Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Chillout Zone (Off-Topic Thread)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Fakediamond

Poor thing, can you ice it or something to take down pain and swelling?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭VonVix

I held his paw up for about 30 minutes after it happened to try and ease the bleeding, it has largely stopped now. I wouldn't want to ice it because he wouldn't be able to tell me to stop lol.

[Dog Training + Behaviour Nerd]

• Registered Users Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Fakediamond

Yeah I suppose. Tough when these things happen after the vets close, but somehow they always do!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I've been outsmarted by Kovu :pac:
    Lately I was training him to miaow for mayonnaise (don't ask, it's his favourite treat since he was a kitten) as i'd decided he was getting it too easily. He'd jump on a certain chair and wait for the fridge to open or when he seen the kettle go on for tea he'd anticipate someone had to open it and sit and wait!!
    But anyway last night he came into my room & started to miaow. Usually this means food so I got up and headed down to the kitchen with him running in front of me to feed him but cat was nowhere to be seen when i got there.
    Turned on the light and there was the smug little furry faced yoke sitting on his chair, then he looked at me and miaowed at the fridge.

:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭jellybear

Ah lads I'm at my wits end with dogs not being controlled by their owners. Twice in 6 days I've been walking Milo, muzzled, harnessed etc and I don't know why but owners just can't seem to control their dogs and they somehow let go of or drop the lead and the dogs charge at poor Milo. I am so scared to walk him as I'm afraid he'll slip his harness, although he always wears a coat over it, or else himself or I will get hurt. I just don't know how to deal with it. People say bring a stick but I need both hands to control him if a dog goes for him as he's terrified. It happened again this evening and in fairness the man who owned the dog was apologetic but it's getting ridiculous at this stage. It's happened with 5 different dogs now and we live in a small estate! #rantover!

jellybear wrote: »
    Ah lads I'm at my wits end with dogs not being controlled by their owners. Twice in 6 days I've been walking Milo, muzzled, harnessed etc and I don't know why but owners just can't seem to control their dogs and they somehow let go of or drop the lead and the dogs charge at poor Milo. I am so scared to walk him as I'm afraid he'll slip his harness, although he always wears a coat over it, or else himself or I will get hurt. I just don't know how to deal with it. People say bring a stick but I need both hands to control him if a dog goes for him as he's terrified. It happened again this evening and in fairness the man who owned the dog was apologetic but it's getting ridiculous at this stage. It's happened with 5 different dogs now and we live in a small estate! #rantover!

I used to nervous about one of my boy's slipping his harness too. I bought him a Ruffwear Webmaster (a bit pricey, but SO worth it) it has an extra strap which basically makes it damn near impossible to escape out of.

Also a carabiner clip (a real one) strategically placed to join collar + harness together can also ease the worries.

The fear he'll slip out is not a fear anyone should have, it won't make walks any easier if you're nervous.

I'll look into them but thankfully he is very good and he just recoils out of fear the poor thing, luckily he doesn't try to get out of the harness! I use one of the double clip leads, front and top of harness, so any harness would need to have those loops. I just wish people could control their dogs to be honest as I'm trying my hardest to walk him safely but we've had a run of bad luck lately :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Bells21

jellybear wrote:
    I'll look into them but thankfully he is very good and he just recoils out of fear the poor thing, he doesn't try to get out of the harness! I use one of the double clip leads, front and top of harness, so any harness would need to have those loops. I just wish people could control their dogs to be honest as I'm trying my hardest to walk him safely but we've had a run of bad luck lately

Ruffwear has a mental ring on top and another loop on the front. I ordered the every day ruffwear harness a few weeks back as I thought the webmaster only came in bigger sizes and then I found it in our size, guess I will have to start saving again.
    It's a pain in the butt when it happens and you and your boy are put in that situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,032 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Bells21 wrote: »
    Ruffwear has a mental ring on top and another loop on the front. I ordered the every day ruffwear harness a few weeks back as I thought the webmaster only came in bigger sizes and then I found it in our size, guess I will have to start saving again.
    It's a pain in the butt when it happens and you and your boy are put in that situation.

You might pick one up on eBay! I've been looking on it lately for jackets after I got Lucy a lovely Ruffwear one for £20 on sale from medicanimal.com which must have been a mistake as they're £40 new!! I want one for Bailey now so they're twins lol :p but want it at the same lovely price lol lol :pac: I have a webmaster from years ago when Bailey had his first op - somebody on an FB group mentioned that they have a carbiner threaded through the front to make it front-attach ;) Another option if you don't mind waiting would be to get a custom made one - the girl we got Lucy's custom harness from makes 'Houdini' ones too for dogs that might back out! https://indi-dog.co.uk/Custom-fit/Custom-fit-harness/20mm-houdini-harness-escape-proof-dog

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Bells21

Those Houdini harnesses are a good price range considering they're custom fit!

The wait is a pain but they're made really really well. Lucy's verso came out a little too big....she does have a fit guarantee if you get back to her within 2 weeks but I never saw the card in the envelope until about 2 months later lol and also I didn't want to send it back and wait again etc etc I can get away with it for Lucy because she's so calm but like your guy - I need a really good fit and good control for Bailey in case I need to restrain/hold him if he got a bad fright. I'm going to get him one though and get her advice on measuring for a better fit. I have one of the ready to go vari ones for Bailey and it fits ok but I have neoprene and all the extras on Lucy's so better all around! I want the blue flames for him! :o I had entered a competition to win a perfect fit (which we already have in 40mm and i found too bulky lol) so held off mailing her about the indi-dog one in case we won - we didn't!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

Just ordered smilla cat food from zooplus, as part of their black fortnight deal it's now 20.99, was 21.99. Only I went back on my previous orders and it's always been 18.99! Bunch of scammers! They also tried to charge me 4.99 delivery through dhl even though I was over the €49 free delivery, apparently only free through dpd. Most of the cat litter is out of stock too. Not overly happy with them lately.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

Also just spotted they never included my 3% savings plan. They've just been sent a strongly worded email.

Zapperzy wrote: »
    Also just spotted they never included my 3% savings plan. They've just been sent a strongly worded email.

oooooh!!! :mad: The postage thing has driven me mad - the bed I wanted for Bailey was only available in that size from .de - took much longer as it went with DHL and box ripped open! The bed itself was fine thank god. The same with something else I wanted last month - only had it in stock on .de.. when it all comes from the same place!!
    I have an order coming from them today - a new light collar for Bailey and a spare to have.. His other one met it's watery end on Monday after he jumped in for paddle and the river was quite high.. I handn't got the collar sealed up properly as he doesn't normally jump down into the river in the mornings!! I was livid - more at the though of one of his booties coming off and me having to go and retrieve it lol!

Oh gawd there's 3 little puppies in a rescue and they're just like Jellybears Milo! So...Hard...To...Resist!!!!!!! :'(:'(

Oh don't tell me that!!! :D

lol lol congrats on your new puppies guys!

Work normally matches donations to charity but for Giving Tuesday they're doing 2:1 match(!) The shop I get some of our food from has an option to donate to the rescue they work with so I'd been planning to donate with our next order before xmas but donated today instead so they basically get 3 x my donation :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Choc Chip

tk123 wrote: »
    lol lol congrats on your new puppies guys!

Work normally matches donations to charity but for Giving Tuesday they're doing 2:1 match(!) The shop I get some of our food from has an option to donate to the rescue they work with so I'd been planning to donate with our next order before xmas but donated today instead so they basically get 3 x my donation :)

I think that's the rescue I foster for. They're having a hard time with the recent flooding so it's great timing! :)

Yep terrible! :( Dogs for the Disabled getting a donation too as my ambition is to be a puppy socialiser for them! :o

• Registered Users Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

Some of you might remember that I found a half dead feral kitten, wow, two years ago now, my first cat ever. She has totally taken over our house, and is a joy and has converted me to cat slavery.

Well now feral cat #2 has entered our lives. Shes been here for nearly 6 months. Arrived in a horrific state, skeletal and loads of medical issues/problems, and completely feral. Now shes looking fab, neutered, medical problems "repaired" and living in our old utility in a comfy bed in a turf basket. Eating her head off. Actually letting me stroke her, is in love with one of the dogs, comes when called, and is really relaxed around us.

Shes got a lovely little bed, heaps of wool blankets in a deep basket. The vets reckoned shes about 3-4 years old. Im assuming that at this age, she is well used to the cold as she has managed to survive this long.

So the thing is. Our first cat is a super fussy eater. Only 'gourmet' wet food, and never really finishes a 50g sachet at a time. The new feral would eat yourself. I put her food in the unused utility (really a seperate wash-house) so it can stay there without fear of anyone else eating it. As shes outdoors Ive been of the opinion that she needs to eat as much as possible to stay warm/keep condition on.

Just a question for you cat-experts on feeding: small female adult cat, I feed her wet food and dry food, bowl of water, if I have some chicken or other meat, a bit of probiotic yogourt, the odd tin of sardines/fish. She eats approx 3x85g sachets wet food a day, plus a good handful of dry kibble when she empties the bowl - maybe 2 handfuls kibble/day. Then a bit of yogourt most days. And if I have a bit of meat, will give her a small bowl of that. She was skeletal, but is looking really well now. Is this enough food for a cat that is basically an outdoor cat? Anything else I should be giving her? I know nothing about cats really, so advise please (shes wormed and deflea'd)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

aonb wrote: »
    Some of you might remember that I found a half dead feral kitten, wow, two years ago now, my first cat ever. She has totally taken over our house, and is a joy and has converted me to cat slavery.

