So the balls-up has started since last night which makes Fairview from clontarf to Edges corner a single lane with bollards down the centre.
This will be a permanent feature and works will take 21 months.
Credit where it’s due, DCC put a huge effort into keeping the cycle lane on Griffith Ave clear of leaves last Autumn. They even bought a special sweeping machine which would fit into the cycle lane.
Really? I cycled it a few times and it was full of detritus.
Wasn't great most of the times I've cycled it. And a lot of it was prolonged build up and rot. Needs to be swept more often. No point having a special machine if it isn't used.
I checked it out about a week ago. Seems nothing is happening at the end point of the existing pathway which begins at East link Business Park. Further into the Port itself work continues but ...very slow progress.
looks like the diversions are being completely ignored. I really don't see the point in having bus lanes or any of this bus connects widening of lanes etc. if no one is going to enforce the rules.
Nobody enforces any rules. They have not from the very start. Cars, motorcycles and cyclists are regularly crossing the (rather wide) solid line in the middle of the road and overtaking into the oncoming lane. Not just on North Strand, right along Annesley Bridge road and along by the park too.
Another loon cyclist charged through the red lights at the school on the North Strand yesterday and had the neck to imply I was in the wrong. At least he didn't collide with my car like the last nut. I dread to think what those types will do in the new narrow cycle lane (ignore it, I suspect). How can guys like him not see the red lights, the already stopped traffic, the lollipop people and the other stopped (normal) cyclists?
i would assume these loony cyclists will continue to nearly hit pedestrians and nearly get hit by cars. thankfully cyclist collisions don't seem to be very common.
Passed here today at rush hour. Garda Roads Policing car in the queue with a private car in front, and two directly behind. They didn't seem to care.
😳 No way
Road Policing in Ireland has been reduced to either MAT checkpoints dictated by a Super or someone really, really, dangerously taking the piss right in front of the guards. Routine speeding, driving in the bus lane, running red lights - none of these will get you ticketed even if they’re completely visible to the guards.
If a local authority like DCC want to change the road layout and expect the guards to police it, AGS policy is that the LA will pay for it and the guards will do it as a special, optional duty.
It is so wrong. Why can’t they just install cameras? Roads are public places too.
Tried that, cameras installed at blackhall place 10 years ago, then turned off and left to rot, no fines issued.
Weren't they turned off because they were catching too many drivers?
It gets worse! 🤯
It’s unclear why it hasn’t happened by I suspect it’s because no one cares enough to make it happen. The NTA are trying to do that for the new bus corridors but they’re not allowed under the current legalisation so they’re trying to get that changed.
probably because the public would moan at their TDs/Councilors too much, who are most likely avid carists themselves
And don’t forget Pat Kenny and his Ilk moaning all over the airwaves about the hard-pressed motorist who is “just trying to get to work”
attitudes in Ireland are so unbelievably backwards still.
Passing the area today, loads of private vehicles heading on their merry way towards town.
In better news, there was a team of workers clearing shrubbery on the Alfie Byrne Rd side of the railway bridge over the Tolka. Sadly there are a couple of tents under the bridge. Hopefully they handle that situation carefully as their home will be a walk and cycle way soon.
I thought there was going to be fines for that kind of thing?
They were turned off because Gardai couldn't keep up with the volume of fines to be issued, so they solved the problem by stopping issuing them at all.
Had to drive in to D1 today and in the short period of time I waited in line in Fairview to detour through Ballybough I saw at least 25 private vehicles speeding down the bus lane into North Strand, where there is a stop/go system in place this weekend. It would be so simple for a Garda to stand at the stop/go and fine every single one of them. Instead I encountered 2 Gardai in Summerhill checking for tax and insurance.
I'm not sure if the powers at be in the Garda Siochana are inept or lazy, but they really haven't a clue when it comes to roads policing.
They don't have the man power, or the will, to police traffic violations. Most of them will tell you to your face, that it's not their job.
what is their job so...same is said about security on trains or luas...or on streets of city centre
I've no idea. Sure I reported regular street dealing close to my house to the local garda station in Clontarf, and the response was it's not their job, that's the drug squad that deals with that.
As for Irish Rail, I asked security to deal with a woman with an american pit bull at Connolly station, and he said it wasn't his job, and to take it up with management if I had a problem. He wouldn't even ask her to muzzle her dog.
Actually there is quite a lot of progress in the Port. The section along the Tolka estuary - on Promenade Road, directly opposite the Clontarf seafront - is substantially complete from just east of the Circle K garage all the way to Alexandra Road.
good to know..ill check it out soon
I run through there regularly and jumped the fence to test the surface. You might even be able to get a bike on it if you choose a quiet moment. 😉
I cycled into city centre today along this route. The builders are doing a great job, it looks fantastic already even behind all the fences and machinery.
Simple things like having the cycle path run behind bus shelters (instead of the previous version in North Strand that ended in the bus shelter) will make a huge difference. I look forward to hearing the whingers and moaners of this project start to exclaim how great it is within months of it opening.
I used to commute daily to the city from D5 and this route was always a disaster. I won't use it anywhere near as much when it is complete but look forward to safe passage into the city when I do cycle in.
And on the usual side note, the amount of private cars trundling at a very slow speed in the bus lane through North Strand was ridiculous as always. It was a lovely day for a Garda to stand by and penalise each and every one. A particular favourite nominee for fines would have been the BMW driver who was on her phone at every junction and as oblivious to green lights as she was the bus lane. Or the novice driver who was on his Instagram in every line of traffic he encountered.
All the Roads Policing unit need to sort out drivers in Dublin is a few bicycles and body cams, they would absolutely clean up.
Cars backed up as far as Oulton Road in Clontarf this morning. Two Gardai giving out tickets to cars in bus lane on Clontarf road. But again I point out to you that the Super in Store St has told DCC he doesn't have the resources or budget to police the roadworks so it's not going to happen. And for every car that drove in through Nth Strand there was five cyclists riding through red lights. So please stop making this about car drivers V cyclists, both are breaking rules.
What was going on the Clontarf road this morning? Don’t recall it ever being that bad. I did not see any Garda ticketing anyone around 8:30 or so as I passed through. Plenty of gobshites driving in the bus lane and a few even cutting via the car park across from the row of shops to skip the queue of cars.