Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Why didn't they add the 1000 or so positive tests as analysed by the Germans to the daily total ?

Because they are weeks old, and the vast majority of them are now recovered. Hopefully from now on we won’t see such a big lag in results so the daily figures will be meaningful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

eagle eye wrote: »
    I think my measures are what matter. I've been in lockdown mode for almost six weeks now. I'd have done the very same in the US.

Okay. Containment measures are identical for you as you've chosen lock down. Considering you can still go to a restaurant in states like Kansas, North Dakota, Oklahoma etc. where would you be safer when you venture outside your door? If you did happen to get infected, where would you rather be?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,314 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

eagle eye wrote: »
    Yeah, the main target for Varadkar seems to be not upsetting anybody in a time where you need strong leadership.
    Varadkar is a "soft" leader, grand for the platitudes and reading of poetry for the chumps in the cheap seats in the leafy suburbia where his support base tends to be. For a nation known for oratory and some of the best writers on the planet, we get him. :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

I'm not sure I want to be in either.

But I would have much more confidence in the Americans tackling this long term than Ireland... (And I hate saying that, as I am passionate about this country).

Trump has the courage to make difficult decisions, despite all the ridicule he gets... our leaders are like deer caught in the headlights.

I think we may need to be rescued by the EU or even the yanks in a few months... people don't realise just how poorly we have been managing things. Our hospitals are pulling off miracles right now. But in spite of our leaders, not because of them!

But if you had to choose. Considering you said that the US are "doing better", US or Ireland over the next two months?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

"The future is not set, there is no fate but what we make for ourselves."

Who said it better:
    Kyle Reese Terminator 1
    Sarah Connor Terminator 2 (directors cut)
    Leo Varadkar Coronavirus global pandemic

He actually got praised for it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,774 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

But if you had to choose. Considering you said that the US are "doing better", US or Ireland over the next two months?

Ireland by far. Better social welfare, better program to keep people working, COVID-19 treatment that won't bankrupt you for life. No comparison imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Wibbs wrote: »
    Varadkar is a "soft" leader, grand for the platitudes and reading of poetry for the chumps in the cheap seats in the leafy suburbia where his support base tends to be. For a nation known for oratory and some of the best writers on the planet, we get him. :D

Leo follows the advice of the CMO and things look good people say he's only doing what he's told so no credit given.

Leo follows the CMO advice and things aren't great sure he's a weak leader.

Lads, just stay at home.

"The future is not set, there is no fate but what we make for ourselves."

Who said it better:
    Kyle Reese Terminator 1
    Sarah Connor Terminator 2 (directors cut)
    Leo Varadkar Coronavirus global pandemic

He actually got praised for it too.

Leo. He said it to inspire people in a crisis.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 83 ✭✭macmahon

Rvsmmnps wrote: »
    I can pm you a link. But it's from Facebook.

Its ok seen your above posts. Thanks.:)

Inquitus wrote: »
    Ireland by far. Better social welfare, better program to keep people working, COVID-19 treatment that won't bankrupt you for life. No comparison imho.

Exactly. If you are black in the US and coronavirus comes down your street, you're in serious trouble. White? Not so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭1641

Wombatman wrote: »
    BTW I don't care if a test result cames from a German lab or a Dublin lab, or a Mars lab.

A completed test is a completed test. A positive is a positive. The German thing is being used as a welcome distraction by Tony and Co.
    Why didn't they add the 1000 or so positive tests as analysed by the Germans to the daily total ?

The two figures were given seperately for very good reasons.

7074 cases confirmed by Irish laboritories up until yesterday afternoon. They give this figure every day. So we can see from this how much the increase is on a day to day basis.

8089 cases in total up until yesterday afternoon, when the results back from Germany are included. There were about 1015 positive cases back from Germany over yesterday and Thursday. But they came from tests conducted 2-3 weeks ago. If these were just included in the daily figures it would look like there was a huge increase in newly emerging cases over the past couple of days, ie, a hugely distorted impression.

All of the figures were there yesterday but poorly explained. I think that the CMO tends to go on far too much in response to questions. It is more like "tell me everything you know" - and the woods get lost for the trees. But the full figures were there. It is easier to see the detail on the website report than get it from answers at the news conference.

Leo. He said it to inspire people in a crisis.

I disagree. Kyle Reese version was the best. Original and set the tone for the franchise.

Leo just copied an inspiring quote he googled at home in the modest apartment he bought for himself years ago. 100% mortgage at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭ihdxwz4a3pem9j

The hospital management gets a bad press. But as a frontline worker, they have looked after us. They seem to be running this terrible situation as best as they can. Nobody could have planned for this. I am glad that I continued to work in Ireland after graduation. I listen to my colleagues in the US and UK. Their stories are not as flattering re: their respective health systems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

chin nuts wrote: »
    Hardly clutching at straws. He's addressing the nonsense that was printed in the local paper.

