Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why I hate GW - *Rant Warning*

• 10-08-2006 2:15am
    Registered Users Posts: 782 ✭✭✭

OK. I started playing before there was even a GW shop in Ireland and I stopped playing just after Gothic was released. I got some serious issues with GW. Since the time the shop opened to the time I quit the place has become more and more of a rip off. Im sure there r lots of things but here is what I experienced:

Paints: They released the paints in a new container and the price went up. no problem so far.. but you only get 2/3 the amount of paint you got before. Yet ur paying more! I brought this to the attention of one of the GW staff and he replied with "But they come in funky amazing new containers with twist caps" ....ok.....

Metals: This one has some logic to it. Some idiot kid somewhere ate one of his metal models and got some poisoning from it (well that’s what we were told), so they changed the metals used in the models. Surprise surprise all metal modes jumped up in price.

Army books: This really pissed me off. The army books/codex's used to be really big (still got about 8 of them). Then when they re-released 40K and fantasy they cut the books down to about 1/8 of the size, yet you were paying 2/3 of what you used to.

My biggest problem with GW is the staff. They are fine if you are 13 but not if your in your late teens or any older. I refuse to go near the place due to my last experience there.
    I was 18 and it was just after the LOTR game was released. I hadn’t played any GW game in years but I wanted to get one of the Art books. I went in, knew what I wanted, saw it on the shelf at the back but before I could get there a staff member greets me at the door with "Hi. Would you like to try the new LOTR game". I explain that im not interested and that I Just want the Art Book. He follows me to the back of the store quizzing me about the book I want. He takes it off the shelf before I can get it myself and starts looking through it and giving me his opinions on each of the drawings! After about 30 secs of this, iv had enough of his abundant lack of social skills, grab my own copy and head to the register. As im getting my change back the guy behind the register asks "Would you like to try the new LOTR game?"..... he was 3 feet away when I said I wasn’t interested the first time!!!

If you have made it this far, thanks. This is the longest rant iv done, and I could go on!
    Im interested to hear from you if the staff are still like that and if anything is stupidly expensive.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

The new white metal is cheaper to work with than lead was aswell, the moulds last longer (each metal mold of 1 figure would usually have 8 injections on it and costs about 1200 sterling (1998) and would last for several thousand molds)

Plastic is cheaper again yet the new plastics are more expensive.

When i worked for them there was 311 stores. their gross profit was close to 90 million sterling.

If they can gouge you, they will gouge you. its the capitalist way!

as to the harrassment.........its in their training.(trust me i know)

they have to try to sell you as much as possible, if one persons approach fails its usual for another staff member to try it on too. tag teaming was popular.

in my year working for them i sold on average about 40-60 of the main box sets a month. at christmas i sold 110. its crazy the stuff i remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 murphyk6

I agree with the whole harasment thing. Perticularly the lack of distinction between an adult and a young child or teenager, in the type of conversation they try to start.

Personally I'm a capatilist with a social concince. So I don't begrudge the prices. If it is still seling then fair play to them. I just hope they pay their staff well and treat them with respect. Also I hope the people who are making the real cash consider their responsabilities to society.

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭Snoogans

Well, the prices are one thing I definately do begrudge GW. They've got no significant competition, so they rape the living daylights out of anyone who walks in the door.

On the staff? Every GW store I've gone to (all of 4) has had at least one guy who's a total prick, if not more, but the others have usually seemed ok. The harassment thing, and annoying persistence, is usually a sign of pressure from above, and indeed one of the GW staff this week was mentioning, or let slip, that basically they're under enormous pressure to sell sell sell and perform etc. The ruthlessness of GW's business practices do lead me to think this could well be true.

I like the hobby, it's fun. But I don't like condescending staff, and I don't like shelling out £200 sterling (yes, sterling) for a new shagging army.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Unstoppable PoO

It's true a lot of people feel harassed going into a gw but if there's one thing I hate more it's when I go into any RPG, card or comic shop and no one even looks at me, how the feck am I supposed to know what's new in MTG or D20 if no one who specialises in it so much that they work there won't even talk to me. You do get the odd one who looks at you however when you walk in and the look on there face says "Get out you've done something wrong and I'm going to go out of my way to make you feel bad".

