Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women walks away scot free after admitting making up sexual assault allegations

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Zulu wrote: »
    We has got a point.

The girl went through 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 without doing a thing.

I knew right from wrong well before I was 10.
    I knew to object to an adult about 13/14.
    I certainly knew to object to my parents around 13/14.

At 16/17 I wanted to be an adult, and knew how to make adult decisions.

Perhaps she should be tried for preversing the course of justice since she we 18.

If at 12 or 14 she said to herself, i cant live with the lie anymore, how do you imagine she would have delt with it? She is still a child and needs her family.. and naturaly loves them.. its a difficult position for a child to be in

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

For the record, there is no proof that she was coerced into the lie by her parents or anyone else. Please take that into account when posting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Bull****, coerced or not, she still made a decision that would ruin someone's life. And she knew the consequences, 10 year olds are not that naive. She is no victim, she's just another scumbag. They should lock her up and throw away the key.
    We has got a point.

The girl went through 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 without doing a thing.

I knew right from wrong well before I was 10.
    I knew to object to an adult about 13/14.
    I certainly knew to object to my parents around 13/14.

At 16/17 I wanted to be an adult, and knew how to make adult decisions.

Perhaps she should be tried for preversing the course of justice since she we 18.
    I can't believe the kneejerk nature of these responses - it more than reminds me of the crap on another thread from people blaming foreigners for taking all our jobs when employers have to give them the jobs in the first place.
    You guys have no idea how much that kid could have been intimidated into doing what she did and subsequently keeping her mouth shut.
    Again, easy target - like the immigrants.

Are 10-year-olds even acquainted with the concept of sexual abuse? I know when I was 10 I was just starting to learn about the birds and the bees and knew a couple of things but certainly nothing about sexual assault.
    And then her testimony contained very explicit terminology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭ZWEI_VIER_ZWEI

Dudess wrote: »
    I can't believe the kneejerk nature of these responses - it more than reminds me of the crap on another thread from people blaming foreigners for taking all our jobs when employers have to give them the jobs in the first place.
    You guys have no idea how much that kid could have been intimidated into doing what she did and subsequently keeping her mouth shut.

My opinion is not knee-jerk, it is measured and thought out, and consistent with my philosophy that no matter what your background, you should be punished for your crime. Sure, your background can be a mitigating factor, but this is one of the most severe of crimes, the kind where someone's life can quite easily be ruined forever.

And I don't see what that has in common with immigrant bashing.

Do you honestly believe that she is a victim here because she was (possibly, but I'll admit quite likely) coerced? If I grew up in a ****ty background, a family of crooks, do you think it would be ok, if I, as a 10 year old, was coerced to go up to you, stab you in the neck and take your wallet? Do you think that would absolve me of any guilt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Well the point is-we dont know under what circumstances she made the false allegations.She could have been coerced or she could have made it up independantly.Just because one is 10years old it doesnt mean one is too innocent to breaking the law.
    Those investigating this case did a very substandard job however.
    I feel sorry for the man involved,regardless of having his name cleared,he will always be viewed with suspicion by some.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭dresden8

The court heard there was a history of animosity between his family and his alleged victim's family relating to disputes between rights of way and land.

Boggers and land. Always trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

irish wimmin are surely crazy.....according to my housemate.

My opinion is not knee-jerk, it is measured and thought out, and consistent with my philosophy that no matter what your background, you should be punished for your crime.
    I agree, in the sense that background is more abstract and broad and general than actually being made do something.
    And I don't see what that has in common with immigrant bashing.
    The willingness to just leap in and blame the easiest target is what I'm referring to.
    Do you honestly believe that she is a victim here because she was (possibly, but I'll admit quite likely) coerced?
    Absolutely. It's as if you're forgetting how powerful coercion can be, especially for a young kid, dependent on her family.
    If I grew up in a ****ty background, a family of crooks, do you think it would be ok, if I, as a 10 year old, was coerced to go up to you, stab you in the neck and take your wallet? Do you think that would absolve me of any guilt?
    If you didn't have the choice not to, absolutely.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I can't believe the kneejerk nature of these responses .

Scroll up.

You're in AH.

I thought you'd know better ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

That said, the girl in this case probably never would have come forward if she was going to be punished.

Perhaps, but apparently she was wracked with guilt, so who knows.

herya wrote: »
    I actually find it more likely for a 10 year old to be violent and assault/kill another child than to come up with an elaborate setup plan involving legal knowledge and specialist terminology - on their own - over property issues.

I agree- more likely that a child would snap and react violently, rather than think of such a plan (assuming she was 'coerced', though there has been no confirmation or evidence of that yet.)

there should be *some* kind of checks carried out to ensure that they're not engaging in a below the belt vendetta either.

That's what I'm wondering- shouldn't there have been checks, DNA samples taken, that kind of thing? Considering that there was a dispute between the families that was probably well-known in the community.
    Something tells me the "i found god" bull is the reason she got let off

Really? I don't think so. If they had the ways and means of charging her, I'm sure they would. I don't think saying 'I found God' would cut it as an excuse, really.
    Loopy wrote: »
    It happened a close family friend and neighbour of ours growing up. He was accused of sexually assaulting a co-worker.

She backed down too and withdrew her allegations 'eventually'. It destroyed him though and his relationship with his wife. He is dying of cancer now.

This is why there should be thorough checks in such cases. It's cases like these that make me glad we don't have the death penalty- what if the man in this case had been sentenced to death? Mistakes do happen.
    big b wrote: »
    They are real criminals.

Yes, real child criminals- how do you think think they should have been treated? They served a long sentence which they fully deserved- what more do you want? They couldn't have been treated like adult criminals because they simply weren't adults.
    Terry wrote: »

How the **** do people get away with stuff by saying they have found God?
    This is not a state run by any church*, yet courts are lenient on those who say they found God.
    What if someone was to say sorry for wasting the court's time. I'm not going to be a bad person any more.
    Would they be treated the same way?
    It's a ****ing cop out and I can't believe judges can't see past it.

I have to say, I really doubt that's the reason she was let off, and I've not heard of any other cases where saying ''I found God'' let people off the hook. Maybe it's just me.:confused:
    Children are not that naive. Do you remember when you were 10? You probably weren't as stupid as a lot of people are claiming this girl must have been. The average 10 year old will know the consequences of their actions.

Yes children aren't naive but they also aren't as aware of the affects of their actions as adults are. It's not about being stupid- it's about how it seems likely (to me, and other posters here it seems) that she was given a helping hand in concocting her story. <SNIP>

To me, it seems like she knew it was wrong but felt like she had to go along with it.
    Bull****, coerced or not, she still made a decision that would ruin someone's life. And she knew the consequences, 10 year olds are not that naive. She is no victim, she's just another scumbag. They should lock her up and throw away the key.

Rabble, rabble, rabble. See above.
    bigeasyeah wrote: »
    I dont understand how he was convicted in the first place.Id like to know the evidence given against him apart from the allegation of sexual assault.Given the history between the two families,the said allegation should have been closely scrutinised.

Exactly.
    snyper wrote: »
    Obviously, the man is the victim here..

However a ten year old child didnt think this up on her own - i think the dog on the street could assume that.

I think people are forgetting that she did confess when she was older - older more independant and free from the pressures of coersion from the "people" that instigated this lie.

+1.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Horrendous story.

<>

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Nodin wrote: »
    Because of something they did when there were 10 years old.
    No. It's because they took a life.
    there should be *some* kind of checks carried out to ensure that they're not engaging in a below the belt vendetta either.
    Around the time of the Dude, 2000 years ago, if you went on trial, you listed your enemies off, to ensure that your enemy was not falsely conspiring against you. If this case, all they needed was to have spotted him walking along a deserted road, and they'd have a date, time, etc, when they knew he had no defense.
    Das Kitty wrote: »
    There is no amnesty for crimes like this as far as I know.
    EVERY SINGLE one of these accusers gets away with it.
    Zadkiel wrote: »
    I can't imagine what life must have been like for him since. He deserves to be compensated but what would make him feel any better about any of the past years?
    It may enable him to go somewhere far far away, and live somewhere where no-one knows of the sh|t he just went through.
    2. The man in question is by far the greatest victim in all this.
    Correction: he's the ONLY victim in all of this.
    snyper wrote: »
    I think people are forgetting that she did confess when she was older - older more independant and free from the pressures of coersion from the "people" that instigated this lie.
    If coercion took place, aye. It seems like she "got the f**k out of Dodge", and then came forward when she was clear of it. As for the "finding god" thing, I think that's for her parents: if she ever came home, and was asked "why didn't you leave him there", saying she "found god" would, in "Catholic Ireland", sound better than saying she "felt guilty". Also, If she used the phrase "felt guilty", people would ask what she felt for the last few years. As "finding god" took place "suddenly" it would answer why she didn't come forward at an earlier stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

walshb wrote: »
    I agree, but this case is different. She was NOT a woman when the claim was made.
    She was 10 and it's possible I would say that this child was coerced and supported by
    adults in making the claim. These are the real vermin in this case and these should be held responsible

Eh ? and how do you even begin to do that. 10 years? Unless there was some mental reason i dont see how she cant be held responsible unless it could be proven she didnt go to school or that the class she was in didnt teach right/wrong or ethics of any kind

<>

• Registered Users Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

We don't get a time machine. We don't get to go back to whenever it was and hound the (hopefully) impressionable 10 year old into making sure that she knows how serious what she says will be taken; whatever the wrongs of what she did, she probably didn't know it was THAT serious, and she possibly didn't do it of her own free will, or go check out the medical terminology.

Sadly (for the other countless victims out there of sexual abuse) what needs to happen is a reappraisal of the way cases like this are brought. I said it before, but these things need to be investigated, and here's where the difficulties come into it.

The fact that there was difficulty between the two families doesn't make sexual abuse any less likely, or (for that matter) any more likely. It *does* however, it seems, make it more likely that allegations can be made to sully the name of blameless individuals.

The DPP/Gardai are going to have to employ some methodology of ensuring that their witnesses are genuine. The scary thing is that this woman, however much we feel she has wronged this guy, at least had the balls to 'fess up and have him exonerated.

Do we have any idea how many other poor friggers are languishing in our jails on foot of trumped up testimony? How many other people are there out there who have perjured themselves and NOT done anything to redress the balance later in life.

THAT'S the scary thing, folks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

You know, its interesting. The difference in reaction to this story is so telling. Majority of women focusing on the mitigating circumstances...majority of men outraged, empathising with Hannon and baying for blood.

How do you know which posters are men and which are women?:p

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Are you male or female?:D

sometimes its easy to tell lads. a quick squeeze between the legs mick dundee style should see you right.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

You might be right but I believe it would be very different if it was a grown up woman we're talking about. To throw a man to jail by falsely accusing him of rape/sexual abuse is repulsive, and offensive to real rape victims.

I was a precocious urban child, never believed in birds & bees (mum a GP) and yet I am quite sure that at 10yo I had no clue whatsoever about false accusations of sexual abuse and their consequences. In my personal opinion I can't see how this particular girl could have concocted this story on her own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

No I'm not. One child (the girl 10) and one poor unfortunate innocent man (25 at the time I think).

What are you talking about?

The pair in the Bulger case. I was interrupted there a few times so may have lost track of who I was yammering at. Thats the problem with work, they think they can just grab ye when they want......
    the syco wrote:
    No. It's because they took a life.

I received over the years a number of chain e-mails relating to keeping them in. No other killers, Irish, British or American - just them. Not even the Moors murderers. Papers exposed the facilities they were housed in, there were various attempts to publish photos of them as they appear now....If you can name another case, involving either adults or children, that attracted that level of hysteria, feel free.

sometimes its easy to tell lads. a quick squeeze between the legs mick dundee style should see you right.

But you can't do that through the internet!;):pac:

herya wrote: »
    You might be right but I believe it would be very different if it was a grown up woman we're talking about. To throw a man to jail by falsely accusing him of rape/sexual abuse is repulsive, and offensive to real rape victims.

I was a precocious urban child, never believed in birds & bees (mum a GP) and yet I am quite sure that at 10yo I had no clue whatsoever about false accusations of sexual abuse and their consequences. In my personal opinion I can't see how this particular girl could have concocted this story on her own.

yep you could be right but i dont think a lot of men care. this guys life was ****ed up so easily by the lies of this girl and all the guys reading this know that they are potentially extremely vunerable to this kind of sh!t and to be frank that scares the fook out of us, thus the anger and the desire for something to be "done" about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,694 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    As an aside how exactly did this 34 year old man know this 10 year old girl (surely they had to know each other, been in same location alone together etc)?

Plus, a convicted nonse isn't going to have a pleasant time in prison so her lie was a double-whammy of sorts.

Apparently he was 22 when she was 10 and she never evem met the man.
    BTW, wasn't this thread discussed many months ago? I am also sure I postd on this or a very very similar thread about this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

yep you could be right but i dont think a lot of men care. this guys life was ****ed up so easily by the lies of this girl and all the guys reading this know that they are potentially extremely vunerable to this kind of sh!t and to be frank that scares the fook out of us, thus the anger and the desire for something to be "done" about it.

Speak for yourself. What point is there in persecuting someone for what they did when they were 10? If a kid kicks me in the leg, they don't get the same clatter an adult does, or even clattered at all.

The DPP, the Cops, and the original case needs looking at, and charges applied if anything turns up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 alanella

Age of criminal responsibility

The age of criminal responsibility is covered by Section 52 of the Children Act 2001 as amended by Section 129 of the Criminal Justice Act 2006 (pdf). This came into effect in October 2006, raising the age of criminal responsibility from 7 years of age to 12 years of age. This means that children who have not reached the age of 12 years cannot be charged with an offence. There is an exception, however, for children aged 10 or 11 who can be charged with murder, manslaughter, rape or aggravated sexual assault. In addition, where a child under 14 years of age is charged with an offence, no further proceedings can be taken without the consent of the Director of Public Prosecutions.

Bearing the above in mind did the women not commit a crime by not revealing her evil deed once she had turned 12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

We live in a society where everything is dumbed down and most people are thick cu*ts who would believe everything a ten year girl would tell them.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Hopefully the guy will be able to get some justice in the civil courts if criminal redress fails him.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

To be fair, neither do you. All we know is that she lied, and that she kept that secret for 10 years to the detriment of an innocent mans character.
    Just because you don't agree - dosen't mean our responses aren't considered.

And by-the-by, likening my points to a racist slur is both childish and unwarranted.
    Poor show Dudess.
    Poor show.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I hope the guy ends up owning all the disputed land esp the girl's family land.:cool: Karma.