Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

aceberg wrote: »
    9 records = 9 euro for p&p.jasus ya did do well there senan.never got them that cheap.who the seller.would'nt mind a browse there.:D

98% of the sellers from germany

i've bought 20 records from aload germany sellers and it has cost me 20euro for P&P,

energizeJune_backNEW-2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

Luke G wrote: »
    Ive just watched the full 40 min olympic dvd the other day, and there's a tune at the end of it, only a few seconds of the tune,

but it was a real happy bouncy tune, with cut up vocals in it, sounded like the bleedin smurfs or the sample from technohead i wanna be a hippy(couldnt have been that as it was a tune from 1992) it says something DIRTY in it but we wont go there ha:cool::cool:, i had the tune on a tape about 10 year ago and had not heard it since, its one of the last tunes on the full download ( not the google one) anyone have half a clue?????? i know im pissin in the wind big time but will get a sample up soon....

Right here's a sample, its the tune at 40 sec

http://youtube.com/watch?v=i9GzyWlSTJE

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

senan s wrote: »
    98% of the sellers from germany

i've bought 20 records from aload germany sellers and it has cost me 20euro for P&P,

super done well there senan.will keep that in mind for future reference.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

Please oh please oh pleae can somebody tell me where I can get a copy of that Olympic DVD, its my spiritual home. Heard a few people talkin about it at Radio City the other night.

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    Please oh please oh pleae can somebody tell me where I can get a copy of that Olympic DVD, its my spiritual home. Heard a few people talkin about it at Radio City the other night.

If that don't work then just PM me mate and ill do a copy for ya, rapidshare can be a pain in the hoop sometimes...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Premium dude, premium. €17 for three months. No waiting, unlimited paralell downloads and top speeds. Plus ye can get almost anything on rapidshare if ye know where to go for the links ;) Best thing money can buy

energizeJune_backNEW-1.jpg

Have to say last Saturday night was my 3rd time at Radio City. Went in with a few friends. People, music and venue are all great but the bouncers at the end of the night are fu*kin pr1cks.
    First of all they flank the dj at the end of the night. No f'n way will you get one more tune. Then when the sounds are over they start harassing you to get out as quick as possible. They will take your cash at the door and the bar but after that its f u. No respect what so ever. I had a few words with a couple of them over this,was not giving them any abuse, just askin. One big bald eastern eurothick told me it was the steroids he was on. What a muppet.
    Doubt any of us will bother going back in there again and its a pity cause I was really diggin the old skool vibe after a long adsence from the scene.:(

Have to say last Saturday night was my 3rd time at Radio City. Went in with a few friends. People, music and venue are all great but the bouncers at the end of the night are fu*kin pr1cks.
    First of all they flank the dj at the end of the night. No f'n way will you get one more tune. Then when the sounds are over they start harassing you to get out as quick as possible. They will take your cash at the door and the bar but after that its f u. No respect what so ever. I had a few words with a couple of them over this,was not giving them any abuse, just askin. One big bald eastern eurothick told me it was the steroids he was on. What a muppet.
    Doubt any of us will bother going back in there again and its a pity cause I was really diggin the old skool vibe after a long adsence from the scene.:(

Yeah mate the bar staff in there are well known to be pricks aswel..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Derekd

hi all im new here glad i found this page does anybody know this tune its from homelands way back dont know the year
    http://boomp3.com/listen/bybptdsc1_t/unknown-homelands-tune

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭derra

see below :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭derra

energizeJune_backNEW-1.jpg
    can't wait for this :)

first night in radio city in ages and had a great time , good to see and meet board members again,donal,luke,jmak,turks ,seanyboy1,and anyone i forgot! due to getting a bit messy and neglecting last recording,mick walsh mix aint as clear as the other two but still a decent sound. good craic watching people come in pulling faces while the rock band were finishing up, all the hippies dressed in mostly black , and in come the crew with all the psychedelic colours cracking up waiting for that beat :lol
    njoi :D

senan shortt
    http://www.mediafire.com/?dc4zwtnetkj
    thyme
    http://www.mediafire.com/?y1mydjvlbul

mick walsh
    http://www.mediafire.com/?lgyzdsedv9s
    http://www.mediafire.com/?glmk1ojzgj1

long absence indeed, seany, these days your lucky to get in anywhere, radio city shuts down religiously @ 02:30, Walshy played till 02:45. so you were lucky in some regard.

no matter where you go, everyone gets cleared out as soon as the gig is over.

long absence indeed, seany, these days your lucky to get in anywhere, radio city shuts down religiously @ 02:30, Walshy played till 02:45. so you were lucky in some regard.

no matter where you go, everyone gets cleared out as soon as the gig is over.

Your right Senan S, I didn't actually know he went on till 2:45.
    There's nothing worse that music coming to an end :eek:when your out on a great night if ya know what I mean m/8;)
    Still, staff are a bit OTT, thats my bitch over.

There's nothing worse that music coming to an end :eek:when your out on a great night if ya know what I mean m/8;)

i know, just as the night is young,

Still, staff are a bit OTT, thats my bitch over.

everywhere is the same, the biggest complaint anywhere you go is because of **** of bouncers.

i was heading into the vaults one night, while in the queue, some lad in front of me was asked for ID, he said he was 33(but looked older), the bouncers wouldn't let him, because he had no ID, fair enough, if he looked 18 or something :confused:

Heres a few tunes for yous

Virtualismo - Cosmonautica
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?z09fixdd2ug

Elevator - Shinny
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mxxm9t0dwwk

Force Mass Motion - Feel The Panic
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?xjznm4n4tb2

Mirage - Airborn
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?htjx25dut4n

Airscape - Cruising
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?y3zy9zzomv9

Amorph - Sunflow
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?2ztx9tuydmn

Hope A.D - Tree Frog
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?inquwncsj0x

Liam Dollard - Moonboom
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?sxmcv9memn3

M.A.N.I.C - Gotta Get Loose
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?1cmyh3yzmj3

Mato Grosso - Mystery
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?19vudhj0emf

Motiv8 Rockin For Myself- Full 12" Mix
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?gbsyitngect

One Dove - Breakdown
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?ymxm0o3mdcn

Bass Kalimba - Megadrive
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?9xegjny0jjc

Totem Vibes - Adventures In Paradise
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?jtmyaimmiha

Code Red - Dreamer Dream (Olympic Tune)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?emrlhdeydxl

Witness - People of the Universe
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ftyyczyymzn

Beat Syndicate - Throw The Madness
    http://www.mediafire.com/?7mtfrd2camm

Sound Crowd - Odyssey
    http://www.mediafire.com/?5emcityy1sw

Had a root through the aul hard drive and mediafire account, hope there's somethin there for everyone, posted most of them before, but ya gotta think of the new board members, and the ones that aint on the other sites...

:):cool::):cool::):cool::):cool::):cool::):cool::):cool::)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Went to Radio City once for the NI Oldskool night and never again. Paid in and within twenty minutes a well known inner city drug dealer in the venue had told everyone that I was an undercover cop! :confused: I got threatened in the toilets and had to be escorted out by the bouncers for my own safety. All this at half ten in the evening. The amount of dirtbirds who attend that place is unreal. So much for the oldskool vibe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 soulsurf

Hi all!

This is a very interesting thread.. I remember being in sides around 1991 and there were more charlatans and happy mondays tracks than house .. still great though..

The early rave and house scene in Dublin must be due a good book or documentary at this stage neither demonising or glorifying it too much.. it was a great era and this thread brings back those memories; it's a pity that the drugs went sour and too many took too much but the music and the atmosphere was unique

The power of the movement like the Mod era of the 60's was special..

Would love to hear some good tracks again!
    Are there any good friendly oldskool nights out in Dublin clubs now? (but not with a rough coked up crowd!)

bohsboy wrote: »
    Went to Radio City once for the NI Oldskool night and never again. Paid in and within twenty minutes a well known inner city drug dealer in the venue had told everyone that I was an undercover cop! :confused: I got threatened in the toilets and had to be escorted out by the bouncers for my own safety. All this at half ten in the evening. The amount of dirtbirds who attend that place is unreal. So much for the oldskool vibe!

Yeah there does be a few there sometimes, just make sure you've your own dirt birds with ya man, and there'll be no1 threatening anybody haha

Luke G wrote: »
    Heres a few tunes for yous

Virtualismo - Cosmonautica
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?z09fixdd2ug

Elevator - Shinny
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mxxm9t0dwwk

Force Mass Motion - Feel The Panic
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?xjznm4n4tb2

Mirage - Airborn
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?htjx25dut4n

Airscape - Cruising
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?y3zy9zzomv9

Amorph - Sunflow
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?2ztx9tuydmn

Hope A.D - Tree Frog
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?inquwncsj0x

Liam Dollard - Moonboom
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?sxmcv9memn3

M.A.N.I.C - Gotta Get Loose
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?1cmyh3yzmj3

Mato Grosso - Mystery
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?19vudhj0emf

Motiv8 Rockin For Myself- Full 12" Mix
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?gbsyitngect

One Dove - Breakdown
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?ymxm0o3mdcn

Bass Kalimba - Megadrive
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?9xegjny0jjc

Totem Vibes - Adventures In Paradise
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?jtmyaimmiha

Code Red - Dreamer Dream (Olympic Tune)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?emrlhdeydxl

Witness - People of the Universe
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ftyyczyymzn

Beat Syndicate - Throw The Madness
    http://www.mediafire.com/?7mtfrd2camm

Sound Crowd - Odyssey
    http://www.mediafire.com/?5emcityy1sw

Had a root through the aul hard drive and mediafire account, hope there's somethin there for everyone, posted most of them before, but ya gotta think of the new board members, and the ones that aint on the other sites...

:):cool::):cool::):cool::):cool::):cool::)

Nice one Luke G theres a couple in there I was looking for but didn't know the track names.
    One day I'll put some up my self when I get a proper sus on the U/L oading.
    I need to get the bloody finger out!:D

i know, just as the night is young,

everywhere is the same, the biggest complaint anywhere you go is because of **** of bouncers.

i was heading into the vaults one night, while in the queue, some lad in front of me was asked for ID, he said he was 33(but looked older), the bouncers wouldn't let him, because he had no ID, fair enough, if he looked 18 or something :confused:

Two stories come to mind about bouncers.
    I was in the Ormond one night for 4th Dimension. Only in the place 10 minutes and I went to the toilet when a load of bouncers kicked in the toilet door of a cubicle and some poor bloke was rolling a j sitting down on the jacks (lid was closed). He was dragged out like an animal. With that he dropped hash on the ground outside the toilet as he was being pulled out. Naturally I said mmmmmmmm to myself. I picked up enough for two joints and asked two people for skins to wrap the stuff in and with that four bouncers took me outside, they must have thought I was dealing or something. One on each arm and one on each leg. Well they threw me up into the air and I landed on my back on the kirb right outside the front door, where it was wet and manky dirty and I was mad out of it and my mates were inside. I thought at first they done real damage to me. This was in front of about 50 people. The b@stards, they were actually bragging about the ammount of people they threw out that night. When I went back for my jacket later at closing time I was ran from the place and threatened by them. Never got the jacket either.

Another one was when I was in the Q for the Temple Theatre when it was only open a wet day and the bouncers were having a bit of banter with people in the Q. They asked who used to go to the Asylum and to put your hand up .
    There was about 30/40 people in the Q and about half of these and I naively put our hands up. "Right, you'se are'nt gettin in here", was the response from the bouncers. Thats a fact. And half the Q trickled away straight into a Garda search in front of the Temple. That was enough to turn me off that place. I would never class the Temple as one of Dublins original Dance Clubs.
    I cannot remember for sure maybe someone who reads this can confirm but I think one of the bouncers was the small baldy git with the pony tail that was on the door of the Olympic, he was a smart arse.
    I am sure these stories are mild compared to others but just thought I'd throw a couple out.