Well now feral cat #2 has entered our lives. Shes been here for nearly 6 months. Arrived in a horrific state, skeletal and loads of medical issues/problems, and completely feral. Now shes looking fab, neutered, medical problems "repaired" and living in our old utility in a comfy bed in a turf basket. Eating her head off. Actually letting me stroke her, is in love with one of the dogs, comes when called, and is really relaxed around us.

Shes got a lovely little bed, heaps of wool blankets in a deep basket. The vets reckoned shes about 3-4 years old. Im assuming that at this age, she is well used to the cold as she has managed to survive this long.

So the thing is. Our first cat is a super fussy eater. Only 'gourmet' wet food, and never really finishes a 50g sachet at a time. The new feral would eat yourself. I put her food in the unused utility (really a seperate wash-house) so it can stay there without fear of anyone else eating it. As shes outdoors Ive been of the opinion that she needs to eat as much as possible to stay warm/keep condition on.

Just a question for you cat-experts on feeding: small female adult cat, I feed her wet food and dry food, bowl of water, if I have some chicken or other meat, a bit of probiotic yogourt, the odd tin of sardines/fish. She eats approx 3x85g sachets wet food a day, plus a good handful of dry kibble when she empties the bowl - maybe 2 handfuls kibble/day. Then a bit of yogourt most days. And if I have a bit of meat, will give her a small bowl of that. She was skeletal, but is looking really well now. Is this enough food for a cat that is basically an outdoor cat? Anything else I should be giving her? I know nothing about cats really, so advise please (shes wormed and deflea'd)

Sounds good to me, but every cat is different so hard to know. If she's not looking thin, she's OK. Try increasing it slightly, if she's still eating it all she may just need more food. With ex feral it's hard to know if it's hunger or the need to eat everything in case it's the last meal for a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭em_cat

Yep terrible! :( Dogs for the Disabled getting a donation too as my ambition is to be a puppy socialiser for them! :o

Tk123

DFD are also getting a donation from me too!!! My rehabilitation team told me about DFD so I can appreciate just how necessary their service is.

Would you know if they train brace & mobility asisstance dogs? Or do you know if there are any organisations that do?

I’m asking as I’ve been told that I will need one in the next few years. So I thought I might get on the ball, seeing as a rescue has recently announced the birth of what I think may be black retriever mixes. Here’s hoping 🀞

jellybear wrote: »

I want the sprout for Lucy!! :D

em_cat wrote: »
    Would you know if they train brace & mobility asisstance dogs? Or do you know if there are any organisations that do?

AFAIK they do but I think kids get priority? They have a long waiting list too.

I want the sprout for Lucy!! :D

AFAIK they do but I think kids get priority? They have a long waiting list too.

Thanks & it’s only right to prioritise children. We are donating to help train a puppy for someone else but it’s for dogs for children with autism. I wasn’t even aware that there where dogs for brace and mobility until one of my rehab team told me about them. Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

I feel like a celebrity chef, I am late making dinner and I turned around to an audience of all 4 cats and the 2 dogs.
    I have starved them to within an inch of their lives, 2 hours since I fed dogs!
    30 mins since I topped up cat nuts!
    It's only chicken noodle soup I scraped up from leftovers and bits in fridge, quickest thing I could think of, it's a bit light on the chicken now because of all the sad eyes, weak from the hunger.

*I may have also made the Swedish chef noises from the Muppets to my adoring fans too
    I think I'm loosing my marbles

Noooo Alfie the dog is being PTS in Emmerdale! :(

So two weeks ago one of my dogs pulled his middle nail out, yesterday my other dog snapped his dew claw. The other half is giving out that I'm breaking the dogs. :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Choc Chip

We are currently having a small mouse problem and one appeared behind the couch on the (cold) radiator tonight. Cue lots of shouting etc and futile running around (this is not a population control comment, promise).

My partner decided to picked up the little terrier in all the commotion and put him on the radiator, as if the dog was going to chase the mouse down the inside of the radiator and under the sofa. The dog just stood there on the radiator and stared at my husband as if he was stupid (I can see his point). Can't. Stop. Laughing.

Choc Chip wrote: »

My partner decided to picked up the little terrier in all the commotion and put him on the radiator, as if the dog was going to chase the mouse down the inside of the radiator and under the sofa. The dog just stood there on the radiator and stared at my husband as if he was stupid (I can see his point). Can't. Stop. Laughing.

Haha

Mr C would've quite happily done so, the horror when he first was let out in my parents in laws back garden and came back in to deposit a dead rat at my feet! I was like, ok I expect that from a cat; just not a little terrier that we had just adopted...