Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Stage 1a(1) - The Aptitude Test

• Registered Users Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭thekopend

lukesmom wrote: »
    Just say you were to have 'pull'. At what stage should this pull be mentioned, if at all? I'm speaking theoretically.

At interview stage the senior garda might just give you top marks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Faith and Justice

whatinthe wrote: »
    Just over 1400 people applied in May 2008, the last recruitment campaign to take place. Over half of them went forward to interview.

That will not be the case this time around!

From what I remember there was a campaign starting in January of that year, and it's not possible to apply more then once in six months.

I applied and I was unable to reapply in May. So where thousands that also didn't make it.

Those people had it easy because there were such few applicants.

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭whatinthe

thekopend wrote: »
    At interview stage the senior garda might just give you top marks!
    Gardai are no longer on interview board. Remember, they made it very clear that AGS takes over after Stages 1-4 are completed. It is a very similiar model to the PSNI recruitment process/

Who told you that there is no garda on the panel? Just because pas run it doesn't mean there won't be a garda!

• Registered Users Posts: 48 stargazer9

Archer3083 wrote: »
    I said that too. I can't understand why it's going to take til the end of February. Without being too critical it's a long time for us to wait, and it's nerve wrecking for most of us cos we care so much!
    I recently got some temping work with a company doing a recruitment drive. It was similar to this Garda recruitment drive, in that they were highly sought-after positions, the company were hiring 100-200 people and received many thousands of applications.
    The company used Cut-e to do the psychometric testing.
    The results do take a while to come back from Cut-e. They grade the tests, fit the results onto a curve, and provide the company that's doing the recruiting with a database of people's results and also the curve with suggested pass rates, and interpretations of what the results tell you about the person.
    For example, if a company was recruiting people to work on an assembly line in a factory, one of the tests might be to see how quickly they can learn how to do a task. So the testing would be something like 8 boxes and you have to put them in the correct order every time after seeing it done once. When the results come back, the recruiters look at the list. Obviously the top of the list is the 'cream' of the crop. So at this point they might decide that everyone who scored over 60% (or whatever pass mark they like) will progress to stage 2, and so on.
    At every stage the recruiters have to balance people's results in each test and give weighting to each stage as some are more important than others.
    I realise I have gone on a tangent here but what I'm trying to say is that it's not just a matter of getting computerised test results and going from there. The recruiters will spend a lot of time deciding on the pass rate, weighting etc. I think they will cast the net very wide going into stage 2, as they won't want to rule out people who may have only got 40 or 50% in the tests, but at later stages may prove that they have other qualities that would make them excellent Guards.

On a separate note, at what stage do we submit our CVs for this role? I'm nervous about that tbh, my CV is a bit of an embarrassment! There are several gaps in employment, and I also dropped out of college :-0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

And that is how false rumours start

Gardai will most definitely be on the interview panel alongside pas staff.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

D Trent wrote: »

Yeah I was thinking they will!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭air assault

does any one know roughly when you get your results from the aptitude test?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Just over 1400 people applied in May 2008, the last recruitment campaign to take place. Over half of them went forward to interview.

That will not be the case this time around!

1400 people for 500 jobs? I like those odds:D and don't forget a panel was also created so most of the ones who didnt get in were told 'won't be long till your next' Miles away from what's happening these days lads... :o:o

• Registered Users Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭STIG83

does any one know roughly when you get your results from the aptitude test?

End of February

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭Andrea345

stargazer9 wrote: »
    I recently got some temping work with a company doing a recruitment drive. It was similar to this Garda recruitment drive, in that they were highly sought-after positions, the company were hiring 100-200 people and received many thousands of applications.
    The company used Cut-e to do the psychometric testing.
    The results do take a while to come back from Cut-e. They grade the tests, fit the results onto a curve, and provide the company that's doing the recruiting with a database of people's results and also the curve with suggested pass rates, and interpretations of what the results tell you about the person.
    For example, if a company was recruiting people to work on an assembly line in a factory, one of the tests might be to see how quickly they can learn how to do a task. So the testing would be something like 8 boxes and you have to put them in the correct order every time after seeing it done once. When the results come back, the recruiters look at the list. Obviously the top of the list is the 'cream' of the crop. So at this point they might decide that everyone who scored over 60% (or whatever pass mark they like) will progress to stage 2, and so on.
    At every stage the recruiters have to balance people's results in each test and give weighting to each stage as some are more important than others.
    I realise I have gone on a tangent here but what I'm trying to say is that it's not just a matter of getting computerised test results and going from there. The recruiters will spend a lot of time deciding on the pass rate, weighting etc. I think they will cast the net very wide going into stage 2, as they won't want to rule out people who may have only got 40 or 50% in the tests, but at later stages may prove that they have other qualities that would make them excellent Guards.

On a separate note, at what stage do we submit our CVs for this role? I'm nervous about that tbh, my CV is a bit of an embarrassment! There are several gaps in employment, and I also dropped out of college :-0

All this sounds very fair I have to say and puts me at ease.

I don't think having "pull" is going to have anything to do with this campaign or any other future campaign. I'm not even sure if it had in the past, it's not for me to comment on, it's hear say. You have to have faith in the system otherwise what is the point. If potential recruits don't have faith in the selection process then what does that say to the general public about the Gardaí, or the recruiters and what does that say about us? The best of the best will get in, in this campaign, it's pointless talking about pull because everyone is in the same boat.

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭galalala123

Andrea345 wrote: »
    All this sounds very fair I have to say and puts me at ease.

I don't think having "pull" is going to have anything to do with this campaign or any other future campaign. I'm not even sure if it had in the past, it's not for me to comment on, it's hear say. You have to have faith in the system otherwise what is the point. If potential recruits don't have faith in the selection process then what does that say to the general public about the Gardaí, or the recruiters and what does that say about us? The best of the best will get in, in this campaign, it's pointless talking about pull because everyone is in the same boat.

I dont agree that the best of the best will get in at all but at least its a fair and equal process!!

Well we can agree to disagree. Everyone had a chance to prepare for the aptitude tests and do their homework. As for the interview well that's again something that can be prepared for and is based on the persons individual merits. I have no doubts that the people getting though will be fit for the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Personally I believe that ' pull ' will only come into play at interview level,

And down the line when applying for specialised positions within ags pull will come in to play hugely!

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭whatinthe

D Trent wrote: »

Not what I heard, but I may be wrong. Again, it is very strongly worded both externally and internally(within AGS) that PAS have full responsibility for Stages 1-4.

As I said, I may be wrong. However, I do believe that the recruitment process has changed dramatically. Anyone who has been successful in the PSNI process can attest to how hands off the PSNI are for the initial stages. The Garda Trainee process is looking to go down the same route.

From what I've personally heard and read, the process has been altered to ensure they get candidates into Templemore solely on merit.. learn from mistakes of the past etc.

Anyway, good luck y'all.

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

a member of AGS will most deffo be meeting you at interview stage!

To think that there will be no one on the interview panel for the job of a garda who has first hand experience in the job (eg a garda), is noncence to say the leased.

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭ann.lewis

Is this new ?
    What happened to the retired member on the panel with a member from pas ? Thats how it was when they reduced the panel of interviewers from 3 to 2.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

ann.lewis wrote: »
    Is this new ?
    What happened to the retired member on the panel with a member from pas ? Thats how it was when they reduced the panel of interviewers from 3 to 2.

Yes it's a retired member. A cushy job where they can still use their authority! Full time AGS members have better things to be doing than sitting on interview panels. At least I'd hope so

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭mycro89

I guess we have to hope we get that far, one step at a time! The wait continues.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

I got an email saying I didn't complete all stages, but I definitely did.

I even went back a few hours later to make sure there was no other options available. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭fergie199

I even went back a few hours later to make sure there was no other options available. :confused:

Are you sure you answered both e.mails as in the questionnaire plus the aptitude/verbal tests

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭scheister

so im not the only one that got that email today. im the same as you i taught i had completed all the sections till i got the email today

scheister wrote: »
    so im not the only one that got that email today. im the same as you i taught i had completed all the sections till i got the email today

I think longhalloween is saying that he/she had completed all tests whereas you hadn't. Slightly different from your incident. Did you get two emails because there was one with the two tests and one separate with the questionnaire.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭fergie199

Andrea345 wrote: »
    I think longhalloween is saying that he/she had completed all tests whereas you hadn't. Slightly different from your incident. Did you get two emails because there was one with the two tests and one separate with the questionnaire.

Pretty much the same as what I said

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭Mark37

Will you both get to do the exam's again??

Mark37 wrote: »
    Will you both get to do the exam's again??

I forgot the questionnaire. Both emails ended up in my junk folder. I saw the aptitude test email and moved it to the main folder, but the questionnaire email arrived a few hours later and I missed it.

My reminder email said I'll receive a link to the questionnaire. Nothing else was mentioned.
    I'll get to do it from 12pm tomorrow to 2pm on Friday.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭want2b

I forgot the questionnaire. Both emails ended up in my junk folder. I saw the aptitude test email and moved it to the main folder, but the questionnaire email arrived a few hours later and I missed it.

My reminder email said I'll receive a link to the questionnaire. Nothing else was mentioned.
    I'll get to do it from 12pm tomorrow to 2pm on Friday.

It a disgrace, if somebody wanted the job enough they would of made sure to do all exams. Should be hard luck if they didn't do it. It only slowing up the process.

want2b wrote: »
    It a disgrace, if somebody wanted the job enough they would of made sure to do all exams. Should be hard luck if they didn't do it. It only slowing up the process.

It is absolutely none of your business so keep your comments to yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭want2b

It is absolutely none of your business so keep your comments to yourself.

No I won't. I am as entitled as you are to post on here....