Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Budget; After Hours style

• 28-11-2011 1:58pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

It's going to be financially horrific regardless of your income or status in a weeks time. If you were in charge of it how would you balance the books? What would you do to get some money back into the country?

I'd introduce a €500 levy for anyone showing up at a hospital A&E as a result of being drunk and disorderly. If they cant afford to pay it then it comes out of their Social Welfare weekly.

A 70% tax bracket for anyone making more than €200k a year.

All political positions capped at €75k a year, including expenses and including the Taoiseach.

You?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

With the next 2 years of cutbacks and increases taxes I'm not going to have a pot to piss in by then. Looks like I'll be moving abroad. Thanks FF you incompetent arseholes.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

The fact that they are announcing it over two days really makes you wonder what we might be in for.

More tempted than ever to get out of here.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Everyone scoffs at everything the Government does but I like some of the things I have heard over the last week or 2.

Eg - That profitable companies like Talk Talk will no longer get a 60% redundancy rebate for closing up shop here and moving their employment to another country! Even though it won't raise/save very much IMO.

However, I think the 2% increase in VAT instead of an increase in income tax is wrong! I don't buy Enda's line that increasing income tax directly costs jobs as if increasing VAT doesn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭Urquell

A Tax on anyone who voted Fianna Fail or Progressive Democrats over the last 15 years.

Tax will be 100% of earnings for three Generations of each voters family.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Why do they let all those millionaires with property in NAMA screw the **** out of the system by buying their property back at a cheaper rate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Price of cigs to be hiked to 25 euro - each.

I hate smoking.:(

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I'd normally approach something like this with some humour, but 2 days to tell us how they are going to **** us all for the next 4 or more years?

**** this ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

Giselle wrote: »
    Price of cigs to be hiked to 25 euro - each.

I hate smoking.:(

what do you love then. we will higher the price of that too.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Cut every welfare payment, get rid of 60% of the army , abolish the seanad, close the rsa, psa and all those pointless regulatory bodies , drop smokes back to a fiver a pack (id bet the polish smokes would all dissapear in a day) , convert all the duty and tax on diesel to VAT to help business , close our borders and send all the non eu nationals home , let pubs and offos open 24/7 to aid revenue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

FatherLen wrote: »
    what do you love then. we will higher the price of that too.

Cake. And jumpers.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Legalise gambling, prostitution and hash on an epic scale and tax the **** out of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭chickendinner

It is going to be over two days because they are

going to fu*k us nice and gently, we are still gonna get fu*ked though

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Cut every welfare payment, get rid of 60% of the army , abolish the seanad, close the rsa, psa and all those pointless regulatory bodies , drop smokes back to a fiver a pack (id bet the polish smokes would all dissapear in a day) , convert all the duty and tax on diesel to VAT to help business , close our borders and send all the non eu nationals home , let pubs and offos open 24/7 to aid revenue

All of this except the smokes price. Cigarettes should be 20 euros a pack minimum.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,994 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Let's all sign on the dole in Hamburg, that'll teach em.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,411 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

I'm ashamed to say it but Drink and Smokes prices need to rise in order to pay the Health & Garda costs that they both cause.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,285 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Anybody who has a duckface in a picture must pay a fine of 1500 euro. That'll turn the economy right around!

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭chickendinner

I'm ashamed to say it but Drink and Smokes prices need to rise in order to pay the Health & Garda costs that they both cause.

Smoking actually saves more money than the problems it creates.

Link?

Vicxas wrote: »
    Anybody who has a duckface in a picture must pay a fine of 1500 euro. That'll turn the economy right around!

And anyone who says "Amazeballs" gets a 10 grand levy and a swift kick in the balls.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

IvaBigWun wrote: »

All of this except the smokes price. Cigarettes should be 20 euros a pack minimum.

The problem is that people are always going to smoke , the price doesnt make people quit , while smokes went up from 7.65 to the now 8.65 in various stages the amount of illegal smokes has increased , the extra tax taken from bringing smokes up a euro per pack has all been spent on customs officers checking for smuggled smokes now , 1 in 7 cigarettes smoked here is illegal now.

If you put the price of a box to a 5er the smuggling wouldnt be worth it , youd have a 95 odd percent compliance rate or more and no need for customs resources.

If smokes were 20 a box youd have every polish lad in the country sending smokes over and people paying 7-8 euro a box , nobody would stop smoking and youd lose any tax revenue

• Registered Users Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Palytoxin

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    And anyone who says "Amazeballs" gets a 10 grand levy and a swift kick in the balls.
    Anyone who says "Yeah Buddyyyyyyyy" should be fined the sum of 1000 euros for every unnecessary letter they add in, along with a standard charge of €1000

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

2c levy on every sms, mms and 500mb of data.
    Add 1euro to every medical card prescription and 5euro for every medical card GP consultation
    Set up a unit which will aggressively renegotiate every contract awarded to private generalise by the state, county councils, public bodies, hse etc in the last 20 years on the grounds of the financial situation.
    Increase vat by 2%
    Reduce commercial rates by 2%
    Aggressively pursue social welfare fraudsters, petty criminals, fine dodgers etc through weekly deductions in their social welfare paymentsp
    Sell off and privatise RTe, change tv licence to communications and IT levy and reduce to 100euro
    Increase spending for off-shore exploration and research
    Replace 10% of social welfare payments with food stamps, redeemable only in the republic.

Any D4 gobsh!te who order a "pint of Ken" when they mean "Heineken" gets charged 100 euros per pint of "Ken", 20 for the publican and 80 to the Government

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Yeah Buddy

I say we have a big raffle with all the countries in the world, winner gets a Ford Cortina, but we actually rig the raffle so we win, then we sell it anyway

That report was commissioned by a tobacco producer. What line would you expect them to come out with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

36% tax on using the word 'simples'. also a smack for using it too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Living at home with your parents and are working?
    Automatic 60% tax on your take home pay, thanks very much.

"Oh, I'll just stop working then you Pr!ck"
    OK, zero entitlement for the dole, you spoilt little gimp.

Stop automatic Medical cards for wealthy coffin dodgers.

Start fat tax for the salad dodgers.

Earn over 80K combined income? Give back that Childrens allowance NOW you greedy swines.

Politicians Pensions, only until they are 65, and then when they are 65, only 40% of what the bastids get now.

Biffo & Bertie and whoever the Fook else being driven around by armed Gardai?! FOOK OFF NOW.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,197 ✭✭✭maximoose

Introduce a fine for improper use of apostrophes. Make a f*cking fortune from this site.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,965 ✭✭✭✭bnt

seamus wrote: »
    Legalise gambling, prostitution and hash on an epic scale and tax the **** out of them.
    Gambling is not legal already? You could have fooled me, what with the posh casinos on Dublin's Leeson Street, or the "spread betting" on Paddy Power - which is, basically, gambling. (What, like folks here in Ireland can really predict the winning margin on a baseball game in the USA?)

Still, the gambling idea is the most interesting, but it's not enough on its own. For it to work, Ireland needs to become a gambling destination in its own right, to attract money currently in the hands of rich people and foreigners. If you get poor Irish people turning to gambling, that doesn't bring wealth in to the country - it merely takes it away from those who can't afford it. But to make Ireland a gambling destination, like Monte Carlo, you'd have to give rich people a reason to come and gamble here. (I first thought "low income tax", but I forgot that residents of Monte Carlo are not allowed to gamble in their casinos.)

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut