Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running Through The Wall

• Registered Users Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Week ending 9th December

Tue: Lunchtime run: 5.5 miles, 39:20, 7:09/mi. Hit Irishtown Reserve for the first time ever today. Quite liked what I saw.
    Wed: 11 miles home from work, 1:26:06. Avg pace 7:49/mi. HR: avg 135, max 149. Had planned on putting in some fast miles here, but it just was not to be, and thus I abandoned the speedy bit quite early on.
    Thu: 5.7 miles lunchtime run, 41:28, 7:16/mi. Rotten weather. Worst I've experienced in a while.
    Fri: Hit the big 3-2 today. Yep, 32 years young. 6.5 miles in 50:13, avg pace 7:44/mi to celebrate. HR avg 133, max 153.
    Sat: Tough 16 miler, ground out in cold conditions. Up to Howth and back (hill on the Dublin Bay side). 2:10:35, avg pace 8:09/mi. HR avg 132, max 154.
    Sun: 7.35 miles to round out the week. 57:21, average pace 7:48/mi. Tired.

52.05 miles this week. Think thats the first time I've broken 50 since before DCM.

Tough continuing with the training at the moment with the crappy weather, Christmas party season and toll on the body, but I'm continuing to grind out the miles. The next week will probably be a step back, and I'll likely give Parkrun a go on Saturday to see what its all about.

Week ending 16th December

Tue: 10 mile run home, with 2 x 2 mile HM pace. Tough conditions - frosty surfaces. Total 10 miles, 1:14:37, avg. 7:27/mi; HR avg 144, max 170.

2.68 mile warmup - 21:52; 8:10/mi; 126 HR
    Mile 1: 6:37; 154 HR
    Mile 2: 6:37; 160 HR
    3 mins recovery - 0.37 miles
    Mile 3: 6:25; 161 HR
    Mile 4: 6:32; 165 HR
    2.95 mile warmdown - 23:29; 7:58/mi; 143 HR

A little slower than my normal HM pace, but considering the conditions, I was happy.

Wed: 6.1 miles lunchtime run, testing out my new lightweight new balances. Worked out reasonably well; 44:30; 7:18/mi. Was sore enough the next day though, from my feet adjusting to the new runners.
    Thu: 10 miles home, 1:17:05; 7:42/mi. HR avg 135; Max 153.
    Fri: 6.05 miles into , 46:44; 7:44/mi, on one of the most rotten days I have ever experienced in Ireland. Indeed I dont think it brightened up for the whole day. While it was tough to venture outside at 7am for the run, I felt I would be getting wet anyhow, so best to just get on with it.

Sat: Malahide Parkrun 5k.

Was dying to try one of these parkruns, having heard so much about them through Marathon Talk, and more recently, boards. Had no expectations, knew I would be tired enough after running a fair bit (for me) during the week.

Did a warmup (about a half mile, with some strides at the end), and made my way to the start. Positioned myself just behind the front row and off we went. Really was just using the watch for HR, which I was trying to keep under 180 for the most part, pushing for the last bit.

I was in the top 10-15 for the first km or so, then there were two groups - a front group of maybe 7 or 8, and a group I was in, a little bit back with 4 (2 x 2), with me in the back row. Probably best I wasnt at the front of the mini-group as I likely wouldve tried to catch the front group and possibly blown up as a result. So happy to plug away. 4 became 3 around 3km, and our group picked off one or two from the group ahead who were slowing. There were some tough conditions on the trail part of the course, a few puddles and tight corners, where slipping was a bit of a risk. Thankfully I didnt lose it! By 4km, it was me and another lad pretty much together, with a group out of sight ahead. I thought I might pass him, but realised it wasnt going to be. Not sure why, I think I felt the finish was further than it actually was, and I finished reasonably strongly, just behind the other guy.

So, I ended up in 7th place, 17:56 per the official times. Nice race.
    HR avg 174, Max 185. Thats my second fastest 5k (17:43 being my fastest, in March this year). So I was quite delighted with the result to be honest. :D

0.7 mile warmdown and some walking around the demesne.
    4.3 miles total.

Sun: 18.4 miler. 2:41:24 total, avg pace 8:46/mi; HR avg 131, max 163.

Up at 6:30am for a 7:15 start on a surprisingly mild December day in Dublin.

1.25 miles down to meet a friend of mine who would be joining me for 10 miles or so. 11:16
    10.18 miles with said friend - 1:30:41; 8:54/mi; avg 131bpm. Took one SiS gel around 8.5 miles into this section. Was getting very tired by the end of this segment.
    6.98 miles in 59:27; avg 8:31/mi. avg 132 bpm. Slow work, seemed to have dropped a gel somewhere which left me almost heartbroken :( as I was dying for it about halfway into this segment!

Tough run, ground it out again. What probably dominated my thoughts most during this run was that I had to go in and do some Christmas shopping later on in the day - something which filled me with more dread than having to do more miles.

54.85 miles this week. Another solid performance.
    One final push now before Christmas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Killerz wrote: »
    Week ending 16th December

Tue: 10 mile run home, with 2 x 2 mile HM pace. Tough conditions - frosty surfaces. Total 10 miles, 1:14:37, avg. 7:27/mi; HR avg 144, max 170.

2.68 mile warmup - 21:52; 8:10/mi; 126 HR
    Mile 1: 6:37; 154 HR
    Mile 2: 6:37; 160 HR
    3 mins recovery - 0.37 miles
    Mile 3: 6:25; 161 HR
    Mile 4: 6:32; 165 HR
    2.95 mile warm down - 23:29; 7:58/mi; 143 HR

A little slower than my normal HM pace, but considering the conditions, I was

happy.

Wed: 6.1 miles lunchtime run, testing out my new lightweight new balances. Worked out reasonably well; 44:30; 7:18/mi. Was sore enough the next day though, from my feet adjusting to the new runners.
    Thu: 10 miles home, 1:17:05; 7:42/mi. HR avg 135; Max 153.
    Fri: 6.05 miles into , 46:44; 7:44/mi, on one of the most rotten days I have ever experienced in Ireland. Indeed I dont think it brightened up for the whole day. While it was tough to venture outside at 7am for the run, I felt I would be getting wet anyhow, so best to just get on with it.

