Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hannibal [NBC/Sky Living] [** Spoilers **]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4 Polo Pete

I'm really disappointed with this series.. It's slow and ridiculously self indulgent, I'm struggling to stay interested.

Also can someone enlighten me as to why Gillian Anderson's character is in Italy with Hannibal?? I couldn't figure it out and hoped it would be explained but it wasn't, unless I missed it??

It's hopeless tbh. Really bad stuff. Happy it's being cancelled to tell the truth.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Melisandre121

Polo Pete wrote: »
    It's hopeless tbh. Really bad stuff. Happy it's being cancelled to tell the truth.

I watched the latest episode tonight and when the Italian cop put money in the phone box and it showed a close up of the euro rolling down into it I cringed.. It's become absolute nonsense, almost a parody of itself. So disappointed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

I'm really disappointed with this series.. It's slow and ridiculously self indulgent, I'm struggling to stay interested.

Also can someone enlighten me as to why Gillian Anderson's character is in Italy with Hannibal?? I couldn't figure it out and hoped it would be explained but it wasn't, unless I missed it??

You obviously didn't hang around to watch the end credits of season 2?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Melisandre121

TonyD79 wrote: »
    You obviously didn't hang around to watch the end credits of season 2?

I did but it didn't explain it, she was just sitting on the plane with him.

Or did something go totally over my head?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,990 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Don't really get the hate for this season. They're trying something a little different and having the characters deal with the aftermath of Hannibal's blood bath: we could hardly expect them to go back to solving cases or for Hannibal and Will to have cordial chats.

Show has always been slow but with a target and I feel we have that here - we're already seeing the trap closing in on Hannibal and we got a great confrontation this week. The only real one that we're building to is of course when he confronts Will.

I'll grant though that Mason Verger #2 is a weak substitute for Pitt.

As to indulgent? Sure, hardly new. Maybe though a few less slo-mo shots of liquid being poured wouldn't be amiss. Just serve the damn wine!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

ixoy wrote: »
    Don't really get the hate for this season. They're trying something a little different and having the characters deal with the aftermath of Hannibal's blood bath: we could hardly expect them to go back to solving cases or for Hannibal and Will to have cordial chats.

Show has always been slow but with a target and I feel we have that here - we're already seeing the trap closing in on Hannibal and we got a great confrontation this week. The only real one that we're building to is of course when he confronts Will.

I'll grant though that Mason Verger #2 is a weak substitute for Pitt.

As to indulgent? Sure, hardly new. Maybe though a few less slo-mo shots of liquid being poured wouldn't be amiss. Just serve the damn wine!

Agree with this completely. I know this won't apply for all the people with criticism, but a lot who aren't happy are people who have binged the seasons previous rather than watching one a week. When you binge it at the end you kind of forget the slow parts and only remember the big racing moments of the season.

The show has always been a bit slow paced for most of the season and of course it's always been self indulgent, there's nothing new there at all.

The only real change from this season is as you said Hannibal and Wills sit downs and the FBI cases. Granted they were great and Hannibal and Wills relationship was a key character in this show becoming popular (not enough to save it appears :P) after last season there was no way it was returning to what the previous seasons were like.

I think people being delighted it's cancelled is a bit of a rush and quick decision based on what they've seen so far. This season appears to be moving towards Hannibals arrest, with a few twists and turns on the way. The final episode more than likely will be Hannibal getting escorted to the prison. This is why I feel Fuller stated this season could act as a finale if it has to. But imagine what next season would have been like! Seeing Mads play Hannibal behind bars? It would have been awesome!

Don't understand people complaining about slow mos and close ups, that's the shows bread and butter. Nothing new on that front at all.

I can't for the life of me understand too much criticism on the latest episode, thought it was cracking. Best of the season and easily lived up to the levels from season 1 and 2. Has it been aired in Sky Living yet? I'll spoiler tag in case.
    I was sure at the end Jack was either going to be killed by Hannibal or Chiyo would show up and save him! Also loved the bits of conversation with Pazzi when Hannibal knew his number. Hannibal can't last too much longer now and I expect him to be caught very soon! Initially thought it would be dragged out but with that episode I can imagine Hannibal being caught with two or three episodes still to go! Can't wait for it

Roll on next week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Yeah I really don't get the criticism of this season. Hannibal has always been rather fundamentally about the slow burn of trauma that violence and manipulation leave in their wake. Literally the whole of the series Will has been emo-ing away to himself about a killing he committed in the very first first episode. I was re-watching this in the run up to this season coming out, with my boyfriend who'd never seen it before. I remembered last season as packed with incident, actually the first three or four episodes are tortuously slow. It's the same with season one in fact, the show's MO is slow build up and then rapid, massive pay off that wouldn't have the impact it does without the slow pace at the start of each season and references to previous seasons.

And like, here's some dialogue from Season One

Hannibal Lecter: Killing must feel good to God, too. He does it all the time, and are we not created in God's image?
    Will Graham: Depends on who you ask.
    Hannibal Lecter: God's terrific. He dropped a church roof on 34 of his worshipers last Wednesday night in Texas, while they sang a hymn.
    Will Graham: Did God feel good about that?
    Hannibal Lecter: He felt powerful.

Hannibal Lecter: Perhaps you didn't come here looking for a killer. Perhaps you came here to find yourself. You killed a man in this very room.
    Will Graham: I stared at Hobbs and the space opposite me assumed the shape of a man filled with dark and swarming flies. And then I scattered them

But apparently that's grand and a shot of a euro going into a payphone is unbearably pretentious.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,251 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Well, this Guardian interview with Fuller from early June starts off with one of the first quotes as follows.
    Every director who comes to the show gets the same lecture, says Fuller. We are not making television. We are making a pretentious art film from the 80s.

And by the end of the piece it doesn't sound like a show that's a breeze to shoot.

It's a pretentious show, that's part of what makes it unique!

This season has been a pretty big re-configuration though, which will tend to happen when one of your main characters is finally totally unmasked as a serial killer and flees to Europe to adopt a new identity, in fairness. We're missing most of the secondary characters who brought the most levity (the two lads in the FBI especially), and also the more episodic, villain of the week elements. There isn't room for those elements when you have Will, Jack, and Hannibal all slowly converging on each other (as well as Mason complicating things), and they obviously wouldn't make sense in this scenario.

Hannibal and Will talking about other are not nearly as compelling as Hannibal and Will talking to each other, though. I have to admit, I'm finding Will more than a bit tedious these past two episodes (liked him in episode 2). Pairing Hugh Dancy with an actor who also....talks....ponderously slowly....about the...saaame subject...all the...time for most of his scenes is one decision I'm not crazy about this season. Mads Mikkelson could probably read the Ikea catalogue to an empty chair and make it seem wry, threatening, sexy (or hey, all three, why not), and he gets matched with Gillian Anderson :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,251 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Ikea? Season 10 - The Flatpack Killer. :pac:

3652816b6e5a89d45d4556aa296ab964.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 60,364 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I can't link at the moment but it's on Digitalspy today that both Amazon and Netflix passed on picking it up for another season.

Well that's disappointing :(

Enjoy it while it lasts I suppose

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,924 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

It's been a long hard viewing on this series....

I so enjoyed the last episode....

Hang in there... xxx

Bowels in or out? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Bowels in or out? :pac:

Quite epic.

I'm a raw sort of person myself...........:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Links234 wrote: »
    Michael Pitt was amazing last season,

WTF, reading your post has jut made me realise that was him playing the part. Wow.

Haven't read the last couple of pages as I'm at UK pace so have only seen as far as episode 4, but like others suggested this season so far hasn't gripped or enthralled me like the previous 2 seasons. In fact it has become a show in which I can leave on in the background and still browse the internet or whatever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

I felt strangely sympathetic towards Hannibal in that last episode I think it's the quality of acting from Mads, he's engaging, he draws you in.

"How will you feel when I'm gone?", he asks, teetering on the edge. Quite appropriate, given the circumstances.

I felt strangely sympathetic towards Hannibal in that last episode I think it's the quality of acting from Mads, he's engaging, he draws you in.

"How will you feel when I'm gone?", he asks, teetering on the edge. Quite appropriate, given the circumstances.

A lot of people scoff at me in disbelief when I say this, I think Mads has been my favourite Hannibal. Hopkins was great but I much prefer the way Mads plays him.

I'm going to miss seeing him as Hannibal, hopefully the rumours are right and he is in Game of Thrones next season. Even if he isn't no doubt he'll find some other good project. Thought he was good in Casino Royale but was blown away by him in Hannibal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I recommend The Hunt if you've not seen it - Mads Mikkelsen is superb in it. Not an easy watch though.

Mark Kermode was singing the praises of another of his films, 'A Royal Affair '. It's a Danish production so it's probably even harder to find.

Brian Cox is the daddy of the Hannibals for me. Real thuggish feel to his portrayal. Interesting how each actor has a completely different take on him.

A Royal Affair is on Netflix, I think. Well worth a watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Adamocovic wrote: »
    A lot of people scoff at me in disbelief when I say this, I think Mads has been my favourite Hannibal. Hopkins was great but I much prefer the way Mads plays him.

Oh I think Mads is by far the best person to have played Hannibal. Hopkins after Silence of the Lambs went full-on pantomime villain with the character, he was just lacking the mustache twirling and maniacal laugh. Mads on the other hand plays him in a very calm and measured way, someone you could well imagine people trusting, someone cold and manipulative, and someone who could hide in plain sight.

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭El Diablo Blanco

I recommend The Hunt if you've not seen it - Mads Mikkelsen is superb in it. Not an easy watch though.

Second that- excellent film. For someone who's done great work playing villainous characters, Mads Mikkelsen is extremely sympathetic in The Hunt. Definitely a tough watch, as mentioned, but very compelling.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 149 ✭✭Dogowner55

Links234 wrote: »
    Oh I think Mads is by far the best person to have played Hannibal. Hopkins after Silence of the Lambs went full-on pantomime villain with the character, he was just lacking the mustache twirling and maniacal laugh. Mads on the other hand plays him in a very calm and measured way, someone you could well imagine people trusting, someone cold and manipulative, and someone who could hide in plain sight.

I prefer Brian Cox over hopkins even, hopkins was pantomine in lambs too.

With this Lecter we're seeing much more of his crimes, right? The world of Hopkins's Hannibal (iirc) is largely confined to a cage.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,990 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Dogowner55 wrote: »
    I prefer Brian Cox over hopkins even, hopkins was pantomine in lambs too.
    Agreed. I never got the love for Hopkin's performance. It was OTT to start with and got progressively more absurd. I recall preferring Cox's but it in turn pales next to Mads. Mads is superb in the role - far more than the others, he gets across the cold arrogance and sharp mind of Hannibal. Without him the show would be a pale imitation of what it is (albeit still a pretty one).

With this Lecter we're seeing much more of his crimes, right? The world of Hopkins's Hannibal (iirc) is largely confined to a cage.

The tv series is giving almost full access to Hannibal's world, much more than we got from the films, and Mads has the acting chops to guide us expertly through it all. Dancy looks a bit weak in comparison, they're not really in the same league.

Hopkins got out and about a bit, but Cox spends all his screentime behind bars, which makes his menace all the more impressive.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Now we're talking.. Thats the episode we were all waiting for.. Even if i was a little confused at the end!!??!!
    How did Will and Hannibal end up hanging there