stephenjmcd wrote: » Is it just ourselves and the UK left now to not announce any plan to reopen society and the economy ?? Off the top of my head it seems as if every other country has laid out the plan. Italy really going for it with restaurants and bars back open in June. Timelines seem a little tight though.
stephenjmcd wrote: » Italy really going for it with restaurants and bars back open in June. Timelines seem a little tight though.
easypazz wrote: » We are supposedly a couple of weeks behind them on "the curve" The devil is in the detail as to what restrictions are to be in place for bars and restaurants etc.
Zetor19 wrote: » The lockdown merchants will be absolutely sickened.
easypazz wrote: » Meltdowns all over the place.
Corona20 wrote: » We wont ease restrictions until after June weekend. Maybe slight tweaks....extending travel limits by a few km....few more shops open but nothing major. Summer a bit more easing and see how it goes approach.
FintanMcluskey wrote: » Did you hear the bad news from Italy?
hmmm wrote: » It must be exhausting switching accounts all evening.
FintanMcluskey wrote: » We will be back up running by June 1st as well. Its great news from Italy. Really lifted my spirits. An inquest is still required in Ireland though
GT89 wrote: » I'd imagine if they were to ease the restrictions they would also reduce the presence of Garda checkpoints. So even if you did breach the restrictions you would be less likely to be stopped.
road_high wrote: » They would be obsolete. And not before time, they are an utter waste of time and resources and driving a wedge between people and a once respected force
easypazz wrote: » I am sure they are sick to death of it too. If it pisses rain a few days it will get grim pretty quick.
Dickie10 wrote: » my mother was on the phone to a neighbour this evening , the neighbour a pious old chap in his mid 60s was telling her pubs wont open til december 24, she tells me this wehile still on the phone half delighted as yer man was. i said that xmas eve , strnage time to open? then she goes noooo december 2024. i was like aw right , grand so.
ChikiChiki wrote: » We should stay a month behind Italy and watch how it goes for them and learn lessons. Make no mistake, It has the potential to backfire badly.
prunudo wrote: » Why should we follow Italy, we were never as bad as they had it, we didn't flood the icu's, we've flattened the current, we've got used to social distancing (there'll always be a few exceptions). There's more and more space in general hospitals each day and private hospitals are ready and waiting. The reason the numbers are still high is nothing to do with the general public has done. Its the nursing homes and health care spread that are the issue now. Some easing of restrictions must happen next week as we've done what was asked of us for the last 7 weeks and if it doesn't happen its because the government hasn't got its own house in order.
GooglePlus wrote: » We'd be very stupid if we didn't look outward at other countries easing restrictions for a glimpse at what might be for us. Regardless of the severity of their epidemic, it would still show us how the virus will react once business starts getting back to usual. Learning is key here, don't be silly.
Lord Trollington wrote: » If there is no significant easing of restrictions next week I can see some real backlash against the government and the CMO. They had gained a lot of support for their initial response but the last week to 10 days they have looked like bungling idiots with their handling of the care homes and a lack of any clear exit strategy. A big week ahead for all