So I'd rather GW, and walk in and a guy come over and say "Do you need any help there?"

And as for the no competition thing...
    GW was started by a couple of students who were willing to try hard.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

so whats the remuneration package like in GW PR department?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Settle children ... I've never once had to hand out a ban on this forum. Don't make me start now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Unstoppable PoO

jaggeh wrote:
    so whats the remuneration package like in GW PR department?

quite good actually.

So let me get this right, if I don't slag games workshop I must be getting paid for my opinion...

mmmnn smells like freedom of speech...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Went in a couple of weeks ago just because I was passing, haven't collected in a couple of years, ended up having a 45 minute discussion and having to leave because it was closing... I didn't even manage a look around. What was annoying was that I tried cutting him off but I just couldn't... He was so eager :( The girlfriend even got caught on the other side of the store. Everytime I've popped in in the last 2 years, they've tried to force a tyranid battle force on me.

It would be nice if they were taught to back down once given the hint.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

GW really are out to gouge as much cash from there customers as they can and the last few years they dont even try to hide the fact. Maybe Im wrong but this in your face rip off gig seemed to start when GW got big in the states.

While GW or Citadel minatures as it was known back in the good old days of WFB first edition and the good old diceman shop off grafton street, you can track every price increase with every game success they have had as a company. Hell I even remember when white dwarf cover D&D, Paronia and other games. Remember the computer is your friend!

When 40k first came out the prices all seemed to jump up a bit and by 2nd edition of that game they brought in the ideal that the more powerful a character or unit were on the table the more the metal minature was going to cost your. This pricing scheme ended my 40k hobby as 10 quid for 5 space marines was one thing but having to pay 25 notes for a SM hero model was just taking the piss.

These days with plastics that should be costing less yet the cost of them goes up with every new unit Im amazed that GW has any customer left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I still play Mordheim and some of the other "specialist" games, but apart from one or two models (nothing looks like a champion of Slaanesh quite like, uh, a Champion of Slaanesh model) I mostly use cheaper (oh, so much cheaper...) miniatures from other companies to annoy the local GW sales rep. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

Sorry to drag up this post from 2006.
    FWIW I took my 9 year old son into the GW in Liffey Street recently and TBH I felt we were lucky to get out of there without being recruited into the Moonies or worse. ;)
    The staff there were very helpful to my son but too pushy and way way too friendly (in a slightly creepy way, like I'm your instant new best friend. :mad:)
    Anyway I'm glad to have found that others seem to have had some similar experiences and I'm not just being paranoid......

• Registered Users Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

If you're in town anyway Johnny, why not try out Models Inc. on Dorset street (near the o'connell street end).

They sell GW stuff, slightly cheaper iirc, and also plenty of competing companies games (Privateer Press, Rackham, etc).

They also don't harass you when you go in, but will help if you like, and have tonnes of tables you can game on for free.

Sounds like I work for them, but, I don't, I just game there - I'm a member of the Dublin Games Guild who has their club night there on a Wednesday.

I also had quite enough of the harassment ****e in Liffey street after the first time I went in there. They're just doing their jobs, and they're probably perfectly nice guys, but, I've no interest in a big spiel about what new Marine apocalypse stuff to buy when I play Necrons. And no, I also don't want the giant new Necron apocalypse pylon set, I just want this one. single, pot of paint...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

quozl wrote: »
    If you're in town anyway Johnny, why not try out Models Inc. on Dorset street (near the o'connell street end).

Models Inc. is the kind of gaming store I have wanted for ages. Martin (the owner) can seem slightly fake when you first meet him but once you get to know him he is a lovely fella.

It has a mix of not only model gaming but RPG's, card games (MTG) and some other stuff. It is pretty big with a huge space to play whatever you like, with a sizeable basement to play in too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Phototoxin

firstly €300 for a new army is not too bad considering the price of most things. A night on the tear costs what 100-200 euro these days ?

however its aimed at kids so I do think its way to expensive. They will out price themselves.

