Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

United Ireland Poll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I wasn't talking to you. I was talking to Rossi who very clearly implied that the only possible reason I couldn't give a toss about who the north belonged to as long as there was peace was beacuse I was lazy and selfish. He made assumptions about me which told me all I needed about him to put him in with "the likes of you", you were not included in that category (I also just love that phrase lol).

Things may not be perfect up north, but they're damn near enough. and nothing can justify stirring up trouble again. The power sharing ensures both sides have outlets for any grievances.

Thank you for highlighting that, but I took exception to the "likes of you" comment.. To which both Rossi and I are Republicans. he is speaking from his heart, and it's hard to portray yourself properly on a public forum without getting a little heated and losing controlm, but I understand where he is coming from. Rossi is also a socialist, which in theory - has a main priority of social equality for the people and ending injustices in the social sector across the world. I assure you, his intentions are definitely genuine.

The power sharing isn't perfect, like I already outlined - the Loyalist veto controls what really happens. Power sharing has always been one step on the path of Unity. And the greater Republican movement absolutely 100% backs peaceful Unity of Ireland.

I understand that a fully comprehensive plan will have to be devised for integration, but I believe it must be done. I have already outlined in numerous posts my points as to why I want it so, so I won't repeat myself.

I commend that you care about other problems across the world, but you should also look a little closer to home. It is entirely your decision and I respect that. I can see that we have differences of opinion. You feel that the North is now stable enough to go on it's own and respects both cultures, I feel this is not an accurate assessment of the current situation in the North.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

dlofnep wrote: »
    Because it's apart of Ireland.
    No no, it's part of the UK now and has been for quite a while.

Do you see why?
    dlofnep wrote:
    It's an integral part of our history and culture, only recently divided. It is a small land mass and makes no sense whatsoever being seperated.

Well, that's life. I'd suggest you stop living in the past. Also, how is it a part of our culture/history? How does the North have any impact on our culture? Absolute bullshít.
    dlofnep wrote:
    Unity on this Island, where everyone is accepted and treated equal makes sense. Under current British administration, the loyalist big wigs can flex their might and veto out areas of importance to Irish people like the Irish Language Act.. This would be respected in a United Ireland.

Makes sense? No it does not. You're living in a dream if you think it'll ever happen that way, without thousands more people dying over it.

The Protestants have as much of a right to that land as those claiming to be "Irish" at the moment.
    dlofnep wrote:
    But if anything, we should do it because thousands of people on this Island have given up their life for it's Unity and Freedom. You're not being asked for your life, just for a nod of the head.

Lol, I suppose you're an avid fan of the IRA/Sinn Fein, right?
    Rossibaby wrote: »
    because not everyone values money above all else? im sure you're in total support of the way countries like the USA and ourselves rape third world countries and leaves them in poverty while selling their products at a highly increased price to overpay general labour forces and make sure more people can afford 40" lcd's. also disregard the 300,000 people who live as under class citizens in ireland,sure as long as your grand yourself who cares

Lol.

Snyper: Good job bringing out the IRA/Sinn Fein supporters on boards :p

The North doesn't cause us any hassle as is, it really only causes England hassle, and that's the way it should stay. We as a country don't need the burden/costs that would be incurred by "Uniting" Ireland. There's no benefits to it, oh so a few who were born in a British country think they're Irish 'cause it's on the same island might get to actually be Irish, but there's a bunch of protestants up there who've as much of a right to the place who'd be extremely píssed off about it. As is, things are working pretty smoothly and should be kept that way.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

I'm disgusted at the attitude of some posters here.

I'd vote yes, of course I would, I'm Irish. Ireland belongs to the Irish. Closure would be nice.

Why does everyone assume war would break out.....

Oh and I'm not an IRA or Sinn Fein supporter...

Being pro irish does not = being anti british ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭kreuzberger

"
    Occupation of the north"

Will you get over yourself!

The north is in Irland . Britian is in Britian . Britian occupies part of the Irish national territory , therefore referring to it as the occupation is simply describing what it is .
    The people in the north have a stronger economy and the NHS.

the people in the north have a basket case of an economy wholly dependent on being propped up by British subventions , ie its completely artificial
    If it came to a vote in the six counties I would hazard a guess that the majority vote would be to stay as part of the UK.

duuuhhh..that might be the reason why Britian just drew an arbitrary line around the biggest concentration of unionists it could find on the island . Its called a gerrymander . Thats also why Britian refused to recognise the votes of the Irish people as a nation and drew the line in the first place .
    Britian hazards a guess that if they did permit national democracy then the majority of the nation would vote for total independence from foreign rule .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭beautiation

so you do care now ? and youd swear the Irish invaded england the way your carrying on , like the people occupied by Britian were the aggressors. It appears to me your of the belief that as long as foreign occupiers are prepared to feed you and treat you well one should not get upset with people occupying ones country against your will . National self determination is not important in your opinion. And Im wholly unaware of any aspect of our national culture which regards resisting occupation as murder , and then promotes a criminal act . So it appears that far from disinterest you are actually quite interested and have adopted the British agenda that resisting British rule in Ireland was murder , an act of criminality . Thankfully the vast majority of people in this country and indeed the world which suffered from British colonialism would regard your view as deeply biased nonsense .
    The only sheep I know of who died for Ireland were the fools led off by then nose to the Somme and Gallipoli in British uniforms . Anyone else was deeply unpopular , demonised by the church and media , denounced from the pulpit ,excommunicated etc . They became popular retrospectively but at the time most people were generally too cowed to help them .

But anyway , thankyou for clearing up the misunderstanding from your first post in which you described yourself as a disinterested party . Obviously that wasnt the case .

My first post stated that I didn't care about who the north belonged to, but that I did care that many people promoted disharmony as a result of their caring about it. I haven't shifted from that position.

And to bring up the old argument, where do you draw the line at redistributing land from ancient invasions? If this justified reshaping the world, things would descend into absolute chaos. Your national self determinism line does not work because at the time when Britain invaded Ireland Ireland was not a nation, just an island. And quite apart from how arbitrary it is, I don't even care about the having a claim to the land argument, it should pale next to practicalities.
    Decidng not to kill people is moral issue, and sometimes involves turning the other cheek. It is not acceptable to kill people in order to change a government unless you feel your freedom to live freely is being imposed upon. This extends to you having responsibility not to act if you can reasonably suppose that actions you take to change a goverment may lead to provoking murderers on the other side. Yes, they are scum, but ultimately the care for human life should stop you from provoking them when the gains involved are negligable.
    This is the situation in the north today. People have freedoms that are nearly perfect (IMO, I respect that some may disagree), and that any changes that are needed can be achieved peacefully without seismic upheaval. Things are the best they can be at the moment, there is no justification for pushing for change imo.

rb_ie wrote: »

Apart of a UK that does not want it, where the culture of the Irish is not respected. Thanks for highlighting that.
    Well, that's life. I'd suggest you stop living in the past. Also, how is it a part of our culture/history? How does the North have any impact on our culture? Absolute bullshít.

So according to you, the North has nothing to do with our history or culture. Very well.

How does it impact on the culture of the people in the North? As I've outlined before, the culture of the Irish in the North is not respected.

The Protestants have as much of a right to that land as those claiming to be "Irish" at the moment.

I welcome them to more land, in an equal and united Ireland. Do the Irish not have a claim to Ireland? Obviously not in your eyes.

I'm a supporter of Sinn Féin. I am not a supporter of the IRA's attacks of civilians. I can see where you're trying to go with this. Label random_republican as the cliché war-monger. Unfortunately, I don't fit it for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭Rossibaby

Do you see why?

Makes sense? No it does not. You're living in a dream if you think it'll ever happen that way, without thousands more people dying over it.

Lol.

Snyper: Good job bringing out the IRA/Sinn Fein supporters on boards :p

The North doesn't cause us any hassle as is, it really only causes England hassle, and that's the way it should stay. We as a country don't need the burden/costs that would be incurred by "Uniting" Ireland. There's no benefits to it, oh so a few who were born in a British country think they're Irish 'cause it's on the same island might get to actually be Irish, but there's a bunch of protestants up there who've as much of a right to the place who'd be extremely píssed off about it. As is, things are working pretty smoothly and should be kept that way.

i'm not a sinn fein or pira supporter,they arent the only republican group you know,or do you know?im a socialist and how can injustice be removed when an imperial and oppressive force is in place?

btw the RUC/PSNI the british police force has the worst human rights record for a police service since WWII.believe me british tyranny is still in the face of every nationalist living in the north,even if british soldiers arent shooting and interning innocent rrepublicans like they always did.

i say again,why are you saying protestants have a right to the land?its not about religion.i dont believe in the catholic religion?or the protestant one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Should this be moved to political forum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 kildare paddy

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    I'm disgusted at the attitude of some posters here.

I'd vote yes, of course I would, I'm Irish. Ireland belongs to the Irish. Closure would be nice.

Why does everyone assume war would break out.....

Oh and I'm not an IRA or Sinn Fein supporter...

Being pro irish does not = being anti british ffs
    jesus well at least this 1 is well educated:o

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

If it would mean they would accept the Euro and Irish laser cards, I'd be in favour. Also we could do with a goalscorer like David Healy.

Thank you for highlighting that, but I took exception to the "likes of you" comment.. To which both Rossi and I are Republicans. he is speaking from his heart, and it's hard to portray yourself properly on a public forum without getting a little heated and losing controlm, but I understand where he is coming from. Rossi is also a socialist, which in theory - has a main priority of social equality for the people and ending injustices in the social sector across the world. I assure you, his intentions are definitely genuine.

The power sharing isn't perfect, like I already outlined - the Loyalist veto controls what really happens. Power sharing has always been one step on the path of Unity. And the greater Republican movement absolutely 100% backs peaceful Unity of Ireland.

I understand that a fully comprehensive plan will have to be devised for integration, but I believe it must be done. I have already outlined in numerous posts my points as to why I want it so, so I won't repeat myself.

I commend that you care about other problems across the world, but you should also look a little closer to home. It is entirely your decision and I respect that. I can see that we have differences of opinion. You feel that the North is now stable enough to go on it's own and respects both cultures, I feel this is not an accurate assessment of the current situation in the North.

Thanks for a balanced post. Yeah i'm sorry about the likes of you bit. It was a bit over the top.
    I'm actually quite mellow usually...

I'll go and read those posts you mentioned where you argue for long-term peaceful unity, but do you really believe it can be acheived peacefully? From some of the attitudes I've seen up north, I just can't see it. There are still so many little dens of pure hatred scattered around the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭gerky

A peaceful Ireland is far more important to me than a united Ireland that may result in a return to past violence.
    Thats not to say I don't think it should never happen but I think a certain generation of people may need to die out before it could be excepted without major violence.
    Just to add I don't personally feel that just because its not technically a part of the republic that its any less a part of my country or history but then thats just my view.

the people in the north have a basket case of an economy wholly dependent on being propped up by British subventions , ie its completely artificial

That's one of the reasons I said no, that burdan on the (current) Irish economy would break it!

As for all the other rubish that this thread has brought to the surface - another perfect reason for saying "NO" A united country needs a united people, that is not Ireland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Some would ask the question - why would we want the North when no one else on the planet wants them? - not even the Brits themselves who see it as an embarrasment. They would love to offload that place on us.

gerky wrote: »
    A peaceful Ireland is far more important to me than a united Ireland that may result in a return to past violence.
    Thats not to say I don't think it should never happen but I think a certain generation of people may need to die out before it could be excepted without major violence.

Exactly +1

Thanks for a balanced post. Yeah i'm sorry about the likes of you bit. It was a bit over the top.
    I'm actually quite mellow usually...

I'll go and read those posts you mentioned where you argue for long-term peaceful unity, but do you really believe it can be acheived peacefully? From some of the attitudes I've seen up north, I just can't see it. There are still so many little dens of pure hatred scattered around the place.

It's ok - I can appreciate in posts where people get emotional, we tend to go overboard or overstress our points. Don't worry about it.

Do I believe it can be achieved peacefully? Yes, so long as it includes integration where I suggested areas like allowing the unionists to still be able to get a British passport and unionists being in Government to cater for the needs of the unionists. Perhaps they could cater to special requirements like allowing a person access to the commonwealth (by choice) - so that the athletes, let's say boxers could compete in the commonwealth games and the likes. It would have to be a very well thought out process for sure and we'd have to listen to things like I've just mentioned that they would like access to..

But what's the alternative? Alot of smaller dissident groups are ready to wage war again, unhappy with the normalizing process of British rule on the North. There will be problems, I have no doubt about it. But we've overcome worse and can overcome again. I truly believe in Ireland for the people of Ireland. I don't believe that foreign empires can create statelets and try normalize it without repercussions (and I don't mean that in a war context). There are many similar situations around the world, and it has to be addressed.

Dudess wrote: »
    I too feel very saddened by people's complacency about the North.

I'm quite surprised at that dudess. I remember reading the "What makes you proud to be Irish?" thread and reading your posts about how there is no logic in feeling that you have anything in common with people who just happened to be born in the same country as you 100 years ago. If you still believe that there is no common ingredient that makes Irish people different to British people, then why should we get passionate about changing things in the north. Would it not just be change for the sake of change?
    And remember, I am passive about the north right now because I believe it's in an ideal state: peacefulness. Don't confuse passivity with complacency. The North would become my cause if things were to kick off again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭andyl222

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Anyone else think the red hand of Ulster looks like a Nazi salute?

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2418/2422393405_2297710c82.jpg?v=0

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Well, now Irish men forget the past
    And think of the day that's coming fast
    When we shall all be civilized
    Neat and clean and well advised
    Oh, won't mother England be surprised

keep trying RB, the queen might even give ye a wee pat on the head if ye keep it up :pac:

Do you see why?

Dublin Meath etc were in the Pale when Ulster was leading gaelic resistance accross the entire country . Dublin was the second city of the British empire , under British rule for longer than Ulster has been . Please tell us why people bothered putting a stop to that and fighting against it for centuries ? Sure werent they British after all ? Part of the UK ?

which teams keep winning All Irelands ? You prefer westlife and Cecilia Ahern to Seamus Heaney and the Undertones ? Terry Wogan to Stephen Rea ? Introducing draconian censorship for almost 3 decades to prevent anyone on your national airwaves talking about the north except in pro British terms very obviously has a deep effect on your national culture , putting lunatics like Eoghan Harris , Ruth Dudley Edwards , Synon , Myers etc in charge of formulating a modern national outlook and commentary based upon their own lunatic prejudices ..one of complete irrational self hatred towards our country on a daily basis for decades . You imagine an Irish history without Hugh ONeill ? No battle of the yellow ford , no Kinsale , no plantation , no flight of earls , no united Irishmen ? No 1798 . A flag with no orange ? A culture with no cuchullain ?

Nobodys disputing the right of protestants to remain in the territory , what your suggesting is completely false and misleading. Theyve been here for centuries and have every right to be here . That does not mean however that Britian has a right to foment division upon this island for its own territorial ends and to militarily , financially and politically prop up an undemocratic veto of a national minority .

The North doesn't cause us any hassle as is, it really only causes England hassle, and that's the way it should stay.

it does actually . For example under Bertie Aherns administration 70,000 garda files walked out of the department of justice along with all their duplicates never to be seen again with no explanation. Why ? because the files belonged to the Dublin Monaghan bombing investigation when a group of terrorists under British direction and with explosives supplied to them by the British massacred dozens of people and maimed hundreds on the streets of Dublin . Ever since the Irish state has harrassed those victims , your fellow citizens and actively impeded their attempts to get at the truth . This has culminated in an absolute scandal in recent years . In order to cover up what Britian did in Dublin Monaghan and other parts of the 26 counties your police force , political system and system of justice has been completely subverted and contaminated . That affects you , all your fellow citizens , your family and your children . Because that is the contaminated and subverted system you have to live under in order to accomodate a foreign country holding part of your national territory .
    A dail committee pointed out that events like Dublin Monaghan could definitely happen again in the future . A police force and politicial system still covering up events from decades ago cannot be trusted to protect the saftey of citizens when a foreign agency on this islands territory are involve d in heinous crimes against this countrys citizens . Furthermore this can only occur with an onside media that wont dlve into it and without doubt the Irish media have maintained a stony silence for deades on this very serious issue , the biggest mass murder in the states history . Including the current scandal of 70,000 files and all duplicates walking from a secure facility 3 years ago .

We as a country don't need the burden/costs that would be incurred by "Uniting" Ireland. There's no benefits to it, oh so a few who were born in a British country

possibly your grandparents and certainly your great grandparents and all who went before them for centuries were born in a British country as you describe it . According to your logic they wrent Irish . Neither was Padraig Pearse , Wolfe Tone , the fenians..god knows who else . Irish people must not have existed until 1922 , and even then they swore allegiance to the British crown .I prefer to regard Ireland as Irish regardless of what the British want .
    You live in a Political system that has just given away billions upon billions of euro of your national resources , oil and gas to a British Lord called Tony OReilly and a British company called shell so I dont see what your worries about cost are when you can afford to give away such an abundnce of national wealth for absolutely nothing to British companies . They dont have to pay any tax , they dont have to pay any royalties , the Irish taxpayer picks up the bill for their pipelines . That is what happens when you get rid of the principle of Ireland for the Irish from your politics and bend over backwards to accomodate foreign powrs . You get screwed because you adpt the position of servility and giving into Brtiish demands in your own country .
    think they're Irish 'cause it's on the same island might get to actually be Irish,

we are Irish now , and i believe weve more awareness of you as to what being an Irishman entails because we have had to stand up for it . Cow towing to Britian and its demands in our country isnt generally regarded as a positive Irish attribute
    but there's a bunch of protestants up there who've as much of a right to the place who'd be extremely píssed off about it.

you seem to be afraid of them , and as I said already nobody is suggesting they have no right to be there . Only that they dont have the right to veto the demcratic wishes of the rest of the people on the island . And many Irish people both sides of the border will become even more pissed off as Britian continues to subvert democracy accross this island by upholding a minority veto . That will lead to trouble without a doubt .
    As is, things are working pretty smoothly and should be kept that way

if only it was as simple as you wish it to be . However the depth of ignorance youve displayed in you posts would suggest you dont have much of a clue as to what the real situation is and what is likely to happen .

andyl222 wrote: »

That image is private, but I don't like the idea of generalizing a movement. People are unique and it's ignorant to try classify everyone as the same. There are people in all walks of life who will be overboard in how they express themselves, and those who like to think before they talk.

Please don't stoop to the ignorance of those before you and try to label anyone as anything. It's very immature and makes for poor debate.

darkman2 wrote: »

that is a stupid thing to say:confused:

darkman2 wrote: »

more like a "please may I go to the toilets"

That image is private, but I don't like the idea of generalizing a movement. People are unique and it's ignorant to try classify everyone as the same. There are people in all walks of life who will be overboard in how they express themselves, and those who like to think before they talk.

Please don't stoop to the ignorance of those before you and try to label anyone as anything. It's very immature and makes for poor debate.

hahaha is the irony of your overblown statement about generalizing and ignorance lost on you??? You havent even seen the image, yet have a preconceived notion that I was attempting to generalize an entire movement. As you stated, 'some' people like to think before they talk/type, but in you case you seem to have neglected to do so.

andyl222 wrote: »
    hahaha is the irony of your overblown statement about generalizing and ignorance lost on you??? You havent even seen the image, yet have a preconceived notion that I was attempting to generalize an entire movement. As you stated, 'some' people like to think before they talk/type, but in you case you seem to have neglected to do so.

In either case, you still generalized a movement. My original point stands. Care to rehost it elsewhere?

more like a "please may I go to the toilets"
    yeah and your as about as funny as the last lad

a lot of grown ups dont use Bebo , except maybe for grooming kids

and alot of grown ups wouldn't use the 'unabomber' as an avatar unless they harboured deep seeded sentiments towards domestic terrorism... but sure there ya go.

yeah and your as about as funny as the last lad
    A stupid comment sometimes deserved a stupid response!