Tech Support for Aritech Alarm systems - Page 12 - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Thread Closed  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
02-09-2011, 00:17   #166
altor
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 7,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3481553 View Post
Great, thanks for that altor, I'll give that a go and see how I get on
Do, if you have any problems you will get all the help you need here
altor is offline  
Advertisement
04-09-2011, 22:17   #167
pmurphy7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Great service from KoolKid

I had my Aritech 350 repaired by Koolkid, great job and appreciated him calling over Friday late afternoon to unlock the panel, repair a sensor and get the alarm working. There are still some decent tradesman about.
pmurphy7 is offline  
Thanks from:
05-09-2011, 08:07   #168
Jnealon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 1,767
Here we go again
Another fanclub starting
Jnealon is offline  
05-09-2011, 09:29   #169
KoolKid
Moderator
 
KoolKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 16,451
One post is fine. As long as it doesn't turn into another love story.
KoolKid is offline  
06-10-2011, 22:36   #170
skiman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dublin
Posts: 21
Adding Reed Contacts to Inertia Shock Sensors

Hi,

Is it posible to add a reed contact to an aritech inertia shock sensor. My alarm is an Aritech CP35, using 4 core wire to each sensor.

Two wires usually the Blue and Black ones go to the tamper slots. The Red and Yellow go to the other contacts. I have supplied an attached crude drawing of the terminal set up. The large square with the circle insert represents the shoch sensor.

My question is, how do I contact a reed contact to this sensor?

Thanks in advance

Skiman
Attached Images
File Type: jpg shock sensor.jpg (10.7 KB, 62 views)
skiman is offline  
Advertisement
06-10-2011, 22:40   #171
altor
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 7,397
Very easy, all you have to do is wire the contact in series with the red cable.
So basically you remove the red cable, connect one side of the contact to that and connect the other side back into the sensor. Do the same with the tamper.
altor is offline  
Thanks from:
07-10-2011, 10:50   #172
skiman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dublin
Posts: 21
Thanks

Altor,

Thanks for that

Skiman
skiman is offline  
07-10-2011, 23:12   #173
altor
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 7,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiman View Post
Altor,

Thanks for that

Skiman
Always happy to help skiman
altor is offline  
08-10-2011, 18:51   #174
skiman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dublin
Posts: 21
One more question on reed contacts

I am trying to connect a reed contact to an aritech inertia shock sensor that is part of a loop, ie, two sets of wires coming from the panel and previous sensor on loop. The wiring is as follows one (1) Blue wire from each set to the tamper terminals. One (1) Red wire from each to the alarm contacts. Black is joined to Black, Yellow joined to Yellow from both wire sets.

I connected the wires as suggested above but the alarm won't set, ie. it activates.

I'd appreciate some advice.

Skiman
skiman is offline  
Advertisement
08-10-2011, 19:42   #175
altor
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 7,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiman View Post
I am trying to connect a reed contact to an aritech inertia shock sensor that is part of a loop, ie, two sets of wires coming from the panel and previous sensor on loop. The wiring is as follows one (1) Blue wire from each set to the tamper terminals. One (1) Red wire from each to the alarm contacts. Black is joined to Black, Yellow joined to Yellow from both wire sets.

I connected the wires as suggested above but the alarm won't set, ie. it activates.

I'd appreciate some advice.

Skiman
Again this needs to be wired in series on the loop. The two red cables are put across the shock sensor in the zone. What this does if the shock is activated then the loop opens and activates the alarm. To wire a contact into the shock you take one of the cables going into the shock sensor and connect it to one side of the contact. The other cable will go back into the shock terminal where you removed the original cable from.

If this is not working I would suggest getting a meter and set it on continuity to check the magnet is lined up correctly on the contact to close the loop, another issue may be the colours used in the contact itself. Some are red and black for the contact and some are red and yellow. Different manufacturers use different colours.

Any other problems, let us know.
altor is offline  
20-12-2011, 09:16   #176
cryano
Registered User
 
cryano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 28
My power went off for a couple of seconds this morning. About 10 mins later the alarm went off. Keypad is completely unresponive. Display just says "CS-XXX keypad V1.5".

I turned off the circuit breaker to turn off alarm and I'm not getting the red power light.

Any ideas?
cryano is offline  
20-12-2011, 09:19   #177
Jnealon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 1,767
it needs a new battery, 12v 7Ah should fit
Jnealon is offline  
20-12-2011, 14:03   #178
cryano
Registered User
 
cryano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 28
Thanks Jnealon. I disconnected the battery and reconnected it. That seem to have fixed it for now. Might pick up a new battery after Christmas. Are they expensive?
cryano is offline  
20-12-2011, 14:34   #179
KoolKid
Moderator
 
KoolKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 16,451
Try some of the suppliers here
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...p?t=2055956748
Keep away from maplins and the likes. They will charge you double or treble the price .
KoolKid is offline  
20-12-2011, 14:54   #180
Jnealon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Leixlip
Posts: 1,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by cryano View Post
Thanks Jnealon. I disconnected the battery and reconnected it. That seem to have fixed it for now. Might pick up a new battery after Christmas. Are they expensive?
No problem
IGT in Lucan or MEW in Leixlip, beside lidl. MEW might be a bit expensive
Probably best to sort it out before christmas, the last thing you want is your alarm going bananas when everywhere is closed
Jnealon is offline  
Thread Closed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search