Nice one Luke G theres a couple in there I was looking for but didn't know the track names.
    One day I'll put some up my self when I get a proper sus on the U/L oading.
    I need to get the bloody finger out!:D

No Bother Man, Will Post Some More Soon,

Yeah You're Dead Right About The Temple,Some of The Worst Wanker Bouncers Dublin Has Ever Seen... One of the ***** must still have a piece of my mates forehead embedded in the bridge of his nose, served him right, prick, But we won't go there....:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:;););););)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Two stories come to mind about bouncers.
    I am sure these stories are mild compared to others but just thought I'd throw a couple out.

Heres one for ya....was drinkin in Graces in rathmines one evening & overheard a few lads beside us saying to some other lads they were going to some birds 21st called aisling in the function room in the Ormond hotel, they headed off & after a good skin of gargle & a few doves:pac: we decided to invite ourselves to the party. We got to the doors of the hotel & told the door man who asked if we were residents that we were here for aislings 21st & he let us in.....needless to say we got a few strange looks as we didnt know anybody there. Anyway the party was just over when we got served a drink at the bar so we decided to go for a ramble around the hotel & into the fire stairs (which has access to all areas of a premises for emergencys). After a bit we eventually following the sounds found our way into the Kitchens of the hotel which was surprisingly completley empty with a set of inward opening emergency doors that when opened led into the TEMPLE OF SOUND!:eek: Now i know this sounds like bull**** but its true. We had a buzz in there & when it was over walked across the liffey & up by the Kitchen nightclub which was shut aswell but some pi**ed off head was running at the doors & doing his best bruce lee impression on them which we stopped to watch for a buzz.....after a couple of times he got a pain in his flute with this & rambled off with that the doors opened up & three bouncers come tearing across the road to me & planted me down to the ground & started kickin seven shades of **** out of me....my two mates were just about 20 foot ahead of me put it up to them & got them to stop....a short distance up the road a squad car was on its way down who when they reached us asked the bouncers was everything OK & i replied "they just kicked the **** out of me for F**K all" to which the garda replied " if you dont f**k off you will be down in store street getting the **** kicked out of you":mad:
    Moral of the story:
    Bouncers are **** & coppers are to but always trust your instincts & follow the tunes:D
    Final word:
    Club M in blooms hotel was accessed the same way only 4 or 5 years ago when i was refused entry even though i was a resident in the hotel.....same with a nightclub in a hotel in galway down in salt hill (cant remember the name) when bob dylan played a few years back.....Fire escapes can get you in when all else fails:D

[IMG][/img]Mise le gruaig!.jpg

:DThe Good
    This is mad story but true. Was going into The Olympic one night, as I did.
    I had a a load of 10 spots in a 20 John Player Blue box which was to fund my night out and an actual box of 20 John Player Blue. I had one box in each brest jacket pocket. As I got to the door I coped something was very wrong. There was DS there along with the usual bouncers, I couldn't believe it, never seen or heard of this before.
    I knew they were DS even before they frisked me. I never seen them before but plain clothes and all you f'n know them. Anyway one of them frisked me and to my horror as he felt the cigarette box, the one with my free night out and all. "Whats this" he said in a real smart manner.. I didn't flinch not for a sec, if you do your raving that night in Kevin Street or Pearse Street and you wont be hearing Ringsend either.
    I had my both hands in my pockets as I walked up to the door and still had when I was frisked, cause they pounced on my the second I tryed to walk by them. I cannot believe they didn't ask me to take my hands out of my pockets. As he went to take the box out I pushed the pack of cigs with my left hand still inside my far jacket pocket into his hand which was on my right hand side, gently, just enough to make him think it was what he felt in the first place:cool:. So out came the smokes he had a look did'nt even look in my jeans pockets and said go on. What a relief I was shaking when I got inside for ages and couldn't believe that I actually got away with it.
    When leaving the Olympic and more cash coming out than I had going in it was down to The Asylum with the remainder of them pesky 10 spots stuffed down my waist.
    You never got any grief off the bouncers just breeze through for round two. I was in a while and was dancing in the corridor, used to love that slippy patch facing out to the right hand side of the large dance floor on the bottom floor and all you can see is smoke and red lazers, beside the DJ Box, you know where the stairs leads to the second floor and if you keep going you pass the cloak room then THE EMERGENCY EXIT.
    I looked down on at my feet and noticed these silver things around my feet. Wow I panicked, I'd gladly get nicked by DS than get cut up for dealing in The Asylum not that I was. I forgot about what I stuffed down my waist earlier on. Mad Bastards will do that to you. I was paranoid out of my head. I picked them up and went towards the Emergency Exit where there was a bit of light.
    If you did'nt already know this they used to have bouncers, not butch thicks just blokes sitting by the Emergency Exits making sure nobody could block them in case of a Fire. This was done as much for safety and to make sure the Garda or Fire Inspectors could'nt shut tha place down on a point of safety, and Garda used to regularly run the gauntlet in The Asylum.
    I was beside the bouncer and begged him not to rat me out. No chance he had the same opinion of the rip off dealers there that I did. He was sitting there playing a Nintendo or some hand held game, mad or what.
    This is what he done: he took all the stuff off me, rewrapped it, fixed it up and put it neatly into a cigarrete box and handed it back to me. Then he took out his skins and rolled a joint from his own supply and handed it to me. I couldn't believe it I tryed to fix him up but he was having none of it. This bloke was sound and after wafflin the ears off him, the poor bloke, I was on my merry way!!!!!!!

