Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heroes in Cork *spoiler if not seen yet*

• 13-10-2007 10:18am
    Registered Users Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭

This is the only terrible thing about the new series...
    Probably been discussed before though.
    Why do American shows insist on the terrible Irish accents. Jaysus they could have at least put on a Cork accent.
    Hell one of the Irish guys, the black one i think is obviously English... unless he is meant to be...
    [edit]
    guess he is not English:
    http://heroeswiki.com/Tuko

• Registered Users Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

I KNEW that "Caitlin" looked familiar... she's been in lots of ads etc... as well as being a gossard g-string model! :o

HP sauce ad:
    advert05.jpg
    advert06.jpg

Gossard ads:
    katieCarr_gossard_girl_01.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 20,941 ✭✭✭✭Stark

The best was Malcolm Reed trying to say "Sláinte" coming out with "Slancha". I shuddered. Oh and everyone passing round pints of Guinness after a job well done. How stereotypical.

⛥ ̸̱̼̞͛̀̓̈́͘#C̶̼̭͕̎̿͝R̶̦̮̜̃̓͌O̶̬͙̓͝W̸̜̥͈̐̾͐Ṋ̵̲͔̫̽̎̚͠ͅT̸͓͒͐H̵͔͠È̶̖̳̘͍͓̂W̴̢̋̈͒͛̋I̶͕͑͠T̵̻͈̜͂̇Č̵̤̟̑̾̂̽H̸̰̺̏̓ ̴̜̗̝̱̹͛́̊̒͝⛥

• Registered Users Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Mantel

Stark wrote: »
    The best was Malcolm Reed trying to say "Sláinte" coming out with "Slancha". I shuddered. Oh and everyone passing round pints of Guinness after a job well done. How stereotypical.

Those pints looked pretty dire, the head on them was nearly completely gone. No wonder the pub never seems to have many customers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭JohnnyStones

The guy that was in star trek(guy that tried to rob peter and co) is actually Irish but he's been living in England for years,(i know his cousin) his accent was just OK for an irish person:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

The guy that was in star trek(guy that tried to rob peter and co) is actually Irish
    He has an Irish father, according to Wikipedia, but was born in Leicester himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭standbyme

Can any actor take off an Irish accent from TV to Movies, too many to mention as theyre just too plain shameful.

As its probably been mentioned, can they not have got an irish actor(s) bloody hell, it makes a mockery of it, or maybe some americans are dumb as maybe some one told them to put a 'cork' in it & took it literally :D;)

We'll never know :p

No offence to anyone in Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Jesus, you think you'd be used to the awful accents by now. It's not like this is something new.

Yeah im well used to it by now, but you just hope in vain someone gets it right, like this show-but then again :(

There's probably a thread somewhere here about shameful oirish accents already here :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

Lads, seriously, the yanks wouldn't be able to understand de bi's down in cark. It is awful though, for the tiny amound of dialogue the Irish guys have, they could have at least gotten someone off the street and bought em a drink to do the part.

Yeah they could have come out with
    "YE FECKIN LANGER" , "YE EEJIT" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

If they used real Cork or Irish people they'd have to subtitle it for the Septic Tanks. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

If they used real Cork or Irish people they'd have to subtitle it for the Septic Tanks. :)

thats true i have no ****ing clue what cork people are saying 99% of the time i just nod.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

You should really only say that about the city people....especialy the North side.

Also I dont have a clue what the actors who are supposed to have Irish accents are saying...something about leprachuns and pots o' gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

A quote from the most recent comic: 'What's with all this glowering and looming and nary a spark of lightning?'

Ahhh, tis like the singin' of the angels themselves.

Seriously, what Irish person says 'Nary?'

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

How is it the brother gets this supposed Cork accent, yet the sister get the typical retarded unrealistic Norn Iron accent that doesn't exist yet all americans think we have?

grrr, really does piss me off. I mean I know its always been like this but I just would think they would know better by now at least as more people from Ireland become famous and so they would hear real accents.

I reckon if the actors tried putting on the real accent the director would be pissed at them since to him it wouldn't sound Irish and he would assume the audience would think the same.

Also the sister is the typical fiery Irish chick we always see on US tv. Surprised they didn't give her red hair tbh!

standbyme wrote: »
    Yeah im well used to it by now, but you just hope in vain someone gets it right, like this show-but then again :(

I thought someone already has. Mark Sheppard on Battlestar Galactica. Though he actually lived in Dublin for some time.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,953 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

the lawyer guy in BsG? He was alright in my opinion. why not hire him, ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

There must be at least one Irish person among Heroes' large cast and crew surely, or at least someone there must know an Irish person that could have given the scripts a once-over and picked out the obvious howlers like "For the love of Pete".

Caitlin's accent veers all over the country like a drunken helicopter pilot and the rest of them seem to be basing their accents on "In The Name Of The Father". It's almost as bad as Bono's "accent" in the latest South Park, although at least we know they're taking the piss there. The only American that can do Irish accents properly is Des Bishop.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Yeah, the lawyer's accent in BSG was perfectly acceptable. And Ireland doesn't even exist in that series. Heh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

agamemnon wrote: »
    There must be at least one Irish person among Heroes' large cast and crew surely, or at least someone there must know an Irish person that could have given the scripts a once-over and picked out the obvious howlers like "For the love of Pete".

Yeah, tbh this f**ked me off more than anything. It's not as if Americans portraying the Irish accent badly is anything new, but at the very least the b*stards should've been able to get the dialogue right. "For the love of Pete"?! Who the f**k ever says this???

And incidentally, a subtle Cork accent wouldn't be completely incomprehensible to the Americans. Cillian Murphy and Jonathan Rhys Meyers both have accents which are tinged with Cork (unsuprising given that both are from there) and both of em have been successful in the states.

It beggars belief that Americans can get Irish accents so wrong, so consistently, when they can apparently handle other accents without to much trouble e.g. Spike's accent in Buffy was pretty flawless.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭corblimey

Guiness in straight glasses?!
    "Skippy's Sportsbook"?!?!
    "for the love of Pete"?!?!?!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Skud

i was in new york earlier this year and some ppl couldnt tell i was irish... I have a cork accent so that explains it :P

Back on topic: it is dreadful. The comics are painful also... you can't do much about it though.

seriously though... the english guy is meant to be from africa?!?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭WetDaddy

Well fellas, for a bunch who complain about "getting the facts straight", I find it strange that every one who's mentioned stout has referred to it as (probably) Guinness... Surely if we're doing things the "right" way, it'd be Murphy's? ;)

I find the accent thing really irritating. Like someone mentioned earlier (Karl Hungus, I think), you'd think we'd be used to it. But unfortunately it's the suspension of disbelief of it all; it totally removes you from the immersion (Des Bishop?) in the episode, which is a shame. I suppose we'll just have to come to terms with the fact that Ireland and "Hollywood-Ireland" are two completely different places. The oirish, leapin' leprechauns, always-singin' always-dancin' but tears-nary-far-away fabrication is more suited to mainstream story-telling, it would seem :(

Oh, and for the record, I thought Cate Blanchett made a damn good attempt at a Dublin accent in Veronica Guerin.

The only Cork accent i can understand & like is from Maeve Higgins, totally hilarious esp. on radio earlier today & her obsession with 'sweaty' Eddie Hobbs :D

Goodshape wrote: »
    Yeah, the lawyer's accent in BSG was perfectly acceptable. And Ireland doesn't even exist in that series. Heh.

Aye, quite ironic. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 709 ✭✭✭mac123

what about peter lookin for his 200 DOLLARS back and security guards with guns!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

what suprises me is that anyone in Cork paid a blind bit of notice to a superhuman...what with their superiority complex down there and all:):):):) ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 20,941 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Well they did say "you're one of us now" when they found out he had superpowers.

⛥ ̸̱̼̞͛̀̓̈́͘#C̶̼̭͕̎̿͝R̶̦̮̜̃̓͌O̶̬͙̓͝W̸̜̥͈̐̾͐Ṋ̵̲͔̫̽̎̚͠ͅT̸͓͒͐H̵͔͠È̶̖̳̘͍͓̂W̴̢̋̈͒͛̋I̶͕͑͠T̵̻͈̜͂̇Č̵̤̟̑̾̂̽H̸̰̺̏̓ ̴̜̗̝̱̹͛́̊̒͝⛥

• Subscribers Posts: 32,850 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Did I not read something in the seasonal promotional blurb about one of those 'irish' people being 1000 years old?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Stark wrote: »
    Well they did say "you're one of us now" when they found out he had superpowers.
    LOL! :D
    5starpool wrote: »
    Did I not read something in the seasonal promotional blurb about one of those 'irish' people being 1000 years old?

Yeah, wonder what happened to that. Ricky mentioned a crime boss called McSorely (I think), maybe it's him? I think the writers are going somewhere by having Peter in Oireland and he will meet someone with special abilities there (apart from the special ability to mangle an Irish accent that they all seem to have).