Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

Seems as tho you're mentioning all the dundrum lads

i had a mate who was maaaaadddddddd for the asylum, used to always be in there,friday , saturday and the odd thursday gig, (international guests) played on the third floor a few times....

nickname was and still is pablo, used to be in the olympic and the ormond aswel, good aul dj, mad thing aswel

went mad on the gack for a while but he's grand now...

anyone else know him?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Luke G wrote: »

i had a mate who was maaaaadddddddd for the asylum, used to always be in there,friday , saturday and the odd thursday gig, (international guests) played on the third floor a few times....

nickname was and still is pablo, used to be in the olympic and the ormond aswel, good aul dj, mad thing aswel

Yeah i know the person your talking about, he was (like myself:D) a regular on the Dublin Rave scene back in the 1990's, probably wouldn't recognise him if i seen him again.

jonny68 wrote: »
    Yeah i know the person your talking about, he was (like myself:D) a regular on the Dublin Rave scene back in the 1990's, probably wouldn't recognise him if i seen him again.

I'm only pullin his leg by sayin that man, hehe, i said i'd get him back over several devious internet pranks by the **** hehe,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

My teeth are worn down by grinding them, when I was mad out of it,
    A lot of my mates teeth are chiped from the old "e"...

Mine are fuked man, years of taking yokes,speed and coke and not going to the dentist, went last year for the first time in 15 years, dentist looked a bit shocked and said i need a substantial amount of work done on my teeth,with the prices of dental care in this rip off country looks like i won't be getitng anything done any day soon :eek::D

The joys of workin for mary harney mr johnny68, free clap screenin, and free teeth jobs.......and a few sedatives after every big event,

LIFE IS GOOD!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

Ah Paul Butler, Luke I was only talking to him less than 2 weels ago, sound fella. There is something in the pipes, thats all I'll say;)

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    Ah Paul Butler, Luke I was only talking to him less than 2 weels ago, sound fella. There is something in the pipes, thats all I'll say;)

Good mate of mine man. and ill have to kill the **** before he'll tell me bout that, tell pab i love him, and when he's up in the clinic could he pick me up a few ensures, vanilllas me fave:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭derra

you should make that line your signature jonny, save ya writing it every time:D

pablo was to play in the awakening gig was'nt he , any mixes of his about from the golden years :confused:

derra wrote: »

pablo was to play in the awakening gig was'nt he , any mixes of his about from the golden years :confused:

i gots a few from the ormond years, he was only recoverin at that stage so excuse his roger nixing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Dacoop

Hey do any of you lovely peeps have the original cafe del mar to upload to the site ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭bmooney

Dacoop wrote: »
    Hey do any of you lovely peeps have the original cafe del mar to upload to the site ??

there u go m/8 i have a few more mixes if u want them

Energy 52 - Cafe Del Mar - (Original)

http://www.mediafire.com/?msdmny7m1gs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

Someone must know the name of the remix of jx - son of a gun , im pretty sure it was on an old pressure asylum tape, its basically the same tune but with loads of swearing in it

bitch ass mother ****er or somethin it says.....

Anybody?????

son of a gun dirty mix
    http://www.mediafire.com/?clzd9zgxcy9

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

eissocsref wrote: »
    hi all,
    what a thread and great memories! ive spent the last week reading this whole thread. Do any of you have the following in mp3 format from the pressure/jx tape?

son of god - free up the land
    flow - feel the flow
    nush - you girls
    and that song with the helicopter in it?????

free up the land white man
    http://www.mediafire.com/?zcxp2z2giw1

nush u girls
    http://www.mediafire.com/?edwzxoxhcdg

nush original
    http://www.mediafire.com/?zcwxwoz9wgs

knird evol wrote: »

Fair play man, after that for about 12 years....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

joker77 wrote: »
    Anyone ever come across Dolphins?

It was my birthday, would have been my 18th so '95. My mates had gotten them as a surprise for me - we were just meeting up in the local field with a radio and a few spliffs as you do, the bag of yokes came out that had been bought.

They were larger than your average pill, I think light green but could have been light blue. They weren't the same thickness, they were more like a smartie in shape than a regular pill.

Only ever came across them that one night, was mostly Doves and Speckled Doves around 94/95/96 when I was doing them regularly.

They made an impression though, we had a great night and talked about them a good bit after because of the sheer size of them!

I do remember them alright & they were great & only got them the once aswell.....very clean E buzz off them....no skaggy feeling like you were starting to get off a lot of the E's at the time....a few mates felt ripped if they didnt get a good skag of their E's but i personally prefered to be on the dancefloor all night & they would be rollin J's on the second floor.....the Dots always helped you resist any skaggy feelings that you might start getting when your first E's were wearing off (well maybe gave me the illusion of that) the sounds were just to F*CKIN hopping to be sitting around the second floor skagging....anyway see pic attached for info (dolphins are third last ones):D

F*CK me man you go on the sauce for a couple of days & the thread steam rolls on about 6 pages....:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭theasylumdublin

derra wrote: »

a couple of links for DJ Pablo Mixes mixes .
    http://www.mediafire.com/?0sro2zdw3ln
    http://www.mediafire.com/?fhvzzjx9ox4
    hope you enjoy them best wishes P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Felixdhc wrote: »

sorry felix, never got the chance to say thanks for that tune,the thread was moving so fast i thought no one reployed to this!

thanks a mill mate!

paddy

Cheers for the upload, excellent 1st post! Especially love the track 'Orgasmico' and the track after it (exact name escapes me) @ 19+mins and then a bit of Joe Inferno on Cedarwood. Theses bring me right back to the balcony corner over the mineral bar. Remember buying Orgasmico in Abbey Discs as soon as it came out. Unfortunatley Lenny Light Fingers helped himself to it:(

P_ _ _ B_ t _ _ r Is it?????

