Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stingiest thing you've seen stingy people do

• Registered Users Posts: 786 ✭✭✭ps3man

RainyDay wrote: »
    You might want to start looking for a new job after Christmas. I'm no fan of Doyle, but he is entitled to confidentiality on his personal purchases. It's a fair bet that someone will point him towards your posting.

If you want to rethink your post, I've no problem with the mods deleting my response.
    edited my post there.. the country has gone mad.. they take the piss out of whoever they want on their shows and I have to worry about what he might do for a post on a forum site.. moving to Dubai in june.. can't wait now

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

When we were students there were 3 of us in particular who always drank together. We all drank porter, namely Guinness as the norm, but one guy would always insist on buying Beamish when his round came along because it was something like 20p a pint cheaper at the time. I also remember one particular night when this alone wasn't saving enough, so he used to walk out of the lounge (where we always drank) across the car park and into the bar to buy the round, thereby saving himself another 5p per pint. The fact that he was spilling more than 5p worth of porter out of each pint on the return journey never seemed to occur to him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,568 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

ps3man wrote: »
    edited my post there.. the country has gone mad.. they take the piss out of whoever they want on their shows and I have to worry about what he might do for a post on a forum site.. moving to Dubai in june.. can't wait now

Tell us more when you get there.
    The person (or others) will have a hell of a harder task trying to sue you if your living there! :D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭DramaQuee

I don't like That Purchaser either. Unfortunately awful undressed images of him come up in Google search, I was trying to place how I'd heard of him. He is very vain as well as screwgy.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,508 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

A friend of mine lived in a house with two other lads years ago. One of the lads was getting married and my friend decided to take him out for a drink the week before the wedding. The other lad couldn't join them because he had a date with a new girl and they were going to the evening part of a wedding themselves.

That night on the way home from the pub who should they meet on the street but the third lad and his new girlfriend returning from the wedding. The problem was that yer man was wearing the other lads wedding suit which he had "borrowed" from his room. Miserable Bstard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

ps3man wrote: »

He takes the piss out of people, but they don't give details of what they bought in the supermarket - there's a difference.

No point in me editing my point now as other folk have quoted it - feel free to speak to the mods if you want to get it deleted.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Well the main thing is that we're all still talking about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭dorkacle

Just remembered this one, a friend of mine was having and invited me to a BBQ in his house. He asked for a lend of my BBQ as hed didn't actually own one, but the BBQ in question was actually my dad's and i didn't feel comfortable loaning something that was not mine.

I told him such, and that was fine. No problem.

Only he rings me the day of the BBQ looking for money towards a BBQ of his own....?

I've had plenty of BBQ's in the house and never expected anyone to bring anything to the house, maybe their own drink and even on occasion I wouldn't have been bothered even about that as they were 'last minute' and we just drank what was in the house at the time... Of course some people did on many occasions too.

I had already bought burgers/buns and my own drink for the BBQ and was shocked when he suggested I pay for the BBQ with him! Screw that like he was organising it!

I blatantly said to him I can't believe your asking me to pay for your BBQ and didn't give him money for it, made it awkward actually going to the BBQ though... :rolleyes:
    I'll never forget him and one the other lads having a moan about my attitude about that, was I in the wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

dorkacle wrote: »
    Just remembered this one, a friend of mine was having and invited me to a BBQ in his house. He asked for a lend of my BBQ as hed didn't actually own one, but the BBQ in question was actually my dad's and i didn't feel comfortable loaning something that was not mine.

Only he rings me the day of the BBQ looking for money towards a BBQ of his own....?

I've had plenty of BBQ's in the house and never expected anyone to bring anything to the house, maybe their own drink and even on occasion I wouldn't have been bothered even about that as they were 'last minute' and we just drank what was in the house at the time... Of course some people did on many occasions too.

I had already bought burgers/buns and my own drink for the BBQ and was shocked when he suggested I pay for the BBQ with him! Screw that like he was organising it!

I blatantly said to him I can't believe your asking me to pay for your BBQ and didn't give him money for it, made it awkward actually going to the BBQ though... :rolleyes:
    I'll never forget him and one the other lads having a moan about my attitude about that, was I in the wrong?

I'd usually bring a few burgers of my own but if I was to have a barbecue I wouldn't dream of actually asking people to bring things! I'd make sure I had everything and whatever anyone else brought would be a bonus. You definitely were not in the wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭dorkacle

I'd usually bring a few burgers of my own but if I was to have a barbecue I wouldn't dream of actually asking people to bring things! I'd make sure I had everything and whatever anyone else brought would be a bonus. You definitely were not in the wrong!

Good to know :) and just to make it clear, I was being asked to pay for the actual BBQ, used for the cooking like haha! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

was I in the wrong?

Next time you invite him to yours, ask him to give you something towards carpets and a 3 piece suite!

It's one thing asking your mates to contribute some burgers/buns/condiments/salads if you're all students or unemployed or generally strapped for cash. It's waaaaay the other end of the spectrum asking them to contribute towards the flippin hardware!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I've had plenty of BBQ's in the house and never expected anyone to bring

God no ! He already had a hard enough neck to ask for a loan of a BBQ grill in the first place (I mean who does that? Those things are heavy as fook and very hard to transport) but to ask you to pay for a BBQ grill set too? No way were you wrong to refuse !
    Worse was to follow- on a day trip in 40 degree heat, we all ran to the caravan selling snacks to get some water down our parched throats. It was 2euros but we were literally dying from the heat so we all paid-except my friend. She literally had a purple face from the heat but wouldnt buy any water, insisting "Im fine". I was gonna give her some of my water but then I thought to hell with her, nobody that tight deserves it!

Ha. That remind me of my friend, well a friend of a friend really, from the days when I lived in Atlanta. We used to go to Braves baseball games that can last up to 4 hours. In 100 degree heat, guzzling water along with your beer and hot dogs is very important if you don't want to well...die. This one tulip was too cheap to buy the bottled water they sold inside the stadium. She left, and walked back outside to the car park about a 1/2 mile away, in the blazing heat, to buy water for just $1 from the people selling it on the side of the road. It was $2.95 inside the stadium, but at least it was ice cold unlike the warm stuff being sold at the side of the road.

Anyway, an hour goes by and she hasn't come back, so we start to get worried. Then we get a phone call from the first aid station. Turns out she had collapsed from heat exhaustion on the way back from buying her cheap water, and had to stay hooked up to a drip for the rest of the game to rehydrate her. Then on the way home, she whinged about having to cough up money for the more expensive car park closer to the stadium. We parked in it so we wouldn't have to walk too far in the melting heat to get to and from the car. And all this from a woman who just spent the previous 2 hours hooked up to a bloody drip because she couldn't take the heat ! Needless to say, we never invited her to come with us again.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,266 ✭✭✭✭Victor

My expenditure to date on this Christmas: €12. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Victor wrote: »

That could be:

a) Stingy
    b) Lazy & not done yet
    c) no friends.
    d) multiple of the above

Edit Seeing mod status ( only joking on c ) :D

• Registered Users Posts: 78,266 ✭✭✭✭Victor

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

Good to know :) and just to make it clear, I was being asked to pay for the actual BBQ, used for the cooking like haha! :eek:

He'll want you to pay for his lawn next

• Registered Users Posts: 9,662 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

A pub down the road from the pub I worked in was owned by the same people, so all the staff would hear stories from both places, as staff was often shifted up and down the road. Both very large places.

At Christmas one year (during the boom times) all the staff in the bar got handed an extra night wage in our pub as a little bonus; we were always glad to get something as wages were pretty poor. Having said that the kitchen staff always got a multiple of this, they were always treated better, just to put things in perspective.

Anyways, we heard then that the same night, one of the managers in the pub down the road gathered all the bar staff together after several hectic Christmas weeks and basically whispered "here, keep it quiet" and handed everyone a €5 note each. Would you really have the cheek to hand that out? I'd prefer a "thanks for all your hard work" than that insult.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,692 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Were ya fúck in the wrong. Personally I wouldn't go to a BBQ without my own booze and some form of grub, anything at all.
    But for him to expect you to contribute to the actual cost of the BBQ equipment, that is bananas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

I was staying in a hotel last night. Rang reception looking for the wifi code. She says it's a fiver..

Not impressed, i turned on the hot tap in the sink and bath, left them running for hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,065 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Squ wrote: »
    I was staying in a hotel last night. Rang reception looking for the wifi code. She says it's a fiver..

Not impressed, i turned on the hot tap in the sink and bath, left them running for hours.

Did you get a wifi code from doing that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

Did you get a wifi code from doing that?
    No. Didn't make me feel better either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Who in the name of sweet Jesus host's a bbq without actually being in possession of the most fundamental piece of the puzzle. The fücking bbq itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭DramaQuee

Guess: Chrimbo for homeless person who has just bought himself 2 bottles of plonk?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

ken wrote: »
    Who in the name of sweet Jesus host's a bbq without actually being in possession of the most fundamental piece of the puzzle. The fücking bbq itself.
    You can pick up disposable BBQ's for a fiver

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Hopefully you've been to a lot of office parties

and like most males plan on doing the bulk of your shopping on Christmas eve ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

My employers.

Not a thing for Christmas, miserable shower of bastards!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Squ wrote: »

Bastard, I had a cold shower this morning because of you.

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭Hamiltonion

Why waste water / power / our earths natural resources? Only pennies to hotel, you shoulda complained to the manager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

A mate of mine told me about his work xmas party a few years ago, it was in this expensive hotel, they had a great meal and rounds apon rounds of "free" drink, the boss brought his wife and he got the local paper to come to take pics,then he fled the scene with his wife before all the employees,leaving them to pick up the tab,the employees even had to pay for the boss and his wife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭leaveiton

I went on holiday to Malta a few years back and it was August so very hot. On our first night there, my friend and I went down for a bite to eat, having not had anything all day. I order a sandwich and wine and she just has tap water. When I ask is she not having aything she takes a cooler bag out of her handbag filled with sandwiches she had prepared at home (and squashed into her lugguage)! She lasted on them for the first 2 days and then used coppers to pay for the rest of her food, it killed her to break any notes. I couldnt believe how tight that was.

Worse was to follow- on a day trip in 40 degree heat, we all ran to the caravan selling snacks to get some water down our parched throats. It was 2euros but we were literally dying from the heat so we all paid-except my friend. She literally had a purple face from the heat but wouldnt buy any water, insisting "Im fine". I was gonna give her some of my water but then I thought to hell with her, nobody that tight deserves it! I dont go on holidays with her anymore, I couldnt hold my tongue again. :mad:

I went on holidays with someone almost exactly like that! The second story is very similar to one that happened to me. We were also on a day trip and had been walking for a while. We had water with us but it was warm so it was doing nothing to refresh us. I went in to a shop to buy something to drink, decided on a can of coke. It was something like 1.80 but like you I was parched and didn't care. Friend in question kept commenting on how expensive it was. Did the same thing almost any time someone bought anything.

I felt like saying "I'm not making you pay for it so why do you care?" I'd been tight enough for the last few months trying to save for the holiday, why be a stinge when I got there? As is typical in these stories, she was by far the most well off out of all of us.