Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Bikes Thread - Mod Note please read post #1 before posting

• Registered Users Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭spyderski

Thargor wrote: »
    What? Forget wasting time tracking downa bike thats never going to be seen again, get them to buy you a new one, get a solicitor if you need to.

Yeah, I will if I have to, but TBH I feel a bit sorry for the owner, she has been chasing it up for weeks now and says the builder is getting annoyed at being asked where it went. It's such a distinctive bike that I'm kinda hoping it shows up somewhere and we don't need to get solicitors involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

spyderski wrote: »
    Yeah, I will if I have to, but TBH I feel a bit sorry for the owner, she has been chasing it up for weeks now and says the builder is getting annoyed at being asked where it went. It's such a distinctive bike that I'm kinda hoping it shows up somewhere and we don't need to get solicitors involved.

Even if she's your bestie, she's taking money for guarding people's valuable goods. For the sake of her own business she should instantly make full recompense if something is stolen while in her care.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

spyderski wrote: »

As bad as you feel, if the bike is worth the cost of the solicitors letter, get one sent. There is no point in messing around.

If you really want to play the nice person, ask will their insurance cover it first and if they refuse, go straight to the solicitor.

Their insurance will take care of it and go after the builders then if it is deemed to be their fault.

I was going to use them as I am moving house soon but won't be now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

• Registered Users Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

Saw a likely looking chap stopping to have a look at a bike locked outside the Royal Irish Academy of Music on Westland Row this morning, when he started fiddling with something on the handlebars I went over and asked was it his. He declared that he was just interested in the bike as he hadn't seen one before - it was an electric bike - but he seemed to know how much it would cost. Bike seemed reasonably well locked but could have done with another front lock.
    I reckon your man will be back.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Not really reporting this as its pointless just a rant that 28 of the 31 old scrap bikes we had painted orange and cable tied to posts along the 44km route from Galway to Athenry and back another route were robbed. We had them up for the Cycle Against Suicide. Sad little ba*tards that would do a thing like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,368 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Are you sure it wasn't the council that removed them?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    Are you sure it wasn't the council that removed them?

Ya, we told them we would collect them the weekend after the cycle as we wouldn't get a chance to do so before.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,882 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

yop wrote: »
    Not really reporting this as its pointless just a rant that 28 of the 31 old scrap bikes we had painted orange and cable tied to posts along the 44km route from Galway to Athenry and back another route were robbed. We had them up for the Cycle Against Suicide. Sad little ba*tards that would do a thing like that.
    I always meant to ask someone about this, its a good cause but were you destroying all those bikes? The chains and casettes and everything else seemed to have been painted. Were you planning to reuse the bikes or were they going in a skip once the campaign ended?

Destroying? Most had no chains, ripped tires and are useless. They are moved from Spin-off to Spin-off, collected free by those of us who volunteer.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,882 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

I was just wondering because the couple I drove past all looked to be in okay condition, all components present anyway. The guards definitely destroyed the bikes they painted and chained around Dublin and Wicklow warning about bike theft, they looked like really good bikes under the paint, the one in Bray DART station especially.

Ah ya no worries, not the ones we had. Had to wear the gloves in case the bike disintegrated :)

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭Redderneck

Not sure if correct thread, but read this today in De Paper: bike theft/export operation in Limerick busted by the Lads. Good job. Might be a chance for some MidWest based posters who have had bikes stolen to recover some property. Pls. move mods if needed.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/garda-op-uncovers-stolen-bike-export-racket-in-limerick-369298.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

Redderneck wrote: »
    bike theft/export operation in Limerick busted by the Lads.

Garda Flickr album up. Lots of kids' bikes and some fairly low-end stuff. No sign of the higher-value items. Might be something of interest to someone, all the same.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/gardasiochana/sets/72157661302997729

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

Looks like they specialised in robbing kids bike from the street or front gardens. Beggars belief how they weren't caught doing that.

traprunner wrote: »
    Looks like they specialised in robbing kids bike from the street or front gardens. Beggars belief how they weren't caught doing that.

Someone I know had two kids' bikes stolen from the front garden; they cut the iron railings to take them. Brand-new racers bought for school. The kids were crying. Mean swines.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Mean swines.

Don't offend swines.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭Redderneck

traprunner wrote: »

Probably more a case of kids bikes being quicker to nick for an opportunist as not as likely to be secured and also them nicking to cater for the parents in whatever overseas destination they serve looking to buy kids bikes for Christmas pressies.

Natural marketers these boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Hey lads.

My bike got robbed in Dublin this evening. Obviously gaurds can't do much.
    Fairly low end bike.

Do they sell these anywhere in markets? Seems the whole rack of bikes where I was parked was emptied.
    Where would these generally end up?

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭whodafunk

Hey lads.

My bike got robbed in Dublin this evening. Obviously gaurds can't do much.
    Fairly low end bike.

Do they sell these anywhere in markets? Seems the whole rack of bikes where I was parked was emptied.
    Where would these generally end up?

Sorry to hear that. I was in the same boat myself around this time last year.

Mine as far as I could tell (minus any pics to be 100% sure) ended up on adverts.ie about 7-10days after it was stolen. The guy had tonnes of bikes for sale (all photo'd on a balcony of an apartment which I could actually pinpoint the location). Called the Gardai and they were not interested.

Keep an eye on donedeal.ie, adverts and there are 2 places in city centre I've been told about but obviously can't say over the forum. PM me if you want more info. Best of luck and hopefully you might get it back.

Yeah. I can understand the guards not taking it serious even though bike theft is pretty serious. Pretty **** but that's life.

I'm not expecting to rock up to some lads house expecting to rob my bike back with him being grand about it

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

whodafunk wrote: »
    Mine as far as I could tell (minus any pics to be 100% sure) ended up on adverts.ie about 7-10days after it was stolen. The guy had tonnes of bikes for sale (all photo'd on a balcony of an apartment which I could actually pinpoint the location). Called the Gardai and they were not interested.

That's ****ing bull****. What did they say? I'd be furious if i found out where my stolen bike was, reported it to the Gardai, and they did nothing about it. Surely they have to?

Kiith wrote: »
    That's ****ing bull****. What did they say? I'd be furious if i found out where my stolen bike was, reported it to the Gardai, and they did nothing about it. Surely they have to?

They told me to contact the luas. I said the luas had nothing to do with it, it got robbed next to the luas.

Not much they can do in fairness. I can understand they don't have the time to deal with everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭whodafunk

Kiith wrote: »

The bike sold within 40/50mins from the time the ad was created on Adverts and the photo(s) were removed but the ad remained intact. I PM'd the seller asked about photo's and how it sold so quick. He basically blacklisted me. I reported to adverts and they said they only deal with these sort of requests from an gardai.
    Back to the Gard in question. I rang him basically saying this person has/or has sold/for sale up to 50 bikes. I have good reason to believe they sold my stolen bike and many others. Gards basically said they have no proof and wait for this....he could be genuinely selling good bikes. Thats when I knew I was wasting my time.

Link to said bike for reference -><snip>

That's the problem though. The gaurds know it's stolen, they just can't prove it legally.

I've answered a few ads for bikes, in my quest for a nice new bike, on adverts.ie and donedeal.ie; I always ask if the seller has the receipt. The donedeal.ie people haven't replied. Most of the adverts.ie people do reply. But it's also a good idea to look at the seller's rep - have they sold loads of bicycles (and are they a shop, if so); have they sold other things that seem like ordinary personal stuff; what kind of seller feedback have they got.

One of the problems with bicycle theft in Ireland is that prosecutions for receiving stolen goods are rare.

We really need a bicycle registration scheme. It would be hard to set up, but easy enough to keep going. With more people cycling, and more people buying expensive bikes through the bike-to-work scheme, it's time to do this. It could even be done through the bike-to-work scheme - you don't get the good deal unless your bike is registered with the Gardaí with photo and frame number and receipt number from the shop where you bought it (with the shops keeping the same information, and the information on a database so shops offered bikes can check it).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

Yes, I have my bike registered there, but nobody else I know has. A friend had bikes taken recently and he didn't know what the frame number was. It needs to be done systematically and properly and officially.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Yes, I have my bike registered there, but nobody else I know has. A friend had bikes taken recently and he didn't know what the frame number was. It needs to be done systematically and properly and officially.

Donnybrook Garda station register bike details, as does another garda station on the northside but I can't remember which one.

To be fair it should just be an option at every station, maybe with dedicated time slots.

Shocked at the behaviour of the Garda in question, talk about an easy collar. I would report the Garda to his Super, point out you were not expecting miracles but that it was an easily identifiable bike.

As QM said though, the bike frame number should be something that is recorded by the owner, some LBSs do it automatically, I know ThinkBike used to do it (presume they still do) keep a record of it with your name but it is something every bike shop should do as a matter of due course when selling a bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

I usually go one further and engrave my name and number into the underside of the frame too. I'll never sell my bikes and would rather have extra identifiers than a pristine paint job.