Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

15 year old boy who had consensual sex with 14 year old girl faces 5 years in prison

• Registered Users Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

dioltas wrote: »
    My sarcasm detector is going off the scale. I just wanted to let people know if they didn't already tbh because I think it's a terrible injustice.

Yeah but when you start a thread you are supposed to give your own input too, not just a link. It's common ****ing sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Sharrow wrote: »
    Not really given the amount of victim blaming that gets done,
    The notion that female rape victims are to blame for being in the situation in the first place is in line with that.

Obviously. Also all men are rapists.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

Ireland is weird about sex. That's all I have to say, really.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭Morag

amacachi wrote: »
    Obviously. Also all men are rapists.

No they are not but currently legally women can't be in the same way men are which is wrong.

This law is farcical. It is saying that young women are not responsible enough to know what they are doing when they have under age sex and have no idea of the consequences (such as pregnancy) and how to avoid them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

Don't blame the judges, blame the constitution. They were asked if it was unconstitutional, it isnt. Their own opinions on the morality or whatever aren't taken into account.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Boy gets up to 5 years in prison for breaking a law designed to protect him.

Only in Ireland...

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭antonymous

amacachi wrote: »
    the judge gets to decide whether or not the law is ok. He/she could've ruled either way. He/she knows that if it goes to Europe that it'll be overturned anyway so why not make a little more work for the people he/she went to college with and their nieces and nephews who are working as interns etc. in other courts.

Exactly..
    Nodin wrote: »
    ... We have a political class of assholes, lads and lassies.

Indeed..

Sums up exactly what's going on here..

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭Seasoft

This article http://www.herald.ie/news/girl-15-becomes-a-mum-for-second-time-3029300.html puts this judgement in some context.

If 10 under 16s give birth every month, where are the 10 similar prosecutions every month? I suspect that neither the DPP nor the Gardai really want to prosecute these peer sex cases, but some pressure was applied in this instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Bad Panda wrote: »
    Where are all the feminist groups lobbying for equality? :rolleyes:
    Where are the men out protesting this ruling (which is an extremely unjust one)?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Words cannot describe how pissed off I am after reading this. :mad:
    How does one take something to the ECJ? IS there a procedure in place? I'll gladly throw my weight behind any campaign to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Dudess wrote: »
    Where are the men out protesting this ruling (which is an extremely unjust one)?

Unfortunately men are not great when it comes to fighting unjust laws which discriminate against them. Just look at the family law.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Sharrow wrote: »
    Not really given the amount of victim blaming that gets done,
    The notion that female rape victims are to blame for being in the situation in the first place is in line with that.

http://i.imgur.com/CX9sz.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I'm sure there are both feminists, non-feminists, women and men that are in protest of the law. Can we not go through the blaming each other like spoiled little children routine again please? And lay the blame where it belongs, at the feet of the State. Kthnxbai.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

is the guy being prosecuted now? has he been sentenced to anything or is it all still going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

bluewolf wrote: »
    is the guy being prosecuted now? has he been sentenced to anything or is it all still going?

As far as I know he is still awaiting trial as the law its self was challenged after he was charged but before the trial could commence.

(I'm actually not certain on this though --- Can anyone confirm?)

Said in one of the articles I read that charges are still pending. Given he's at least 16/17 now if he gets as far as Europe he'll be around college age by then. If he doesn't take it further and goes to court with the charges as they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Brilliantly, under this law the girl COULD be prosecuted also if buggery occured, it's only intercourse which the girl has an exemption from.

Can't believe that this is from 2006 and upheld in 2012.

A good (and short) article about the high court judgment: http://www.extempore.ie/2011/04/15/md-a-minor-v-ireland-sex-equality-and-the-constitution/
    So anal sex between consenting minors leaves both parties open to prosecution while vaginal sex leaves only the male juvenile open to prosecution. So teenage boys up and down the land will be insisting on anal only from now on...parents of teenage girls across Ireland can sleep easy tonight.

So teenage boys up and down the land will be insisting on anal only from now on...

And it'll be blamed on porn and the objectification of women.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Yeah, maybe we can change the name of the supreme court to the 'up the bum, no harm done' court

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Seasoft wrote: »
    I suspect that neither the DPP nor the Gardai really want to prosecute these peer sex cases, but some pressure was applied in this instance.
    Its always been like that in Ireland though, back when homosexuality was illegal it was pretty rare for known gay bars and hangouts to be raided. Most guards use their discretion in law enforcement, I guess that can be a good or bad thing depending on the situation. Look at the blasphemy law, you'll never see a prosecution from that.

We're a modern liberal nation saddled with a constitution set up by what I would call a dangerously unbalanced individual and Fianna Fáil, no more need be said really.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

How many people here had sex before their 17th birthday?

This is boards. We're all nerds.

Seriousness: Hope he goes to European Court of Justice.

strobe wrote: »

I'm sure there are both feminists, non-feminists, women and men that are in protest of the law. Can we not go through the blaming each other like spoiled little children routine again please? And lay the blame where it belongs, at the feet of the State. Kthnxbai.
    Not blaming anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Jake187

Well said.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

So it begins, the stone-throwing of the keyboard warriors. Yay.

Jake187 wrote: »

Well said.
    ... if said non stop here rather than actually going out and doing something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,707 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Overheal wrote: »
    Well, I know this will never happen, but if youre a minor and if you find yourself to be "Guilty" of the same offence as this Lad:

Come forth.

If truly there are Thousands of offending Teens, if they all came forward at once, the Courts would have two choices: Ammend the Law, or Imprison Thousands of Teens.

yeah but no

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Blinky D

A lot of teenage guy's are gonna have a "headache", for the next... well 15 seconds. Then they will lose blood flow to the brain.
    If she says yes, a teenage guy CAN'T say no.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

Buggery - fair play to them and their varied sex life! :D

I say burn the two of them at the stake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

bleg wrote: »
    Seriousness: Hope he goes to European Court of Justice.

That is the place to take it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

14/15 is way too young IMO, don't think people that age are emotionally equipped for sex yet, but that's just my view on it.

but it's absolutely horrendous that a law like this could exist to prosecute this boy for this. Completely wrong.