Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

In the Noclight: Randy

• 23-08-2009 11:37pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 29,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ok, ok, ok ... in atonement for the Noclight threads slipping my mind, and because I may as well throw myself to the lions before the September chaos hits ... here goes!

Ask!!! :p

Be warned, though, you may not always get a serious answer!

Actually, being me, I suppose the warning should be: you may actually get a serious answer at times, and may live to regret it!! SeriousRandy doesn't emerge that often, but when he does, he can tend to be tl;dr! :o

"Death by wall of text" as Squigloo would put it! :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 47,803 Mod ✭✭✭✭cyberwolf77

1. Redheads or blondes?
    2. Favorite book?
    3. Favorite food?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,805 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

What are your views on the Lisbon treaty?
    Which way will you be voting and why?

If you could switch places with one noc forum regular for a day who would it be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Where'd your name come from?
    What's your favourite forum on boards?
    What's your star sign?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,392 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

1.how you doin?:cool:
    2.do you like flamingos?
    3.What do you do for a living?
    4.boobs or bum?
    5.what food do you want right now?
    6.what do you drink?
    7.favourite non alcoholic drink?
    8.any pets?
    9.would you like a red panda?
    10.am i a psycho?
    11.do you read?
    13.if yes what kinds of books?
    14.What did you do for your 18th birthday?
    15.Are you scared of me?
    16.Will you go to the next beers?
    17.What annoys you about people?
    18.Favourite outfit?
    19.can you cook?
    20.Do you live alone?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭trowelled

Will you ever be out-innuendoed?

When you finaly make it to a beers will you;
    a)dance with me and
    b) do one of "those" shots with me?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 29,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

1. Redheads or blondes?
    Cuffs or collars? :p

Seriously, I couldn't give a damn.

I have a couple of gin redhead friends who I'm always slagging, but the truth is I wouldn't see the colour of someone's hair as being in any way relevant, and even on a physical / subconscious level it doesn't seem to make the slightest difference to me; Junior salutes them all! :cool:
    2. Favorite book?
    Oh, lord! I'll go with Lord of the Rings, because I discovered it at ~ 11 and loved it, and keep re-reading it at intervals, but in truth it has a lot to do with the day and my humour.
    3. Favorite food?
    Bacon and (homegrown) cabbage and potatoes, with a good dash of butter and a pint of cold milk, on a hot summer's day (if we ever see the like again! :rolleyes:)

Yes, I'm a culchie! :p

Dining out food? Italian or chinese, or steak if they know how to cook it properly!! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

How many phalluses did you count in the movie 300?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

What's you fave forums in boards (other than Noc, obviously!) & why...?

Are you as horny as your handle & avi would suggest? :eek: :o

Onkle wrote: »
    What are your views on the Lisbon treaty?
    Which way will you be voting and why?
    Lisbon is basically a house-cleaning exercise, an attempt to rationalise in some small way the bureaucratic nightmare which the EU has become.

Lots of paranoid people around the last time, but tbh I think a large percentage of those who voted "no" did so either because they didn't understand it or they wanted to give the govt. a toe up the hole for taking them for granted.

In fairness to the govt. (:rolleyes:) it's not a treaty which is especially shexy or easy to get out there ... it really is mainly a tidying exercise.

I spent a full night before the last referendum listening to a fairly senior civil servant and an SC argue it out, and being the two of them they found plenty to argue about ... but the argument was all about minutiae, neither could see why anyone would vote no overall.

I will be voting yes.
    If you could switch places with one noc forum regular for a day who would it be?
    Heh, interesting question!

Well, like a lot of men, I wouldn't mind swopping bodies with a wimmen for a day, and exploring ... :cool:

But if you mean in an actual physically possible sense, probably Kharn ... spend the day picking DeV and Co's brains (and probably getting myself into all sorts of arguments!! :pac:)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Can you still speak fluent Kerry?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Jako8

Favourite Film?

star-pants wrote: »
    Where'd your name come from?

If you'll forgive me, Spee, I'm going to be lazy and quote from the last time I answered this one ... :o
    Was sure I had told ye lot this before, but anyways!

Derives from when I was in college in Galway, a gang of us were out one night, including myself and the then gf, two or three other couples, maybe about 12-14 in all.

Anyway, one of the lads got caught by his gf glancing at a rather busty-and-proud-of-it young lady passing by, and ofc she started to tease him about it (just in fun, in fairness the same lad wasn't a wanderer and she knew it, just his eye got caught by a fairly obvious display).

Anyway, the slagging escalated, and the rest of us "taken" lads started ogling every decent looking girl that passed, and the women were telling us off mar dhea. Anyway, we headed back to the house at the end of the night with a fairly large gang in tow, and the eejiting was still going on, until my (by now half-pished plus) gf launches into a mock-tirade about our ungentlemanly behaviour. And giving the alcomaholic consumption she was in good voice (and she was well able to talk at the best of times, we both debated for the college among other things which would tend to practice the vocal chords!! :pac:)

Anyway, in the middle of it all, having demolished our characters as a group, and started on us individually (and quite wittily, it has to be said) it got to be my turn for the grill. Whatever inspired her, I don't know (though I'm hoping it was 100% Freudian! :pac:) but she begins with the immortal phrase: "... and as for Randy Longhorn over there ..." and she was about to continue, fairly much oblivious, when everyone started to bust their holes laughing!

It just slipped out so easily and without premeditation, I think that was a lot of what was so funny!

Now, I took a bow, of course, when I could stop laughing! ... and thought that was the end of it.

But it stuck like glue among our own set! And there are still a few people around the place who are as likely to address me as Randy as by my given name ... and I mean leaving out Boardsies! :p

In fact, not too long ago, I was at a meeting with some senior enough people from several of the colleges, and some others, including a lad who would have been on the fringes of that group. Meeting was interesting, and people were into it, and the debate was going back and forth. In the middle of it all, yer man jumps in with "Actually, I agree with Randy because .... blah blah".

:facepalm:

Cue some very puzzled looks, apart from one old former prof. of mine, who nearly swallowed his knuckles trying to keep a straight face! :pac:

I kind of like it as a nick tbh, mainly because it just begs for people to take the mickey :pac: ... but also because I was and am quite fond of she-who-dubbed-me-Sir-Randy!! :p:D
    What's your favourite forum on boards?
    These days, Noc, without a doubt.
    What's your star sign?
    Gemini ... I iz double trouble! :pac:

1-17
    Jeebus!!! :eek:
    how you doin?:cool:
    Och, none so bad!
    2.do you like flamingos?
    No, they're pink.
    3.What do you do for a living?
    Education (formerly youth work).
    boobs or bum?
    Not a big issue, tbh, any more than colour of hair. Bum, by a slight margin, perhaps ...
    what food do you want right now?
    Don't really, not hungry, but I suppose something in the ice-cream line never goes amiss ...
    6.what do you drink?
    Almost anything apart from lager / beer.

Generally spirits though, and a good single malt is a joy forever ...
    7.favourite non alcoholic drink?
    Tea, probably ...
    8.any pets?
    No, because it wouldn't be fair on them, I wouldn't be around enough. I'm an animal-lover, though ...
    9.would you like a red panda?
    Em ... maybe ... never really thought about it!
    10.am i a psycho?
    Quite possibly ...
    11.do you read?
    Yes, when I have time.
    13.if yes what kinds of books?
    History, fantasy, detective ... ]
    14.What did you do for your 18th birthday?
    Prepared for my LC exam the next day.
    Are you scared of me?
    Nope.
    Will you go to the next beers?
    It's in the lap of the gods ..
    Favourite outfit?
    Anything casual and comfortable ...
    can you cook?
    Yes. Some things quite well.
    Do you live alone?
    Usually / officially / when someone hasn't decided to take over my spare room! :pac:

Jeez, I need a pi ... I need to be excused for a moment after all that!!

/mops brow

No, because it wouldn't be fair on them, I wouldn't be around enough. I'm an animal-lover, though ...

Always boasting, eh? :pac:

trowelled wrote: »
    Will you ever be out-innuendoed?
    Oh, I have been!

In fact, there's a young boardsie mate of mine with whom I regularly get into jousts, and it depends on the day who wins on points!!

His new gf is just getting used to us ... she's gone from :eek: to :rolleyes: in a matter of weeks! :D
    When you finaly make it to a beers will you;
    a)dance with me
    Extremely unlikely, tbh! :o
    b) do one of "those" shots with me?
    Certainly! Such things should be shared!

In fact, I can usually manage a few a night ... >_>

Galvasean wrote: »
    How many phalluses did you count in the movie 300?
    I've never watched it.

However, the wimmen keep telling me it's quality not quantity ...

... though why they keep telling me that I have no idea!! :pac:

However, the wimmen keep telling me it's quality not quantity ...

... though why they keep telling me that I have no idea!! :pac:

Are you saying you have severeal willies?
    That's hot.

What's you fave forums in boards (other than Noc, obviously!) & why...?
    Possibly tCN.

I'm a great believer that people need to lighten up, act the fool and laugh more, if they are to survive the insanity of life ...
    Are you as horny as your handle & avi would suggest? :eek: :o
    I'm a man! :cool:

Need I say more?! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭trowelled

Certainly! Such things should be shared!

In fact, I can usually manage a few a night ... >_>

Sharing is caring....

That made me chuckle.

Is there a book that you just couldn't put down?

Is there a song that could be said to depict the Randy way of life?

Can you still speak fluent Kerry?
    Yes, under the right circumstances ... i.e. if I'm down home for a few days or ... well, if I completely lose the rag!! :o
    Always boasting, eh? :pac:
    I stopped notching the byre door long ago, it was starting to fall apart ...

Jako8 wrote: »
    Favourite Film?
    Again, I'm not great for having "favourites", but Dead Poets' Society is the one that comes first to mind ...

Are you saying you have severeal willies?
    The trophy cabinet is full of them ...

/sharpens knife and eyes Galva

Yes, under the right circumstances ... i.e. if I'm down home for a few days or ... well, if I completely lose the rag!! :o
    There is nothing funnier than watching someone be angry in Kerry-speak. It's genuinely hilarious.

*makes mental notes*
    I stopped notching the byre door long ago, it was starting to fall apart ...

Poor quality workmanship really is the devil of our times.

The trophy cabinet is full of them ...

/sharpens knife and eyes Galva

You're gonna need a bigger boat..

On topic:

If you could be any kind of animal for a full year what woul it be?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Jako8

If you could be any women for a day who would it be?

• Subscribers Posts: 5,766 ✭✭✭girl_friday

Why are you not around? Where are you when you aren't at home? :p

I'm a man! :cool:

Need I say more?! :pac:

Please do! ;)

1. What are three facts about you that we would be shocked to know
    2. What is your favourite colour?
    3. Is there a reason you don't seem to have posted a pic of yourself up on Boards?
    4. If not, will you?
    5. What height are you?
    6. What three Nocs (that you have not met previously) would you most like to meet?

Is there a book that you just couldn't put down?
    All of them, or at least if they're well-written.

You know what they say about reading helps you relax and go to sleep?

With me, that translates into "read and you might go to sleep once you've finished the book" :rolleyes:
    Is there a song that could be said to depict the Randy way of life?
    I'm tempted to go with ...

for the laugh, but the following is probably more accurate! :P

There is nothing funnier than watching someone be angry in Kerry-speak. It's genuinely hilarious.
    I know! :D

Mind you, watching my mother lose the rag didn't tend to be hilarious ...

I've seen grown men run!!!
    You're gonna need a bigger boat..
    Why, you flooded it out down there again? :pac:
    If you could be any kind of animal for a full year what woul it be?
    Pyrennese Mountain Dog.

Partly because they're such beautiful creatures, partly because I love the snow.
    Jako8 wrote: »
    If you could be any women for a day who would it be?
    Your girlfriend, of course!! :p :pac: :o:D

Sorta... but in a good way.
    Randy wrote:
    Pyrennese Mountain Dog.

Partly because they're such beautiful creatures, partly because I love the snow.

Cool.
    Same question, but replace animal with dinosaur.

I know! :D

Mind you, watching my mother lose the rag didn't tend to be hilarious ...

I've seen grown men run!!!
    Sounds like a Kerry woman alright.
    Pyrennese Mountain Dog.

Aren't they the dogs that bite fat children in Andorra?