I havent bought anything in 2 years about (only getting back to painitng my minis now after uni!!) but I do have to say that not all are plicks. Some are divs alright. I went into to Liffey St and one was 'do you want to know how to play 40k' no I just want paint and I'm just looking [and I've been playing 10 years so I know what I want so please FECK OFF! ]

That said I've found blanchardstown people more mature in terms of staff but not clientele. ITs also v small.

Its a pity as the only game club near me is one that plays 40k their own way and wasn't really interested in fantasy. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭tororosso

GW is generally somewhere I avoid like the plague whenevr I am in town. I have been collecting for about 15 years now but find the staff similar to Mormons or scientologists or one of those religious groups trying to recruit new members....they are way too chirpy although the manager in the liffey st store is pretty sound. The bad thing is that you can never criticise any troops or new rules as being stupid as that is HERESY.....:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

OK. I started playing before there was even a GW shop in Ireland and I stopped playing just after Gothic was released. I got some serious issues with GW. Since the time the shop opened to the time I quit the place has become more and more of a rip off. Im sure there r lots of things but here is what I experienced:

Paints: They released the paints in a new container and the price went up. no problem so far.. but you only get 2/3 the amount of paint you got before. Yet ur paying more! I brought this to the attention of one of the GW staff and he replied with "But they come in funky amazing new containers with twist caps" ....ok.....

Metals: This one has some logic to it. Some idiot kid somewhere ate one of his metal models and got some poisoning from it (well that’s what we were told), so they changed the metals used in the models. Surprise surprise all metal modes jumped up in price.

Army books: This really pissed me off. The army books/codex's used to be really big (still got about 8 of them). Then when they re-released 40K and fantasy they cut the books down to about 1/8 of the size, yet you were paying 2/3 of what you used to.

My biggest problem with GW is the staff. They are fine if you are 13 but not if your in your late teens or any older. I refuse to go near the place due to my last experience there.
    I was 18 and it was just after the LOTR game was released. I hadn’t played any GW game in years but I wanted to get one of the Art books. I went in, knew what I wanted, saw it on the shelf at the back but before I could get there a staff member greets me at the door with "Hi. Would you like to try the new LOTR game". I explain that im not interested and that I Just want the Art Book. He follows me to the back of the store quizzing me about the book I want. He takes it off the shelf before I can get it myself and starts looking through it and giving me his opinions on each of the drawings! After about 30 secs of this, iv had enough of his abundant lack of social skills, grab my own copy and head to the register. As im getting my change back the guy behind the register asks "Would you like to try the new LOTR game?"..... he was 3 feet away when I said I wasn’t interested the first time!!!

If you have made it this far, thanks. This is the longest rant iv done, and I could go on!
    Im interested to hear from you if the staff are still like that and if anything is stupidly expensive.

during my time inside one of these shops i nearly couldnt leave !! massive gathering of 400+ nerds outside the shop, i litterally had to push and shove nerds left right and center out of the way, honestly, some of the worst orginising by them and the weakest bunch of people ive ever met ( no playing sterotypes, but if the wind was blowing they would have trouble... )

but yeah, ridiculous over sellling by the staff, hard to catch a breath between the " dont want that *cough* ftard *cough* " and the " roflmao dont try to sell me war hammer or ill make sure you will want life insureance "

but yeah, to think all i ever wanted was some Really over priced figures for my 11 year old litte brother...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭themurphyfella

Lads I reckon you need to take a trip out to Blanch.
    Shop isn't as crowded with Munchkins and there's less staff so they don't have to look busy by talking to people.

I don't tend to get bothered by the lads in any of the GW shops when I visit. Maybe I'm just a grumpy old git and they steer clear ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭MarkHall

Modles inc is the way forward for the modern gamer. Plus It's got plenty of space to move about.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,367 ✭✭✭Dartz

I get where people are coming from alright... but Blanchardstown has always been slightly better. You can tell the higher-ups aren't watching too closely when you get a quiet suggestion that an acrylic artists brush from Easons might do a better job of painting your tank, than the tank brushes GW do....

If you avoid peak times, staff are generally less frazzled and less likely to jump on you. If the atmosphere in the store is more relaxed, the staff will tend to be more relaxed and let you poke about.

Besides... it's a hundred times better than the 'Think of it as a priveledge I'm letting you give me your money' attitude common to Irish retail.

At least they try to be nice and attentive and helpful. Even if they can be pushy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

quozl wrote: »

They sell GW stuff, slightly cheaper iirc, and also plenty of competing companies games (Privateer Press, Rackham, etc).

I was there today, and jesus christ why didn't I know about this before?!

Bye bye GW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭themurphyfella

I was there today, and jesus christ why didn't I know about this before?!

Bye bye GW.

LOL
    Another Convert
    Or should that be GW refugee?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Phototoxin

I totally CBA anymore.. I was thinking of reseurecting my fantasy army but really with yet MORE price increases in sept or october they are becoming a totaly joke.
    And as for the no competition thing...
    GW was started by a couple of students who were willing to try hard.

..and they left and it became utterly comercialised.

Also a few weeks back I wanted a single pot of paint. Some guy (seemed american ?) in the GW liffey st was explaining the most detailed tactics abut all his armies.. I couldnt escape... it was horrific and I was thinking of this thread all through it. I had to say ' I really need to go and get my train!'

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭phonchoman

another 20-25% increase on books and metal by next month... just to warn anyone thats looking for anything like that.. buy it now..., I just ordered a whole army but esp the metal parts because of it... may as well pay for it now rather than extra later.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭irishthump

MarkHall wrote: »
    Modles inc is the way forward for the modern gamer. Plus It's got plenty of space to move about.

Any LOTR players in Models Inc?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭hairyheretic

irishthump wrote: »
    Any LOTR players in Models Inc?

Not that I've noticed, but that doesn't mean someone hasn't an army sitting at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭irishthump

Not that I've noticed, but that doesn't mean someone hasn't an army sitting at home.

Fair enough. Might be time to stick me head in so!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Phototoxin wrote: »
    I totally CBA anymore.. I was thinking of reseurecting my fantasy army but really with yet MORE price increases in sept or october they are becoming a totaly joke.
    Have a look at http://www.privateerpress.com . They make WarMachine & Hordes, two compatible wargames that are very popular in Models Inc. I've pretty much stopped playing 40k in favour of it.

If you want a change from WHFB you might enjoy it. It requires a good deal less models than WHFB, so I think it's cheaper in that way. IE models aren't really cheaper, but you need less of them.

Don't get me wrong, it's still an expensive enough game, but all wargames seem to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Ayrtonf7

I play in the Blanch Gw, The staff there a quite nice but I have noticed them let slip about how much they have to sell every month..Yadayadayada

Anyways, Theres alot more younger genration gamers in blanch like myself and 3 or 4 of my friends who game there. But theres some adults too...the staff are alot more Down to earth as well, Most of them (most not all I say) dont really give two *@;! about there jobs and are just there to make sure your happy, whether it be telling white Dwarf is one euro cheaper in Easons or recommneding the cheapest but nice place to eat in the centre itself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 malicant

I hear you man. I went in to GW liffy street about 5 weeks ago to get some paints. When I was at the counter, one of the staff asked me if I needed the 40k rules book (you know, the usual pushy crap). Anyway, I told him I was holding out till the battle for black reach box (which I knew to be out on the 6th of september) and he replied, in a cocky manner, that it wouldn't be out for a year.

Now he knew bloody well it was out in a few weeks, he LIED to me so I would buy the book and he could claim the sale. I didn't say anythign to him but I didn't buy the book either. I email GW customer support but they never got back to me. Is this something they endorse, lying to customers to get them to buy stuff?

This isn't the first such incident I've had with them. I've been playing their games for 9 years and it's always been the dame. They ask you if you need help when you come in and then when you pay for what you want they try to force a bane blade down your neck no matter what army you play. Pain in the ass :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Ayrtonf7

malicant wrote: »
    They ask you if you need help when you come in and then when you pay for what you want they try to force a bane blade down your neck no matter what army you play. Pain in the ass :mad:

Haha I know what you mean about the BaneBlades! Its insanly funny They say "oh you can use them for any army for apocalyspe" and then your like i dont play apocalyspe, Then they start getting you down to this 40 people games in the store...Turns out to be a massive bunch of noobs making up rules who dont even know how to play...First and last one I was at my whole army disentigrated due a random orbital bobardment from no player