Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 7,335 ✭✭✭bladespin

Esel wrote: »
    Diesel, I presume?

Nope, did drive like a saint though.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

You're right there I think, 'tis a bit rich at that price.

Although the spec seems good.

I'd love to have one of them in a years to come, maybe twenty years when its a real classic, and I'm an ould fella.

226770.jpeg

No tax? Funny that, I was driving behind him yesterday in Galway admiring it. It's a beautiful car in the flesh. I'd love to buy one but doesn't really suit the family transport needs, and I'd have a job keeping it clean!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Winternomics: Thrash it, bash it and get your money back in scrap :)

NCT'd, 200

Full-15362689.jpeg

NCT till May, 350

Full-15361766.jpeg

NCT till March, 400

Full?id=15352272

NCT till Jan, 400

Hopefully with those seat covers :pac:
    Full-15331236.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 73,396 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

More banger than omics :)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

colm_mcm wrote: »
    More banger than omics :)

Everything bar the Citroen would tide a fella over.

That said, would rather walk than sit on those cow seat covers lol...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4059473

View2-15031531.jpeg

'94 730i.
    NCT till April, tax till december, €675

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Jimdagym wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4059473

'94 730i.
    NCT till April, tax till december, €675

Only In Ireland would a 7 series come with cloth seats and 0 extras.

Only in Ireland would you get it for the price of a dishwasher

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Only in Limerick would you get pulled every ten seconds for driving a white 7 series!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Germany too. Up until the last decade they had some seriously low spec S-Class, E-Class, 7er and 5er's . I used to export a lot of high end cars from Europe to West Africa, it's almost impossible to get a W124 or E34 in Germany with a/c let alone anything else, a lot of E32 and W126's didn't have it either.

That car is a bargain at that price if it's technically OK. Leather is one luxury I can easily do without.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

bijapos wrote: »
    Germany too. Up until the last decade they had some seriously low spec S-Class, E-Class, 7er and 5er's

yeah, the germans are a tight shower, thats why they are feverishly buying those Dacia's Dusters in Germany..........they're a top seller there......and Ryanair does some of it best business out of the germans!

anyways,
    back on topic........carry on ........

• Registered Users Posts: 4,095 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Everything bar the Citroen would tide a fella over.

That said, would rather walk than sit on those cow seat covers lol...

Granted none of the cars dgt lists in that posts are super (no offence intended dgt, they could be handy runarounds to tide you over for a few months) but I don't see how the Citroen is particularly worse than the rest....am I missing something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

They are all a bit on the naff side in their own ways (those seat covers :pac:) buuuuut if one had say, a Jaguar, as a daily hack and wanted to use another car over the winter for various reasons (want to do repairs to the car, protect it over the winter etc. I've done it myself) then those bargain buckets might just do the job :)

The winter car :D

Anyways, oblig car

NCT till May, 900

Sceptical about it though
    Full-15297129.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 65,005 ✭✭✭✭unkel

That W210 is a bargain. Only NCTd a few weeks ago too, so any rust can't be too bad either. I'd buy that tomorrow if I were stuck for a new car :)

Comfonomics FTW :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

unkel wrote: »
    That W210 is a bargain. Only NCTd a few weeks ago too, so any rust can't be too bad either. I'd buy that tomorrow if I were stuck for a new car :)

Comfonomics FTW :cool:
    What are these like on juice? driving a c220 cdi atm but wouldnt mind a petrol if it was economical.

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭650Ginge

brembo26 wrote: »
    What are these like on juice? driving a c220 cdi atm but wouldnt mind a petrol if it was economical.

25-27mpg less if you don't have a light right foot.

So I got rid of mine.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

650Ginge wrote: »

So I got rid of mine.

Ill just wait for a cheap diesel one so :-P

• Registered Users Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

As stated before, you can find a lot of low spec stuff in Germany, too.

I know of a 1994 BMW 740i. First year of the E38. The guy that bought it didn't want leather, didn't want a sunroof (because that leaks) and didn't want to pay extra for automatic (6k DM extra at the time). Didn't want to pay extra for any other extras either. All he wanted was a 7-series with a 4l V8.

I'd love to get my fingers on that car. A manual 740i should be deadly.

Take Volvo C70's also. Here in Ireland, you won't find them with cloth interior. There was a minimum spec level. For Germany it was lowered (the spec level that is)

/M

• Registered Users Posts: 65,005 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Most manual petrol large family cars I've had over the last few years do around 25-27MPG or so in Dublin driving (with lots of short trips). With a light right foot.

There's nothing you can do about it and there's very little difference between the cars. Don't worry about it, or spend thousands more and buy a diesel like all the other sheep :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,335 ✭✭✭bladespin

So I got rid of mine.

How was it on more rural trips? Wouldn't be a lot of stop/start stuff for me, just lots of 50-60mph stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

bladespin wrote: »
    How was it on more rural trips? Wouldn't be a lot of stop/start stuff for me, just lots of 50-60mph stuff.

30 to 33 mpg. I have a '97 one and that's what I get on a work commute (50 - 60 mph stuff)

Nice looking new shape daihatsu sirion for €1900

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4132228

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Full-15295366.jpeg

It's a bit tired looking but not a bad motor for 850. comes with nct till march 2013.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4111868

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

150 quid, small bit of nct, good for anyone needing a car to use til they get the new 13 reg in http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4145679

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 23,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

padma wrote: »

Jaysis that's amazing!

Tax too! Bargain...i'd be tempted even now!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Great finds padma! That escort didn't last long. sold within 3 hours!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Another one for the Beemer fans here..

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4080943

View2-15140527.jpeg

I'd love this yoke... Bag it for €900 and spend a few quid getting it back to it's best and keep it for the next 10-15 years until it's nearly a classic..

It's a V12 7er with 6 months NCT for a grand like....:eek::cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,569 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Seriously lads, I don't see how anything economically sound can be construed out of an 18 year old BMW 730, you will pay more on a year's tax than the car will ever be worth and that's before you even take in juice and repairs. If you want to see what a 7 series is like, go for a test drive or lease one for a month, either option makes more sense economically.

Here, have a car. No great fan of Renaults but at 1000 with 6 months NCT this is a cheap car.

http://www.adverts.ie/car/renault/laguna/2003-renault-laguna-for-sale/2284981

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭fl4pj4ck

obviously you are confused what "bangernomics" mean