Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What made you smile/frown/mad/sad/cry today-thread for all your emotional needs! V4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

krudler wrote: »
    I dont mind them either, the only time one ever freaked me out was this huuuge one that I HEARD scuttling along my bedroom wall, thats how big it was , that ****er took a shoe to the face.

My rule is that if they have an identifiable face, they're too big to be handled. They get the piece-of-paper-under-a-glass treatment in that case...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I had to ring the local Chinese and order food even tho I wasn’t hungry just to get the delivery guy to get a spider in my apt :o

• Registered Users Posts: 504 ✭✭✭LostGirly

Well sure didn't I only go and get myself a new job!!!! :D So bloody excited! My current place is making me loose the will to live :)

In other news...I am as sick as a small hospital, a bus to Knock and a 747 to Lourdes!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Kiera wrote: »
    I had to ring the local Chinese and order food even tho I wasn’t hungry just to get the delivery guy to get a spider in my apt :o

I think I saw this plot in a film before. But it wasn't a spider she wanted sorted out...

• Registered Users Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

I'd be the same, I don't mind tiny ones. If they're any bigger than a 20c coin I have to catch it in something. I'm not really squeamish but there is one thing I hate and that's
    those little white maggots that live on dead tissue... I had to flush lives ones out of a massive wound on a cat one day and I felt like my skin was crawling. They were still wriggling in the sink! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Himself woke up at 4am this morning to a blizzard outside! The ground (and my car) was covered in snow when I got up, it's surreal to think that I was buying 99s last week!

Just out of a marathon staff meeting, 3 and a half hours. Starvin' so I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Honey-ec wrote: »
    I like spiders; never, ever kill them. I just leave 'em be, unless they're in the bath and I want to use them, in which case I just scoop them up and put them on the windowsill :)

I don't kill them either...they are harmless (unless you live in Oz! :p ) and if you have spiders you don't have other, nastier creepy crawlies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

Spider babies! They've all been killed now and my bathroom has been reclaimed.

sb.jpg

sb2.jpg

Das Kitty wrote: »
    I think I saw this plot in a film before. But it wasn't a spider she wanted sorted out...

Kiera does Kansas? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭confusticated

Susie_Q wrote: »
    Nipped out to the supermarket at lunch and bought a giant can of heavy-duty chemical spray. Going to tackle the spider babies when I get home - the thought of it makes me want to stay late in work! Oh, the joys of living alone :)

Will try to take some pics of the spider babies before they get nuked!

Ugh, ugh, I tried to post "warn us before you post a picture!" but too late! :o I'll be imagining those in the corners of every ceiling I see now!

• Administrators Posts: 53,463 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

awec wrote: »

Wish I could have seen the look on the delivery guys face when you said "hey there, come on in, I need you to do something...."

What would you have done if it had been someone who is afraid of spiders too?

Hahaha :D

I wanted him to kill him but he wouldn’t so he was running around my little hall trying to catch him and fecked him out on to the road.
    If he was afraid too then both of us would have been stuck in my apt :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

Ugh, ugh, I tried to post "warn us before you post a picture!" but too late! :o I'll be imagining those in the corners of every ceiling I see now!

Oh jaypers, sorry! Didn't think of that. If it's any help they were really very very tiny indeed. Sorry again!

The delivery guy was running around your hall after a spider?

He didn't find it at all strange that you invited him in? :pac:

Why would he? I'm lovely :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Lola92

Jane_LS_88 wrote: »
    I'd be the same, I don't mind tiny ones. If they're any bigger than a 20c coin I have to catch it in something. I'm not really squeamish but there is one thing I hate and that's
    those little white maggots that live on dead tissue... I had to flush lives ones out of a massive wound on a cat one day and I felt like my skin was crawling. They were still wriggling in the sink! :eek:

Oh dear god I think I'm going to vomit. Those kid of spoilers need spoilers!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

I frequently have to get the OH over to remove spiders from the house for me.He bought me a spider catcher but I'm too freaked by them to use it :o. I've a big bowl I tend to throw over them to trap them and then I go get him.
    Euch, I can't stand them. I live off a river too so I get massive "river spiders" the size of my clenched fist with massive thick legs. First time I saw one I actually believed it had snuck back from Oz with me in my suitcase.

I suppose... :P :)

When I first read the situation though it sounded to me like the opening scene of a bargain bin porno. :pac: :p

You probably shouldn’t go to google images with safe search off and google Kiera then :P

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Sar_Bear wrote: »
    I know, yeah, but even when I do, it still upsets my stomach :/

Took me an hour to get out of bed and dress myself, think it's time to see a doctor :/

Go - really is time to go and see a doctor.

I'm in bits this morning, back and hip worse than last night, but was kinda expecting it, so not too bad. In work, despite being on holidays, and actually getting stuff done, unlike yesterday, where I was going around in a daze for a few hours

Daisies wrote: »
    Work makes me :mad:

It's times like this that unemployment seems really appealing

And it's times like this when I'm sitting at home, bored outta my mind that working seems really appealing. Wanna swap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

those little white maggots that live on dead tissue... I had to flush lives ones out of a massive wound on a cat one day and I felt like my skin was crawling. They were still wriggling in the sink!
    ugghhhhhhh shudder. The sight of maggots repulses me. The last time I saw one was the day of my Dad´s wake - one literally fell out of a wall I was standing next to. I was a mess after that - tears, shakes, I couldn´t stand near a wall for a good hour (which was difficult indoors! :pac:) Anyway, I´m sad because I forgot a friend´s birthday. Things have been odd between us for the last year, we´ve become distant, despite my efforts. Just hope she gives me the chance to make it up to her. Bummer :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

And it's times like this when I'm sitting at home, bored outta my mind that working seems really appealing. Wanna swap?

No problem! You do like dealing with members of the public and incompetiant management right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

I opened a bin at work in Toronto once, 35 degree heat, and
    about 100 maggots were wriggling around on top of a bin bag
    . They don't bother me too much, the 20 flies that flew out at me sent me screaming.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I'm so f-ing cold:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭Sar_Bear

Go - really is time to go and see a doctor.

Rang my doctor, she told me to go to A&E so I'll be x-rayed straight away and hopefully get some stronger pain killers.. Am very nervous :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Lola92

Sar_Bear wrote: »
    Rang my doctor, she told me to go to A&E so I'll be x-rayed straight away and hopefully get some stronger pain killers.. Am very nervous :(

Good Luck Sar_Bear!

@Acoshla - stories like that are why I refuse to empty the compost bin!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭Sar_Bear

Thanks Lola :o

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Daisies wrote: »
    No problem! You do like dealing with members of the public and incompetiant management right?

do you work where I work :pac:

working with the public is in general a horrible experience, i cant fathom how people are so lazy when it comes to stuff, to me ringing a call centre for help is a last resort not a first one. but I take calls from people who literally ring in every week,sometimes 2-3 times a week with simple things a 2 second google search would solve, or if you i dunno, tried to do it yourself? a woman was roaring at me one day as she was on hold for 10 minutes, all she wanted was to turn on the bluetooth on the phone, it was under settings, bluetooth, on/off. "ye make people wait ages" yeah because of people like you wasting our time!

I really should write a book, i have enough material by now :pac: