Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

Where the wheels included?

All 4 plus a spare :)

100th post :cool:

Stheno wrote: »
    There is a crowd in Trim who are great with exhausts, pm if you want theangir details

The local Mustang club here had a display last night!

tbh, ill probably fix it myself but thanks for the offer :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

cgal093 wrote: »
    All 4 plus a spare :)

That was supposed to be a joke. :o

But best of luck with the polo. what is it a 6n? :)

That was supposed to be a joke. :o

But best of luck with the polo. what is it a 6n? :)

lol, so was my reply :o

its a 6n alright, 3 door too :cool: i was thinking about keeping ot for myself and not selling it on...And thanks :)

lol, so was my reply :o

its a 6n alright, 3 door too :cool: i was thinking about keeping ot for myself and not selling it on...And thanks :)

Oh dear. :o

Ah right, good stuff. "IF" you want to mod it. The 6n looks class dubed.

http://blog.vw-society-rostock.de/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/DSC_2666copy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Gahhhhh I hate when people drive behind me with their fookin' full beams on.... Seriously like, the height of ignorance...:mad:

/rant over/

dar83 wrote: »
    Where did it all go wrong?!?

:P

.... the gen 7 as far as I'm concerned ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

166man wrote: »
    Gahhhhh I hate when people drive behind me with their fookin' full beams on.... Seriously like, the height of ignorance...:mad:

/rant over/

Have to agree, so frustrating....
    Some people eh??!

So any news on a motors meet or a dublin/leinster meet?!

Autodip rear view mirror ftw :cool:

RoverJames wrote: »
    Autodip rear view mirror ftw :cool:

And I feel deadly with electric mirrors in my Polo :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

gollywog wrote: »

Meet in the Shamrock Rovers stadium.
    Good access, loads of space, free parking... And it's around the corner from my place. :p

Yeah I'd be up for one soon if the weather would sort it's sh1t out...

@cian, where abouts is that man? If it suits id be happy with that!

@166man, ya same, absolutely mad to go to one.
    Surely there be enough interest for a small one around Dublin?

CianRyan wrote: »
    Good access, loads of space, free parking... And it's around the corner from my place. :p

yeah, id be up for a dublin meet if it wasn't too far from me

Any dublin based mod wanna take the reigns on this? :)

You from Tallaght?
    I'm in Old Bawn, literally about a 3 minute cycle from the stadium.
    Grand spot for spins too, it's on the N81 so natually the N80 and Blesssington lakes are right there. Coffee shop always open in the stadium shop too I think.

So apart from me being awkward, it is a handy, quiet spot. :)

What's wrong with Rovers?
    The stadiums deadly anyway. :D

What's wrong with Rovers?
    The stadiums deadly anyway. :D

Oh, I'm a rovers fan, a Sligo rovers fan. :p

But the shamrock rovers and sligo rovers. just don't get along. :D

You from Tallaght?
    I'm in Old Bawn, literally about a 3 minute cycle from the stadium.
    Grand spot for spins too, it's on the N81 so natually the N80 and Blesssington lakes are right there. Coffee shop always open in the stadium shop too I think.

So apart from me being awkward, it is a handy, quiet spot. :)

No I'm from gorey man.
    Tallaght would be dead handy for me anyway.
    And sure sounds like a good spot so, hopefully it can be organised :)

Yeah, I wouldn't mind a trip to Tallaght. Would be nice to see some nice metal and get to know some members..

Yup, my main interest would be finally meeting some of the guys that help me so often lol :D

Oh forgot to mention, when I was down in Cavan I dropped into some relatives. They've got a 2007 Peugeot 407 1.8 petrol sitting in the garden about a year now. It was my cousins but hes working in Australia. Its taxed until December and NCTed until January. Any ideas what its worth?

@Gollywog Yeah sure I've seen you say that alright. Slipped my mind.

I'm the same, I'd just like to put faces to names and have a look at some of the cars. :)
    Be no chance of getting my yoke around though, bloody tax and insurance laws. :/

I'm the same, I'd just like to put faces to names and have a look at some of the cars. :)
    Be no chance of getting my yoke around though, bloody tax and insurance laws. :/

Same :(

Exactly.
    Are you not on the road cian?

Exactly.

I've accompanied driver cover on both of my parents cars.
    I just drive everywhere when I'm with them but don't get the luxury of actually getting to use the cars for myself. :/
    They're going away in September though and I've a feeling my Dad may just throw me his keys for the three weeks. Fingers crossed! :D

Really though, 'till I've a new job I won't really be able to get mine on the road. :(

Shouldn't be too difficult to get 10 or 15 people around from Dublin for a chat in some car-park some day. I'd like to get to one before college and all that jazz kicks in. End of August maybe mods? We'll be on our bestest behaviour, we pwomise...:pac:

Exactly.

I've accompanied driver cover on both of my parents cars.
    I just drive everywhere when I'm with them but don't get the luxury of actually getting to use the cars for myself. :/
    They're going away in September though and I've a feeling my Dad may just throw me his keys for the three weeks. Fingers crossed! :D

Really though, 'till I've a new job I won't really be able to get mine on the road. :(

Ah yes I see.
    That must be a little frustrating but hey, it's better than nothing right? :)

Shouldn't be too difficult to get 10 or 15 people around from Dublin for a chat in some car-park some day. I'd like to get to one before college and all that jazz kicks in. End of August maybe mods? We'll be on our bestest behaviour, we pwomise...:pac:

That's all we'd have to do!
    Liffey valley comes to mind?
    I could pick cian up or anyone that needs a spin etc.

Ah yes I see.
    That must be a little frustrating but hey, it's better than driving a pink car right? :)

fyp :p

I'm gonna try and sort some tax and insurance on one of the beasts I have outside. Hopefully before this meet but I doubt it'll happen anytime soon :(

Ah yes I see.
    That must be a little frustrating but hey, it's better than driving a pink car right? :)

fyp :p

Haw haw bloody haw! :D
    Bonnet has stone chips so will be getting it resprayed sometime in the not so distant future, but sure may get the whole shaggin car done so lol!

Ah yes I see.

Yeah that's it, at least I get to drive.
    Even if it is just local runs and the odd bit of dual carriage way. :o

I'd be happy with Liffy Valley too as long as I've a lift (Thank you!) only that car park can be dodgy.
    Don't mean to offend anyone from around there but it's right by Neilstown and I'e heard of a lot of break ins around the shopping center.

I'd be happy with Liffy Valley too as long as I've a lift (Thank you!) only that car park can be dodgy.
    Don't mean to offend anyone from around there but it's right by Neilstown and I'e heard of a lot of break ins around the shopping center.

At least its not Coolock. I hate this fecking kip..

Ah yes I see.

No bother, ill collect you no problem if this happens. Is it that bad out there? I'd no fcuk all bout dublin tbh... It's gone pretty dodgy in certain areas down here too these days

At least its not Coolock. I hate this fecking kip..

You've never been to Neilstown, have you? :D

My sister's a social worker, she's been to some of the worst places in Dublin with her job and at the moment she's working in Neilstown, she said it tops anywhere else she's had to work.
    Not only it is rough but she find it utterly depressing.

Again, I don't mean to offend.
    Slag Tallaght all you want, I know most of it's true! :)

No bother, ill collect you no problem if this happens. Is it that bad out there? I'd no fcuk all bout dublin tbh... It's gone pretty dodgy in certain areas down here too these days
    Very sound, man. :)

Well it wouldn't be the worst but it wouldn't be the best either.
    The car park is MASSIVE so it's got that as a plus but apart from the main center and a few garages there's not an awful lot around.

Other than that, there's Blanch or Dundrum but AFAIK it's all paid parking in Dundrum, unless some one local knows a better spot than the town center.

Is it safe to start a thread for this or should we seek mod approval?

Bonnet has stone chips so will be getting it resprayed sometime in the not so distant future, but sure may get the whole shaggin car done so lol!

Jaysus lads Liffey Valley is a fair old trek anyway for myself. Anywhere a bit more central? How about that big carpark they use for the Cars and Coffee meet in Cherrywood? Although somewhere up in Tallaght wouldn't be too bad either...

As I said, anywhere will do me, I don't know dublin very well so can't really make any informed suggestions!

I just wanna meet at wherever is closest to Coolock because I doubt Ill have any test or tax on my car...

@cian,
    I'd say be best wait til a mod sees it and see what they say? Hopefully it will be no bother anyway!

Not sure what Cherrywood is like as it's the other side of the the country from me but I think it's meant to be quiet enough anyway.
    Bit in the middle of nowhere from what I know but central as far as motorways are concerned.

@Cgal, I know what you mean. This is why I haven't made it to any meets.

Would the Phoenix park be any use?
    Parking can be a bit mad I guess but on a week day (if people are free) it could be alright.

Not sure what Cherrywood is like as it's the other side of the the country from me but I think it's meant to be quiet enough anyway.
    Bit in the middle of nowhere from what I know but central as far as motorways are concerned.

Parking can be a bit mad I guess but on a week day (if people are free) it could be alright.

Be easier for me close to the m50,if not id be in unknown territory lol! :)

Can't remember the last time I've been to Phoenix park. Is there a big car park or something?

Ah yeah, I guess.
    The park's big enough though, not a hard one to find. :D

Sure the simpler we keep it the better. We can have a poll when a mod gives approval.

Again, I don't mean to offend.
    Slag Tallaght all you want, I know most of it's true! :)

In fairness most of it wouldn't be true, I lived in Clondalkin for a couple of years and the vast majority of there and Tallaght is absolutely fine. They're both fairly big areas so you're bound to have little troublesome pockets.

Can't remember the last time I've been to Phoenix park. Is there a big car park or something?

There's a good sized one up at the papal cross, I think DTD have had meets in there before.
    Does make for a nicer back drop than a shopping center or the likes. Haha

RoverJames wrote: »
    In fairness most of it wouldn't be true, I lived in Clondalkin for a couple of years and the vast majority of there and Tallaght is absolutely fine. They're both fairly big areas so you're bound to have little troublesome pockets.

Don't get me wrong now, there are loads of lovely parts of Clondalkin and Tallaght but to say that Neilstown or Jobstown are nice would be a bit of a step.

The times I've been in clondalkin it seemed pretty nice! Never been to Tallaght, unless you count courtown! :L