we're having lovely weather here and I'm stuck in work when I'd much prefer to be out at the car with all the new Meguiars stuff I got from detailer.ie :(

It's nice as near as Tipp!? Feck sake. I got a deal so....you stay in work, I'll pop up the motorway with my meguiars stuff and wax your mps, cool? :D

LOL

Yeah that sounds great!! Cheers!

We are experiencing blue skies and sunshine here at the moment. It's a bit cool but I prefer it that way as it's perfect valeting weather as long as you find a shady area to have the car!

I'm experiencing a fan heater next to me (:D) , looking out at my back garden. It looks to have shrunk by about 50 yards though cos I can only see about 5yards of it outside the window, bloody fog :mad:

Don't worry about your garden, get in your Astra and come wax my car!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

While you're at it, mine needs a clean too... :p

Feck off, he's calling to Tipp first ;)

Don't worry about your garden, get in your Astra and come wax my car!:p
    While you're at it, mine needs a clean too... :p

black cars are a bitch aint they :p ye prob only washed them a few days ago :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I don't mind, sure isn't it on the way to Galway for him like :P

Round trip would be 440km... under half a tank of diesel sure.. (oh wait...) :pac: :p

black cars are a bitch aint they :p ye prob only washed them a few days ago :D

I washed and wet-waxed mine on saturday. It was fine until I came to work on monday! :mad:

Anyway, OT - does anyone know about that "paint" you can get that sprays onto whatever you're painting and you can peel it off again whenever you like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

I got 4 winter tyres on today, so it's the warmest day of the year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,587 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Hang on..
    He could be passing through Fermoy first and mine needs a hoover and a wash as well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭kiddums

I don't mind, sure isn't it on the way to Galway for him like :P

Round trip would be 440km... under half a tank of diesel sure.. (oh wait...) :pac: :p
    Sure if he's going that far he could take a wee run up the road to donegal and wash mine too.:p

Hmmmm Ardennes is fast becoming the south's answer to Seperate :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

He may as well set up shop doing it. Anyway, mines closer again so may as well start with that.

EPM wrote: »
    He may as well set up shop doing it. Anyway, mines closer again so may as well start with that.

Just because you're a mod doesn't mean you can bully me out of 1st place on his list! He did offer to do if for me first after all :p

boots loaded up anyway for my trip to donegal, albeit with 5 stops. dont think ill get much business though, my cars too dirty! shaggin' rain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

changed the pollen filter and wiper blades and sprayed some of that air conditioner cleaner stuff into the vents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭mondeo

Heres somthing I did with my friends civic coupe the past couple days. Rear bumper on this car was pretty nasty and needed to be filled and resprayed badly! I dont have an original before pic unfortunately but the filled spots on this bumper will give you an idea what it was like.

[IMG][/img]IMG_0279.jpg

[IMG][/img]IMG_0280.jpg

Here it is complete, spent fooking ages compounding this but it's like glass now! The rear wheel arch needs abit of work also which I am taking on when I get time:). Nice original non molested civic coupe which is going to stay original thank god. The lad that owns this car is moving to Saudi Arabia in December and is taking the car with him ;)
    [IMG][/img]IMG_0285.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Old for new :)

298508_10150838323685176_805400175_21175723_1449815050_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Replaced an interior panel on my hardtop as a small piece of rubber had gone awol and water was getting in.

3 man job though, 2 to lift up the hardtop off the car,keep it up in the air and then one to go under it and replace the panel! :p

Replaced an interior panel on my hardtop as a small piece of rubber had gone awol and water was getting in.

3 man job though, 2 to lift up the hardtop off the car,keep it up in the air and then one to go under it and replace the panel! :p

Ehem!

Ehem!

I said 3 man job, we did the easy bit :p

The roof isn't light! Lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Today I had a new clutch put in and a basic service done. Delighted, now when I press the accelerator I move faster! Yay!

Also, the battery being disconnected seems to have fixed some minors issues with the electric windows and central locking, double yay! :D

Next job is to stick on some winter tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Bought a car with a clifford alarm a few months back. The alarm was a pain in the ass, you had to enter a pin code everytime you start the car or if you open the door while the car is running. That plus valet mode was unavailable, motion sensors were very sensitive and the alarm auto engaged after 20 seconds no mater what.
    Anyway i left the car into an alarm specialist but he doesnt touch clifford alarms as they're that rubbish, but he said he would do what he could, long story short he could do very little but he did get me the alarm codes, so after searching the net i found how to program it. Its now a nice normal alarm that will protect the car (enough) and wont bug the hell out of me. Twas a good day:D

Installing new spark plugs tomorrow if the weather is good!