:mad: The Bad
    Got down to The Asylum early, there was a big gang of us. We were the first few there. This night they were doing the official Membership ID cards(see bottom of page). This was a ploy or loop hole in the law which stated that if you had members it was some sort of 'Gentlemans Club', I think this was to keep the place open late or something like that. Sure all they got was a measly £50 fine or maybe more don't know. As soon as we got our photos taken me and one of my mates sneaked in without paying. We legged it up to the third floor and hid in one of the EMERGENCY EXITS down the steep stairs. I think we were trying to let some of our mates in cause we could here them outside talking. We were caught and marched up and thrown out. The bouncers seen the funny side to it. We just had to leave untill they were finished doing a load of the photos. We came back later on, no problems straight in.
    This was bad because we had to pay in.!!!!!!!!

:eek: The Ugly
    Another night in The Asylum you know when you go exploring and you end up in some mad place. Me and my mate ended up on the 3rd floor whilst looking for a cushy spot to roll a duber. We opened a door and there was a steep stair case leading down to an EMERGENCY EXITS (same as above). As we opened the door there was about three blokes there, one of them was giving it loads. We got past them and sat on a step. All we wanted to do then was to get out of dodge asap. There was no DJ that night on the 3rd, so why was the bloke behind me dancing like a mad thing. And why did he have a monkey hat pulled down over his face with a pair of shades on because they were smokin gear but we didn't cop it at first.
    They were talkin sh1te to us. We just thought we were trapped, this was a scrap or a muggin by needles or something, we got the fu*k outta there, that was ugly!!!!!!!!!

Conclusion:
    As ASYLUMKEY has seen the benefits of EMERGENCY EXITS you have to be careful as these port holes can be strange and dangerous places but when used in the correct manner can be very helpfull places indeed!

PS:
    Check out my post http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=56342275&postcount=2697 which is story of my being fired out of The Emergency Exit in The Ormond by b@stard bouncers!

Only write long posts when on the doss in work!

Miselegruaig.jpg
    Is Mise le Gruaig!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

fair play to you SEANYBOY1 , i enjoyed reading that as im on the doss from work to :)

i can relate to everything you said,sometimes we all had some creazzzy nights out in dublin city back in the day!
    ill post some storys up when i get the time!

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

Can anyone Id this tune,
    I don't have a sample,
    It is a house tune from 1993 1995 ish

You could only buy this tune from Billy, in Abbey Discs,

It has a slow start with a kind of piercing sound,
    Then the Mad base kicks in ,with a Panio in the middle,

Vocals are, Girls voice,

"I'am Falling, owoooo"

Man's voice,