Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Online Dating Thread Part II **Mod Warning** Read First Post/or Post 7389

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Have dipped in and out of this thread in the past but aim to make a bit more of a concrete attempt at it this time. Reactivated my OKC account with great intentions

In the past I had very limited success on this (I think I got two dates out of it) but this time round aim to be a bit more proactive in mailing people and just take things as they come and see how it goes and hopefully keep up to date reading this thread (even if it does move 90mph at times:D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

Messages I got yesterday on PoF:

1. You up for da roide?
    2. hi chocolate im like chocolate to i go straight for ur ass
    3. Do you want zee ride?
    4. If you like white penis I am yer man

It just keeps getting better and better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

Well see the thing is, it wouldn't be such a strange question if he wasn't white himself?!
    Maybe I lead a sheltered life! :)

Yeah, it's that sheltered life. You're definitely the crazy one. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭leftofcentre

Hi folks, I have just came across this thread.

I was single myself and was so disappointed with the standard of online dating sites that I setup my own: www.sparkdating.ie

Now before you all jump on me for plugging my site note that is it non-profit. I re-launched it this week with all money going to charity. I do not make any money from the site at all (in fact it costs me quite a bit of cash to run it), there is also no ads on the site.

There are no monthly costs. It is also free to register, read and reply to messages. To be able to send messages you need to activate your account. Activation helps us keep out the spammers and other trouble makers.

To activate your account all we ask is that you make a one off donation of at least £20/€20 to a charity of your choice. Once this is done there are no other charges, no monthly fees or any other costs. 100% of your money goes straight to the charity. It does not go through us, so we do not take any cut at all.

What the catch?
    None. I met my wife on the site and decided it was time to give something back. People can be rightly suspicious of dating sites, so I hoping my site is seen as more honest and trustworthy. Without you all reaching for the sickbags I do get a buzz out of it when people meet through the site.

Anyway the main reason I was posting is to say I am happy to answer any questions about online dating you may have. I have been doing this for years so I know a thing of two about the market. Also as I said above I don't make any cash from it you can be assured of honest answers :cool:

Brian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Is this hard work or what? :(

Because I'm older..

It doesn't mean that I want to shag ANY male that is 20-25...even if you are drop dead gorgeous!

The amount of sheer wierdness is scary..

Onwards and upwards.. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

foxinsox wrote: »

Because I'm older..

It doesn't mean that I want to shag ANY male that is 20-25...even if you are drop dead gorgeous!

Its your own fault for signing up for one of those cougar dating websites.

Those exist?

Off to Google!

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Those exist?

Off to Google!

Do you never see the ads on POF??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

Larianne wrote: »

Other people see those ads? I thought it was just me those busty cougars wanted to persue, damn you lying ads *shakes fist*

Larianne wrote: »

Nope.

<3 AdBlock on Chrome.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Because I'm older..

Quit moaning and drop them knickers. Fussy r wat haaa

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Other people see those ads? I thought it was just me those busty cougars wanted to persue, damn you lying ads *shakes fist*

So, rich Russian women don't admire me from afar?

I'm crushed :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

eternal wrote: »
    Quit moaning and drop them knickers. Fussy r wat haaa

I dont think comments like the above are helpful or in the spirit of the thread so dont post like this again please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Had a date on Friday evening. Turns out her pic was a little old :rolleyes:

Hate when that happens.....

In other news, finally got talking to a really cute girl in work after months of eyeing each other up :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭kingtut

So second date went well .... our next date is tomorrow (Tuesday) :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,078 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

kingtut wrote: »
    So second date went well .... our next date is tomorrow (Tuesday) :D

And I have a second date on wednesday - go us! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭kingtut

Dovies wrote: »
    And I have a second date on wednesday - go us! :D

high five! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭finipops

KTRIC wrote: »
    Had a date on Friday evening. Turns out her pic was a little old :rolleyes:

Hate when that happens.....

In other news, finally got talking to a really cute girl in work after months of eyeing each other up :D
    How recent should the pictures be? I'll set up my POF account again but i'll wait till after valentines day.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

finipops wrote: »
    How recent should the pictures be? I'll set up my POF account again but i'll wait till after valentines day.:p

I dunno, my own one is a year old and I'm a little heavier in it. So I figure when someone meets me its going to be in my favour.

But posting a pic thats maybe 4 or 5 years old is pushing it. Especially for people in their 30's when those couple of years make a big difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,078 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

KTRIC wrote: »
    I dunno, my own one is a year old and I'm a little heavier in it. So I figure when someone meets me its going to be in my favour.

But posting a pic thats maybe 4 or 5 years old is pushing it. Especially for people in their 30's when those couple of years make a big difference.

I only have 2 up and they are both less than a year old

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭Ammsy500

Had the best first date ever last night : ) had to cancel on him twice thank god I didn't cancel a third time!

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Go TEAM!! :D

I've a date on Tuesday then another on Wednesday. Hm.

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭timewilltell

Date on Thursday, literally just mailed and asked, and he lives near me!

:cool:

Date on Thursday, literally just mailed and asked, and he lives near me!

:cool:

Fair play!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

I've a date on Tuesday then another on Wednesday. Hm.

Slut.

*This message was brought to you by the emotion Jealously. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭den87

Set up POF again out of pure boredom, any ladies interested in having a look at it for me??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

date number 3/4 (i've lost track) is just ended... nearly 48 hours later :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Aw.. I'm so jealous of ye all..

With all your fancy dates and stuff :p

I'm only back online a few days so working on getting some dates lined up.

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭missbelle

Aw.. I'm so jealous of ye all..

With all your fancy dates and stuff :p

Me too :p Foxy let's keep the faith!! :D

I just got a message off a guy that I think used to work in the same company as me (well different offices!) don't think he recognises me :o