wirelessdude01 wrote: » Honestly as a teacher I cannot say that any of my children 'blossomed' by being online. Only about half of them really ever engaged. The list of reasons were endless. Most of them were just made up excuses from parents who just either couldn't be bothered, didn't have the time or honestly didn't see the point as they won't have me next year. Some adapted well but for primary aged children nothing beats being able to read the mood of the class infront of you and being able to make a snap decision to change the content or the way you are approaching something. . The thing that drove me mental about online was having the do different explanations for different children. In school this isn't necessary due to being there. So much duplication. Give me a noisy classroom with a good atmosphere anyway over this clinical and impersonal online stuff. Roll on some semblance of normal school again in September.
Paul Fat Beard wrote: » Perhaps I didn't present my opinions strongly enough. I shouldn't have used the word preference.You didnt answer my question. Do you see a solution that doesnt compromise teachers health as by law they are entitled to a safe workplace? Do you agree that workplaces all deserve the same aspect of safety? How do you propose to get your workplace to the standard that you require? It's not possible to achieve what you want and I don't for one minute believe that you think it is.The Department were supposed to issue guidelines on that last Friday that could be adapted as of now, we are planning for coming back as whole school with over 850 kids and hand sanitizer is being provided and I will wear a mask that is pretty and non scary and provided by me. There will be difficulties and there are a lot of questions to answer. My company's approach had been to close the building and make wfh mandatory. They didn't ask me if my house was suitable or if it suited me. I could resign of course. Doctors, nurses, paramedics, shop assistants etc all worked through the height of this pandemic because their services were vital. They stepped up to the mark. Speaking as a nurse I know my exnurse colleagues were nervous and scared during the pandemic. I also know they were aware that every precaution necessary would be put in place. They were given extra PPE, casualty was split into covid and non covid. A family member is working in Covid A/e and even though they have PPE they still worry about getting it and passing it on. My nursing buddies are laughing their asses off in disbelief when I tell them I have to battle for hand sanitizer in a classroom as that is the most basic ppe. Paramedics wore ppe family member in DFB. Shop assistants as has been said previously have perspex at tills gloves and masks, social distancing and limited numbers in stores with stop go system, queues or someone on door monitoring. I had to queue outside chemist one person at time allowed in and staff had perspex and ppe. Doctors nurses and Paramedics know infection is part of the job and do all they can to prevent it. So yes they continued to work but with increased protection provided as a safe workplace is a requirement by law Educating our children is a vital service. One of my children had 3 zoom classes, the other had none and the child in primary had sesaw. None of them have been taught since March. One of the teachers set up an app to give homework but only noticed after a month that she forgot to add the children. Wonder how she corrected the homework.I get there is problems and they need to be complained about. I use google classroom which allows me set work daily, I set worksheets the kids can upload when done and I can correct. It also allows kids to ask questions and me to answer almost immediately. I find it great. I wasnt allowed to live videos I wrote steo by step guides on worksheets and added videos that I watched to make sure they taught the content properly. It takes ages. I also rang children to hear them read and to chat as I miss the craic and they do too. It wasnt perfect but we made it work. And the kids enjoyed it. They also know they could ring me if down or if they had news or just wanted to chat as their folks had my number. 2 did but at least they knew they could. I had same issue with one of my kids teachers.She was using seesaw and sent out weekly work with no guide on how to do maths for example. I was livid. I got more interaction with the special education teacher who was great. I wrote to the school and explained that I was correcting and teaching my kids and seesaw was not cutting it. I also bollicked them in the school survey re online learning. I know how long it takes me and I dont expect everyone to what I am doing at all but I think daily interaction is necessary. The kids drop me messages and pm me using Google classroom re anything, getting grounded, new haircuts, new pets, the work, and I respond becuase for me teaching is not just the subject it is the kids and a happy kid will be happier to learn I won't labour the point as I'm sure you get the gist but the dog ate my homework doesn't cut it. Agreed that why I complained, no one needs to do what I am doing but the kids need more than a list of work. My other sibling teaches secondary and was online doing live classes all day everyday.
khalessi wrote: » Answers in blue again
Murple wrote: » Everybody’s preference is for kids and teachers to return full time as normal. My preference is to go into any shop or restaurant. My preference is also for this virus to disappear never to be seen again over the next week or two. Preference isn’t really the issue though is it? Some might like to spin it that teachers are putting obstacles in the way in an effort to return part time. If children are in one day a week, teachers are still in for 5. If children are in 2.5 days a week, teachers are still in for 5. With either of the above scenarios, teachers are likely to have to plan and prepare work for the children in school as well as work for those at home. No teacher is arguing for that. All teachers want is the same regard as other workers are being afforded in returning to their workplaces and some recognition for the fact that our workplaces involve quite crowded conditions, less than ideal ventilation and sanitation, inadequate funding to remedy likely issues, multiple high risk events per day and ‘consumers’ that greatly outnumber us and that need constant reminding to follow even basic health and safety protocols. Unfortunately, looking for that for our protection and the protection of our families and the families associated with the school and we are dismissed as not wanting to go back.
