Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SSF 2013 ROUND UP!! **Please post ideas for this year here!**

• 18-11-2013 3:48pm
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hey all!

Last year Boards in general (and AH in particular) did an incredible job of raising money for the Santa Strike Force. So much so that we were able to support projects throughout the year and I sent regular (ish!) reports to the AH mods and Beasty to keep everything transparent.

Let me do a very swift round up here of the details of what we did with your cash. (no particular order)

PICTURES HERE: http://www.flickr.com/photos/devoresphotos/sets/72157634868662305/

BarretsTown. (~4,000 Euro)
    Barretstown got a decent chunk of the cash this year but that was because they did 3 projects with it and boy did they get the most out of the cash.
    1. Lego bricks, room and logo.
    So the first part of their project was to build a chill out room for kids to just quietly play on their own. The kids also built an incredible logo with the help of the amazing people at bricks.ie and with the remainder of the cash they bought loads of standard lego which the kids have been building awesome things with.

2. Music Room
    We restocked Barretstown music room with instruments because it had basically fallen into disuse because the instruments they had were very few, old and battered from years of use. The whole room is now renewed and back in use for therapy.

3. Forest games
    We had a carpenter (from Boards!) volunteer to build giant wooden games to place in the forest they have out there, for the kids to play together. Stuff like getting a ball through a maze with holes in it etc.

4. Music pods
    We got 13 MP3 players so each house (13 of them!) could have their own to practise their bi-monthly "talent show". Before they were sharing one between them all. OMG. :)

Laura Lynn, Headstrong, Donegal Youth Services. (~6000)
    I've grouped these together because they all pretty much got the same stuff at the same time. We got them electronic entertainment systems, ipads(x7!), PS3, Xbox, and digital cameras.

Bumbleance (~3,000)
    We decked out most of an ambulance with interior design and entertainment equipment and its the first ever child-focused ambulance. I cant begin to describe how complex this project was but thankfully I just wrote the cheque, the BeeForBattens guys and gals did everything else :)

Projects still in development:
    Liams Lodge (~4000)
    The people behind the Bumbleance are building a place called Liams Lodge which is a retreat for familys of kids with rare diseases. It will operate along the lines of Barretstown from what I can see and is located in Kerry. You can read more about it here: http://liamslodge.com/
    We've committed to fitting out the entertainment setup when its ready to be done. They had hoped it would be this year but things always move slower than we hope. In the mean time I have earmarked the cash for them.

Thai Tims (2,000)
    This is a special needs school in Thailand run by an Irish guy who seems obsessed by Celtic Football club! :) You might have seen them on Youtube as they sing lots of Irish songs and Celtic supporters songs!
    They are building a new school and we've committed to fitting out a music system for them to continue to use music as therapy for the kids. If you want a smile on your face today... google them :)
    You can also see them holding a sign saying "We were hit by the Santa Strike Force!" in the pictures.

So thats where the moneys went to this year. I've been keeping Beasty and the Mods abreast of everything as we go along.

I'm always looking for more targets so if you know a special needs school or a kids charity who could use funding for a project, please let me know!!
    Seriously, finding them is a difficult task!
    REquirements:
    1. Must not be for slush funds. Only specific projects.

2. Must have a permanent fixure/residency where the stuff can reside and be used by future kids.

3. Nothing medical, this is Quality of Life improvement stuff only.

4. No specific cases. We dont fund indivdual kids. This is so we get the maximum bang for buck.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

This thread makes me happy :) Amazing work.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Jaysus, it really brings it home when you see such a list of people being helped.

Is there any plan for another bash at it this year?

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭Captain Farrell

We'd need more than boobs covered by arms to beat last year's total, i'd say....

oh, but i donated just to be generous. honest. not just for the *disappointingly well hidden* boobs...

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I'm launching the new campaign for this year hopefully tomorrow. Just need to test the donation links etc, to make sure nothing has broken before we push it :)

Btw, no boobies this year. Soz... :)

But hopefully something nearly as sought after :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I'm hoping to be working full time at Barrettstown next summer (May - September) as a House Cara for and volunteering with them next spring for their easter camp, so looking forward to seeing the lego room, music room and forest toys in person!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

DeVore wrote: »
    I'm launching the new campaign for this year hopefully tomorrow. Just need to test the donation links etc, to make sure nothing has broken before we push it :)

No boobies?! FFS

Nothing raises money like a good set of tits.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

No boobies?! FFS

Nothing raises money like a good set of tits.

Myself and Micky?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

danniemcq wrote: »
    Myself and Micky?

Yourself and Micky? No need to turn it into a porno!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

I passed the Bumblance the other day on the Naas road and thought to myself "what a deadly, worthwhile idea" its not turning San Francisco into Gotham but its a little bit of that spirit. GREAT JOB TO ALL INVOLVED - I'll be donating this year thats for sure.

So folks, any good ideas for raising money this year? Nakedness is out I'm afraid!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,411 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

danniemcq wrote: »
    Myself and Micky?

Nobody wants to see that.

kneemos wrote: »
    Nobody wants to see that.

o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

May I cheerfully ask why the nakedness is out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

So folks, any good ideas for raising money this year? Nakedness is out I'm afraid!

Nekkid Whoopsy worked real good, why fix it if it aint broken:D

Seriously, whatever it is I'll support it, it's a really good cause.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

After Hours mods have to dress up like their avatars? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Larianne wrote: »
    After Hours mods have to dress up like their avatars? :)

Grand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I'd imagine that as the whole thing gets a bit more coverage every year the chances of it ending on in mainstream media are a lot higher and thus the chances of some AH mods arse ending up on another website/magazine/whatever become too high.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

It's a lot of pressure put on mods surely and if they decide not to agree to it, they're seen as a bad person.

I like the fact that a lot of money raised for this has been through people getting naked at public places. It seems like my kind of charity :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

DeVore wrote: »

• Registered Users Posts: 20,411 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Or.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

This was great craic last year. Fair play to all involved.

Whatever is lined up, naked or no naked, you will get as much as I can give.

Best of luck fcukers.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I'm happy to do something silly... but I'm not sure seeing me naked will raise money :)

We also have been given some "prize money" by Electric Ireland ... so thats also a possibility. Something like a "raffle" or something :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Devore has to do a bushtucker trial. Find some disgusting stuff to eat. Put a price on the items. The more raised the worse the thing he has to eat is.

Try to take away our boobs,we'll make you pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Step 1: Get a list of public access webcams.....like on webcamgalore.com.

Step 2: Ask Mods/Admins etc to put themselves forward for a task for SSF.

Step 3: Ask Boards.ie members to come up with some sort of simple, quick, funny, agreeable tasks to be undertaken.

Step 4: Pick out 10 of the most entertaining/doable tasks.

Step 5: Ask Mods/Admins which task they would be willing to do in front of the live webcam and for what total donation amount.

Step 6: Get Boards.ie members to vote by way of monetary donations against each Mod/task.

Step 7: whoever wins/loses or reaches their donation goal, performs the task on the live webcam. Obviously a link will be provided for all to see.

Step 8: ????

Step 9: Profit for the kids!!

Step 10: Forget what I suggested, it probably won't work. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I have to say I was hoping Liz was gonna do the pic, just so I could send the pic to the Authorities in her current country of residence and have her arrested.... but alas it's not to be....

So, what SFP said should be done. tasks based on cash raised.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I have to say I was hoping Liz was gonna do the pic, just so I could send the pic to the Authorities in her current country of residence and have her arrested.... but alas it's not to be....

Now that's just evil...

I guess the site and the charity has gotten too big for a nakid mod fundraiser to work without some 'think of the children' type causing a stink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

A winter swim in the sea?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

This may have been suggested/done before but;

There must be some massively talented boardsies...

Step 1. Enter your "Boardsies got talent" video (Entry fee =€10 'natch)
    Step 2. A trio of mods view your video and post snide remarks in a thread.
    Step 3. A video is voted in or out for the next round. (A vote costs €1 =Text your vote to yadda yadda)
    Step 4. The top ten perform at a full theatre performance (sell tickets)
    Step 5 (optional) In order to calm the boardsies who are performing they do not have to picture the audience nekkid, as the audience are actually nekkid...
    Step 6. Profit???
    Step 7. Winner has internationally famous career and continues to donate wedges of cash to SSF...

• Registered Users Posts: 21 okno

mod or boards office bootcamp.. live broadcast

donate for exercise. 5 for ten pushups or jumping lacks etc