Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

Gaatalk wrote: »
    Look there has been a lot of comments posted following Clare's exit from this years championship that id like to address with my opinions.
    1. Firstly id like to say the comments by some users that Davy is toxic in Clare is untrue and unwarranted and disgraceful. Davy won 2 senior All Irelands with Clare as a player and a senior All Ireland Club title for the 1996 Clare County Hurling Champions Sixmilebridge who also wear the Clare colours (Davy was simply a born Clare winner!).Davy won 3 Senior Munster titles as a player in 1995, 1997, 1998. Davy won 1 Munstee Minor title as a player in 1989 too. Davy also won the Poc Fada All Ireland Championship on at least one or more occasions. So Davys pedigree as a player was not toxic but rather a victorious sports ambassador for Clare!

The above was some of Davys achievements as a player. With respect to Davys management achievements he achieved great credentials! He first took over a Waterford team in 2008 after Justin McCarthy had resigned and led that Waterford Team to the All Ireland Final for the first time in decades and decades albeit they lost badly to one of the greatest Kilkenny Teams of all times. Davy followed up that final apperance with managing Waterford to a Munster title over Cork in the following years.
    Davy then managed Clare to an all ireland title in 2013 the first in 16years and to a league title in 2016 the first in nearly 40 years!
    When Davy managed Clare he knew the limitations of the Clare backline and despite at times especially post 2013 the sweeper system didnt always work the winning result nevertheless it worked as a strategy intermittently with careful planning to ultimately win the all ireland for Clare in 2013 and thats all that counts! Davys management also worked to capture the league title in 2016 just two years ago! How we would treasure any silverware now
    with the so called 'popular managers 2 of them!'
    who have failed naively in the last two years to win a title or really recruit any new players ( with the exception of Duggan who lets be frank was almost established last year!)

Anyway to continue with the nasty comments on Davy let me say his style while always not the one we all liked did reap the awards! Within 2 years Clare were all ireland champions and not once was he suspended in them two years from the sideline unlike the current managers! which proves he managed for good results as hard as he could!

Were it not for Davy the wait for Liam McCarthy to revisit Clare would be 21years and the wait for the league title would be about 40 years!
    So I am at a loss how some jealous bad minded so called people could say Davy is toxic in Clare.
    Davy is far from toxic in Clare and I am a clare fan and codone them bullying comments! I bet them same so called clare fans all the same enjoyed the 2013 all ireland win or sadly maybe they actually didnt!
    The current managements two years are now up they have delivered no title despite taking over an all ireland winning team of just 5 yrs ago.
    These sad anti Davy fans would be better off debating that and stop dragging Davy into it!
    Il conclude if Davy was in charge last Sunday or the previous Saturday Clare when they got on top would have seeing out the victory because players would have been brought in sooner, scores would have to be scored not missed (19 wides!) and lastly Davy would have played his tactics close to his chest and would not have let the Clare team be so predictable as in playing the sweeper system again when Gearoid Mc Inerney was out! Indeed the current management were so naive that they went with Davys sweeper system because they had no plan of their own to save themselves but acourse it backfired at the start it had to!
    So to conclude get a grip Davys critcs and instead stick to the current debate the current management have 2 years got and last weeks loss was the most lost opportunity since 1955 or probably ever! Its time for them to step down.
    They should get credit for the 3 in a row u21 titles and minor munster titles which was helped by the pool they luckily had but only for Davy Clare would not have won Liam in 2013 and the league in 2016 thats proven now beyond doubt.
    Davy left in 2017 in my opinion because this current crop of leaders were not prepared to put in the hard work and sacrifices and do what he wanted to in order to land a second title! The team in my opinion were relieved to finish ties with Davy but imo Davy had enough of that.
    Thats why two years later since Davy left Clare hurling is more toxic and the toxicity starts with the goalie Tuohy who pucked out balls that went straight back from Galway over his bar! He pucked balls over the line to his corner backs!
    The corner backs when the received shakily some passes from the goalie fumbled them over the sideline UNMARKED! Ask any reasonably hurling fan and will tell you your heart was in your mouth every time with the Clare backlines!
    The backlines have not beem addressed at all in 2 years by this management! No new or strong backs brought in! Everyone of the existing defence was there in Davy's era! Tony Kelly was woeful bad and has shown even less leadership in a consistent basis since Davy left and management wont drop him!
    ODonnell played well last Sunday but upto then and with the last 5 years has not!
    This team were not beaten once or twice (by Cork! Davy would not tolerate that in same year)but 3 times in the championship! How could you win an all ireland with that statistic!
    Its time for some clare fans to stop saying tuohy was good, that clare progressed this year when instead they collapsed on the big days but lulled Clare fans into thinking they had improved! Finally any team that demands support from the captain and mnagement before they win anything or prove themselves are usually lacking something. This team is currently lacking something and in particular management!
    Slan!

Please don't get my hopes up but is that 'slan' for good??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

Davy will not be manager in Clare again for a very long time if ever.

Do you not think also that it's a little ironic Gaatalk that you give out about people insulting Davy yet you continually slate players here? Which I'm not sure the mods are doing enough about either to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

There has been some ridiculous stuff posted on here since last weekend. The whole country expected us to get hockeyed on the first day against Galway and it didn't happen. A one point defeat in a replay to a very good team and you'd swear the apocalypse was coming. Outside of a few months in 2013 its the best season we have had in about 15-16 years. No need to fillet the players either, 160 minutes of hurling in 8 days. Legs are going to be getting heavy and decision making is not going to be as good as it should when that starts to happen. Onwards and upwards for 2019.

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Mac_Lad71

Clareman wrote: »
    Anyone who doesn't think we have progressed would really need to have their heads examined, ok we should be better than we and we should be challenging for All Ireland's every year but looking at the cold hard facts.

In 2015 we played 3 championship games where we lost to Limerick and Cork but beat Offaly. Knocked out before quarter finals.
    In 2016 we played 4 championship games where we lost to Galway and Waterford but beat Laois and Limerick. Knocked out before quarter finals.
    In 2017 we played 3 games, lost to Cork and Limerick but beat Limerick. Got to All Ireland quarter final and a Munster final
    In 2018 we played 8 games, lost to Cork and Galway but beat Limerick, Tipperary, Waterford and Wexford. Got to All Ireland Semi Final and Munster final.

Give the lads another year I say.

Clare won their two home games one against a decimated Waterford side and to be fair the other against a good Limerick team who were out for the third week in a row and we’ve seen how that affected teams in the new format.
    The Munster draw was kind to Clare who had two matches and a break followed by another two matches, the only Munster county who didn’t have to play three weeks in a row. They had a good win against Tipp but were prob a bit lucky on the day. Lost to Cork twice and beat a poor Wexford team.
    Despite all of this they were fresh going into an AI semi against a Galway team who had two v physical encounters with KK and should have put them away.
    I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Davy will not be manager in Clare again for a very long time if ever.

Do you not think also that it's a little ironic Gaatalk that you give out about people insulting Davy yet you continually slate players here? Which I'm not sure the mods are doing enough about either to be honest.

it's amazing how we forget the people that do good. Davy Fitz brought home An Ireland in 2013 and won All Ireland's 1995 and 1997 and should have won 1998 only for an incompetent ref and he is hated more in Clare than anywhere else. If he never delivered for Clare he probably be better off. It's not as if Clare are like Kilkenny and there trophy cabinet is decorated with All Ireland medals. You have to laugh at some fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Look there has been a lot of comments posted following Clare's exit from this years championship that id like to address with my opinions.
    1. Firstly id like to say the comments by some users that Davy is toxic in Clare is untrue and unwarranted and disgraceful. Davy won 2 senior All Irelands with Clare as a player and a senior All Ireland Club title for the 1996 Clare County Hurling Champions Sixmilebridge who also wear the Clare colours (Davy was simply a born Clare winner!).Davy won 3 Senior Munster titles as a player in 1995, 1997, 1998. Davy won 1 Munstee Minor title as a player in 1989 too. Davy also won the Poc Fada All Ireland Championship on at least one or more occasions. So Davys pedigree as a player was not toxic but rather a victorious sports ambassador for Clare!

The above was some of Davys achievements as a player. With respect to Davys management achievements he achieved great credentials! He first took over a Waterford team in 2008 after Justin McCarthy had resigned and led that Waterford Team to the All Ireland Final for the first time in decades and decades albeit they lost badly to one of the greatest Kilkenny Teams of all times. Davy followed up that final apperance with managing Waterford to a Munster title over Cork in the following years.
    Davy then managed Clare to an all ireland title in 2013 the first in 16years and to a league title in 2016 the first in nearly 40 years!
    When Davy managed Clare he knew the limitations of the Clare backline and despite at times especially post 2013 the sweeper system didnt always work the winning result nevertheless it worked as a strategy intermittently with careful planning to ultimately win the all ireland for Clare in 2013 and thats all that counts! Davys management also worked to capture the league title in 2016 just two years ago! How we would treasure any silverware now
    who have failed naively in the last two years to win a title or really recruit any new players ( with the exception of Duggan who lets be frank was almost established last year!)

Anyway to continue with the nasty comments on Davy let me say his style while always not the one we all liked did reap the awards! Within 2 years Clare were all ireland champions and not once was he suspended in them two years from the sideline unlike the current managers! which proves he managed for good results as hard as he could!

Were it not for Davy the wait for Liam McCarthy to revisit Clare would be 21years and the wait for the league title would be about 40 years!
    So I am at a loss how some jealous bad minded so called people could say Davy is toxic in Clare.
    Davy is far from toxic in Clare and I am a clare fan and codone them bullying comments! I bet them same so called clare fans all the same enjoyed the 2013 all ireland win or sadly maybe they actually didnt!
    The current managements two years are now up they have delivered no title despite taking over an all ireland winning team of just 5 yrs ago.
    These sad anti Davy fans would be better off debating that and stop dragging Davy into it!
    Il conclude if Davy was in charge last Sunday or the previous Saturday Clare when they got on top would have seeing out the victory because players would have been brought in sooner, scores would have to be scored not missed (19 wides!) and lastly Davy would have played his tactics close to his chest and would not have let the Clare team be so predictable as in playing the sweeper system again when Gearoid Mc Inerney was out! Indeed the current management were so naive that they went with Davys sweeper system because they had no plan of their own to save themselves but acourse it backfired at the start it had to!
    So to conclude get a grip Davys critcs and instead stick to the current debate the current management have 2 years got and last weeks loss was the most lost opportunity since 1955 or probably ever! Its time for them to step down.
    They should get credit for the 3 in a row u21 titles and minor munster titles which was helped by the pool they luckily had but only for Davy Clare would not have won Liam in 2013 and the league in 2016 thats proven now beyond doubt.
    Davy left in 2017 in my opinion because this current crop of leaders were not prepared to put in the hard work and sacrifices and do what he wanted to in order to land a second title! The team in my opinion were relieved to finish ties with Davy but imo Davy had enough of that.
    Thats why two years later since Davy left Clare hurling is more toxic and the toxicity starts with the goalie Tuohy who pucked out balls that went straight back from Galway over his bar! He pucked balls over the line to his corner backs!
    The corner backs when the received shakily some passes from the goalie fumbled them over the sideline UNMARKED! Ask any reasonably hurling fan and will tell you your heart was in your mouth every time with the Clare backlines!
    The backlines have not beem addressed at all in 2 years by this management! No new or strong backs brought in! Everyone of the existing defence was there in Davy's era! Tony Kelly was woeful bad and has shown even less leadership in a consistent basis since Davy left and management wont drop him!
    ODonnell played well last Sunday but upto then and with the last 5 years has not!
    This team were not beaten once or twice (by Cork! Davy would not tolerate that in same year)but 3 times in the championship! How could you win an all ireland with that statistic!
    Its time for some clare fans to stop saying tuohy was good, that clare progressed this year when instead they collapsed on the big days but lulled Clare fans into thinking they had improved! Finally any team that demands support from the captain and mnagement before they win anything or prove themselves are usually lacking something. This team is currently lacking something and in particular management!
    Slan!

You need to a bit more research on Davy's if you think he isn't toxic. He is. He needs to stay gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

Slan!

How many conclusions can one possibly have from one rant?
    On an aside what language are you writing in Davy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,117 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Amprodude wrote: »
    it's amazing how we forget the people that do good. Davy Fitz brought home An Ireland in 2013 and won All Ireland's 1995 and 1997 and should have won 1998 only for an incompetent ref and he is hated more in Clare than anywhere else. If he never delivered for Clare he probably be better off. It's not as if Clare are like Kilkenny and there trophy cabinet is decorated with All Ireland medals. You have to laugh at some fans.

no one will ever forget what he has done a a player or manager in terms of success but just because a guy brings a level of success , he was manager for 5 years in that time he won an all ireland and a league , but relisticly we never came close to challenging after 2013 under him

the right thing was done and he left , he did clash with supporters , players and media people in his time as manager which has tantid his reputation in the county as a person but he had to go end off, if this terminollogy was used for every county well then cyrell farrell would proably still be the galway hurling manager considering he was involved in 3 out of there 5 all irelands won

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 Viewpoint2

Please don't get my hopes up but is that 'slan' for good??

A Stationmaster an bhfuil aon eolas agat?
    Ni mbeidh me imithe go deo ach beidh me ar ais!
    An dtuigean tu?
    Le cunamh Dè measaim go mbeidh bainisteoir nua do

Now slàn.

Viewpoint2 wrote: »
    A Stationmaster an bhfuil aon eolas agat?
    Ni mbeidh me imithe go deo ach beidh me ar ais!
    An dtuigean tu?
    Le cunamh Dè measaim go mbeidh bainisteoir nua do

Now slàn.

Two different logins for Boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Figerty wrote: »
    Two different logins for Boards?

A rookie mistake :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

Amprodude wrote: »

I wouldn't be so sure of that now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

I can't think of anyone I know (in GAA circles) that Hates Davy Fitz, there are a few who wouldn't be found of him but all acknowledge what he did for Clare, But Hate I think not..

On the other side I know a few Cork lads that legitimately Hate him.. go figure

The same can be said for any manager who managed against his/her home county, there will always be the begrudgers who only see a "turn-coat"

You want to see what real hate looks like from Fans, go talk to Fitzmaurice

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Mac_Lad71

Shane_ef wrote: »
    I can't think of anyone I know (in GAA circles) that Hates Davy Fitz, there are a few who wouldn't be found of him but all acknowledge what he did for Clare, But Hate I think not..

The same can be said for any manager who managed against his/her home county, there will always be the begrudgers who only see a "turn-coat"

Cork people hate anyone that’s not from Cork.
    I should know I’m from there. :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Howitzer the 5th

Shane_ef wrote: »

Why hate? Why not? He's certainly a silly little bollix and is utterly deluded as to abilities.

It's taken Moloney and O'Connor and their coaches two years to right the wrongs of Davy's horrific mismanagement and the destruction of the players bodies.

The same players who scared the hell out of Galway twice and were a shade unlucky not to advance as against the disaster of Davy's mismanagement.

Contrast Clare and Galway in Thurles in 2016 as against the last two meetings and how Clare were utterly changed positively in 2018 from the disaster of that all-Ireland quarter-final.

His ego is legendary and his absolutely unbelievable insecurities are a detriment to both himself and anybody he is a coach to.

I went to Cork and saw first hand a possessed Tony Kelly ensure Clare weren't caught out by Wexford. Many of the Clare team he oversaw aren't on speaking terms with him.

Davy won all-Ireland and Munster medals, all stars and was a fantastic keeper and graduated to oversee an All-Ireland as manager but unfortunately for him that's not reflected in any great time for the fella.

Why hate? Why not? He's certainly a silly little bollix and is utterly deluded as to abilities.

It's taken Moloney and O'Connor and their coaches two years to right the wrongs of Davy's horrific mismanagement and the destruction of the players bodies.

The same players who scared the hell out of Galway twice and were a shade unlucky not to advance as against the disaster of Davy's mismanagement.

Contrast Clare and Galway in Thurles in 2016 as against the last two meetings and how Clare were utterly changed positively in 2018 from the disaster of that all-Ireland quarter-final.

His ego is legendary and his absolutely unbelievable insecurities are a detriment to both himself and anybody he is a coach to.

I went to Cork and saw first hand a possessed Tony Kelly ensure Clare weren't caught out by Wexford. Many of the Clare team he oversaw aren't on speaking terms with him.

Davy won all-Ireland and Munster medals, all stars and was a fantastic keeper and graduated to oversee an All-Ireland as manager but unfortunately for him that's not reflected in any great time for the fella.

Davy's antics in the Fitzgibbon cup this year should be enough to enlighten anyone as to his true character.
    Loughnane summed it a few weeks ago when he said there was no fire left in his belly.

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭square ball

Davy did well to help us to win an All Ireland in 2013 but his time in charge had to come to an end when it did. We were going backwards and playing a style of hurling that didn't suit the players we had available or please the fans watching the ****e that was on show.

Moloney and O Connor have got Clare playing a more open expansive brand of hurling which is getting the best out of our more skilful hurlers bar Tony Kelly. Duggan, O Donnell and Galvin were getting better and better as the year went on.

They are trying to get the best out of the players we have but we have a few weaknesses that can only really be addressed with different personnel. We need an extra ball winner in the half forward line (Reidy, Kelly, Podge and Ian Galvin) are all too small in stature to consistently get the better of their men as they can't secure enough primary possession. We would get away with one small lad with 2 big lads.

We lack serious pace and presence in our backline as well but could maybe have one or two more athletic defenders coming through to help out in that respect.

Kelly is very hot and cold. Liable to pop up with a couple of monster points and then not get a touch for 20 mins. Management need to get a bit more ruthless and take him off if he is not involved and it might help him in the long run. He needs to do a lot more donkey work if he can't win puckouts.

I think the two boys need another year. They have got us playing well all year. Teams fear us again. They spent the league settling team and got us hurling. Got us to a Munster final which we should have won after our first half. Got us to an All Ireland semi final which we also should have won.

They did make a few mistakes. They do need to make changes a bit quicker. But more good than bad and I expect us to challenge for honours next year.

Moving away from last week for a minute and focus on tomorrows football championships ,it is likely to have huge implications on several clubs across the county . the senior is going to be narrowed down from 16 teams to 12 after this year and rightly so, but 4 losers from round 2 will automatically be dropped for next season while the loser of the senior B championship semi finals will contest the final spot to stay senior ,

lose this weekend and your into an automatic relegation playoff in two weeks time , win and your safe for now ,
    the favorites for jack daly this year would be Kilmurry Ibrickane , but without keelan sexton for most of if not all the championship will raise huge hope in clondegad, miltown cratloe and eire og who are all expected to challenge

in the intermiedate championship kilrush and kildysart play this weekend many expect the two teams to contest the final later in the year so saturday nights game could be huge in determining that

https://twitter.com/claresport/status/1026573484850327552

https://twitter.com/claresport/status/1026573591939297280

https://twitter.com/claresport/status/1026573746931486721

After there success in division 3 a few weeks back some of the kilfenora players decided to make a drunkin video lets just say slagging off quilty and there people , in advance of there first round championship clash today

lets just say they paid for it tonight , cian o dea must be feeling very stupid tonight :rolleyes: , Rule number 1..... do not poke the bear !!!!

https://twitter.com/kibgaaclub/status/1028346674547175426

in the other 4 games , Eire og are in to the relegation playoff after a 1 point loss to lissycasey , ennistymon were impressive against o'currys , Colm collins recorded an easy win against his native parrish as clondegad were far too strong for Doora/Barefield

no surprises , all division 1 teams beat lower division opposition but eire og will be te team everyone will want to avoid in round two

https://twitter.com/EireOgInisGAA/status/1028286627087626240

https://twitter.com/Westclarepage/status/1028315276897603585

https://twitter.com/ClareFM/status/1028324376830246912

https://twitter.com/ClondegadF/status/1028347805851705344

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I saw the video, f**king eejit

Clareman wrote: »
    I saw the video, f**king eejit

There was more then just him. Plenty of lads egging him on in the background , had the Gaul to send the video on himself to one of his quilty team mates on the Clare panel .

No ties with quilty but delighted with the way they went about there business yesterday 37 point win is one way of shutting lads up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

There was more then just him. Plenty of lads egging him on in the background , had the Gaul to send the video on himself to one of his quilty team mates on the Clare panel .

No ties with quilty but delighted with the way they went about there business yesterday 37 point win is one way of shutting lads up
    And they throwing digs at derrick lynch on Twitter today. They'll never learn.

• Registered Users Posts: 268 ✭✭Twiceasnice97

Slan!

so no one should give out about Davy Fitz but you are entitled to go on a delusional rant insulting the management and the players in a year where the damage he did is finally being turned around

• Registered Users Posts: 268 ✭✭Twiceasnice97

Mac_Lad71 wrote: »
    As a neutral I was the one who suggested that Clare would be better off with Davy on the line and was taken aback by the level of negativity towards him. He delivered two national titles albeit with a precocious under 21 squad at his disposal. Since he left I think Clare have regressed in their decision making under pressure and no longer carry the same aura they had when he was in charge. Last Sunday was a match Clare should have won and imo it was lost on the line similar to Cork the previous Sunday. I do not see Clare winning an All Ireland under the current management and better use should be made of the current crop of players as there doesn’t seem to be much coming through at minor and u21.

what aura was that?

in 14 15 and 16 we beat offaly laoise and limerick and lost to everyone else with a far stronger squad than we have now.

why do you think his reputation is toast in Clare.
    Is everyone deluded or did he bring it on himself

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

After there success in division 3 a few weeks back some of the kilfenora players decided to make a drunkin video lets just say slagging off quilty and there people , in advance of there first round championship clash today

lets just say they paid for it tonight , cian o dea must be feeling very stupid tonight :rolleyes: , Rule number 1..... do not poke the bear !!!!

https://twitter.com/kibgaaclub/status/1028346674547175426
    Wow. That was some clever stuff from Kilfenora...calling out Quilty traveller style. You wouldn't mind if Kilfenora was some hotspot. It's childish stuff..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Gael85

Can anyone explain the relegation format for football championship with 5 teams going down? I see draw was made on Monday. For the teams that lose a second time are they demoted to intermediate?

Moving away from last week for a minute and focus on tomorrows football championships ,it is likely to have huge implications on several clubs across the county . the senior is going to be narrowed down from 16 teams to 12 after this year and rightly so, but 4 losers from round 2 will automatically be dropped for next season while the loser of the senior B championship semi finals will contest the final spot to stay senior ,

lose this weekend and your into an automatic relegation playoff in two weeks time , win and your safe for now ,
    the favorites for jack daly this year would be Kilmurry Ibrickane , but without keelan sexton for most of if not all the championship will raise huge hope in clondegad, miltown cratloe and eire og who are all expected to challenge

in the intermiedate championship kilrush and kildysart play this weekend many expect the two teams to contest the final later in the year so saturday nights game could be huge in determining that

Great win for Naomh Eoin against Coolmeen. Have a good young team this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 philip1526

Gael85 wrote: »
    Can anyone explain the relegation format for football championship with 5 teams going down? I see draw was made on Monday. For the teams that lose a second time are they demoted to intermediate?

4 beaten teams in the losers round are relegated.

