Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Adult Braces Experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,432 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

I've not noticed much movement since my last appt. Still not happy with the prominance of the central incisors and overjet so I want to continue with the treatment.

We'll see what happens - appt is next week.

Am I asking too much from the braces? Are the results shown on the 'net the best possible outcomes and many are not near that level of correction?

I possibly thought inaccurately that I was going to get a near perfect smile, but the treatment so far has twisted my central incisor and despite grinding some off the lateral incisors they are still behind the central ones and not giving me the broad smile I thought I would be getting.

Does there come a point when that is it with the treatment?

Maybe, I just need to see the smile without the braces in situ.

I still have to see what to do with the gummy smile - if anything can be done at this stage. It is a shame that I am not younger so I could have got my short jaw sorted too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭dublingirl83

Am I asking too much from the braces? Are the results shown on the 'net the best possible outcomes and many are not near that level of correction?

I possibly thought inaccurately that I was going to get a near perfect smile, but the treatment so far has twisted my central incisor and despite grinding some off the lateral incisors they are still behind the central ones and not giving me the broad smile I thought I would be getting.

I still have to see what to do with the gummy smile - if anything can be done at this stage. It is a shame that I am not younger so I could have got my short jaw sorted too :(

How long do you have them on so far? I'm getting mine off May 12th, and they are still a work in progress. On my last visit he is going to shave teeth to make them all a certain length- don't give up hope yet. I've noticed major changes,but was at least a year before I did.

Also every time I go, I say what's bothering me eg. Food was getting caught a lot between teeth, so he extended braces bk to wisdom teeth.
    I really recommend having a good open communication between you and your orthodontist.. If something is bothering you- tell them straight away.

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭LottieP25

You got 6 months smiles right?

IMO I think it's way to short of a time frame. I mean most here have them in for two years, I'm coming up to 18months and whilst I think they look prefect now my orthodontist doesn't, and at the six months mark whilst they looked okay they werent great - and I remember thinking this was the date I was giving when I went for a consultation with 6 month smiles - that I would've been getting them off.

As for your gumline might I suggest going to see a specialist that deals with this sort of thing on a daily basis.

And why can't you get your jaw sorted, did they give you a reason why? It's part of treatment where I got my braces.

Hi, - no it is not 6 month smile. I've got NHS braces which had an estimate of 6 - 9 months for completion. They went in during September so I am approximately at the 6 month mark.

I can't get my jaw sorted as I am an adult. I think that can only be done during adolesence. Cost might be prohibitive too. I think from memory that I was told it was too much work for someone my age.

I'm not getting food stuck but I do not like the way that there is a massive step outwards to the molars.

I got a lateral incisor (one top, one bottom) shaved slightly on the side in order to get them to pop out from behind the tooth which was holding them back. However, neither has made their way out yet.

Progress seems to be stalling. You can see from my photos (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=89397790&postcount=413) that there is still a significant overjet.

I have my appt on Wednesday and I think I will mention to him about the narrowness of the upper arch, twisted central incisor, step change to the molars and what if anything he can recommend for the gummy smile.

Does everyone have the step change in the teeth back to the molars - I was under the impression that for most people with braces, the wire/brackets did not extent much beyond the second premolar?

Would gummy smile treatment be more of a pastic surgery treatment rather than dental? My dentist did tell me that sometime lasering of the gums to lengthen (and therefore reduce the visible gumline can result in a horse teeth look.

Hi, - no it is not 6 month smile. I've got NHS braces which had an estimate of 6 - 9 months for completion. They went in during September so I am approximately at the 6 month mark.

I can't get my jaw sorted as I am an adult. I think that can only be done during adolesence. Cost might be prohibitive too. I think from memory that I was told it was too much work for someone my age.

I'm not getting food stuck but I do not like the way that there is a massive step outwards to the molars.

I got a lateral incisor (one top, one bottom) shaved slightly on the side in order to get them to pop out from behind the tooth which was holding them back. However, neither has made their way out yet.

Progress seems to be stalling. You can see from my photos (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=89397790&postcount=413) that there is still a significant overjet.

I have my appt on Wednesday and I think I will mention to him about the narrowness of the upper arch, twisted central incisor, step change to the molars and what if anything he can recommend for the gummy smile.

Does everyone have the step change in the teeth back to the molars - I was under the impression that for most people with braces, the wire/brackets did not extent much beyond the second premolar?

Would gummy smile treatment be more of a pastic surgery treatment rather than dental? My dentist did tell me that sometime lasering of the gums to lengthen (and therefore reduce the visible gumline can result in a horse teeth look.

I know a few adults that have had jaw work done with their braces, well into forties... my mam being one.

My braces go back my 2nd molars, so all the way. Got my wisdom teeth extracted.

Yes a horse smile might be a factor, but i still think you might benefit from seeing a periodontist , they deal with this day in day out and will be able to give you a definitive answer on your case. I'm not being mean but your dentist might not do the treatment everyday or didn't train in this area so going to see a specialist is the way to go, and then you will know on way or the other.

What was the jaw work they got done - do you have any details and can youremember at what stage of their treatment it was performed?

Back from the Ortho and it was my last adjustment today. He said that no more can be done due to the footprint of the lower arch. My overjet is approx 2.5mm.

He said that jaw surgery would be very complex and he would not recommend it to me. He did not say anything much about the gums apart from that it was not his area and that I shouldget the braces off, get them cleaned and see how I feel about it. Then speak to my dentist if I want to have further treatments.

Braces off in 8 weeks! Countdown is on !!

LottieP25 wrote: »

Best of luck, I've only gotten started! :(

Going fairly okay though, back eating normally now but I am noticing some yellowing on my teeth. I guess the fact that I drink tea doesn't help. The disclosing tablets don't show up much so I don't think it's too serious.

Similar to me - I complete in 6 weeks. Not sure that I'm happy with things as they are at the minute - TBH I'm a bit disapointed with the outcome and glad I did not pay thousands for this outcome.

Anyhow... I hope you are more satisfied.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Buyer12

Great to be nearly finished to both of ye, but sorry you not happy with your results funkey monkey, that's a shame but when you see your truth with braces off I hope you are happier.
    I am only starting :-( lower inside lip really sore this week, wax on brackets not helping as it's the actual wire that my inner is hitting off so I gave sore welts and swollen inner gums:-( and power chain on to close gap (have had 2 lower teeth pulled ) that's hitting lips as well.
    I have tried even putting the wax on wires! But naturally that didn't work for longer than a minute! It's been a long month here with a lot happened.
    Continued good luck to everyone and sorry about the moaning!

Have to say in delighted with mine. I will post up a before and after picture when they come off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭bulmersgal

So I'm at the start of my treatment went to my first appointment and got a quote of €4000 for top and bottom. Got told by a dental nurse friend that I should come to her place as they would do it cheaper. So confused as I thought the price was low. What is the average price for braces

bulmersgal wrote: »
    So I'm at the start of my treatment went to my first appointment and got a quote of €4000 for top and bottom. Got told by a dental nurse friend that I should come to her place as they would do it cheaper. So confused as I thought the price was low. What is the average price for braces
    €3,860 in my case but I was previously quoted €4,900 elsewhere.

So similar price too mine did u go in for two consultations to get both prices

bulmersgal wrote: »
    So similar price too mine did u go in for two consultations to get both prices

Yeah. Two different places so two different consultations. :)

Thanks I may just go to the second one and see what the price is.

Definitely shop around and see. In my case I chose the cheaper one, not totally down to price, but because I know two people who went there and turned out just fine. Can't say where, of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭lovelystuff

Hi all, I'm new to this forum but have read through a lot of the posts. I'm going to the dentist in a few weeks, and want to enquire about getting braces. My front teeth are all very crooked, top and bottom. I'm just wondering how much of a choice I will have in terms of treatment options? I'm late twenties and would prefer something discreet. I would love to do something like the 6 month braces but I think my teeth may be too bad for that? Any advice appreciated thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

6 month braces are just regular braces,m that are removed after 6 month. They are not all that descrete. The hidden braces options are lingual orthodontics or aligner theraby (invasalign etc.).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭lovelystuff

6 month braces are just regular braces,m that are removed after 6 month. They are not all that descrete. The hidden braces options are lingual orthodontics or aligner theraby (invasalign etc.).

Oh that's what I meant, either lingual or invasalign, thanks! Lingual seem to be at least 7 grand though which is a lot of money....I'm just tired of feeling self conscious and worry braces that were too obvious would just continue that! Thanks

But if you feel self concoious already, the braces shouldbt matter really. And you will notice improvements.

Short term pain, long term gain... An all that.

I went for metal braces and I'm in my late twenties, I really couldn't give a feck what people think about me having them because I know what the end goal is.

There coming off next week hopefully. Would I do it all over again - absolutely. The change is amaZing.

Going back on Tuesday evening for my first checkup after getting them in. Hoping it goes alright. :o

Karsini wrote: »
    Going back on Tuesday evening for my first checkup after getting them in. Hoping it goes alright. :o

You noticing any difference ?

Mine should be coming off Tuesday! So excited!

You noticing any difference ?

Mine should be coming off Tuesday! So excited!

Yeah I am. My bite certainly feels different. I can touch my back teeth on both sides rather than just one side. One of my teeth at the front feels like it has moved forward a little too.

Best of luck on Tuesday. :)

That's cool , it's nice when you start to notice the difference!

I'm getting my temporary crowns sorted Tuesday too, as soon as they're on I will post up some before and after pictures :)

Best of luck getting them off, mine come off on Monday after 18months. I'm both excited and nervous.... I'm afraid I will be left with little square stains on my teeth. I've been a little lazy the last few months with the upkeep ( I'm in the middle of my exams) hope all goes well!!

• Registered Users Posts: 24 xiongnu

Can anyone give me a timeline of getting their braces on? As in the time from initial consultation to getting the braces on?
    I'm afraid they will want to take out my wisdom teeth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

xiongnu wrote: »
    Can anyone give me a timeline of getting their braces on? As in the time from initial consultation to getting the braces on?
    I'm afraid they will want to take out my wisdom teeth

I waited only a week or two between consultation and getting them on, but I'd had my wisdom teeth out already. I

f they need to come out at some point, wouldn't it be better to have them out before you start the braces rather that in the middle of treatment? Or even afterwards, just in case that has an effect on the shape of your teeth?

Goos luck with removals girls, feeling a little jealous! But hey i have only another 22months to go=-O
    Karsini give us an update how you get on as well. I am not back for app till end mabur i am noticing a little movement on bottom which is great :-)

Got my wire changed today. They put the wire across all of my teeth at the top; up to now the very back molars had brackets that weren't attached. Certainly feels like a thicker wire.

Also he said he's not 100% certain about whether I can get the bottom brace on the next time. Depends on what happens between now and then.

One week and counting...

So they are finally off... Delighted. Not the nicest experience getting them off (doesn't hurt, just lots of pressure) .
    I've attached photo of the day I got them on- i had to get a lower tooth removed, and a photo of when I got them off.
    Had to go back up today to collect my retainers, which I will have to wear at night.
    He also fitted two small fixed bars to the back of my top and bottom teeth, not noticeable at all, but i can feel them, it's like a mini brace on back of teeth.

This is photo with braces off

They look great!

Mine didn't come off, he wasn't 100% happy with the contact between my lower canine and pre molar.

Have to wait another month! Boo

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭applesock

wow teeth look great Dublingirl :D did it take them long to take them off?

