Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Today the plan called for a bit of a session, 5/4/3 miles at easy/steady/pmp.

I knew yesterday that I wouldn't have time to get this done this morning and I was travelling to Dublin in the afternoon, hate running any type of session in the dark as I'm so short sighted I find I expend to much effort watching my foot placement and can never seem to hit the planned pace.

Away again tomorrow so I couldn't really afford to miss this session and I didn't know of any decent well light route to do this on. Double D, Duannington very kindly agreed to be my escort on this and I waited like a hooker in a high viz vest outside Pearce Station for him.

Traffic was a bit mad and I was all over the place trying to avoid cars, bikes and pedestrians, DD told me to think of them as big sheep and cows and I was grand after that :) We headed out on the seafront to Clontarf for the easy miles and had a great chat and before I knew it we had done the 5 easy. I think we passed Yaboya but he seemed to be in the zone and glided by us in the opposite direction. Was enjoying the run at this stage and the pace was dipping below my steady pace. DD is in savage nick and he's gonna have some spectacular race results in the coming months. A train crossing meant we had to double back a bit and resulted in us doing an extra steady mile. We headed back onto the seafront pathway and what wind there was was slightly against us, we also had to contend with some lunatic who looked like he wanted to fight us and actually lashed out at DD! Truth be told the pace at this stage wasn't as easy as I thought it should be and I was starting to struggle. DD was continuing to chat away without any bother whereas I was conversing like a lad you'd see in the chipper on a Saturday night, after a dozen pints and with half a burger in his mouth and the other half on his shirt.
    Told DD to push on for the last bit and he effortlessly flew ahead.

Finished with 2.5 miles warm down to bring the total to 15.5 miles.

Thanks for the hospitality DD you're a gent and I wouldn't have got the session done without you.

Splits for steady/PMP:

TbL

Nice session. I was out that way myself on a recovery slog early yesterday evening but before you ask it wasn't me that lashed out. If you ever stuck for company for a run on DNS drop me a PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

A train crossing meant we had to double back a bit and resulted in us doing an extra steady mile.

Where is the train crossing on the coast road ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

PaulieC wrote: »
    Where is the train crossing on the coast road ?

Must be out in Sutton??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

pistol_75 wrote: »
    Must be out in Sutton??

Not Sutton Pistol, it was the one before that begins with a "B", we originally were gonna do a loop around and turned off the coast road but coz I couldn't see properly we turned back the way we came and got stuck at the level crossing.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Not Sutton Pistol, it was the one before that begins with a "B", we originally were gonna do a loop around and turned off the coast road but coz I couldn't see properly we turned back the way we came and got stuck at the level crossing.

TbL

Baldoyle

Today the plan called for 4/9 miles easy am/pm.

Given that I'm in Athens today this was never gonna happen. Arrived at 6pm local time and got a taxi to my hotel, staying in a decent place with views of the Acropolis. Taxi driver on the way in wanted to talk politics and when he heard that I was from Ireland he started ranting about the Euro and it been bad for small countries. I was in grumpier form than usual and didn't want to engage in taxi small talk, traffic was bad and he wouldn't shut up. When I offered to pay in Drachmas at the hotel he gave me a filty scornful look that suggested I was an Angela Merkel flunky!

It freezing cold over here they even had a few snow showers this morning so I was grateful that I'd packed a base layer and a hat. Decided to head out and do tomorrow's 4 mile nursing home special. My bogger compas is terrible and I got hopelessly lost, the 3G wasn't coming up on the e phone and Google maps was ****e, had to do it the old fashioned way and ask for directions!

Paths are in crap condition and the going was very slow and the place seems chaotic but in a cool way and despite getting lost I enjoyed the ramble. Hopefully I'll find a better area for the 9 miler tomorrow.

Got 6.87 miles in very very slow.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Saving the Greeks now, are you? :)

Reminds me of the time I got lost in Rome and came across a huge street map sign that had everything on it except the "You Are Here" bit...

Given I had switched yesterday's and today's runs around, the plan today called for 9/4 easy miles am/pm.

Only had a short enough window to get this done and I asked the hotel to suggest a route and was directed to a running track!! Headed up around the old Olympic stadium, the temple of Zeus, the House of Parliament and got in a few laps of a small park and came across some young soldiers been marched around a square while been bollocked by the drill sergeant. It was nice and sunny but very chilly and when I eventually stumbled upon the track it was locked and the grass in the centre was covered in snow! Again the run was very stop/starty but very enjoyable with lots of people milling about well wrapped up against the cold. Only got 7.53 miles in again very slow. Had a couple of meetings and everyone is talking about the euro crisis, most people here seem to support the new government but one auld lad said the only thing the new government didn't promise during the election was to "dig the graveyards and undead the dead" :)

Was brought out to a seafood restaurant near Pireaus harbour with very nice views. My host said he knew all the best dishes and would order for me, felt I couldn't refuse but I should have. The first course was sea urchin and 'twas bringing bile up to my throat and I started getting the sweats. Everyone else was lashing into it but I was trying to eat it with bread and eventually had to push it away much to the disappointment of my host. Next up was baby squid in pesto with parmasean flakes and a tomatoe compote, quickly followed by prawns in some gunk with feta cheese crumble and cherry tomatoes. Main course was a grilled white fish that was ok.

Felt a little queasy after the meal and the stomach was revolting so I decided to can the evening run before reconsidering and heading to the treadmill determined to stop if I started feeling any worse. Didn't feel too bad but only managed 4 miles at varying paces.

Total for the day 11.5

Have 9 miles steady planned for tomorrow but as I'm flying back I might struggle to get this done.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭pgmcpq

Was brought out to a seafood restaurant near Pireaus harbour with very nice views. My host said he knew all the best dishes and would order for me, felt I couldn't refuse but I should have. The first course was sea urchin and 'twas bringing bile up to my throat and I started getting the sweats. Everyone else was lashing into it but I was trying to eat it with bread and eventually had to push it away much to the disappointment of my host. Next up was baby squid in pesto with parmasean flakes and a tomatoe compote, quickly followed by prawns in some gunk with feta cheese crumble and cherry tomatoes. Main course was a grilled white fish that was ok

I read this last entry without reading the earlier and once I got to the food it's "Ahhhhhhh - Greece". Brings back memories of a meal near the harbour in Athens years ago. "Bring back" being the key words here.

Today the plan called for 9 miles steady.

Got very little sleep last night and I travelled back from Athens this morning.

Got into Dublin via London just after lunch time and was feeling pretty shattered.

I knew I still had a few hours work to do when I got back to Galway and the thought of running after a few hours driving wasn't appealing at all. Low on motivation I had an ingenious thought, I'd ring the RAH, [runners assistance helpline]. Got through to Meno but he didn't want to come out to play (didn't was to show his hand too early for the Bohermeen smack down) said he was down the country at some high altitude training camp :)

The RAH operator eventually managed to put me through to FBOT, and fair play to the Samaritan, he said he'd be ready to run in 20 mins. ( now that's the kind of date I like, keen, eager and punctual!). Drove from the airport and we hooked up at Clontarf Castle, great to see the man in the flesh and he even wore his Connemara marathon shirt to make me feel at home.

Like DD he looks like a proper runner, and after a quick chat we got going at a decent clip. Said my steady pace was (max) 7.20 but we were soon hitting closer to 7's and had to pull it back a bit. Similar route as the last night with DD, straight out the coast and back. It's a great facility to have and it was a beautiful day out there, bit of a wind on the way back but nothing that would lessen the enjoyment of the run. I've said it before but running with someone makes a session miles easier and the miles ticked by easily and fairly comfortably as we chatted away. Amoung many topics we talked about FBOTs close encounter of the sub 3 kind in Berlin, and I told him that he really exhibited a positive approach to the experience, if it was me I'd still be crying like Jimmy Swaggert after been caught with the hooker :)

Tnx M for stepping into the breech with so little notice, really appreciate it. That's two DNS Boardsies that have rescued my runs this week, but at least on this run there was no psycho on the path swinging punches!

Best of luck in Ballycotton M, I'm sure you pick up one of those coveted t shirts you've improved massively over the last few months.

Ps. Ferris you're dead right He does talk a LOT when he's running :)

Splits:

Nice to finally meet you yesterday. Apologies about the ear ache, the RAH obviously forgot the mention that bit:D

I don't know what kind of shape Meno is in but you were cruising yesterday and I can see you giving a good account of yourself in Bohermeen (if the coach lets you). As Duanington said earlier in the week you are sandbagging big time on that log of yours;)

Finally in my defence when I ask you at the start what pace you were planning you said 7:20 it was only with half a mile to go that you throw in the fact that 7:20 was the lower limits given by your coach. Next time I will be texting him for pacing instruction before we start:D

Keep up the good work....

Plan today called for 9/4 miles easy am/pm.

Given that I didn't get back till after 9pm last night and I'm heading off for 10 days tomorrow at lunch time, I didn't want to be taking the piss with Mrs TbL so decided I'd only run once today.

By the time I eventually out at 8, I was in no mood for this, I think I'm becoming a bit soft and am starting to need company on my runs :)

I felt like an auld arthritic dog with early stage hernia issues! I hated every mile of this (FBOT ran me ragged yesterday) and canned it after 4 miles.

Bit disappointed as I'll definitely have a few days of no running next week.

Anyone want to come down from Dublin and join me for an attempt on 16 miles steady tomorrow morning :)

TbL

Today the plan called for 16 miles steady.

Was reluctantly up early this morning to get this done. Could hear the wind howling and the rain lashing down from the comfort of my bed!

The weather app said the wind was 37kph.

Was really miserable weather and I got soaked just waiting for the garmin to spark. I ran this from the house down past Rossaveal and on towards Tully Cross. There are a couple of inclines but nothing too drastic although the last 3 miles are probably the worst. Felt mainly ok on this and was happy enough to be able to pick it up again slightly for the ladies mile after two tough enough miles at 14 & 15. The head wind also appeared to stiffen on the way back.

Ended up with a 7.20 average which is 4 seconds quicker than the 15 steady I ran on the same route two weeks ago in less challenging weather conditions.

This time last year that was around my marathon pb pace!

Got back in the door and Mrs TbL handed me the Irish breakfast to beat all breakfasts :)

Only got in about 64 miles this week but 33 of them were at steady pace or better.

Splits:

TbL

FairPlay, C, that was a nice solid run to wrap up the week particularly if the weather was anything like it was up here today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Just back from my high altitude training camp :rolleyes: :pac: Nice to see you got sorted out on Friday :)

Today the plan called for a 4 mile nursing home special.

I travelled to Heathrow last night and I'm staying at Wentworth Golf Club, I hate golf and I'd be just as happy in a caravan beside a pitch and putt course! They take their golf very very seriously here and I should have packed a pair of plus fours if I wanted to fit in! Every corner of the place is covered in golfing memorabilia. Was at early morning meeting so didn't get out to see if I could run around the estate, I'd probably be shot by the green keeper :)

Got just over 3 miles done (I was tight for time) in the clubhouse gym this evening. Here again tonight and I've a long haul flight tomorrow so I'm hoping to get some class of a run in tomorrow morning.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

I travelled to Heathrow last night and I'm staying at Wentworth Golf Club, I hate golf and I'd be just as happy in a caravan beside a pitch and putt course! They take their golf very very seriously here and I should have packed a pair of plus fours if I wanted to fit in! Every corner of the place is covered in golfing memorabilia. Was at early morning meeting so didn't get out to see if I could run around the estate, I'd probably be shot by the green keeper :)

Got just over 3 miles done (I was tight for time) in the clubhouse gym this evening. Here again tonight and I've a long haul flight tomorrow so I'm hoping to get some class of a run in tomorrow morning.

TbL

Good aul Seve :-(

TbL

I have an offer of "run" there over the summer and will be packing the plus fours to make sure I fit in:)

The plan called for a session today, but with an early morning start at work and given that I'm on a long haul later, this was never gonna happen and I'll have to try and squeeze it in later in the week.

Was inbetween two minds whether or not to take a rest day but as I'm gonna struggle to get running this week I decided to get out of the bed and get a few miles easy done.

Stumbled by complete chance on a fantastic area for running, Victoria Water Park, beautifully scenic park and lake in a woodland setting. Really was stunning and I've no idea of the size but it looked impressive. Only pity was that I didn't have more time to get some extra miles in.

5 miles easy

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

We should make a game of this - where in the world is tBL ? You could describe where you are and we'd guess. Winner gets a running date with you on your return.
    I've already sold the format to rte

I arrived in Tenochtitlan early this morning local time. It's a city of over 20 million inhabitants and 2200 metres above sea level. The sheer size and sprawl of this place is incredible and the traffic is ballobas, I usually don't mind driving when abroad but not a chance in hell here.
    Had meetings all day and the temperature got up to 26/27• this afternoon. I was in a suit and was sweating like a cynophobe at Crufts :) When you're been introduced at the start of meetings here the men pull you into an embrace while shaking your hand and kissing you on one cheek, I nearly boxed the first lad that did it but I'm kinda getting to like it now :)

Didn't even look at what the plan called for as I knew that given the jet lag the best I could hope for was a couple of easy miles. I'm hoping to get some quality in towards the back end of the week. This place once had the notoriety of been the murder capital of the world and I wasn't sure I'd be able to run outside safely after dark. Luckily enough I'm staying near Chapultepec Park that is supposed to be a safe place for runners. The park is a haven in the centre of chaos and its twice the size of Central Park in New York, it a bit surreal running through wooded parkland with a cacophony of traffic bedlam as a backdrop.

Got 5 miles easy done. Hopefully I'll get some class of a double done tomorrow

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Where d fock is dat....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

ultraman1 wrote: »
    Where d fock is dat....

Mexico - was curious so looked it up :)

Guess we should have checked your travel plans before betting on Bohermeen :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Tbl's running dates better watch out from now on if he's gonna start greeting them the Mexican way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Ososlo wrote: »
    Tbl's running dates better watch out from now on if he's gonna start greeting them the Mexican way!

He might get more take-up on his offers ;)

kit3 wrote: »
    Mexico -)
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=rb-ZEBBKolc
    is dis Wat u do

ultraman1 wrote: »

"Anyone who gets in my way I kill them" - watch out on Sunday Meno !

kit3 wrote: »
    Guess we should have checked your travel plans before betting on Bohermeen :rolleyes:

Yes, you should be factoring in the warm weather altitude training camp alright:pac::pac:

Again today I didn't bother looking at the plan, but I did want to do my best to get at least 10 miles done and some quality as well if possible.

Body clock had me awake before 6am and after failing to get back to sleep I decided to get the gear on and hit Chapultepec park again. There is a castle in a section of the park that I wanted to get up to but that section of the park was closed so I continued over to the next section. Came upon a section know as Sope (I was told it means a tortilla covered in beans and cheese), this was a dedicated running track of compact red grit. It was really cool, two different running paths both marked every hundred metres, the smaller path was 850m and the longer one about 1800m. It was packed with runners of every different size shape and ability. There was a clock over the starting area that showed the time to the nearest second and there was a sign that sectioned parts of the path to Corredores, Caminadores and one for Meno, Trotadores :)

The whole area was immaculate with numerous groundskeepers
    raking the track and I even passed a water sprinkling machine that was pouring water onto the track to keep the dust down I assume. There was also an area beside the start that had exercise machines, the whole set up was fantastic. Did a couple of laps before heading back out into the snarling traffic that was circling the park like Indians around the pilgrims wagons! You really need to be careful crossing the street here as it's a manic free for all. Got 12.38km done very easy.

Had another gastronomically challenging lunch that went on for 3 hours! Octopus, marlin, a Peruvian white fish in lemon and Chapulines (fried crickets ffs!!!) Made sure I took my time eating the piece of beef I got :) Kept putting off the evening run as I felt completely bloated but eventually got out and headed back to the Sope, it open from 5am to midnight and is lit up after dark.

Passed dozens of police vehicles and hundreds of policemen with riot shields on the way to the park, I heard that there was a demonstration a short distance away and they were there in case of trouble. Joan Burton wouldn't have been trapped in her car for long if there were a couple of those lads around.

Decided I'd try to do 6 laps of the Sope (850m) at 6.30 pace, with 60/90 seconds recovery. It was pretty crowded with runners and one section of about 100 metres was dark as the lights were off. Found this tough going and I couldn't hit anywhere near 6.30 pace, last two laps were a slog and I don't know if I was mentally wimping out but I started to think I was getting light headed. Did the 6 in 3.35, 3.38, 3.33, 3.30, 3.40 & 3.36. Got 9.5k in total in and just under 22k for the day.

When I first heard that I was coming here I was pissed off coz I didn't think I'd get any running done but I'm happy enough that even though the mileage and quality is low at least I got out every day. I'd actually prefer to stay here but I'm heading to a more touristy area tomorrow for a couple of days. I need to get at least 35 miles in over the next 3 days.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Fast becoming my go-to log :) (there's running in it too??!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

That park looks class.
    I have actually been in Mexico City twice in my non running days but I remember struggling with the lack of oxygen. i wouldn't worry about paces too much as effort will be much greater at any pace due to the altitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

I don't even read your log anymore TbL - I just look at the pictures :D

I flew into Cancun today and the first thing I noticed when I got off the plane was the blast of heat and humidity, it was 28* (but with a "feels like" temperature in the 30's) and humidity of 80%. Had a couple of meetings scheduled for today and it was very sticky once you came out from the air conditioning.

Have a nice hotel right on the beach and am hoping I get to avail of it tomorrow.

I continued my trend of eating like a native so I had a big American burger :) Place is a bit mental as it's the start of Spring Break.

Plan today called for 9 miles steady and I was determined to try and get it done, especially as I didn't have an altitude excuse here. There is a red walking/cycling path outside the hotel and I set off on it just after 6pm local time. I was sweating heavily from the off and spray was flicking off my arms as I ran. Covered the first mile in 7.29, the second in 7.09. At this stage I was already fcuked and drenched with sweat, I could hear my shoes squelching, mile 3 was done in 7.15 and my head was starting to feel like boil in the bag rice, got to mile 4 in 7.26 but I had to stop for a couple of minutes to compose myself. Started again but the head was dropping, a poor mile 5 in 7.43 brought me to a walk and I continued to walk jog the next 3 miles.

This week has been a bit of a disaster and there's no way in hell I could do a long run in those conditions. I'm disheartened and disillusioned and a sub 3 marathon has never seemed so far away! I'm gonna write off the rest of the week and join the kids at Spring Break.

TbL

I flew into Cancun today and the first thing I noticed when I got off the plane was the blast of heat and humidity, it was 28* (but with a "feels like" temperature in the 30's) and humidity of 80%. Had a couple of meetings scheduled for today and it was very sticky once you came out from the air conditioning.

Have a nice hotel right on the beach and am hoping I get to avail of it tomorrow.

I continued my trend of eating like a native so I had a big American burger :) Place is a bit mental as it's the start of Spring Break.

Plan today called for 9 miles steady and I was determined to try and get it done, especially as I didn't have an altitude excuse here. There is a red walking/cycling path outside the hotel and I set off on it just after 6pm local time. I was sweating heavily from the off and spray was flicking off my arms as I ran. Covered the first mile in 7.29, the second in 7.09. At this stage I was already fcuked and drenched with sweat, I could hear my shoes squelching, mile 3 was done in 7.15 and my head was starting to feel like boil in the bag rice, got to mile 4 in 7.26 but I had to stop for a couple of minutes to compose myself. Started again but the head was dropping, a poor mile 5 in 7.43 brought me to a walk and I continued to walk jog the next 3 miles.

This week has been a bit of a disaster and there's no way in hell I could do a long run in those conditions. I'm disheartened and disillusioned and a sub 3 marathon has never seemed so far away! I'm gonna write off the rest of the week and join the kids at Spring Break.

TbL

Don't be too hard on yourself - I'm in awe of what you manage to do with such a hectic life - it's very rare that you don't get it done

Hey C, I think you are making a good call. You will have loads of chances to have a go at sub 3, if needed but spring break in Cancun only comes along once in a lifetime....knock yourself out Auld Man:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

I would like to say I feel sorry for you but having looked at the picture of that beach I'm so so jealous I can't!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Netwerk_Errer

Head up TbL! Marathon training is about the months, not a week. And you've been putting in the hard yards since Valencia. There's always going to be sh*te weeks and great weeks. The sh*te ones build character and the great ones build confidence. Call me soppy but I always love a good quote and this is one of my favourites.

"suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not disappoint"

Anyway, I'll stop before I start quoting lines from chick flicks. Gwan the lemon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Don't forget we need you in good shape for the Bohermeen showdown next weekend!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

a few bad days running doesn't ruin a training plan C - thought a man of your vintage would know that !

