drunkmonkey wrote: » No it's not, did you listen to the GP and doctor Cillian last night, people aren't capable of using them correctly, the German chap giving the speech saying everyone is required to wear masks touched his mask 5 times with his hands, Masks are for health care professionals who've been properly trained. Keep your distance, wash your hands.
stephenjmcd wrote: » Be positive is what we were told 4 weeks ago, right another 3 weeks give us time to get the testing capacity and contact tracing up to capacity. Hasn't been done and it's still the same line coming. I'm sorry but this whole idea of a timeline being set out that just says when the time is right is a load of crap. People need to see dates and targets to aim for. Its possible for every other country but not here for some reason. People need a bit of hope given to them not just kicking the can down the road another 3 weeks.
omeara1113 wrote: » Read this on another forum I cant believe how true it is but dont worry rush the construction workers back to work "sarcasm " There is a huge amount of shared vehicles between site workers. There is a lot of passing and sharing of tools, wheelbarrows, shovels, tape measures etc. There are a lot of shared surfaces, ladders, scaffolding rails, canteen and toilet doors. The welfare units are tiny, crammed in like sardines. Many eat in their cars, but many have no transport. Wasing the hands and using the jacks are done in tiny spaces. Believe me, site toilets are some of the most filthy places imaginable. There's the rush to the local deli counter at break or on the way in. Many jobs on sites need to be done in close proximity to others. People go to work sick on sites because there is often no sick pay plus the workers are regularly told they are disposable, if they dont show up there are others who will take their place. Sites were rife with people who were sick but keeping schtum before lockdown. Will companies invest in more tools to avoid sharing? They will in their holes. The 15 minute CIF Covid induction online, a big skite of posters plastered everywhere like miraculous medals, an update to the RAMS docs done by bosses safely at hone and off yiz go to the frontline. Let's see how many of ye are standing in 3 months
cadaliac wrote: » Meanwhile in Ireland: Unable to secure testing kits Unbale to get face masks Unable to secure correct PPE lack of up to date trace testing (manpower?) Lack of manpower in general?? This would be the comparison between Germany and Ireland
Speakerboxx wrote: » Be positive
Podge201 wrote: » Spanish flu came from Spain.
Gael23 wrote: » Because I don’t think they will keep it
Tenzor07 wrote: » Yea sorry but that statement about not wearing masks is bo))x!https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736(20)30918-1/fulltext Also are you making excuses for the lack of testing ability in this country? There's really no excuse!
Gael23 wrote: » We were told that the R0 going below 1 was what we needed to do to get these restrictions lifted. Now the government need to keep their side of the bargain
drunkmonkey wrote: » Your not meant to be wearing masks. It's not HSE advice and gloves are completely out, keep your distance and wash your hands. The Germans had the capacity to test 1 million cases a day going into this.
Downlinz wrote: » Some like Germany and Iceland are, I would imagine many others like Spain and Italy are not.
Tenzor07 wrote: » Meanwhile over in Germany the authorities were able to close down an entire apartment block and test all residents on-site for Covid so as to control the virus, meanwhile in Ireland if you want a test due to suspected Covid you're told to self-isolate. Also surgical face masks can be purchased from Vending machines at all public transportation locations.
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » Spoiled kids doesn't half explain some people around here.
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » As I have said. Spoiled kids doesn't half explain some people around here.
ixoy wrote: » Are all these other countries, who now actual have an outline of what's next, following this plan and meeting these targets? I'd be surprised if they have, especially given the variance in reporting.
JPCN1 wrote: » Do you have any confidence that the HSE can manage this in any sort of reasonable timeframe? 15000 tests a day were promised weeks ago (still not delivered with a vague promise now of late May) and the special settings control has been a horror show.
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » And they will. Can you not wait to hear the plan on Friday? What is wrong with you?
Downlinz wrote: » We know the WHO targets and we know the government are following the WHO model so we have that information already. That criteria is:Transmission is controlled Health system capacities are in place to detect, test, isolate and treat every case and trace every contact Outbreak risks are minimised in special settings like health facilities and nursing homes Preventive measures are in place in workplaces, schools and other places where it’s essential for people to go Importation risks can be managed Communities are fully educated, engaged and empowered to adjust to the ‘new norm’ We're clearly falling short on both the target of same day testing for everyone and the level of control in special settings. Once we're in a position where nursing homes are under control and any person with symptoms can get a test and results on the same day then we'll be in a place to end lockdown.
Podge201 wrote: » Some people aren't happy unless they're complaining all the time.