4 beaten teams in the winners round play again. then the two beaten teams play off once more and the loser is relegated

That is stupidity of the highest order. KIB would have hammered them anyway but I'm sure video ensured complacency went out the window.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭ShortKickOut

What happened Keelan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭funnyname

How will next year's football championship work, two groups of 6 (5 games each) with the top two from each group going through to the semi finals?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

funnyname wrote: »
    How will next year's football championship work, two groups of 6 (5 games each) with the top two from each group going through to the semi finals?

not sure how they plan on doing , the last time there were 12 teams in the championship was back in the 90s , that time basically 4 teams got a bye to round 2 and 8 teams played off in round 1 the winners of round 1 would meet one of the teams in round 2

if this was to happen the 4 teams into round 2 should be semi finalists from the previous year

the 8 losers of round 1 and 2 would make up the losers round with the 4 winners progressing to the 1/4 final

the 4 winners of round 2 progress to the 1/4 final

i doubt the county board will entertain the idea of a group stage championship
    lissycasey had a motion turned down to make this years championship 4 groups of 4 with the bottom team of each group relegated

far better way to cut the number of teams in my opinion but the county board put it down to too many games

What happened Keelan?

knee injury i think

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

Is there anything worse than seeing a Clare woman, who married a Limerick man, and their two children - who were bred and reared in Clare , wearing Limerick jerseys and supping beer to celebrate Limericks great win ?

tatoo wrote: »
    Is there anything worse than seeing a Clare woman, who married a Limerick man, and their two children - who were bred and reared in Clare , wearing Limerick jerseys and supping beer to celebrate Limericks great win ?
    Yes,..,.a Tipp jersey!

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

Depends if they are from Parteen or Meelick or Shannon banks. Half the people there consider themselves Limerick.

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Howitzer the 5th

Kids supping beer? Child services are very lax in lady Limerick but that's not right.

Saw the Galvin brothers mother wearing a Clare jersey in Thurles and she's from Castleconnell. She wasn't sipping beer though.

Former Clare footballer Michael O'Shea passed away this evening. Had cancer for a couple years. Was only 39/40 RIP!

Windy. I see Dublin team trained in Kilmihill at weekend? Were they staying West for the weekend?

Former Clare footballer Michael O'Shea passed away this evening. Had cancer for a couple years. Was only 39/40 RIP!

very sad he was only 39 , with a young family , probably one of the best footballers in the county over the last 20 years was unlucky to miss out on the run to the all ireland 1/4 finals 2 years ago and the win in croke park against kildare in the division 3 final

was pivotal to kilmihil's intermediate success last year despite having to take time out half way through the season , had just started to get things going again in kilkee in terms of development underage and was intermediate manager but sadly took a turn for the worse in the last few weeks very sad news ,

Windy. I see Dublin team trained in Kilmihill at weekend? Were they staying West for the weekend?

Gavin has brought them down to west clare every year since he took over , he is fairly loyal to his roots in cooraclare , in recent years they trained and had open days with the kids in miltown , cooraclare doonbeg and now kilmihil , they usually stay in hotel in doonbeg for the weekend

normally he brings them down before a big game against say the likes of kerry usually 1/4 final semi final stage just as the hype is building in the capital ,i suppose it offers a break for the players to get away from the hype of the final for a few days , although there are plenty of resettlers down this neck of the woods going too so probably not that much of a break :rolleyes:

was at the 3 games in the park the weekend , few key points from each game

Cratloe 1-25 0-23 Inagh/k

hard to know if cratloe are real contenders or not , had developed two or 3 big leads in the game before allowing the combo back in each time , cathal mcinerney seems to be operating as there best forward , interesting to see both conor mcgrath and podge operate so far out from goal, both billy conors and diarmuid ryan look like good prospects in the making both held free taking duties , connors scored 0-9 in total 0-7 from placed balls and 4 wides , ryan also struck 4 two from play also wides but landed 3 huge scores from his own half of the field

Both teams had a 50% stake in the puck outs Cratloe had 45 shots on goal scoring 26 , 1-15 of which came from play 14 wides ,11 of which came from play

inagh/k had david fitzgearld sent off late in the second half for two yellow cards , were heavily influenced by the arthur brothers , Ger scoring 0-3 from play while his brother niall scored 0-10 , 0-8 from placed balls , they created less chances then cratloe but were much more efficient scoring ,0-14 points from 19 attempts from play and total had a total of 30 shots on goal scoring 23 only shting 6 wides , they conceded 17 frees to cratloes 10

kilmaley 1-20 1-16 newmarket

impressive win for the intermediate champions probably a flattering scoreline given how late the newmarket goal came , mikey o malley was excellent in midfield as was sean o'loughlin in the half forward line kilmaleys big worry though is there ability to win there own puck outs wining only 8 out of a total of 23 , no problem scoring from play as they hit 1-16 from open play and just 4 wides , they hit a total of 9 wides altogether

colin ryan is still the main scoring threat for the blues , he contributed to 0-10 points in total all but 1 were frees , stephen kelly scored 1-1 off the bench while colin guilfoyle scored 0-3 one an excellent line ball , i still hold him in high regard for the future as an intercounty prospect , newmarket only scored 1-6 from play a poor turn around for a side that won 15 of the oppositions puck outs , they won 16 of 30 of there own puck outs also but only created 14 shots on goal scoring 7

Sixmilebridge 0-23 1-13 clonlara

any team club or intercounty would struggle with out the services of ian galvin ,colm galvin and john conlon , altho conlon came on for the last 5 minutes or so he was definitely carrying a knock , not the greatest game in the world by any means , the bridge only notched up 0-12 points from play , 0-4 coming from shane golden who also struck 2 wides , jamie shannahan scored 0-13 points 0-11 from frees

neither team looked sharp and while i expect the bridge to improve again the next day i would worry for clonlara in the championship , heavily reliant now on michael o loughlin who hit 1-6 1-4 from play but he also missed 4 frees , not sure why totts is not taking them but it was an issue for them all day cormac o donovan also struggled from placed balls in contrast to shannahan who only missed one free in the entire game ,

the bridge created 32 scoring chances scoring 0-23 , 0-12 from play out of 20 chances created in open play while clonlara had a total of 24 shots on goal scoring 1-13 , 1-11 from play , the bridge conceded 16 frees to clonlara 18

• Registered Users Posts: 2,940 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

hard to know if cratloe are real contenders or not , had developed two or 3 big leads in the game before allowing the combo back in each time , cathal mcinerney seems to be operating as there best forward , interesting to see both conor mcgrath and podge operate so far out from goal, both billy conors and diarmuid ryan look like good prospects in the making both held free taking duties , connors scored 0-9 in total 0-7 from placed balls and 4 wides , ryan also struck 4 two from play also wides but landed 3 huge scores from his own half of the field

Both teams had a 50% stake in the puck outs Cratloe had 45 shots on goal scoring 26 , 1-15 of which came from play 14 wides ,11 of which came from play

inagh/k had david fitzgearld sent off late in the second half for two yellow cards , were heavily influenced by the arthur brothers , Ger scoring 0-3 from play while his brother niall scored 0-10 , 0-8 from placed balls , they created less chances then cratloe but were much more efficient scoring ,0-14 points from 19 attempts from play and total had a total of 30 shots on goal scoring 23 only shting 6 wides , they conceded 17 frees to cratloes 10

Poor enough result for the combo considering they had some hype this year. Flattering to deceive again

BloodyBill wrote: »
    Depends if they are from Parteen or Meelick or Shannon banks. Half the people there consider themselves Limerick.

Bloody Bosnian Serbs, Clonlara is overrun with them as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Cratloe were much the sharper on breaking ball, I thought they came away with countless ball that gave them a great platform.
    Their support play was very good also.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Kilmaley were impressive, considering they were much the smaller & lighter team in their contest.
    Quite a few young lads starting also.
    Mikey O Neill at centre forward had an excellent game I thought.

Ik or Newmarket will be in a relegation semi final