Sat: Malahide Parkrun 5k.

Was dying to try one of these parkruns, having heard so much about them through Marathon Talk, and more recently, boards. Had no expectations, knew I would be tired enough after running a fair bit (for me) during the week.

Did a warmup (about a half mile, with some strides at the end), and made my way to the start. Positioned myself just behind the front row and off we went. Really was just using the watch for HR, which I was trying to keep under 180 for the most part, pushing for the last bit.

I was in the top 10-15 for the first km or so, then there were two groups - a front group of maybe 7 or 8, and a group I was in, a little bit back with 4 (2 x 2), with me in the back row. Probably best I wasnt at the front of the mini-group as I likely wouldve tried to catch the front group and possibly blown up as a result. So happy to plug away. 4 became 3 around 3km, and our group picked off one or two from the group ahead who were slowing. There were some tough conditions on the trail part of the course, a few puddles and tight corners, where slipping was a bit of a risk. Thankfully I didnt lose it! By 4km, it was me and another lad pretty much together, with a group out of sight ahead. I thought I might pass him, but realised it wasnt going to be. Not sure why, I think I felt the finish was further than it actually was, and I finished reasonably strongly, just behind the other guy.

So, I ended up in 7th place, 17:56 per the official times. Nice race.
    HR avg 174, Max 185. Thats my second fastest 5k (17:43 being my fastest, in March this year). So I was quite delighted with the result to be honest. :D

0.7 mile warmdown and some walking around the demesne.
    4.3 miles total.

Sun: 18.4 miler. 2:41:24 total, avg pace 8:46/mi; HR avg 131, max 163.

Up at 6:30am for a 7:15 start on a surprisingly mild December day in Dublin.

1.25 miles down to meet a friend of mine who would be joining me for 10 miles or so. 11:16
    10.18 miles with said friend - 1:30:41; 8:54/mi; avg 131bpm. Took one SiS gel around 8.5 miles into this section. Was getting very tired by the end of this segment.
    6.98 miles in 59:27; avg 8:31/mi. avg 132 bpm. Slow work, seemed to have dropped a gel somewhere which left me almost heartbroken :( as I was dying for it about halfway into this segment!

Tough run, ground it out again. What probably dominated my thoughts most during this run was that I had to go in and do some Christmas shopping later on in the day - something which filled me with more dread than having to do more miles.

54.85 miles this week. Another solid performance.
    One final push now before Christmas!

Good running at Parkrun man. I was just ahead of you in 17:52- went out hard though and was dying a slow death- nice day though and Parkrun is class.

drquirky wrote: »
    Good running at Parkrun man. I was just ahead of you in 17:52- went out hard though and was dying a slow death- nice day though and Parkrun is class.

Fair play to you....what colours were you wearing as a matter of interest - presume youve seen the flickr stream? I'm in. Long sleeve blue top, black shorts.

Week ending 23rd December

Tue: 12 mile run home, with 5 miles at HM pace. Total time 1:27:06, 7:15/mi, avg HR 145, max HR 172.

2.72 mile warmup - 21:19; 7:51/mi; 125 HR
    Mile 1: 6:25; 154 HR
    Mile 2: 6:25; 162 HR
    Mile 3: 6:26; 165 HR
    Mile 4: 6:22; 166 HR
    Mile 5: 6:24; 167 HR

4.29 mile warmdown - 33:48; 7:53/mi; 142 HR

Very productive run, nice one.

Wed: 5.65 miles lunchtime run, 43:36, 7:43/mi
    Thu: 6 miles lunchtime run, 43:50
    Fri: 6.3 miles into work, 48:43, 7:44/mi
    Sat: Malahide Parkrun 5k, my second outing.

So, following on from the positive result last week, I was keen to get out and try and build on my performance this week. Although to be honest, I feared I may do a little worse than the week before as I was tired enough going into the race.

On a course that was quite muddy for about a km due to heavy rain during the week, I put in a good performance from the start, being in the lead 4-5 people group, and ultimately finishing in second place, with a new 5k PB of 17:37 (HR avg 176, max 186) - delighted with that. No chance of me catching first place, he was 15-20 seconds ahead and looked like he wasnt putting the foot down totally.

A great start to the Christmas!
    4 miles total including warmup and warmdown, before adjourning to the Avoca cafe for a coffee and scone.

Sun: 20 miles long slow run in a windy south Dublin, hitting both Dun Laoghaire piers and Irishtown nature reserve. 2:43:20, 8:10/mi, avg HR 137, max 168

53.95 miles this week.

Week ending 30th December

Wed (Stephens Day): 7 miles, 52:32
    Thu: 7.1 miles, 56:09
    Fri: 3.11 miles, 27:47

Pretty relaxed week, dominated by chocolate, crisps, biscuits and beer. 17.21 miles total.

2012 Year in Review

Total Miles: 1,976.43 (quite surprised I did this many miles!)
    Total Races:
    5 * 5k races (PB 17:37, December, Parkrun Malahide)
    2 * 10k races (PB 35:41, April, Toronto Yonge St. 10k)
    1 * HM (PB 1:23, May, Ottawa)
    2 * trail races, Ontario
    1 * Marathon, 3:10, DCM October

Top Race: 10k in April, Toronto
    Top 5 runs of the year:
    - Hill run to Agnes' tea rooms, Lake Louise, Canada
    - Run in dinosaur canyons, Drumheller, Canada
    - Parkrun Malahide 22nd December - 2nd place
    - Any number of training runs for the Ottawa Half-marathon along the Lake Ontario coastal trail
    - Glorious long slow run along coastal promenade in North Dublin, up Howth hill and back, November.

Tough run of the year:
    Creemore 25k trail race. Rotten conditions, total mudfest, fell a number of times, heart was not in it. Delighted to finish it in the end.

What went right:
    Speedwork, regular runs, HR monitoring, consistency
    What could've gone better:
    Not much really in terms of running. I hit all my goals for the year by June, did a bonus marathon (DCM) and finished the year with a bang - two parkruns. Plantar fasciitis is extremely frustrating though.

Plans for 2013:
    - Raheny 5
    - Mount Juliet HM
    - More parkruns
    - Spring marathon
    - Others to be decided

Week ending 6th January

Mon (NY Eve): 10.3 miles out from work to Irishtown reserve and back by Sandymount to Blackrock, w 10 x 30 seconds strides. 1:17:52 in total; avg pace 7:34/mi; HR avg 136, max 162
    Tue: First run of 2013 - 8.6 miles - 1:07:50; avg 7:50/mi. Tired legs for this one.
    Wed: 9.1 miles; 1:12:29; avg 7:58/mi; HR 136 avg/ 157 max.
    Thu: 5.5 miles into work - 46:55; 8:31/mi
    Sat: 21 miles, total 2:45:42 or 7:53/mi. HR avg 140, max 156
    10 miles: 1:16:47 - 7:41/mi; avg HR 136
    5.1 miles: 39:51 - 7:48/mi; avg HR 145
    5.9 miles: 48:03 - 8:13/mi; avg HR 144
    Sun: 8 miles easy; 1:02:55; 7:52/mi.

Long week. Run on Saturday took a bit out of me, as I was travelling all day Friday with work. Reasonable enough start to the year, and a good springboard for 2013.

62.5 miles this week.

Week ending 13th January

Mon: 10.2 miles home from work - 1:21:24; or 7:59/mi.
    Tue: 13.4 miles home from work with 6 miles HM pace (6:30ish). Despite being tired after quite a few miles clocked over the previous few days, I decided to push this one and see what happened.
    Total 13.4 miles/ 1:36:54; avg 7:14/mi; HR avg 145, max 171.

4.52 miles warmup : 35:49; 7:56/mi; HR 125
    Mile 1: 6:36; HR 151
    Mile 2: 6:30: HR 159
    Mile 3: 6:28: HR 165
    Mile 4: 6:18: HR 166
    Mile 5: 6:29: HR 164
    Mile 6: 6:29: HR 166
    2.59 miles warmdown in 19:54 to make a Half Marathon time of 1:34:33
    0.29 miles home.

Delighted with that run, wasnt expecting to nail those miles!

Thu: 7.1 miles easy; 59:37; 8:24/mi
    Fri: 6.66 miles into work; 58:37; 8:48/mi
    Sat: Parkrun Malahide: 5k in 17:50 (My third fastest 5k ever). HR avg 174, max 186; avg pace 5:48/mi.
    6th place. Cold conditions, found the going a little tough.
    4.5 miles total including warmup and warmdown.
    Sun: 20.7 miles long slow run. 2:50:41. Avg pace 8:15/mi. HR avg 137, max 156.

10.23 miles on my own to start: 1:21:00 - 7:55/mi. HR avg 136.
    9.69 miles with a friend who joined me: 1:22:55 - 8:33/mi. HR avg 139.
    0.78 miles on my own to home 6:43.

I always find the long runs tough when they follow a parkrun the previous day. Nothing unusual about that I suppose. Real test next weekend when I have an MP session planned for Saturday.

The week after that, Raheny 5 is on the cards. Looking forward to that I must say. Did it in 2009 and really enjoyed it.

62.56 miles this week. Same as last week, give or take!

Week ending 20th January

Hadnt quite realised my log was a month behind. :eek: Time to catch up!

Tue: 10 miles home from work - 1:20:18; or 8:02/mi.
    Wed: Lunchtime run - 6 miles; 44:26
    Thu: 11.3 miles home from work; 1:30:30/ 8:01/mile
    Sat: MP session (12 miles):

18.6 miles total; 2:15:38; avg pace 7:17/mi; HR avg 155, max 175.
    Decided to use St. Anne's Park, Raheny as my MP circuits, stashing my water bottles and gels in a tree.

W/u: 3 miles; 25:32; 8:30/mi; HR avg 131
    3 miles MP: 20:27; 6:49/mi; HR avg 162
    1 min recovery jog
    3 miles MP: 20:31; 6:50/mi; HR avg 164
    1 mile recovery jog; 8:06/mi; took on water, gel
    3 miles MP: 20:16; 6:45/mi; HR avg 163
    1 min recovery jog
    3 miles MP: 20:28; 6:48/mi; HR avg 168
    W/d: 2.37 miles; 7:43/mi; HR avg 154

Pleased with this workout for a number of reasons, notably improvement in pace on 3rd rep and HR remaining at a reasonable level.

Sun: 9.86 miles in 1:19:43

A good week overall, helped by the MP session on Saturday.
    55.76 miles total.

Week ending 27th January

Mon: 5.7 miles into work; 47:18. Hail, rain, sleet and snow on my journey today. Something kind of nice about it all though!
    Tue:

10 miles home from work - speed work tweaker ahead of Raheny 5 on Sunday, sets of 2 mins x 5 mile pace + 1 min recovery after each;

Total 1:16:01; 7:36/mi; HR max 179, avg 144.

w/u 4.3 miles; 34:29; 8:03/mi; HR avg 139
    2 mins - 5:58/mi; 0.34 miles; HR 156
    2 mins - 5:38/mi; 0.36 miles; HR 165
    2 mins - 5:47/mi; 0.35 miles; HR 167
    2 mins - 5:42/mi; 0.35 miles; HR 159
    2 mins - 5:50/mi; 0.35 miles; HR 166
    w/d 3.46 miles; 27:16; 7:53/mi; HR avg 142

Wed: Lunchtime run: 5.9 miles; 45:33
    Thu: Late night run home from work after a table quiz with lots of cocktail sausages, spring rolls and samosas. Uncomfortable to say the least. 5.65 miles; 44:52
    Fri: 7 miles into work; 54:59
    Sat: 3.12 miles easy shakeout ahead of race tomorrow; 27:23
    Sun:

Raheny 5 Road Race

I love this race, the one and only time I had done it previously was in 2009, where I finished in around 32 mins. Indeed my 5 mile PB was not much faster than that, 31:30 in summer 2009 in the Race Series. After that I moved away to Canada and my times improved, though I didnt do any 5 mile races. However, given that my 10k time went down to under 36 mins in April 2012, I figured a sub 30 should be on the cards, even though I wasnt training specifically for a 5 miler this time.

Did a 1.37 mile w/u around st. annes park, followed by some strides to get myself geared up.

Lined up towards the front (4th/ 5th row, figuring a top 100 finish could be a goer). 4th-5th row soon became 20 rows back as the usual suspects plonked themselves up the front. I'm not talking the elites here either. Lets just say I had to do some early overtaking with an angry face on. :mad:

Conditions were reasonable, with the rain (which was significant earlier on in the day) thankfully holding off for the main event. And off we went. Pace felt comfortable at the start, and I passed a few people coming around and up onto the Howth Road. It was around there that I was stuck in a group and realised the group was falling behind my target time. So I pushed on and made up some places going down Sybil Hill/ Vernon and onto Mt. Prospect. Held pace along there and was reasonably comfortable.

The wind hit as we turned on to the coast road and I was beginning to tire around this stage (c.3.5-4 miles). I held on, slowing a bit up the hill on Watermill Road. It was at this point that Annette Kealy was mounting an assault on my position, much to the joy of the home crowd. No-one cheering for me, damn you partisan Rahenyians! I was out on my feet with about .5 mile left, and the lap of death around All Saints Park still to come! Annette was still snapping at my heels too, but I was not for budging. Held on to finish reasonably strongly.

Finished in 29:13, good for a lofty 94th place. HR avg 175, max 183.
    Happy with that. Also very happy with the chock-full goody bag.
    0.5 mile warmdown after that, the highlights of which were seeing Linda Byrne also warming down and seeing Wifey Killerz finish the race too - great result for her!

Good week overall, nice to get under the 30 mins officially for the 5 miler.
    44.24 miles total

Week ending 3rd February

Mon: 13.35 miles longish run home from work; 1:52:20; 8:25/mi
    Tue: Lunchtime run - 6.35 miles; 50:14
    Wed: 10.17 mile run home from work with 10 x 20 sec strides. 1:22:54; 8:09/mi
    Thu: 10.58 mile run home from work; 1:24:41; avg 8 min miles
    Sat: MP session (14 miles):

19.1 miles total; 2:18:55; avg pace 7:16/mi; HR avg 153, max 173.
    St Annes Park is the venue once again!

W/u: 2.53 miles; 22:32; 8:54/mi; HR avg 124
    6.2 miles MP: 41:59; 6:46/mi; HR avg 160
    3:25 min recovery jog, gel, water
    5.3 miles MP: 36:10; 6:49/mi; HR avg 160
    3:22 min recovery jog; 8:06/mi; water, gel
    2.5 miles MP: 16:50; 6:44/mi; HR avg 164
    W/d: 1.86 miles; 7:53/mi; HR avg 153

Another satisfactory MP session, an improvement on the one 2 weeks previous.

Sun: 10.75 miles; 1:23:27; 7:46/mi

Nice week, high mileage (for me). Happy with this.
    Total miles: 70.3

Week ending 10th February

Mon: Nice easy 6.5 miles home from work; 50:37
    Tue: 6.3 miles lunchtime run; 48:48
    Wed: 11.75 miles home from work; 1:32:00
    Thu: 10 miles home from work, 1:21:02
    Fri: 5.6 miles into work; 47:21
    Sat: 20 miles; 2:37:33. Key with this run was time on feet. Probably picked a bad day to give the Howth Cliff Trail a go, as footing was terrible and I was practically crawling along. Nice.
    Sun: 8.9 miles; 1:13:03 from Blackrock to the Forty Foot and back. Cold, wet, cold wind, cold rain. Delighted to get home.

69.05 miles total. Had planned to do 10 miles on Sunday, but topped out at 9, felt my legs getting very heavy and thought it best to get in early.

Week ending 17th February

Tue: 6.56 miles home from work with some tweaker kms thrown in for some good measure in advance of the HM on Saturday.

47:37 total; HR avg 143, max 166
    4 x 1km at roughly 4 min kms (6:16-6:20/mi)

Wed: 5.75 miles into work; 48:17; 8:24/mi. Rotten morning.
    Thu: 5.65 miles; 44:53; 7:57 miles
    Fri: 2.65 mile gentle loosener ahead of Mt. Juliet HM tomorrow.
    Sat:

Mount Juliet HM

Decided to do the MJHM as it looked interesting and was not a far drive from Dublin. Got there just before 10, ahead of a race start time of 11:30, as had to pick up race number etc.

Bag pickup was relatively straightforward, though our car park was a half mile from the pickup, so it was half a mile there, half a mile back to car to get changed and then half a mile back to clubhouse again, before another mile and a half to the start line! Suppose it worked as a warmup.

Start was late due to (I suspect) the whole mile and a half to the start business! There were 3 races - 3km, 10km and HM. HM course is 2 x 10k loops with an extra km or so put in the mix in between to bring it up to the regulation distance. There were 3 notable hills - one out of the start, another about 3 miles in (awful) and another at about 5 miles (long and slow), each of which we would see twice. Lovely.

Off we went. The course was nice. All on closed country roads in and around the estate, skirting a village or two along the way. Was 3 or 4 water stations on each lap, and more than adequate marshalling and directioning throughout.

I was with two other lads most of the first lap, and we traded places a few times over the first 6 miles, before I lost them around mile marker 7 as we went into Lap 2. It was then that I saw the guy in front of me stopping off to answer nature's call. I caught and passed him before he had concluded this call, and proceeded onwards, starting to tire a little, but in reasonable spirits.

I knew we were in the top 10, but wasnt 100% sure whereabouts, and couldnt see anyone in front of me (but I knew there were at least 4-5 ahead of me as I hadnt passed them). I was doing great thru mile 8 and 9, but the second round of the animal hill slowed me right down to a crawl, and the chap I had caught as he watered the flowers caught me (in fairness he encouraged me to get going again). So we ploughed on over the brow of the hill and ran pretty much together to the end.

I felt a lot better after that beastly hill, and just wanted to maintain pace after that. Myself and the other guy kept pressing on, chatting a little, comparing HM PBs (which were the same at 1:23:33), and then injecting a little pace with about a mile to go as he noticed some runners gaining on us.

We were working through a lot of 10km back markers at this stage which made life a little (but not a whole lot) difficult. We rounded the last bend into the estate, now with about 500m to go. Marshalling could have been better here as a kid nearly got knocked out of the way by my left leg, and a car pulling out onto the course. I didnt have much left, but we both pushed for the line, the other lad just having that little bit more to take him over a couple of seconds ahead of me.

1:23:07 for 7th place. Avg pace: 6:21/mi. HR avg 170, max 186.
    Winner did it in 1:10:38.
    3 miles total warmup, warm down.

Splits as follows:

Note the wildly varying splits due to the hilly nature of the course.

Mile 1: 6:19; HR 159
    Mile 2: 6:09; HR 166
    Mile 3: 6:19; HR 166
    Mile 4: 6:20; HR 170
    Mile 5: 6:42; HR 172
    Mile 6: 6:03; HR 167
    Mile 7: 6:01; HR 170
    Mile 8: 6:40; HR 172
    Mile 9: 6:13; HR 170
    Mile 10: 6:42; HR 173
    Mile 11: 6:26; HR 169
    Mile 12: 6:52; HR 176
    Mile 13: 5:53; HR 179
    Mile 13.1: 0:32 (5:35/mi); HR 184

Delighted with that on the back of high mileage and little rest. A PB on a non-PB course. Excellent. Even happier looking at it today, especially given the hills.

Soup, sambos and coffee laid on afterwards - cant argue with that! Nice atmosphere too.

Sun: 7 miles; 53:27

43.71 miles this week.

Week ending 24th February

Mon: 10.26 miles; 1:23:17
    Tue: 5.61 miles into work; 47:14
    Wed: 11.87 miles; 1:39:01
    Thu: 7.7 miles with 10 x 30 sec strides; 1:02:07
    Fri: 5.8 miles into work; 47:55
    Sun: 21.01 miles around St Annes Park; 2:54:47, average pace 8:19/mile. Nice slow long run, time on feet the key here.

Total miles: 62.25. Tough week mileage-wise with recovery from the half marathon, but steady progress, some nice easy miles overall.

Week ending 3rd March

Mon: 7.7 miles with 8 x 30 sec strides; 1:03:25
    Tue: 12 miles easy; 1:39:31
    Thu: 10.85 miles with 5 MP+ miles; average overall pace: 7:20/mi.

3.02 miles warmup: 24:03/ 7:58/mi
    5.01 miles: 33:37/ 6:43/mi
    2.82 miles cooldown to home in 21:49; 7:44/mi

Sat: 15.86 miles in 2:06:15; avg 7:58/mi
    Sun: 8 miles with 5 miles around St Annes Park with a friend; 1:09:32, average pace 8:41/mile. Nice easy start to a Sunday.

Total miles: 54.42.

‘Failure is success if we learn from it.’ - Malcolm Forbes

This is quite a long report as I am trying to give context, to illustrate the importance of the result to me, and the long road to get there. Also, I hoped it might give a feel for the course, given its the first year of the race.

Prelude:

The Chicago Marathon in October 2011:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=75049073&postcount=256 was a pivotal moment in my running career. I had trained hard over that summer and felt I was in good shape to take advantage of a flat course and get my goal of under 3 hours. It didn’t happen, and the hospital experience, together with the fright I got from it really affected me for some time afterwards. After taking some recovery time, and building up slowly, I concentrated on shorter distances for the first half of 2012, and got my times right down: 5k (to 17:43), 10k (to 35:41) and HM (1:23 odd). I paid a lot more attention to my training, used my heart rate monitor for the first time and didn’t shirk the hard miles. Living in Toronto, I dealt with temps ranging from -20 or worse to +30. But still I always had the niggling fear that what happened to me in Chicago could happen again. I would not be able to erase it completely and put it down to an anomaly – a once-off, unless I ultimately got under 3 hours in a marathon.

In October 2012, after returning home to live in Ireland, I did the Dublin Marathon on less than ideal levels of training, and managed a comfortable 3:10, with a view to getting me back in the mindset for a Spring 2013 Marathon. Tralee was on my mind at this time, and I kicked off an 18 week programme soon after, loosely based on P&D 55-70 mpw to put some structure on my road to Paddys Weekend 2013. I didn’t specifically mention the Tralee race on my log as I wanted to do it, get the job done, and then talk about it. I did some parkruns to keep me sharp, hitting a 5k PB of 17:37 in December; PB in 5 mile at Raheny (29:13) in January and another PB at Mt. Juliet HM in February, 4 weeks ahead of the Tralee Marathon (1:23:09, shaving a few seconds off my time from 2012). The latter, on a hilly course, gave me a lot of confidence. My training included 8 runs of 18 miles or more, including 2 good marathon paced sessions, and I peaked at 70 miles for 2 weeks in early February. What was working against me was a lot of pain as a result of PF, and the mental mind games of passing out in Chicago. I was managing the PF, but I was very afraid that it would flare up on raceday.