Senna wrote: »
    Bought a car with a clifford alarm a few months back. The alarm was a pain in the ass, you had to enter a pin code everytime you start the car or if you open the door while the car is running. That plus valet mode was unavailable, motion sensors were very sensitive and the alarm auto engaged after 20 seconds no mater what.
    Anyway i left the car into an alarm specialist but he doesnt touch clifford alarms as they're that rubbish, but he said he would do what he could, long story short he could do very little but he did get me the alarm codes, so after searching the net i found how to program it. Its now a nice normal alarm that will protect the car (enough) and wont bug the hell out of me. Twas a good day:D

Will you pass that info on to Testtransmission?

my alarm is awesome :mad: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Anyway i left the car into an alarm specialist but he doesnt touch clifford alarms as they're that rubbish,

Sounds like a specialist alright. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

SV wrote: »
    Sounds like a specialist alright. :rolleyes:

Well, his job is fitting alarms (and other auto electric work), his words "with Clifford, your paying for the name and fancy carbon effect fobs, you can get as good and better for cheaper".
    The G5 alarm on my car was €950 in 2006:eek:, Clifford just spend the most on advertising, and it obviously works on some people;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Well, his job is fitting alarms (and other auto electric work), his words "with Clifford, your paying for the name and fancy carbon effect fobs, you can get as good and better for cheaper".
    The G5 alarm on my car was €950 in 2006:eek:, Clifford just spend the most on advertising, and it obviously works on some people;).

Sounds like a guy who was unable to work on the alarm and used that as a way to explain himself away..to be honest. :)
    Oh and the alarm that was 'so annoying' for you was part of the blackjax anti car jacking system and helped you.
    and all the other settings could be changed.

then again, if an 'alarm specialist' told you they're rubbish, then who am I? :D
    if you just want your car to be secure why not just put a clamp on it sure, you clearly don't want to bother with a good alarm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

If installed correctly you won't find better, installing Cliffords is a different ball game to any other system. The chap you brought it to is just a little ignorant I'd say :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Today I picked up a Recaro back bench from an ITR and a Clifford 650 MKII! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Today i changed my coolant totally:) , topped up my power sterring fluid:) and filled up my full drivers lisence application :)

Changed my plugs today. Mazda don't make anything easy or straight forward!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Arghh feckin pissin it all morning / afternoon. Only clearing up in the past hour :mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Beat an Insignia in a race today - sad i know!

did the driver of the insignia know it was a race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

did the driver of the insignia know it was a race?

No but they did look over at me! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Today I put the ITR rear Recaro's in...they look deadly :D

Serious job making them fit though :mad: :o :P

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Finally got the timing belt done in the car over the weekend, it was getting a bit ridiculous how overdue it was :o So now im a lot more confident it wont randomly kick the bucket :)

Also bought new dipped bulbs as night time driving was poor.. If I have some money in a few weeks might get some winter tyres and two rear shocks wouldnt go astray..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Did the general winter pre-checks. Tyre pressures, fluid levels & condition etc, brake fluid flush and gave the Beetle a good wash/buff/wax. Got the alignment in ballpark on the V70. Changed the oil in the Beetle.

Went to swap the water/water wetter mix for antifreeze before winter in the Beetle. This is what came out.....

6c0aeab3e17561642277_1.jpg

Yes, this is what came out of the cooling system. Appears the oil cooler/heat exchanger busted right when I stopped the car after changing the oil. I get to change that now too. Lovely. Luckliy oil pressure > cooling system pressure so the new oil doesn't appear to be contaminated yet. Planned on an AutoX on Sunday, so erm that didnt happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

....and before any greenies get all upset at the pic, the spillage was sucked up with a wet 'n' dry shop vac and disposed of properly.

298106_10150847591915176_805400175_21244045_2064895969_n.jpg

Finally got my wheel back on :)

Good man! Now get your paint back on and you'll be doing well :p

Yeah... Soon! It's in the shed, it's now just a case of "throwing" it onto the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

Today I had CC installed in my Octavia. €135 which I reckon was money well spent.

And tomorrow I'm off to Joe Power for a remap. I'll post up power/ torque gains afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

Today I had CC installed in my Octavia. €135 which I reckon was money well spent.

And tomorrow I'm off to Joe Power for a remap. I'll post up power/ torque gains afterwards.

Trying to attach an image of the graph. But the gains are as follows:

First run on dyno: power 121.p bhp and 189ft/lb of torque.:)

After remap: max bhp 151.2 and 251ft/lb of torque.:D

More than happy. Joe's a sound lad, and Gary in Urban was more than happy to stand around chatting!!:pac: