Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

DIT Off Topic Chat Thread

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Exams are over. Let the (drinking) games begin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

Loving this free week without exams!
    Back to normal on monday though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

Though it's ages since I've been in school, and this is only my first year in DIT, the Christmas/Exams period has seemed very long. In total it'll be 6 weeks off, with only 8 hours of exams in there. Now, I'm not complaining (!) but I felt like I was just getting into the swing of things (routine, timetable, studying, workload...) right when the semester ended. Ah well, I guess this is the way really? Summer will be here before I know it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,223 ✭✭✭overshoot

cant beat it, only just had breakfast! house needs tidying tho.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

I woke up before midday everyday after the exams ended.

loljk.

Aard wrote: »
    Though it's ages since I've been in school, and this is only my first year in DIT, the Christmas/Exams period has seemed very long. In total it'll be 6 weeks off, with only 8 hours of exams in there. Now, I'm not complaining (!) but I felt like I was just getting into the swing of things (routine, timetable, studying, workload...) right when the semester ended. Ah well, I guess this is the way really? Summer will be here before I know it!
    Yeah and the 2nd semester is only four months all together I think.
    overshoot wrote: »
    cant beat it, only just had breakfast! house needs tidying tho.....
    I know rolling out of bed at 3 in the day will be really handy when I'm back to 7am starts next week.
    I woke up before midday everyday after the exams ended.

loljk.

You had me worried there for a second!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Finished my dissertation. Well pleased :)

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭BrianG23

Here lads what's up with the Email? Where and how do we sign in? I haven't signed in in a while and things have...changed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

google.com/a/mydit.ie
    or
    http://www.dit.ie/campuslife/

google.com/a/mydit.ie
    or
    Thanks but thopse links don't work for me. It's madness, I've been trying for weeks and I guess it's just me.

BrianG23 wrote: »
    Thanks but thopse links don't work for me. It's madness, I've been trying for weeks and I guess it's just me.
    those links and log in with student number and use your date of birth as a password

BrianG23 wrote: »
    google.com/a/mydit.ie
    or
    Not being smart, but are you sure you have the right password?

Yeah, that page simply will not load for me, neither of the two links.

Maybe I should just try a different internet connection

Pancakes all day in the Aungier St. canteen tomorrow :D

Voltwad wrote: »

awh sweet!

awh sweet!

they were manky!

Not impressed :mad:

Had two classes blocked together on tuesday.When I got out all the pancakes were gone.
    Devestated.

But thankfully there were loads being made as I walked in the door at home!

they were manky!

Yeah they weren't great. Thankfully Mammy Voltwad saved the day :)

they were manky!

Yeah they weren't great. Thankfully Mammy Voltwad saved the day :)
    Mammy Rajnah was working so I had to fend for myself.

It was horrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

I think I overdosed on pancakes on Tuesday tbh. I made myself a few in work then another load when I got home. So worth it.

It's the only day of the year it's acceptable to eat so many so I decided to take advantage of that :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Mammy Rajnah was working so I had to fend for myself.

It was horrible
    I was up early on Tuesday, so Mammy Famous was in bed, while I made myself pancakes for my lovely packed lunch. Best thing I've ever done at 5.45 in the morning, jelousy all around the table in the SU.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Nwynn

hoping to go to dit in september, can someone give me the gods honest truth about kevin street and its facilities? Not sounding great from what i'v read so far..

Just realised I've only got one day of college till reading week...gewon!

Anyone got any interesting plans for it?
    (and don't say reading it'll make my avoidence of a particular essay so much more obvious:)

Just realised I've only got one day of college till reading week...gewon!

Anyone got any interesting plans for it?
    (and don't say reading it'll make my avoidence of a particular essay so much more obvious:)
    one day? mine is the next week and as for interesting plans... hmm... somehow we have one of our most important handups of the year during it... this does however leave room for large quantities of alcohol following it...
    other than that getting out of dublin, spent most of the day driving around the country today, around the middle of nowhere but it was great!

Mine isn't for another two weeks!

Damn College of Business.

I'm actually in the process of being promoted and transferred to a newly opening branch in work at the moment, and my first week in the new place will be during reading week, so I imagine I will be involved in trying to rectify some issue the builders didn't notice/training staff/getting very little sleep that week!

Funny thing is I actually can't wait for it!

one day? mine is the next week and as for interesting plans... hmm... somehow we have one of our most important handups of the year during it... this does however leave room for large quantities of alcohol following it...
    other than that getting out of dublin, spent most of the day driving around the country today, around the middle of nowhere but it was great!
    I'm off tomorrow and in friday and then a week of carefree lazyness....
    You've a handup during review week.
    Thats just cruel!
    Mine isn't for another two weeks!

Damn College of Business.

I'm actually in the process of being promoted and transferred to a newly opening branch in work at the moment, and my first week in the new place will be during reading week, so I imagine I will be involved in trying to rectify some issue the builders didn't notice/training staff/getting very little sleep that week!

That sounds like my nightmare!I'm really bad at being in charge of anything!

I'm off tomorrow and in friday and then a week of carefree lazyness....
    You've a handup during review week.
    Thats just cruel!
    yep and i get to present it to a few external examiners too... they try their best not to let us have lives... oh and im insanly jealous right now what id so for a week off!
    so I imagine I will be involved in trying to rectify some issue the builders didn't notice/training staff/getting very little sleep that week!

ah snag lists, if its bad trust me you can wait for it! although if the architect/engineer has signed of the worst of the problems are already sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

My reading week isn't until the 19th I think. Have 2 exams the week before, and have to submit lab books/projects/portfolios before we go on reading week. The next two weeks are going to be fun :rolleyes:

thread isnt off topic enough... still too much DIT
    so heres a bear and some kids
    (sound required for full effect:eek:)

thread isnt off topic enough... still too much DIT
    so heres a bear and some kids
    (sound required for full effect:eek:)

I was expecting a rawr (sp?) out of the bear.

What I got was much better tho tbf

Think I may have pickled my liver.
    Oh dear lord drinking that much was one of my most retarded ideas yet

Think I may have pickled my liver.
    Oh dear lord drinking that much was one of my most retarded ideas yet
    Be grand,, what doesn't kill the liver only makes it stronger!

as i just said to someone on facebook, if you were on the cure during the ireland game it would be all sorted by now;) (not so easy restarting college work though, damn porterhouse and their selection!)

Make sure ye all get out early and vote next week guys. Then hide for the rest of the day from the various campaign teams!

Ye better be giving out the "I Voted" stickers again.The campaigners are as bad as chuggers!

They'll have them at the desk I'm sure! At least it's only over two days this time instead of three!

I put sugar on my breakfast instead of salt.

Devastated does not even begin to describe how I feel right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭VickBack

I put sugar on my breakfast instead of salt.

Devastated does not even begin to describe how I feel right now.

That is actually so depressing! :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 D_Man_22

I am an Erasmus student on Campus, where is the best place for lunch??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 D_Man_22

D_Man_22 wrote: »
    I am an Erasmus student on Campus, where is the best place for lunch??

Sorry Aungier Street DIT that is.

D_Man_22 wrote: »
    Sorry Aungier Street DIT that is.
    Dicey Rileys on Harcourt street does a good carvery lunch option for 6 or 7 euro. That would be my first suggestion, if you like anything in specific someone else can reccomend something.

Burritos & Blues, €5 student burrito!

^ I still havent tried the student burrito yet becuase I've no idea what goes on them and I'm mortified to ask...

Silver Bullet. You get your choice of black/pinto beans (Pinto are the best :P )then you get rice, mince, salsa number 1-4 (1 being the mildest, 4 being the hottest), sour cream and then whatever else you want. It's pretty fantastic!

That sounds absolutely vile....

taste and you will understand!
    (and not need to eat for the rest of the day... at least with the boojum burritos. huge feed)

taste and you will understand!
    (and not need to eat for the rest of the day... at least with the boojum burritos. huge feed)

I have this thing with beans. I consider them to be up their with Cabbage and Spinnach in the Devil food ranks.

EDIT: Oh, and tomatoes.

Vile yolks

second allnighter (may as well call it 3 for the amount of sleep i got saturday)... gotta love college!
    so whose got wake up suggestions... i got coffee, berocca and red bull next to me... rage against the machine also helping:pac:
    becoming slightly delusional now...

I'm up doing rough drafts of scripts and other crap....Wah.I'm so not arsed!

all i can do is think of the session tomorrow... if i dont sleep through it... (happened before woke up at 4 wondering how i got home... took about 10 seconds to realise i never left:()