Cheers for the upload. Especially love the track 'Orgasmico' and the track after it, exact name escapes me. Theses bring me right back to the balcony corner over the mineral bar. Remember buying them in Abbey Discs as soon as it came out. Unfortunatley Lenny Light Fingers helped himself to it:(

P_ _ _ B_ t _ _ r Is it?????

yeah it's that wanker alright........

Luke G 'Douze' points. I knew it:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 mcc

Can anyone tell me name of tune with lyrics
    "this is how it started and i love the way you do it"(or something like that)
    Then " do for you, like you want me to, you say im worthy.......
    Havnt heard it in 10 years or more so excuse the wording!

Think it was floating around 94-96

Another one has " the world awaits"
    cheers

mcc wrote: »

cheers

Alright man, the second one do for you ... is the shaker - just lick it, and the world waits one is inspiral carpets - saturn 5

will upload them for ya tomorrow man, just on the way out, dunno what time i'll be back at...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭derra

good man yourself,will grab those now :)

Then "do for you, like you want me to, you say im worthy.......

cheers

the shaker-just lick it ( this the one :confused:.... must of typed same time as luke there:)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?wouxydqsn83

cheers

Here is Inspiral carpets-Saturn 5 (The world awaits)
    http://rapidshare.com/files/133257197/Saturn_5___Inspiral_Carpets__.mp3.html

Remember this more from sides than anywhere else cracker of a tune:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭lt_cmdr_worf

Now this thread's past the 200 page mark, what is your highlight, favourite bit of any DJ Pressure, Ed Case etc mix you own?

DJ Pressure - Gradiation - when he drops Blue Amazon "Hypersleep" near the end

DJ Jay Carey Ignorance 2 side B - Solar Eclipse "From Here To Enlightenment" mixing into CJ Bolland "Spring"

DJ Pressure - Deeper - Perplexer "Church of House"

House Pressure 3 - Mo Tune "Infinite Climax" segueing into the intro of Cosmic Baby "Fantasia"

House Pressure 2 - Phasis "Mind Illusions"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭NovaGSi

Now this thread's past the 200 page mark, what is your highlight?

For me it has to be all the stories and talk about the mad nights out, they bring back great memories.

Music wise, I loved it all, I was never one to get to know the names of all the tracks or never even thought about buying any music on vynal (I never had the money). I only ever got the Warren K, Pressure or MW tapes.

There was one tune that stuck in my head and that I still listen to today. it took me ages to find out what it was called and I bought it on CD. The first and only time I heard it on a night out was in the Olympic and it was the last tune played, I really hated when the last tune was played and you'd have to leave but after hearing this one I was in great form, I didn't mind leaving, it just felt right. The tune is Kinetic by the Golden Girls, I just love it. Was it ever re-released?

Cheers,
    Mick

yes its P*** B****R mate , glad your likin the trip down memory lane ! her is a couple more for ya , you could have them from bebo etc but worth a listen . both asylum old schoolers from old Pablo sets .
    http://www.mediafire.com/?gnwrp1mvbib
    http://www.mediafire.com/?9xtydi52lpw
    we have met before ?? best wishes p

yes its P*** B****R mate , glad your likin the trip down memory lane ! her is a couple more for ya , you could have them from bebo etc but worth a listen . both asylum old schoolers from old Pablo sets .
    http://www.mediafire.com/?gnwrp1mvbib
    http://www.mediafire.com/?9xtydi52lpw
    we have met before ?? best wishes p

We were talking only a couple of weeks ago. Me you and Daisy was talking about the Awakening Gig and I telling you I got a load of mixes from the boards. Heres a hint. Twins, Suzanne. I got ur number off VB but I lost it.
    Whats the crack with getting that video off Daisy, remember he said he had camcorder footage from the balcony in the Olympic, would love to see that one. And he also said he had photos from the Asylum as well as you did too I'm sure!
    That stuff is gold if he does have it.
    Regards,
    S

We were talking only a couple of weeks ago. Me you and Daisy

Is the daisy fella your on about second name day?
    Used to buzz with a load of heads in the OLYMPIC from up around milltown/Ranelagh....Daisy, Fishy, 3 brothers called Carey.
    Daisy fella i knew was always prtending he was hitting a tennis ball of the balcony in to the crowd & other bizzare stuff just to buzz of people that were wiped out of it.:eek:
    Would be great to get some more footage of the OLYMPIC & pics from the ASYLUM if sombody has em:D

AGGHH !! ok im with ya now !! sorry the brain is a little slow these days , yeah i must give Daisy a tap for them bits,i will send you whatever i have pics etc , and i will dig out a few more mixes for ya too all from the old days.I am doing a slot on crystal FM tonight with DAragh K between 8 and 10 if you want to tune in I will have a few rare crackers with me! we must get out for a night soon S , best wishes to all your lot !! chat soon P. oh hang on her is one more Pablo set . http://www.mediafire.com/?zzdbrmovezi