So what is being clarified? The organisation or mechanics of how doctors were sent to support versus the fact that 70 HCW are infected with dozens more are self isolating.

I think you'll find the general public is concerned about the latter and not the former. It's grand to clarify by what mechanism doctors are being sent but it's of very little public importance.

The paper reported that in addition to the staff that have tested positive, “dozens more (are) said to be in isolation”.

Speaking on the Today with Sean O’Rourke show on RTÉ Radio One on Thursday, Dr Laura Durcan, vice president of the IHCA and a consultant rheumatologist at Dublin’s Beaumont Hospital, said other doctors were volunteering to go and work in Cavan to address staffing issues there.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/doctors-sent-to-help-at-cavan-hospital-after-up-to-70-staff-infected-with-coronavirus-1.4225029

I disagree. Kyle Reese version was the best. Original and set the tone for the franchise.

Leo just copied an inspiring quote he googled at home in the modest apartment he bought for himself years ago. 100% mortgage at the time.

Yeah, dunno what the apartment has to do with coronoavirus. People use inspiring quotes all the time.

*Modest apartment.
    *100% mortgage at the time.

Those bits are important.

*Modest apartment.

Dunno what you are talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

Because they are weeks old, and the vast majority of them are now recovered. Hopefully from now on we won’t see such a big lag in results so the daily figures will be meaningful

Oh is that how we're counting now?

So we can just delete the cases from a couple of weeks back? Oh you're right. Things look much better now. Thanks.

Yeah that's 100% true.

No poing asking for a link.

Now were outraged at people owning an apartment.

How dare they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jackboy

They are only inspiring when original or at least when the original source is clearly referenced. When they are plagiarised they are not inspiring, they are depressing and demonstrate that the speaker has no original ideas and is trying to fool people.

jackboy wrote: »
    They are only inspiring when original or at least when the original source is clearly referenced. When they are plagiarised they are not inspiring, they are depressing and demonstrate that the speaker has no original ideas and is trying to fool people.

Christ.

*Modest apartment.

What?

Are you for real?

Should he not buy an apartment to keep you people happy???????

Yeah that's 100% true.

No poing asking for a link.

Now were outraged at people owning an apartment.

How dare they.

I should hate Leo because he owns an apartment and has a mortgage? Ah, that explains everything. The bastard.

Look Michael Martin will be the next leader soon.

You can relax easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jackboy

Christ.

Yep, not all of us lap up propaganda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭EDit

1641 wrote: »
    The two figures were given seperately for very good reasons.

7074 cases confirmed by Irish laboritories up until yesterday afternoon. They give this figure every day. So we can see from this how much the increase is on a day to day basis.

8089 cases in total up until yesterday afternoon, when the results back from Germany are included. There were about 1015 positive cases back from Germany over yesterday and Thursday. But they came from tests conducted 2-3 weeks ago. If these were just included in the daily figures it would look like there was a huge increase in newly emerging cases over the past couple of days, ie, a hugely distorted impression.

All of the figures were there yesterday but poorly explained. I think that the CMO tends to go on far too much in response to questions. It is more like "tell me everything you know" - and the woods get lost for the trees. But the full figures were there. It is easier to see the detail on the website report than get it from answers at the news conference.

Not sure if that’s a typo, but part of the issue is that other places were reporting 7054 (eg, here https://www.gov.ie/en/news/7e0924-latest-updates-on-covid-19-coronavirus/) then Tony starts talking about 707x cases up to midnight on a certain day and 80xx when German numbers got added in. Not really surprising people got confused TBH

Yep, not all of us lap up propaganda.

Out of idle curiosity, who do you think would have provided better leadership than Leo?

Himself of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭coastwatch

gabeeg wrote: »
    Oh is that how we're counting now?

So we can just delete the cases from a couple of weeks back? Oh you're right. Things look much better now. Thanks.

Wrong.
    They older test results were not deleted, they were added to the total case number, just not included in the daily reports because the daily reports is a measure of how fast the virus is spreading, and 3 weeks old test results dont tell anything about the current rate of spread.

The older test results are just history at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Polands population is 8 times that of Ireland.

Poland has 7 land borders.

6000 cases 180 deaths.

Ireland is an island surrounded by water

8000 cases 280 deaths.

Keep those ferrys and planes coming tho, shur it's only irish people coming home, as if they cant be infected because they are irish.

TONY HOLOHAN SAID HE DOES NOT EXPECT COMMUNITY SPREAD AFTER PEOPLE WHO HADNT TRAVELLED OR BEEN IN CONTACT WITH A CONFIRMED CASE TESTED POSITIVE.. AFTER!?

Dont listen to him. Think for yourself,, protect yourself and your family dont listen to this proven liar.

Women waiting 12+ months for cervical cancer tests, and after 12 months waiting told they need to be tested again !

how can you believe this guys figures.