Oh LottieP25 nearly there :D I'm hoping to be advised of an end date at the end of this month, fingers crossed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

This is photo with braces off

Your orthodontist did a great job closing down those lower incisors. Well wear.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Hide behind the post

Coming along nicely.... 5 months in....months breezing by....really really want to bit into an apple though!!!! Ligature ties went on back so back in tomorrow to fix that up....couple more months to go.

Will actually miss them....they have taken years off me ;-)

I ate an apple the other day... Not a pretty sight !

Uh oh, what happened? :eek:

I was at my dentist last Thursday and had my 2extractions on top so that's me finished with removals...I have had 4 out now. They have healed quiet well so far but teeth feeling very sensitive. It feels really weird trying to eat now as I have a lot of gaps!! I see my ortho wed28 , then have both upper and lower rewired and maybe the dreaded tads in :-( . I haven't asked is he going to do them this time...ignorance is bliss! Oh and I haven't dared eat an apple, wouldn't even chance it cut up at the moment!

Uh oh, what happened? :eek:

Just think there was more apple stuck in my braces than I managed to eat!

Funkey monkey..... Dud you get them off? Hope all went well for ya.

Yes - they are out. It looks a lot better now they are out and I can see all the teeth in full. I would have like the arches to be a bit wider, but that could not have been done.

I'll try to put up a photo later.

Overall happy - just need to decide if I do anything about the short upper lip...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

I'm only 7-8 months in (got the uppers on a month earlier than the lowers) and was given elastics yesterday. I've to wear them along my bottom teeth 24-7, and along my top 6 front teeth at night time only. One or two small gaps have appeared along the bottom, so that's why I'm wearing the bottom elastics more (I'm delighted about this tbh, as it was suggested at the beginning of treatment that I might need one extraction at the bottom. Dodged that bullet!).

There's still a little bit of movement to go along the top teeth, so I'd be very surprised if I was a few short months away from getting the braces off.

Is there a general rule about when elastics are introduced into treatment? I always thought it would be towards the end, but perhaps it's more individual than that?

applesock wrote: »
    wow teeth look great Dublingirl :D did it take them long to take them off?

Oh LottieP25 nearly there :D I'm hoping to be advised of an end date at the end of this month, fingers crossed

i had an appointment for a hour long- but they were off in about ten mins.
    more time was spent cleaning them up, getting my fixed retainers fitted and making moulds for my night time retainers

jokettle wrote: »
    I'm only 7-8 months in (got the uppers on a month earlier than the lowers) and was given elastics yesterday. I've to wear them along my bottom teeth 24-7, and along my top 6 front teeth at night time only. One or two small gaps have appeared along the bottom, so that's why I'm wearing the bottom elastics more (I'm delighted about this tbh, as it was suggested at the beginning of treatment that I might need one extraction at the bottom. Dodged that bullet!).

There's still a little bit of movement to go along the top teeth, so I'd be very surprised if I was a few short months away from getting the braces off.

Is there a general rule about when elastics are introduced into treatment? I always thought it would be towards the end, but perhaps it's more individual than that?

not sure, id say its totally individual...i had mine on for the last 9 months

Did any of you have problems with sensitivity with braces on?

Since yesterday evening, I'm getting a sharp pain above one of my front teeth if I eat or drink anything cold. Even water out of the tap does it! It quickly eases if I warm the area up. I might have to see my dentist or orthodontist about this if it keeps up.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Hide behind the post

Did any of you have problems with sensitivity with braces on?

Since yesterday evening, I'm getting a sharp pain above one of my front teeth if I eat or drink anything cold. Even water out of the tap does it! It quickly eases if I warm the area up. I might have to see my dentist or orthodontist about this if it keeps up.

Defo check with ortho/dentist...but in the interim switch to sensodyne toothpaste (Repair and Protect is good) will keep sensitivity at bay somewhat.

I can still feel it today so I don't think it's going anywhere, will have to see my dentist next week. I was due an appointment anyway but had intended to wait until the end of the month for work reasons.

I'm having one of those "I hate my braces" times anyway, today I noticed that I had a piece of floss stuck in my wire at the back.