the corpo wrote: » Aye, the only way students from 3rd class to 6th year can return fully to school is if the social distancing recommendation is entirely ignored. If that is their plan, then I can't imagine I'll let my kids go back... but I can't imagine how we'll cope at home either, and this is where the Department is putting us...
average_runner wrote: » Kids aren't social distancing outside school right now. So no point in having it in the schools
Murple wrote: » Taken from an article in the Irish Independent: Privately, a number of political sources close to Mr Martin, and also those close to the other coalition parties, believe the political consequences for the Government will be ruinous if the schools fail to open for pupils five days a week. “Nothing is more important for the Government politically,” said one high-ranking source. “Nothing.” Just in case anyone is under the illusion that the government actually care about the education of children or the need for considerations about health and safety of a million citizens and their families.
lulublue22 wrote: » Fair enough - but if it was a hot topic / wide spread then it would be sorted by now. I have yet to come across a newspaper article which questions why our class size is so high given the need for SD since the outbreak of this pandemic. It’s not a topic that has been mentioned by posters on this thread other than one individual posting 15 year old data on class size to counter act teachers referencing it.
jrosen wrote: » I think class sizes have always been a hot topic. Ive had kids in schools for years now and its always something that is being chatted about and complained about. Shortage of teachers, shortage of numbers, shortage of classrooms have been listed to me and thats before covid. I know parents who took their kids out of the local school to send them to an irish school because of lower class numbers. This was common about 8 years ago in our area. Class sizes are too big full stop but if social distancing is to be adhered too all classes across ireland will struggle regardless of their numbers
lulublue22 wrote: » I would have expected questions on why we have the largest class size in Europe and how to address that issue given the embarrassment Leo felt at our slow return to school compared to our neighbours.
Boggles wrote: » FF doing a solo run here. The Devil will be in the detail. Particularly how they plan to keep schools open at that level if their is a resurgence.
nelly17 wrote: » We need to have a serious think about School Uniforms - what we are hearing feels very aspirational forom a minister who has effectively been in hiding since appointment. If they do get this wrong and we end up reverting to blended learning then why bother putting perants through the expense of uniforms
lulublue22 wrote: » That’s what I’m interested in - it will be easy enough to reopen if ignoring SD keeping them open will be tricker.
Murple wrote: » To put the €75 million in perspective. €75 million in grants was announced for creches and preschools.(0-5 year olds) €75 million in grants for all primary and secondary combined. (4-18 year olds) €168 million in grants for third level.
Sammy2012 wrote: » It works out around 17.5k per school. Obviously big school will get more so it wont be long getting spent.
For instance, a 60 pupil school which received €6,610 in 2019 will receive €13,220 in 2020, a 300 pupil school which received €11,050 in 2019 will receive €22,100 in 2020.
rovers_runner wrote: » Ye are getting to go back to work in August lads, delighted for ye all
lulublue22 wrote: » Same here I can’t wait to go back- miss the kids , the craic and the routine
Mrsmum wrote: » I don't know that the Government will say no school uniforms to save parents expense. In nearly every town in rural Ireland anyway, there is a particular shop where everyone buys their school uniform. Such business keeps these shops going. So it would probably be a killer blow for them to have no uniforms to sell.