washman3 wrote: » Good post. When the judge informed the jury that she would only accept a unanimous verdict the writing was on the wall.For the men to be found guilty, all 11 jurors would have to agree. Is it entirely possible that a few jurors or maybe just a single one insisted from the outset that his/her mind was made up and wasn't for turning so a unanimous guilty verdict wasn't possible. It is extremely unlikely that all 11 jurors agreed the defendants were not guilty. Maybe a juror will give a 'tabloid interview' in the future.
podmu80 wrote: » Thats a shocking case. Shame on the judge. Shame on waterford United. And the media. Disgusting.
johnpatrick81 wrote: » The Tonight Show on TV3 had a very good discussion on it. I agree with others that the female witness played a HUGE part in the acquittal. As Terry Keane and the lady from Rape Crisis pointed out though, if you remain silent and numb while being mugged, it’s not questioned. But during rape it’s used as a sign of consent.
You’d also wonder about the witness, I mean unless yer wan was in cries of ecstasy or giving her the thumbs up, how can she be sure the complainant was consenting?
Could money have encouraged a witness? Or ties to the rugby society?
The character witness who had their bag lifted onto a bus by 1 of the lads was pure bizarre too.
spookwoman wrote: » Nice narrow minded view of people you have there. Maybe someone of them are protesting about how the courts try these cases that the issue. Bringing up someones history or how they dressed has nothing to do what happens on a night out especially if they are assaulted /raped. Some of these defense lawyers put the victims on trial when its the people up on the charges that are on trial.
podmu80 wrote: » There's a convicted rapist playing for waterford United is there not? Out of the country at the time, but did that get much coverage? Surely that is something to be outraged by no?
[Deleted User] wrote: » Not quite the same though. Again what's the alternative? Yes means yes but you can change your mind and say nothing and the other person is now raping you?
Broke and Desperate wrote: » There was a thread on Boards about it at the time but it was deleted.
cloudatlas wrote: » How would you know by looking through a door briefly if sex was consensual or not surely you'd have to be in the room for quite a considerable amount of time.
holyhead wrote: » Without being in the room how can you make that statement? Why should she have to prevent anything?
FrancieBrady wrote: » You wouldn't and nobody asked her to be categorical. She gave her impression. And the jury assessed that with the other info. It's not a film where one piece of information sways the case dramatically.
washman3 wrote: » Are you sure of this.? Did the judge state that for the 4 to found guilty all 11 jurors would have to agree on this.? I find it beyond comprehension that after hearing 9 weeks of evidence, all 11 jurors could reach the same conclusion in 2 hours.
johnpatrick81 wrote: » True but the defense basically said straight out that this was the key part of the case.
brooke 2 wrote: » And Jackson does not seem to have learned anything, going by his twitter tonight in which he is celebrating, inviting people back to his gaff afterwards - 'if you dare. lol!' How can he be so lacking in emotional intelligence? What a prick!! :mad:
cloudatlas wrote: » Just read a load of comments on this thread saying that evidence was crucial, I didn't feel it was. Also she said paddy was having sex with her he said he wasn't, blane said he was in the room paddy said he wasn't... Who is lying?
FrancieBrady wrote: » 'Key' but not pivotal. The prosecution had an equal say and they dismissed it and got her to say that it was not necessarily a sign that it was consensual. The jury made their own decision on it.
c.p.w.g.w wrote: » That's there jobs. The complainant's sexual history is certainly a grey area. But in some cases if a complainant's sexual history may be relevant to refute a claim made by complainant.
c.p.w.g.w wrote: » It'll be a mix of stay at home mother's, unemployed, students and full time feminist...People who generally lend nothing to society. They should look at themselves and maybe try and understand how the courts work...
C__MC wrote: » The snippets of Jackson’s cross examantion didn’t bode or olding for that matter. They were not pressed on key things, mc ilroy and Harrison got a more thorough examantion. The closing speech also poor by the prosecution in comparison to the defendants.
johnpatrick81 wrote: » Yup true again. My point is though that Florence seemed biased towards the lads when in fact she could have just as easily made it far clearer she had no clue what was happening in truth. From what I read, she was essentially a witness to help clear the lads name when she could have just as easily given a different perspective of the exact same events she briefly viewed based on her bias. I dunno, just doesn’t sit right with me.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Unless you are suggesting doing away with witnesses, there is no answer. She gave her impression, the prosecution countered and the jury made their minds up. Happens in court cases every day of the week.
riffmongous wrote: » What I didn't get was how each defence lawyer seemed to get an entire day each to tell the jury that she was making it up at the end..
johnpatrick81 wrote: » Of course not! But witnesses can usually be more factual. I think she was unnecessarily biased towards the lads based on the evidence she gave. It just seemed like an unnatural bias. Perhaps she should have been discounted as a witness as a result. She was essentially suggesting she was a mind reader FFS.