Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roscommon GAA Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Roscommon were focussed on the NFL opener next weekend.

FBD league is a pre season tournament that means nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

Shane Curran put the boot into John Evans today in a local paper I heard, said the forward lack clear direction in their play.

Called on Evans to bring in a specialist coach from outside the county to help him

• Registered Users Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Best of luck to Fuerty against Keel (Kerry) tomorrow in the Junior semi final. How or why it has been fixed for Rathkeale I'll never know, might as well play it in Killarney altogether! Anyway, fingers crossed for them, hopefully we'll all be smiling come sunday evening too.

Well done to Fuerty who defeated Keel by 0-10 to 0-9 today in Rathkeale to reach the All Ireland Junior Football final, and also well done to the Roscommon U-21s who beat Meath by 0-13 to 1-3 to win the Hastings Cup.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,342 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

impressive showing by roscommon in the hastings considering our two best forwards played no part, diarmuid murtagh (on duty with the senior panel) and donie smith (injured)

• Registered Users Posts: 2 whitnail 1

Roscommon were dire today.we have a grand team until we go beyond no 7.
    Absolutly no forwards or midfield.

I don't know if that post is serious or not, especially considering the new reg, but I've heard reports that a couple of our main players had poor games. I wouldn't venture that we have nobody from midfield up though, that's a ridiculous statement. Although we beat an understrength Longford side, a win is a win and it was a vital one if we're to have any real chance of promotion.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 whitnail 1

I am serious just giving my view which is a common one among the realists. Agreed, win is vital.I think as average as we are we will go up as div three is quite poor. We need to blood some younger lads in at midfield and up front.Maybe try Carty there and move Collins into fullback as we are top heavy at the back also need to find someone who can kick frees.

To be fair, there have been plenty of chances given to the younger lads up front, Murtagh brothers, Compton, Smith etc., if these guys take their chances then I don't see any reason why they won't get their game and I agree they need to be blooded now but a balance has to be found between bringing on younger lads and winning games. Promotion has to be our number one priority.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,523 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Roscommon were very poor today but were lucky to come up against a limited longford side.The first half was dire stuff with Ros playing too many behind the ball s,they did improve in the second half.The way Ros were set up first half we basically had no one beyond midfield.

Still good to get a win but big improvements needed for Wexford game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Roscommon are motoring nicely.

Hastings Cup win, two wins in Division 3.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Well lads, going to beat us on Sunday?

I don't think we'll win, but I'm quietly optimistic about our season, think we might surprise you a little bit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Another win for the Rossies. Topped off a lovely Super Yankee for me. Got the Cheltenham expenses now

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭Syferus

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Well lads, going to beat us on Sunday?

I don't think we'll win, but I'm quietly optimistic about our season, think we might surprise you a little bit.

Ye did, just not in the way you or I expected!

Game was done and dusted in a few minutes, quite similar to the Wexford game. We were too fast and our movement was too good for the Limerick backs to get a handle on the game.

Good start to the league for us, we have Fermanagh away next weekend and based on what we've seen we can copper-fasten our promotion prospects. Mightn't get it as easy as we have the last two weekends.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Syferus wrote: »

Game was done and dusted in a few minutes, quite similar to the Wexford game. We were too fast and our movement was too good for the Limerick backs to get a handle on the game.

Good start to the league for us, we have Fermanagh away next weekend and based on what we've seen we can copper-fasten our promotion prospects. Mightn't get it as easy as we have the last two weekends.

I didn't get to listen to the game, but it sounded like it was an absolutely woeful first half for us?

I suppose we're going to suffer these kind of setbacks, I just hope we do enough to stay in the division... have a few home games coming up. On paper, you'd have expected our defence to be our strongest area, and would have thought they could hold you..... did we just struggle everywhere? Any bright sparks?

I'd say you'll definitely go up now, along with Cavan... definitely seem to be the two best teams in the league.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,249 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Syferus wrote: »

Cavan and Roscommon both sitting on 6 points. Sligo the only team on 4. Cavan have Sligo at home next weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 918 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

Going mighty this year,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Going mighty this year,

Would be good to get promoted. Some serious teams with potential there but that's where Ross must be if they want to get back to the standards of the late 70s. They have to be meeting and beating the likes of Meath, Armagh, Laois etc.

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Would be good to get promoted. Some serious teams with potential there but that's where Ross must be if they want to get back to the standards of the late 70s. They have to be meeting and beating the likes of Meath, Armagh, Laois etc.

Tbh I don't think Roscommon would have anything to fear from any of those sides.

Santa Cruz wrote: »

Promotion would make this a good year, were not going to improve playing the likes of longford every year, would be great to be in division 2, Kerry might even be there next year

Lemlin wrote: »
    Tbh I don't think Roscommon would have anything to fear from any of those sides.

Your right, wouldnt be fearing them too, and galway there as well

I think there is very little between the better teams in Division 3 and Division 2 tbh.

It's Division 2 to 1 where there is a large step up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Lemlin wrote: »
    I think there is very little between the better teams in Division 3 and Division 2 tbh.

It's Division 2 to 1 where there is a large step up.

True isn't much between top half div 3 and div 2 teams (apart from Donegal). Division 1 is certainly a step up as Westmeath are finding out this spring.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,725 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

I don't want to praise them just yet in case i jinx it again

• Registered Users Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

Wht a win by the Rosses . they are returning to the 70s with that ruthless show. Roscommon without doubt are the

second best team in connacht and are probably in the top 10 nationally.

Cregg is really finding his form . will get a all star

• Registered Users Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Wht a win by the Rosses . they are returning to the 70s with that ruthless show. Roscommon without doubt are the

second best team in connacht and are probably in the top 10 nationally.

Don't lose the run of yourself with a big win over Limerick (just out div 4) Roscommon have alot of work to do before they reach the top 10 however they are improving and are work in progress.

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

o ye of little faith.

Roscommon are a pride football country who produced great players.

Roscommon will give Mayo a stiff challenge . Roscommon have alot of young

players who can become great. Why would disrespect limerick they nearly
    beat Kerry:p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Roscommon without doubt are the second best team in connacht and are probably in the top 10 nationally.

Leitrim are more than capable of beating Ross in May. Can Cregg keep this current good form going into the summer?

In no particular order the top 10 is

Dublin
    Tyrone
    Mayo
    Kildare
    Cork
    Kerry
    Derry
    Down
    Donegal
    Monaghan

Its over 10 years since Roscommon were considered an top 10 team. With the underage talent coming through maybe John Evans has set his target on reaching that top ten?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,523 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

the main thing is to get into div2 ,they should be looking no further ahead than that.Getting into Div 2 would be a huge bonus.

We are definitely outside the top ten but not far away and seem to be making some progress.