Boggles wrote: » The need to social distance will solely depend on how widespread the virus is in the country. Remember we have to live with it, not the other way round, it's not a conscious entity. People are not feckless lemmings, there are not going out for 3 bottles a wine and a meal with 8 friends if Covid is ripping through come the Autumn and Winter. We have a small window to get it right, but true to form re schools so far we have had aspirations and feelings and absolutely no workable plans. The best case scenario is a scale-able vaccine in 12 months, and the following winter period to see how effective it was. The "second deadly wave" is not inevitable, at least here, if managed correctly. So far I am seeing hopes and aspirations and pandering to lobbyists. Not the ideal method to fight a global pandemic.
Paul Fat Beard wrote: » Good answers in blue. Despite your concern over the virus, i think from your tone you recognise that compromise is needed. For example, if hospitals implement social distancing by floor area v number of patients and doctors using social distancing, then capacity has to be reduced? Waiting rooms in particular. As I said, any time I've been to a hospital it's a very crowded place. But methods can be employed to reduce risk. Do you agree then with normal capacity on public transport with mandatory face masks? If not what solution do you see?I spent years wearing masks as part of my work day you get used to them. In China the children wear them, we will adapt. I have gotten some lovely face masks with vw buses on them that can be thrown in washing machine. I think they offer a solution on the bus. I wear them now in shops or in the hospital last week and I wasn't the patient, but I was thinking that by wearing it I am helping protect the staff as well as myself and patient. What about schools which is the point of this thread? Do you see a solution that doesn't compromise the children's education?Do you see a solution that doesnt compromise teacher health as by law they are entitled to a safe workplace? We had our staff meeting yesterday and the document last week totally disregards schools as workplaces which isn't acceptable either. I asked about wearing PPE and was told it might scare the children. These are the kids who watch horror movies not age appropriate and come in covered in blood for Halloween, though I understand point they were trying to make. We were told that PPE would not be provided and if we provided our own that was grand. So in that case money is the issue not fear. So far we are planning to come back as a whole school which has shown a host of problems. There is talk of staying in class bubbles, classes of 30+ and I move between classes so I am exposed to more than one bubble. I don't see a solution that doesn't mean teachers working longer hours to maintain the same level of education for kids.I am already working a 10 hour day minimum for online learning. Most mornings I wake up at 4 and get going. Not everyone has to do that but it works for me and I go most of day I don't believe distance learning generally works for most students as it can be hard to maintain concentration remotely. I did find for most my kids that they blossomed online, the typing helped them and I got more work done with them. I had issues with some children not fully participating as they didnt think I would ring their parents but I did. I struggled with a few classes as a mature student so I'm sure it's more difficult for kids. My preference is for my kids and their teachers to return full time as normal. A solution will be needed for teachers or students with health issues so that they are accommodated in a way that doesn't compromise them.My preference is to be back in classroom but I think it is disgraceful that the public going by this thread and others on Boards and government dont regard schools as workplaces and when it is brought up, teachers are slagged off. Yes there are difficulties but they will have to be tackled. Just deciding Coronavirus is gone is not a solution. Experts say it will be with us for a while so we have to plan for it not ignore it as it is inconvenient
Paul Fat Beard wrote: » Good answers in blue. Despite your concern over the virus, i think from your tone you recognise that compromise is needed. For example, if hospitals implement social distancing by floor area v number of patients and doctors using social distancing, then capacity has to be reduced? Waiting rooms in particular. As I said, any time I've been to a hospital it's a very crowded place. But methods can be employed to reduce risk. Do you agree then with normal capacity on public transport with mandatory face masks? If not what solution do you see? What about schools which is the point of this thread? Do you see a solution that doesn't compromise the children's education? I don't see a solution that doesn't mean teachers working longer hours to maintain the same level of education for kids. I don't believe distance learning generally works for most students as it can be hard to maintain concentration remotely. I struggled with a few classes as a mature student so I'm sure it's more difficult for kids. My preference is for my kids and their teachers to return full time as normal. A solution will be needed for teachers or students with health issues so that they are accommodated in a way that doesn't compromise them.
khalessi wrote: » I put my answers in blue
jrosen wrote: » As society moves forward the need to social distance will reduce
Paul Fat Beard wrote: » The perspex on the bus will only protect the driver, not the passengers from each other. 17 people on a double decker bus.Hence new programe from government promoting mask wearing in crowded places As for the hospital, where do our patients wait?My dad had to wait in his car but he went for a walk instead and was advised to come 15 minutes before appointment to allow time for temp and handsanitiszer. When I attended Crumlin last week I was in waiting room which had implemented social distancing through its seating Is every bed in the ward 2m.apart.When I worked in hospitals the curtains could be used to divide beds and there was about 6 foot between each bed in a 6 bed ward more in semi private and private had single rooms. Do you have a one way system in the corridors?I was in Crumlin Hospital last week and they have a walking system in place as well as hand sanitising on way in and out. You follow the lines on the corridors and stay on one side only. Most of the staff had mask and the doctors sodical distanced when speaking one to one re condition visit was based on.The corridors in hospitals generally are wide to allow for two bed trolleys either direction. Hospitals used to be crowded places. To accommodate social distancing we need to reduce the number of patients who can be treated, passengers on public transport and kids in education. And it's not like any of the above was over capacity in the first place. So unless we magic up buses, trains, drivers, hospital beds, hospitals, teachers and class rooms something has to give. Even with 1m none of the above is viable?? I'm glad your dad is getting his cancer treatment but I'm afraid there will be many whose cancer goes undetected.Thank you. GPs are still open for cancer diagnosis and you will be fastracked if cancer diagnosis and treatment needed. People just have to go to the gp or hospital
khalessi wrote: » Yep true and two of them have PPE. Bus drives have always had the perspex screens and hospitals have always had ppe which was increased due to covid19 and will continue to be in use. My dad was in today for a cancer check up and was asked did he need a facemask, but he already had one. He was asked to sterilise hands on way in and out and had temperature checked.
Paul Fat Beard wrote: » This is all very interesting but do we educate our children or not. With 2m social distancing we need four times the classroom size as 1m. My point is that we cannot accommodate social distancing with schools, public transport or in hospitals.
kandr10 wrote: » I agree. It’s quite challenging and I notice a bit of cluck and see what happens in my students approach. Perhaps good to reinforce topics but I also wouldn’t pay for it. We have paid for mathletics in the past also and found the same with that.
wirelessdude01 wrote: » Fair play to the school paying for MangaHigh. I used it while it was free but don't think it is quite up to scratch as a paid service.
Benimar wrote: » In practice. Look at the stories around on street seating and betting shops this week. Its pretty clear that anything non compliant will be shut down. The only thing worse for the publicans than opening with Social Distancing is being forced to close because of non compliance. These are business people and won't be as willing to ignore guidelines as some seem to think.
Boggles wrote: » Sweden have needlessly killed 1000s and will continue to so if they don't change tactics. The state inquiry has all ready begun.
Boggles wrote: » Jesus Christ. I give up. As you were lad, keep on trucking.
khalessi wrote: » Well Sweden went herd immunity approach and tested a bunch of people in Stockholm and found only 7% immunity and they could not say how long that would last for.
Murple wrote: » But they weren't operating as normal. Their cashiers are sitting behind Perspex screens. Many are wearing gloves and they also have hand sanitiser beside them. They are limiting the numbers that come in at one time. Customers are largely adhering to social distancing at checkouts. They were stopping under 18s from coming in on their own and actively discouraging more than one person coming in at a time. I wouldn't consider any of the employees to be working in very close quarters to anyone for prolonged periods. In Aldi/Lidl, they generally open a box, put it on the shelf and move on. They are not 'on the floor' to the same extent as other retail staff. I don't know about other Lidl but my local one is like a warehouse, very spacious and about 10 employees there at any time. It has been noticeably quieter any time I've been in it as many people are availing of delivery from a variety of supermarkets. Very, very different to normal and very, very different to the conditions and space that is available in many other workplaces, including schools.
Paul Fat Beard wrote: » Wasn't my comment but i believe Aldi and Lidl released their testing results. With 3,000/4,000 employees they had 6 and 7 positive results. I don't see how workers in supermarkets could not have been exposed multiple times even with social distancing. Potentially this could be very good news in that very few Aldi/Lidl workers got sick possibly proving that the majority who get infected don't get very sick
Paul Fat Beard wrote: » I don't speak German! Do you? Because if you don't then could come across as a complete spoofer.
Boggles wrote: » It's a translate from what German media were reporting, I was accommodating you, do you want he original German article? Either way his test was about as accurate as flipping a coin. He is an absolute fraud still doubling down on his nonsense that lockdown was unnecessary and herd immunity is the right approach. Not even that loon in Sweden agrees with that anymore.
Paul Fat Beard wrote: » The reported critisim refers to problems with testing? . “These laboratory tests have a high rate of false positive signals, purely technical,” said Drosten. So false positives with the antibody tests. This is the crux of the problem, and why we don't know the true mortality rate.
Paul Fat Beard wrote: » Well at least you're providing a reference this time although I'd never heard of a newspaper from Bandera County in Texas.
Boggles wrote: » No I actually read about his study when it came out and then I read about the criticisms of it. Again, youtube isn't the best place to educate yourself either. Edit: Here.“Implausible figures” – criticism of the Heinsberg study