Anyway, f*ck the running....SPRIING BREEEAAAAK :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

Sub 3 Marathon is not that far away Boston 7 weeks ull smash it, Thats the only thought to keep in your head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Have you ever ran the Milltown 10k TbL, if so what did you think of it race wise?

tang1 wrote: »
    Have you ever ran the Milltown 10k TbL, if so what did you think of it race wise?

Sorry Tang, can't help you, I've run very few 10k's.

When is it on?

TbL

Sorry Tang, can't help you, I've run very few 10k's.

When is it on?

TbL

Second week in June, looking at a quickish 10k around then and it looks to fit the bill, just wanted somebodies opinion on it first. Hope the hoochies on spring break are to your liking!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

tang1 wrote: »
    Second week in June, looking at a quickish 10k around then and it looks to fit the bill, just wanted somebodies opinion on it first. Hope the hoochies on spring break are to your liking!!

Isn't there one in Maynooth around then? Maybe its in May but I remember that being very flat

Duanington wrote: »
    Isn't there one in Maynooth around then? Maybe its in May but I remember that being very flat

Yeah there is D, it was 18th of May last year and is flat alright but falls to soon for the 12 week plan i start on 16th of March.

I decided to take it very handy today and recover, and I decided to recover in style, before getting stuck back into it on Monday.

Got up early this morning and went for a swim in the sea before having a lazy breakfast overlooking the sea. Had a massage after breakfast in a thatched gazebo right on the beach. I wanted to see a Cenote while I was here in Cancun. A cenote is a natural sinkhole formed by the collapse of limestone bedrock and the cave water is fresh, pristinely clear and pure. I'd no interest in going to an overhyped tourist type place and I got a recommendation for one way off the beaten track, "Cenote 7 Bocas", (7 mouths) near Peurto Muerles. This was off the main road down a dirt track into very heavily forested/jungle terrain, and it was very rustic. Very very basic facilities and changing rooms (I gave the au natural toilets a miss!) but the cenotes themselves were fantastic. You enter the Cenote down steep and narrow wooden stairs or you can take the 20 foot plunge into Boca 3. It's an amazing experience swimming along with the cave walls only a couple of inches over your head in places and stalactites and tree roots on the roof. There were also some very impressive underwater stalactites of over 6 feet in length. You could swim between some of the cenotes by diving down and swimming through a short tunnel. The water colour was incredible especially when the sunlight pierced the water like a laser. A really cool way to experience nature untouched by commercialism (apart from the non negotiable $250 peso fee payable to the owner)

Had a late lunch on a terrace overlooking the lagoon and later, another swim under the early evening moonlight (tough day:))

Oh yea, and I managed to get a 40 mins very easy run in!

Off to check out the natural beauty at Spring Break :)

Tnx for all the nice messages.

TbL

First world problems....those two dudes in d foto look nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Nice one.
    Try not to be stressing over the sub 3 - do the training and it's in you. It's natural to focus on the training days that don't go well so just remember that the next time.

Sunday: just 30 mins very easy to keep the legs turning over along the lagoon in Cancun.

Monday: over the weekend I put a long distance call into the RAH (runners assistance helpline) and got immediately through to the man who lies in third place in the 1000 mile challenge. Fair play to Bulmers74 he selflessly changed his schedule to rescue my week and run 22 miles with me today.

Got into Shannon via Heathrow today on an overnight from Atlanta and Bulmers was waiting for me, unfortunately my bag wasn't! Mislaid by Aer Lingus. Luckily I always take my runners and Garmin in my carry on so it only delayed the run a bit as I'd to fill in a form. We decided to run from the airport and I got a blast of sleet and hail on the way to change in the car, talk about dichotomous weather conditions in the space of 24 hours! We headed out of the airport up a back road into New Market on Fergus and turned near Dromoland Castle. There were a few challenging drags in the first half that magically seemed to disappear for the second half! I've had a couple of running dates with Bulmers and we chatted away easily until about mile 17 when it started to get tough and I shut up altogether, Bulmers the gracious host did his best to chat away!

He's been doing some savage miles and is very strong, he was one of very few people to negative split DCM this year and he'll blow his PB out of the water in Limerick in May. The weather was all over the place on this run, windy, sunny, hail and sleet but I was delighted to be just getting it done.

When we finished and to show my appreciation I wanted to give him a Mexican man hug/kiss, but he was having none of it :)

Fair play J, you rescued my week.

Tnx

TbL

Splits: