Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
27-08-2008, 00:15   #1
Fighting Irish
Registered User
 
Fighting Irish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Carlow
Posts: 6,736
Irish Post Codes

Do we have any in Ireland? How do i find out mine?
Fighting Irish is offline  
Advertisement
27-08-2008, 00:16   #2
rhapsody!
Registered User
 
rhapsody!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: sparta.
Posts: 521
As far as I know we don't have postcodes at the min.
But I think the gov. are going to introduce it some time soon. That's what I heard anyway!
rhapsody! is offline  
27-08-2008, 00:17   #3
mayordenis
Moderator
 
mayordenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Waterford
Posts: 8,537
Mod: WIT
tbh would love if we brought them in - every web form requires them and then rables back at me about using "00000" or "n/a"
mayordenis is offline  
27-08-2008, 00:17   #4
PurpleBerry
Registered User
 
PurpleBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 983
Only in Dublin atm I think.
PurpleBerry is offline  
27-08-2008, 00:19   #5
ROCKMAN
Registered User
 
ROCKMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Waterford
Posts: 4,670
Is it for an account on-line ?
If it is. Try the phone code 00353 often works or just put in the Zip code IRL
ROCKMAN is offline  
Advertisement
27-08-2008, 00:25   #6
Firetrap
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,378
Nope, though they should bring them in. I know that there's a thing called the Geodirectory which is a joint enterprise between An Post and the Ordnance Survey. It gives every building in the country its own unique geocode.
Firetrap is offline  
27-08-2008, 00:28   #7
kraggy
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayordenis View Post
tbh would love if we brought them in - every web form requires them and then rables back at me about using "00000" or "n/a"
So just put down "n/a" every time? Works for me.

I really don't understand the whole obsession with having postcodes. They're a pain in the hole.

Yeah, there are some advantages but more hassle than they're worth.

Sometimes I think people just want them cause they have them in Britain and that we're some way inferior for not having them.

We're not. And we don't need them. Our population doesn't warrant such a system.

By the way, there's a fairly long discussion on this top in Politics.
kraggy is offline  
27-08-2008, 00:29   #8
FX Meister
Registered User
 
FX Meister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5,018
only in dublin. They tried to bring them in on trial basis in certain parts of the country but reports were that most boggers couldnt understand the system
FX Meister is offline  
27-08-2008, 00:31   #9
Wertz
Registered User
 
Wertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bandit country
Posts: 12,276
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhapsody! View Post
As far as I know we don't have postcodes at the min.
But I think the gov. are going to introduce it some time soon. That's what I heard anyway!
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=259296

Note the dates on that thread. We still don't have any.
Wertz is offline  
Advertisement
27-08-2008, 00:41   #10
rhapsody!
Registered User
 
rhapsody!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: sparta.
Posts: 521
I hate it when you go onto sites for freebies and have to put in postcode and it says your postcode is invalid.

Of course it's invalid.. it doesn't damn well exist!!

--

Ah yes well the government were never punctual really..

I think postcodes would be extremely handy if I'm honest.
rhapsody! is offline  
27-08-2008, 01:14   #11
Dord
Hosted Moderator
 
Dord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,377
HMod: GAS
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhapsody! View Post
I hate it when you go onto sites for freebies and have to put in postcode and it says your postcode is invalid.

Of course it's invalid.. it doesn't damn well exist!!

--

Ah yes well the government were never punctual really..

I think postcodes would be extremely handy if I'm honest.
Use BT1 1AA if you're in need of a postcode.
Dord is offline  
27-08-2008, 01:42   #12
Fighting Irish
Registered User
 
Fighting Irish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Carlow
Posts: 6,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dord View Post
Use BT1 1AA if you're in need of a postcode.
whats that?
Fighting Irish is offline  
27-08-2008, 01:49   #13
AlmightyCushion
Moderator
 
AlmightyCushion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Blah blah blah blah. Thanks: -3,487
Posts: 26,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fighting Irish View Post
whats that?
I'm pretty sure it's Belfast's post code.
AlmightyCushion is offline  
27-08-2008, 01:50   #14
kmart6
Registered User
 
kmart6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY/Laois, IRL
Posts: 12,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by FX Meister View Post
only in dublin. They tried to bring them in on trial basis in certain parts of the country but reports were that most boggers couldnt understand the system
Going to back that up with anything?!
kmart6 is offline  
(2) thanks from:
27-08-2008, 02:02   #15
dolanbaker
Moderator
 
dolanbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Táim i mo chónaí i mBaile Átha Luain,Co.Ros Comáin
Posts: 13,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlmightyCushion View Post
I'm pretty sure it's Belfast's post code.
It's the Belfast city centre Postoffice.

Anyway if you want a postcode try here you can then get a "postcode" that anyone can use a (compatable) GPS/Satnav to find your exact location, well within 100m unless the yanks are at war then 10m.

As for AnPost postcodes,.........



don't hold your breath!

Last edited by dolanbaker; 27-08-2008 at 02:06.
dolanbaker is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet