Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

dar83 wrote: »
    Or pay your sister back, no? Haha

What she doesn't know.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

gollywog wrote: »
    You workin today? I'll be in tesco in about an hour!

yup, working 2 until 10 today :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I've got a real hankering for an E38 recently!

Oh oh!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

ottostreet wrote: »
    I've got a real hankering for an E38 recently!

Oh oh!

Buy this one!
    http://www.bmw-driver.net/forum/showthread.php?t=36638

Great price, good looking car, known seller, has history etc!

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Buy this one!
    http://www.bmw-driver.net/forum/showthread.php?t=36638

Great price, good looking car, known seller, has history etc!

Can't do it now, I'll be looking more seriously around October/November, once I have my E39 6 months! I'm restricting myself to only changing car every six months!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

dar83 wrote: »
    Or pay your sister back, no? Haha

First thing I did was pay her back but I still have a good chunk leftover! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Yup!
    Or a milltek!!! :D

Quick question, you weren't around Dublin today in your red GTI were you?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

that e38 is for sale for some time now. fella in cork? lovely machine. i was tempted by it when i was looking for car.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

No panic lads - yiz can fight over mine for €1700 once I have it tested! ;)

IMG_1197-vi-1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I'll give ya the 500 if I can have it for three months.

You've to tax it though :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

YESSSSSS!
    Found the money I had lost in work last week! Over the fcuking moon! :D

Fantastic news man. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Good stuff Gollywog, stage 1 remap would be myy choice, GTI sounds like a camel gargling hammers either way :p

I'll give ya the 500 if I can have it for three months.

You've to tax it though :pac:

How about askin' me bell end instead? ;)

Actually, maybe not. How would you feel about having a gawk at this for me seeing if it's up to scratch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

Got rid of the Alfa today :( Took a trade-in of a non-runner 01 Punto sporting and €650 cash! Fecking chuffed! Seller gave me a set of head lights, clutch cable and brake pads with it too. I had to get a mate to tow it home though. We collected it from a block of flats in Ballymun, was like we were stealing it! We had a crowd of teenagers staring at us the whole time too. Also, just bought a 00 Corsa for €300, have to get that collected tomorrow..

cgal093 wrote: »
    Got rid of the Alfa today :( Took a trade-in of a non-runner 01 Punto sporting and €650 cash! Fecking chuffed! Seller gave me a set of head lights, clutch cable and brake pads with it too. I had to get a mate to tow it home though. We collected it from a block of flats in Ballymun, was like we were stealing it! We had a crowd of teenagers staring at us the whole time too. Also, just bought a 00 Corsa for €300, have to get that collected tomorrow..

cgal093, meet dgt! :D

Oh god another hoarder :p

166man wrote: »
    Yup!
    Or a milltek!!! :D

Quick question, you weren't around Dublin today in your red GTI were you?

Nope I wasn't, Was around gorey and arklow!
    Why?!

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Good stuff Gollywog, stage 1 remap would be myy choice, GTI sounds like a camel gargling hammers either way :p

Ya i will have that done at some stage for sure! Any idea how much they cost?!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Well, at least it makes for an entertaining TTIDSTMCT. :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

YESSSSSS!

Feckin delighted for you :) Can't believe it, that is just fantastic!

€500 or so, you are looking at mid 230's bhp from a GTI with no other mods, an ST would be looking at mid 260's :)

Stheno wrote: »
    YESSSSSS!

Feckin delighted for you :) Can't believe it, that is just fantastic!

Cheers :) such a relief!

Jimbob 83 wrote: »

€500 or so, you are looking at mid 230's bhp from a GTI with no other mods, an ST would be looking at mid 260's :)

Mmmm, definitely a be to think over. Maybe get it done around my birthday in November!

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    No panic lads - yiz can fight over mine for €1700 once I have it tested! ;)

IMG_1197-vi-1.jpg

Really? I'll probably take you up on that!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

MCM - 1700??? That's extremely cheap for a car like that.

.... not if you want to actually sell it, unfortunately.

I'll advertise it at €2.2 once she's tested but unfortunately nobody wants them here with €1683 / annum tax. Same car would fetch twice that in the UK.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I thought that too. Surely with nct it's worth more then that?

730 is it? I'm just sounding it out with the gf here...

I thought that too. Surely with nct it's worth more then that?

Ya wanna give me more, I'll take it! ;)