[Deleted User] wrote: » Shur they'll probably have a football team next..
sightband wrote: » Ref blows the whistle...corner flags, goalposts and the ball are gone.
Gravelly wrote: » After what happened the ref that sent off the traveller last week, I wouldn't fancy reffing one of their matches.
giveitholly wrote: » Is that the ref that got attacked in the car park after a soccer match in athlone?
Gravelly wrote: » Yes. He made the mistake of sending off a traveller. The relatives weren't happy, and just happened, by pure coincidence, to have come to the game armed with some of the usual traveller implements.
giveitholly wrote: » Jaysus,the mainstream media not reporting this? Surprise surprise
Graces7 wrote: » Yes I get all that but noone is making any suggestions that do not involve cutting existing benefits that would rebound on existing children?
And probably as this is a cultural heritage thing, you are aiming too high in wanting them to change? what you call "the cycle" is their way of life for generations.
Any changes would have to be subtle and not trying to make them conform to "our" way of life. It seems as if folk are expecting them to stop being Travellers? And current ideas are clearly not working. Their culture has to be respected? Accepted? Deal within it? You will never get them to act as if they were not Travellers.
Graces7 wrote: » so your answer is? starve the children?
Fann Linn wrote: » Any links for this btw?
Gunmonkey wrote: » B Dunno about "culture"...but would like them to obey all the rules of law for this land. Or even just respect Irish culture.
malinheader wrote: » A friend of mine had his work van broken into and all of his tools stolen. Thousands of pounds worth. He went to the gardai who told him there was probably no chance of him getting them back. No problem with the guard's there hands are tied on this. Anyway on the way out a garda told him of a certain market on a Saturday morning where he might be fit to buy them back cheap. Who is shouting about my friends rights. Anyhow until this minority start to behave like decent honest citizens they should be entitled to sweet f.a.
Kaysen Vast Blueberry wrote: » I assume you mean like settled people do !!!! If memory serves, the hutches and kinahans who happen to be driving around in flash cars with guns in them and shooting innocent people aren't travellers;)
Gravelly wrote: » sightband wrote: » Ref blows the whistle...corner flags, goalposts and the ball are gone. Margaret on the sideline cheering on, her vagina doubling up as a megaphone After what happened the ref that sent off the traveller last week, I wouldn't fancy reffing one of their matches.
sightband wrote: » Ref blows the whistle...corner flags, goalposts and the ball are gone. Margaret on the sideline cheering on, her vagina doubling up as a megaphone
nice_guy80 wrote: » That's actually not true
Deebles McBeebles wrote: » Was just about to ask the same. Hadn't heard any links to travellers in that incident until reading it here. Anyone know any more?
sightband wrote: » Margaret on the sideline cheering on, her vagina doubling up as a megaphone
Roger Hassenforder wrote: » Would you have to shout into her arsė?
Deebles McBeebles wrote: » I was under the impression the shouting came out of her arse.
topmanamillion wrote: » A similar occurrance happened a tradesman friend of mine. Only he didn't approach the guards. After having his tools stolen he had a look around the local market the next weekend. One stall took his interest as the tools looked familiar. Obviously alot of tools look similar but luckily he'd put his initials under the handles and bits of tape on his tools. He pulled down the handle on a hammer and sure enough there was his initials. He told the cultured man behind the stall that he'd be taking all the tools on the table. The man looked delighted and quoted him a price. My friend said no, I'll just be taking back my tools and 3 of my friends workmates who'd been listening behind him, and were holding some of their work tools in their hands due to wanting to keep them safe because of recent robberies, helped him clear the table into his van.
sightband wrote: » I hope that’s all true. You’d need some bottle even with four of you to pull that off in the middle of a market riddled with them. Some of them have absolutely no restraint.
Gravelly wrote: » As long as you are not outnumbered more than 4 or 5 to 1 you'd be ok. I've never heard of travellers attacking men one-on-one (unless the man is elderly) - they only attack if they have overwhelming odds. Even when they are robbing the elderly, they travel in gangs.
Deebles McBeebles wrote: » Very true. Can attest to this having been jumped (from behind) by about 12 of them.
Gravelly wrote: » As a young man in college, a group of us were out in a certain Cork hostelry one night, when one of our group "had words" with a member of the travelling community out of sight of the rest of us. There was some handbags, nothing serious, and the traveller went off, muttering threats. He came back and told us about it, and we thought no more of it at the time. Later that evening, we left the bar, and as our guy stepped out the door, 5 travellers appeared from the darkness. One had a Crocodile Dundee-style knife, and another one had what appeared to be a bicycle chain. Before they could make a move, one of my college classmates pushed the rest of us aside and stepped forward. He was (and still is) an extremely large Limerick man, with hands like shovels, and who was a terror on the rugby pitch back then. He drew himself up to his full six foot 6 and asked calmly "Alright cünts, which two of ye are first?" Our ethnic friends couldn't decide who would be first, and left in a hurry.
Deebles McBeebles wrote: » My ethnic mates didn't even have the sort of misguided, animalistic reason that yours did, was just for craic I'd have to guess. Unfortunately I didn't have your 6' 6" mate there but was saved from what would have been permanent injuries by some friends who were close by but they got a few smacks themselves. Without numbers they wouldn't even lift their head to look at you.