Ginger n Lemon wrote: » Is ICU overwhelmed? are hospitals overwhelmed? In Ireland - no. In Wuhan they were, so they build 1600 bed hospital in 11 days. In UK they turned stadiums and large venues into temporary hospitals/beds 4000 beds in blink of an eye. They are empty now btw and have never been utilised, because coronavirus is just not as deadly or contagious as some people in this thread will make you believe it is. And if you say otherwise, they ll say you have an agenda against 70 year olds...
Cina wrote: » Sweden, one of the world's most sparsely populated countries. Their borders were shut between neighbouring countries. They have the highest percentage of adult's living alone in the world. They still had social distancing in place and restrictions on public transport etc. Why Sweden? Why not Italy? Why not Spain? Why not the USA? Why not the UK? Why not Belgium? They are a solitary example to use when so many other examples exist that show coronavirus is extremely deadly if nothing is done about it.
Cina wrote: » I agree a middle ground is needed, whatever that is. Our roadmap is overly slow and restrictive. At the same time I think it's dangerous to try downplay this virus now after we've successfully implemented measures to curb its progress. Italy and Spain had to lock their people indoors completely for two months because their health services were collapsing under coronavirus, but people seem eager to forget that. We shouldn't underestimate what this virus can do if measures aren't in place.
Ginger n Lemon wrote: » I know the "save over 70s" brigade is going to come after me, but yet another extremely educated individual is coming out and saying - chill. Elderly are not going to drop like flies once pubs open. And in fact coronavirus isnt necessarily going to end million of lives if you are allowed to go to TKmaxx. YOUR risk of dying from coronavirus is "roughly the same as your annual risk", a top expert says. Professor David Spiegelhalter, a statistician at the University of Cambridge, said that people are "over anxious" about getting Covid-19 - despite the chances being relatively low.
niallo27 wrote: » Ya but there has to be a middle ground, any doctor is going say shut everything down because from a medical point of view this is the safest thing to, but it is not viable long term. As for the scientists we have a different model coming out every day, debunked and then a new model the following week.
snowcat wrote: » This is true. NZ and other countries with very low rates are now hugely susceptable to a second wave as they have no herd tolerence at all.https://sway.office.com/PwTN7GCvJWDgn9yd
Cina wrote: » They're not overhwhelmed because we went into lockdown. Have you seen Italy? Or the US? Prime examples of what happens when countries didn't do what we did early enough. The problem is that people like you see the lower death rates and assume that means the virus isn't actually as deadly as we've been told, despite those low death rates only being there because we've all been under strict f*cking lockdowns. Maybe they do need to open everything up again for a while so you lot can see what will happen if this virus is left unchecked. Coronoavirus has already been proven to be extremely infectious, with much higher mortality rates than the flu yet you still get people claiming it's not as bad as it's made out to be. mental. It's amazing how the internet brigade seemingly know more than most top scientists and doctors worldwide. Fair play to ye.
easypazz wrote: » We don't. We just google "coronavirus Sweden"
iamwhoiam wrote: » There would be many deaths apart from Covid if they were to cocoon until August .
stephenjmcd wrote: » "The Department of Social Protection will continue to support workers until they go back to work, a government Minister has said. However, Minister for Employment Affairs and Social Protection, Regina Doherty also warned that the current payments would not sustainable in the long term." The times and the examiner cover the above quotes this morning, with ministers saying stuff like that you'll see more and more businesses looking to open up well before the current road map allows
uli84 wrote: » Really? Who said that the dates could be moved up?
irishgeo wrote: » The dates for opening up the country are not set in stone. They can be moved up or back. We been playing it safe from day one and egging on the fear factor but it's seems to be working.
hmmm wrote: » If you implemented your above plan, and hospital admissions shot up in week 3, you'd have to roll back 2 phases. I would think for many businesses preparing to open, and being shut a few weeks later, would finish them off. It would also hugely damage consumer confidence. The virus can take up to 14 days to incubate for most people. Hospitalisation is typically around 7 days later - that's where the 3 weeks comes from. By doing this in 3 week phases, we will know exactly which group of changes have caused a rise in the number of cases, and we hopefully only have to roll back one phase at most.
Ginger n Lemon wrote: » In UK they turned stadiums and large venues into temporary hospitals/beds 4000 beds in blink of an eye. They are empty now btw and have never been utilised, because coronavirus is just not as deadly or contagious as some people in this thread will make you believe it is. And if you say otherwise, they ll say you have an agenda against 70 year olds...
expectationlost wrote: » they think more of that cohort will die, its not about looking good. anyway they allowed for the advise not to be taken in their letter https://assets.gov.ie/73788/5d0c9cc4619c4f59877bf3f6e7a14afb.pdf
hmmm wrote: » Your big plan is instead of telling people what they should be doing in the face of a new pandemic, you're going to tell them to use "cop on" and "common sense"? OK.
ChelseaRentBoy wrote: » Some of the stuff on here is ridiculous. A coup today, yesterday a poster compared the current government to the nazis and others have classified us as a police state. Surely people aren't serious with this stuff?
bloodless_coup wrote: » NPHET have lost the run of themselves. This is a coup!
road_high wrote: » I agree very much - CJH was before my time but very much the anthesis of the “woke” brigade of which Leo would be a poster child. He’d have used his bloody common sense in tandem with the economic realities
_Kaiser_ wrote: » How about this?"OK folks, here's the facts. This is a serious situation where you are at a very real risk of becoming sick or even dying in some cases. But thankfully those cases are very rare overall and can be reduced further by taking precautions such as social distancing, increased hygiene and using common sense. If you have an underlying illness, are over 70, or worried about your own situation, do contact your family GP for advice. It may in those cases be better to limit outside interactions entirely or unless absolutely necessary. However, the good news is that the vast majority of people are not at high risk here. That's not to say you can become complacent - you still need to use cop on, take precautions and avoid unnecessary interactions with the at risk people I mentioned above - but you can move about, work, and interact under those conditions. Again though, in all cases people need to be careful, use common sense and look after yourselves and others" Not quite Leo's speechwriter quality but you get the idea
Crocked wrote: » Where are all the highly trained, skilled staff coming from to operate the extra ventilators and manage all the people in those beds you've magic'd up?