Race Morning

This was the first year of the Tralee Marathon. So there was very little to go on, in terms of how tough the course was, and organisation is always a concern for first time events. From what I had seen on the facebook page, the RD and his team were doing a very professional job in setting things up and marketing the event. And I was not disappointed when I got there. I stayed in the Grand Hotel, 3 minutes walk from the finish line and about 10 mins from the start (Aquadome, Tralee). Absolutely ideal, as I only left the hotel at 8:15 for a 9am start, and had plenty of time to spare. Conditions were cool, clear, sunny and very little wind. Went for a long sleeved top, hat and gloves. My strategy was to stick with the 3 hour pace group, and would only move on if I felt comfortable with a mile or so to go.

Just before the race, I was tying my shoelace on the back of a flat-bed truck and struck up a conversation with an older gentleman beside me, but wasn’t really looking at him as I was doing it. We had the usual chit-chat, I asked him how he was fixed, he said he didn’t really know what to expect and he would just take it as it goes. Now, somewhere along the lines I understood this, along with some other pointers from the conversation, to mean he hadn’t run a marathon before. We then chatted about where we were from, I told him I was from Dublin – he asked if I’d ever done the Dublin Marathon. I said yes, 3 times, I can highly recommend it, great course. He said ‘Oh yes of course, I know it well, I won it twice’. Cue jaw drop from me. I apologised and tried to explain that I mis-heard him. Turns out it was John Griffin, who won twice a number a years ago. I shook his hand, wished him well and went off somewhere else to tie my other lace before I said anything else stupid.

The Main Event

Miles 1-6 – to Ardfert

The race started a little late – around 9:10, apparently due to some inconsiderate people parking their car on the route. I lined up behind the pacer, but kept a low profile. I was nervous. I wasn’t really here to enjoy it, I was here to achieve a goal. And off we went. Foot was sore straight away, but this was not uncommon in the first mile of my training runs, so hopefully it would loosen out. Nice atmosphere through the town as we headed off. In the early miles, it became apparent that our pace group would be about 6-8 in number, with the leading female being part of the huddle. I’m glad I wasn’t trying for a time ahead of that, as it could have been lonely out there on your own. I could see fellow boardsie TFB out ahead of us (sorry Thomas, I never introduced myself, was staying under the radar!), and didn’t envy him having to work alone more-or-less for the duration. Our group was a tightly knit bunch, and I have to say, being part of it certainly helped me mentally and I think physically. The road out from Tralee had a gradual drag upwards, some ups and downs, then a nice downhill into Ardfert, where I discarded my hat, and took on my first gel. Good support from the locals here, and all feeling good thus far.

Miles 7-11.5 - Water Station at Barrow

We followed the road out of Ardfert and we turned right at Glebe, where the half-marathoners would go straight on (though none of them had caught us at this point, having started some 20 minutes after us). I knew there was some sort of hill to ‘look forward to’ at Mile 10. To be clear, it was rare on this course that we had a flat section, it was constant up and down, some significant stuff in there too! It was approaching the water station at c. Mile 9 that the disadvantages of the size of our group became apparent. Yes, there was only 6-8 of us, however, there were only 3 or 4 volunteers at the water station, each holding one bottle of water and one isotonic drink. All of us diving in for water caused absolute panic, bottles dropping everywhere. Of course, its not their fault, they are kids, doing what they have been told to do. But that didn’t help our case.

We then turned to the first out-and back piece, where we soon came upon the race leaders. If I thought there was panic back at the water stations, what lay in store almost required a mid-race change of pants. The hill at Barrow caused some serious groaning amongst our group, and that was before we even went up it. It was a tough climb, pace really slowed, and I was delighted to reach the top, and over the 10.2 mile timing mat in 1:10:17, before turning around and descending it. At this point, we were passing all of those going up it and I really felt for them! So, back to the water station, and this time, having missed out, I was determined to get a bottle of water as I was going to be having a gel. One guy holding water bottles tucked in with his arm – about 5 bottles – ‘Grab away lads, grab away’ he said. Seriously. I had to stop, twist backwards to grab one and then re-start.

Miles 11.5 – 15 End of Pier in Fenit

Soon after that fiasco came a long, slow hill. One of the guys in the group was cursing his way up this which didn’t really help the rest of the group’s motivation. Kept on going anyhow, I was feeling fine, had actually got plenty of water on board and was in control of my situation. I knew the hardest parts of the course were beyond us, but also was aware that the remainder was not going to be flat by any stretch. There was no timing mat for half-way, so I don’t have my exact split, but considering I hit 13 miles on the Garmin at 1:28:07, I'm thinking somewhere just shy of 1:29 is where I expect it was. There was another long winding hill, before a short sharp hill and a right-turn into Fenit. From there it was downhill into the town where there was a carnival atmosphere, and down to the end of the pier and the next timing mat <15 miles, 1:42:49>.

Miles 15-22.5 Touching on Tralee

We climbed out of Fenit (yes, a climb again) and I took on some more water - this time having to take the water off a table as there was no-one around, and a gel a couple of miles later at 17 miles, . From there, it was generally flat (in the context of the last few miles) for the next couple of miles, before some more extensive, slow climbing, then thankfully downhill into Spa at 19.5 miles, where we met the half-marathoners. I was concerned about this meeting as we could well encounter some slower runners blocking the road in groups. Not their fault, just hard to negotiate on tired legs. Apart from one or two occasions, this wasn’t a major issue – to be honest, cars whizzing by was a greater concern throughout the race.

I think our group was down to 4 or 5 including myself, the pacer and the leading lady by 20 miles. We turned right onto a very narrow road at 20 odd miles through the Kerries, and there was another climb of note around 21 miles I think. Would this climbing ever end? I had my last scheduled gel at 22 miles, was still feeling very good (normally this time in a marathon would be tough for me), and was due to meet wifey killerz at 22.5 miles where the course hit the outskirts of Tralee. There she was, with a small bottle of lucozade sport and gel attached. I graciously took this off her and took some fluids on, then passed it around (I think there were 4 of us now). The group was good for offering water and lucozade around – I think we all understood how easy it was to miss those water stations!

22.5 to home

I always believed this bit could be tough mentally as we turned out of Tralee, which could be demoralising. Thankfully I felt in good shape but was remaining in control of my pace as I know the dangers of the last couple of miles of a marathon! It must have been around 23.5 miles I heard the pacer mutter something, anyhow he dropped off, I think he said something like ‘Sorry, I’m gone’. I didn’t turn around, I didn’t look behind me. I pushed on. It was down to me now. Shortly after this, I hit the turn around for home point (24 miles), taking a bottle of water more for security than anything else. It would be just over 2 miles to the end now, including a mile and a half stretch of gravel path along by the canal. I passed one runner on this stretch who had pushed on from the 3 hour pace group earlier on. I heard someone shout that I was in 11th place too. At least that’s what I think I heard.

I did find this part a little lonely and tough running on the stones. If I had been below par, this part may well have been disheartening. Any wind that might have been blowing was now at my back, which mentally gave another boost. So I put in some fast miles here and then back into the town, through some side streets, before upping the pace one final time and in home in 2:58:15 officially, good for 11th place overall. Superb! Great crowd support for that section from the Brandon and through the park. Felt pretty reasonable afterwards. My legs didn’t feel like they were about to explode for once. Certainly, over the course of the marathon, I never felt the effort was tough. I remained within myself, just opening up a little over the last 2 miles. Got my medal (very nice piece), foil blanket, and most importantly - adoration from Mrs. Killerz.

I spoke to the pacer later (who I’ve since found out is a seriously qualified racer) as I met him in the Brandon Hotel, I introduced myself for the first time and thanked him for his work. I’m sure he was disappointed that he had to drop out, but for me certainly, he had done a great job at regulating the pace, was bang on and steady and in fairness, we were near the home stretch when it happened.

Postscript

It didn’t sink in straight away, but this was what I worked hard for. I gave up booze before Christmas (not entirely for running, but to give myself a break from alcohol), worked hard on massaging and managing my injuries, paid more attention to nutrition and training and I reaped the results. Could I have gone lower than 2:58 today on this course? Yes, but that was not a risk I was willing to take. Can I go lower again? Yes, on a course like Dublin, or even Rotterdam or Berlin with good conditions. But that’s for another day. For now, I have a marker to work off.

This was a beautiful course, fabulous scenery, but very tough. The people of Tralee were extremely hospitable. The water stations are something that can be worked on, and maybe more road closures could be looked at as the event no doubt gains popularity into future years. I understand how this happens, maybe if there was a table with bottles there in addition to people holding them out, that may have helped. All in all, I would recommend the race and the general experience. I had the added bonus of meeting boardsie Hot to Trot by coincidence in one of Tralee’s establishments on Saturday evening. Another face to the name!

With special thanks to boardsie Larry Brent and Mrs. Killerz for all the support in achieving this goal. Ultimately, the execution of a marathon on race day itself is a solo effort, but like many ‘solo’ efforts, there is strong support in place in the background, and for different reasons and in different ways, I am thankful to them for pushing me on.

Next up is the Connemara Ultra, where I will be going at an easy pace. Looking forward to it already.

The Stats:

Meal the night before: Medium size Four Star Pizza SoHo Hot, lots of pasta.
    Breakfast: Not much appetite after the above, but squeezed in 1 and a half bagels, a banana, cup of tea, bottle of water and half a jaffa cake, between 7 and 8am.
    During the race: Plenty of water, 4 x Clif Raspberry Gels (no caffeine), small amounts of lucozade sports.

Mile Splits:

Total recorded per Garmin: 26.38 miles, 2:58:19, avg pace 6:46/mi, avg HR 162, max 184

Mile Time HR
    1 6:57 173
    2 6:52 160
    3 6:50 159
    4 6:53 162
    5 6:29 159
    6 6:42 158
    7 6:50 159
    8 6:50 157
    9 6:38 156
    10 6:46 155
    11 6:49 162
    12 6:54 161
    13 6:38 163
    14 6:52 162
    15 6:48 161
    16 6:57 159
    17 6:52 158
    18 6:46 160
    19 6:54 165
    20 6:38 162
    21 6:49 164
    22 7:01 167
    23 6:44 166
    24 6:45 169
    25 6:32 173
    26 6:24 176
    to 26.38 (finish) 2:11 or 5:42/mi pace HR 180.

Finish line photo: http://kerryseyephotosales.photoshelter.com/image?&_bqG=3&_bqH=eJwrs9TNNo70zjEIrwgr9HHLD8pMMfavNI3PzSu3MjSxMjQwAGEg6RnvEuxsa2BsaK4GZsY7.rnYlgDZocGuQfGeLrahIGWhaaaJninF2flhyWrxjs4htqXFRcGpiUXJGWruIEXuIEWRgUGmrsa5KYGeBmrOIFFnkKhfZHmmU0CVq2OgKwDvMSv0&GI_ID=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Great stuff Killerz!!
    Any idea what Happened Keith, as you say he is overqualified so I doubt the pace was too hot. I assume he got injured?
    Oh, and enjoy Conn Ultra, it really is a super race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

well done killerz,,see u in conn

menoscemo wrote: »
    Great stuff Killerz!!
    Any idea what Happened Keith, as you say he is overqualified so I doubt the pace was too hot. I assume he got injured?
    Oh, and enjoy Conn Ultra, it really is a super race.

I asked him after, and he told me, but I didn't quite grasp it. It was definitely some sort of injury. Thought he mentioned something about his knee - although I doubt he would have risked running to the end (at a reasonable pace) if it was something serious, so hopefully he's okay.

Edit: Mrs. Killerz tells me that he said his calf was shot, and that he walked the last bit home.

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭Larry Brent

Well done mate, well deserved. Delighted.

Week ending 10th March

(This covers the period up to the week before the Tralee marathon).

Mon: 7 miles; 56:52. Easy run.
    Tue: 8.11 miles, total 1:02:37 avg pace 7:43, incorporating 3 x 1 mile at HM-ish pace with 1 min recoveries

2 miles in 16:38
    1 mile 6:33
    1 mile 6:26
    1 mile 6:22
    2.85 miles 24:38

Thu: 5.68 miles; 46:00. Easy run into work.
    Sat: 11.8 miles slow pace run; 1:37:48; 8:17/mi. Probably a little bit extra than originally planned as the last run of any significant distance pre-marathon. Felt fine afterwards though.

Total miles: 32.59. Nice easy week, 1 week to goal race.

Week ending 17th March

(This covers the days leading up to the marathon)

Mon: 5.06 miles nice and easy home from work, 44:15
    Tue: Tune-up run, 7.69 miles with 2@MP

59:12 total, avg pace 7:42/mi
    2.15 miles warmup: 17:48; 8:18/mi
    2 miles MP 13:27; avg 6:43/mi
    3.54 cooldown and home: 27:58; 7:54/mi

MP miles felt just fine, but to be honest my left foot was in a lot of pain on the cooldown miles and this was playing havoc with my head in advance of the main event which was coming down the tracks fast!

Following the above run, I decided to scrap my last run (scheduled for the Thursday) and just leave it that til Saturday and hope that the rest was better than trying to get another run in.

Thankfully, as was seen in the prior post, the strategy paid off! :D

Total miles this week (including marathon 26.2): 38.95

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 9,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ciarrai76

Killerz wrote: »
    Week ending 10th March

(This covers the period up to the week before the Tralee marathon).

Mon: 7 miles; 56:52. Easy run.
    Tue: 8.11 miles, total 1:02:37 avg pace 7:43, incorporating 3 x 1 mile at HM-ish pace with 1 min recoveries

2 miles in 16:38
    1 mile 6:33
    1 mile 6:26
    1 mile 6:22
    2.85 miles 24:38

Thu: 5.68 miles; 46:00. Easy run into work.
    Sat: 11.8 miles slow pace run; 1:37:48; 8:17/mi. Probably a little bit extra than originally planned as the last run of any significant distance pre-marathon. Felt fine afterwards though.

Total miles: 32.59. Nice easy week, 1 week to goal race.

Week ending 17th March

(This covers the days leading up to the marathon)

Mon: 5.06 miles nice and easy home from work, 44:15
    Tue: Tune-up run, 7.69 miles with 2@MP

59:12 total, avg pace 7:42/mi
    2.15 miles warmup: 17:48; 8:18/mi
    2 miles MP 13:27; avg 6:43/mi
    3.54 cooldown and home: 27:58; 7:54/mi

MP miles felt just fine, but to be honest my left foot was in a lot of pain on the cooldown miles and this was playing havoc with my head in advance of the main event which was coming down the tracks fast!

Following the above run, I decided to scrap my last run (scheduled for the Thursday) and just leave it that til Saturday and hope that the rest was better than trying to get another run in.

Thankfully, as was seen in the prior post, the strategy paid off! :D

Total miles this week (including marathon 26.2): 38.95

great to read your run in the first Tralee Marathon, well done!! I'm from Tralee, and there were a lot of people I know who ran it! I am considering it for next year, well the half marathon as I've never done one!
    I know John Griffin, but unfortunately he had to pull out of race, so he didn't finish :( I'm not sure what happened, but he was telling my parents he found it tough alright.
    Hopefully you'll come back and do it again next year! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,504 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Congrats killerz. Delighted you got that Chicago monkey off your back with a very well deserved time. Looking at the splits, there's definitely plenty more to come. A perfectly executed race. Onwards and upwards!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Congrats killerz. Delighted you got that Chicago monkey off your back with a very well deserved time. Looking at the splits, there's definitely plenty more to come. A perfectly executed race. Onwards and upwards!

Not sure how I missed this log but fair play to you for getting back on that sub 3 horse!

I think the most impressive part is the superb mental effort considering your previous experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

Well done man, huge congratulations! I've been a lurker on this log for a while and I have to say your training has been very consistent and oh so impressive! Well done on achieving your goal.

Ciarrai76 wrote: »
    great to read your run in the first Tralee Marathon, well done!! I'm from Tralee, and there were a lot of people I know who ran it! I am considering it for next year, well the half marathon as I've never done one!
    I know John Griffin, but unfortunately he had to pull out of race, so he didn't finish :( I'm not sure what happened, but he was telling my parents he found it tough alright.
    Hopefully you'll come back and do it again next year! :)

Thanks ciarrai76, hopefully my report gave a decent flavour of what to expect in the race, even thought you are probably well aware of the course etc. Best of luck in working towards next years event. Who knows, i may come back for a second bite!

Thanks Krusty, i am delighted too. I knew i had it in me but needed a good run of training to ultimately execute it. The nice cool weather helped a lot too! I agree there is definitely more within reach in the short to medium term.... I'll keep following your log for added motivation :D
    Gavlor wrote: »

Not sure how I missed this log but fair play to you for getting back on that sub 3 horse!

I think the most impressive part is the superb mental effort considering your previous experience

Appreciate it, i think keeping the demons at bay was key, and i am now filled with some added belief which will hopefully spur me on to better things....
    Well done man, huge congratulations! I've been a lurker on this log for a while and I have to say your training has been very consistent and oh so impressive! Well done on achieving your goal.

Thank you very much DSD. I'm glad you are enjoying the log....its nothing special,but it keeps me honest! I'm looking forward to the ultra now and will probably take a few weeks' rest after that!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Gavlor

soho hot pizza the night before :eek:

Do you have some kind of freaky iron gut????

Gavlor wrote: »
    soho hot pizza the night before :eek:

Do you have some kind of freaky iron gut????

I was in the pizza shop and unfortunately i suffered a bout of menu panic, you know where the person is asking what you want and you pick the first things on the menu that looks good. 2 mins later, with the order well under way, you realise that was never what you wanted. Nonetheless, it worked out well!

• Registered Users Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

Well done Killerz, you kept the pace very consistent and got a well deserved result. Great race and great report. It must have been a brilliant feeling speeding down the last couple of miles rather than speeding your way to the hospital! Now that you've broken the 3 hour barrier, much more to come no doubt....