Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pub trade is dying - Minimum price for Alcohol?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

I was in the Old Quarter in Limerick last week and ordered a pint of Tiger beer (cheap enough stuff.) 5.40!!!!
    Rip off! I thought Canada was bad when I lived there but at least they have offers and a wide range or beers and servers and food etc. etc., Ireland has really gone to sh!t for going out. No wonder it's dead every weekend

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Will it not cut down on the amount people spend on alcohol?

No it will increase the amount people spend on alcohol.

As others have said why not let people decide themselves how much they want to drink be it nothing or gallons of it. If people want to drink the heads of themselves let them.
    daUbiq wrote: »
    Pubs disappearing would not ruin Ireland.. might actually improve the place. Home brewing is the future!

The pub is a vital part of Irish life and we really need to keep as many open as we can. For a a lot of people drinking at home is ok an odd time but on a friday and Saturday night most want to get out of their house and to a place with atmosphere, beer on tap, other people socializing etc especially for people living alone. Personally 90% of my drinking is done in pubs, drinking at home in place of a night out has no appeal to me bar an odd time and I would be at least once most weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I know that the north intends on introducing minimum pricing, but the rate will probably be much cheaper than here, if that is the case, there will be one or two almighty booze runs every year...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Happened a few years ago in a bar:

me: Hi, can I get a bucket of Corona?
    barman: Sure thing, that's €20.

I get handed a bucket with 5 bottles in it and the barman then calls over a lounge boy, hands him €30 and says "pop over to O'Briens there and get 2 boxes of Corona, we're running short."

I have no sympathy for them. They used the cheap prices to their benefit too!

• Registered Users Posts: 865 ✭✭✭A Disgrace

Don’t forget that units per can vary depending on the alcohol content – a unit of beer is roughly 2% of alcohol - so a can of weak beer will now be a minimum €2.20 (at 4%) – whilst something like Perlenbacher in Lidl (4.9%) now goes from €7.29 for a pack of 6 to about €15.50 - it's essentially doubling the price!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭The_Captain

No it will increase the amount people spend on alcohol.

As others have said why not let people decide themselves how much they want to drink be it nothing or gallons of it. If people want to drink the heads of themselves let them.

The pub is a vital part of Irish life and we really need to keep as many open as we can. For a a lot of people drinking at home is ok an odd time but on a friday and Saturday night most want to get out of their house and to a place with atmosphere, beer on tap, other people socializing etc especially for people living alone. Personally 90% of my drinking is done in pubs, drinking at home in place of a night out has no appeal to me bar an odd time and I would be at least once most weeks.

It was, but we've moved on from that. Ironically enough, gouging from publicans has helped speed up the process of people finding better things to do than go to pubs.

Most of my socialising is done outside of pubs now, whereas a few years ago it would have been at least 90% pub/nightclub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

I don't know why the government can just leave us alone to drink as we want and stop sticking their oar in. Though to be honest as most of my drinking is done in pubs this will have little effect on me.

Really and now the vintners have crippled their major opposition you really think they are just going to be magnanimous with their now captive customers? They have raised the pricing floor, removed a lot of the pressure on their prices... people in pubs will pay more for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

How do you make it more difficult for rich people to buy alcohol? Price is the only real mechanism Government can use really.

At the very least the introduction of a levy that would be evenly/equally distributed among all drink. Minimum pricing only targets those seeking budget booze. If you want to get rat faced on Grey Goose you are not going to be hit by this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Stovepipe wrote: »
    We have three pubs where I live; they are shabby, smell of smoke because they tolerate smoking inside and the toilets are Third-World.Clearly the VFI don't do quality control.In one, it's the local Chapter of Crimecall as clientele so I don't go there and the next uses local alleged musical talent for Sat night entertainment, that would outscream a cat so I avoid it on saturdays. the last, well, the staff are decent and you can actually converse, so It gets our custom.

regards
    Stovepipe

I think I know that town. Pretty apt description of the pubs if its the same one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Cans ae going to go up to around the €1.80-€2 mark. It's still significantly cheaper than a pint in a pub if you don't count Weatherspoons.

So to think this is a genius move by the publicans to 'force' people back into pubs is a bit off the mark I think.

And considering the growth of craft beers which are around that price if not dearer, I don't see people rushing to pubs instead of getting a few cans/bottles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Cans ae going to go up to around the €1.80-€2 mark.

Everything will go up. Quality products will also increase their price point, purely on the basis that they want to be distinguished from the cheap crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,308 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

It was, but we've moved on from that. Ironically enough, gouging from publicans has helped speed up the process of people finding better things to do than go to pubs.

Most of my socialising is done outside of pubs now, whereas a few years ago it would have been at least 90% pub/nightclub.

Are you sure that's just not your own changing life circumstances?

I went out a lot more when I was young and single than I do now when I'm married with kids...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

This policy is absolutely retarded. If a 6 pack of cans end up costing, let's say 15 euro. I know that's more than what they will be but i over estimate. That's 6 cans at 500 ml. So 3000 ml total for 15 euro. If you drink in Dublin city you are going to pay on average around 5 euro a pint. So for 15 euro you get 3 pints. 568 ml x 3 = 1704 ml. So you'll still get around 2 and half cans worth more of alcohol if you drink at home. Probably more given that i used 15 euro as the price.

I don't drink regularly. But if i did. It would drive me away from pubs. Surely the policy makers can't be this idiotic to think it will combat binge drinking on cheap off license cans and send people to pubs to drink more responsibly. Has the VFI all over this.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭Beefy78

"The days of 15 cans or bottles of beer being sold for €15 is of the past.

"Most Irish adults drink too much and many drink dangerously."

How ****ing dare he talk about adults like that?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Akrasia wrote: »
    Are you sure that's just not your own changing life circumstances?

I went out a lot more when I was young and single than I do now when I'm married with kids...

I'd imagine it's generalizing to an extent. But i have noticed that a lot of friends younger family members don't go out to pubs as often as my group of friends did when their age. They will still drink but there are a lot of house parties without going out after it. Cinema trips seem more regular among groups of younger lads i know than i would have done. I'd have never dreamed suggesting a trip to the cinema on a Friday or Saturday night with my mates. Also surprisingly groupon type vouchers being used for going out to eat.

That's just from my experience and i'm sure someone else can provide examples of drinking in pubs and going out just as much as was done in the past.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

hi ho
    hi ho
    its up the north i go
    for a **** load of cans in my hiace van
    hi ho hi ho

• Registered Users Posts: 865 ✭✭✭A Disgrace

Cans ae going to go up to around the €1.80-€2 mark. It's still significantly cheaper than a pint in a pub if you don't count Weatherspoons.

Only low-volume cans will be anything near that - anything over 4.3% will €2.50 plus

• Registered Users Posts: 23,881 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

So to think this is a genius move by the publicans to 'force' people back into pubs is a bit off the mark I think.

And considering the growth of craft beers which are around that price if not dearer, I don't see people rushing to pubs instead of getting a few cans/bottles.

Yes exactly, home drinking will still be cheaper but not prohibitively so, instead of €15 being spent now it will be €30 where the same 20 bottles in a pub over whatever number of nights out would cost you €100. People will just pay the difference, and it wont make the slightest difference to young drinkers, they will pool their resources, grift a few quid off their folks to make up the difference and carry on as before.

I think this anti-competitive move is a disgrace by the way. I know their are public health concerns with booze, but if we treated abusers of alcohol correctly, like full health care bills, drunk tanks and night courts, fines and naming and shaming, then the rest of us who have a few beers the odd night will be left alone to get on with our responsible lives.

smash wrote: »
    Everything will go up. Quality products will also increase their price point, purely on the basis that they want to be distinguished from the cheap crap.

Well if the quality producers up their prices to distinguish themselves from the Dutch Golds, they deserve everything they get.

Isn't price gouging what we've always been giving out about? If the makers of 'good' beers want to do that, they're no different than the publicans.

Have the Government announced what they'll do with extra revenue from excise duties and tax?

Just straight into the coffers or will it be used to tackle alcohol related problems?

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

Most pubs in Ireland are over priced, crap atmosphere and even worse music.

Carson10 wrote: »
    Most pubs in Ireland are over priced, crap atmosphere and even worse music.

Don't forget Sky Soorts News on all day...!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,517 ✭✭✭matrim

Beefy78 wrote: »
    How ****ing dare he talk about adults like that?

To be fair, this is his example of people drinking

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/barry-apologises-for-grabbing-incident-while-rabbitte-insists-nobody-was-drunk-600153.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Dymo

Get ready for a B.S. study from some country that implemented something sort of similar and decreased anti social behaviour by 120%, then followed up by the billions that's going to be saved.

As for me I'm going to invest in bus tickets to Newry.

Dymo wrote: »
    As for me I'm going to invest in bus tickets to Newry.

Isn't Minimum pricing coming in up the North too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

This will have to pass approval from the EU, and they currently have a decision pending on a similar piece of legislation in Scotland.

Personally I'm sick of this government and their nanny state idealogy. If I want health advice from ****ing Leo Varadkar, I'll email the **** and ask him. He should be more concerned about the people waiting and dying on trolleys in hospitals than what price a can of beer is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Vfi May have shot themselves in the foot with this.

I reckon people will drink more at home before they head out and buy 2 or 3 pints at 12 o clock.

DarkJager wrote: »
    He should be more concerned about the people waiting and dying on trolleys in hospitals than what price a can of beer is.

Not that I'm a supporter of this (far from it in fact) but I presume he's thinking that pricier alcohol will mean less consumption which will will mean less alcohol illnesses and visits to A&E which indirectly could ease the pressure in hospitals.

Too much of a leap? Probably but that might be some part of the justification.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

I normally wouldn't give a fook about these Tax/Increaaes but this one is really pissing me off

The bottom line here is that pubs in Ireland have failed because they sell over priced crap and are not willing to change with the times..A very large % of TD's are either publicans or else linked to the trade. This is a joke of an increase tbh..Its about times these shower of choonts ( VFI) were ran out of it

The main pub in my town wanted the pint bottle increased to a fiver..a few stood up against him and straight away the VFI were onto them threatening them to compli

There a shower khoonts

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭kingtiger

DarkJager wrote: »
    Personally I'm sick of this government and their nanny state idealogy.

that's what we get for voting in right wing Fascists