Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are you single?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

I just love being single

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

As relationships go I am very much in the dog house category. Forever screwing up left right and center, boo hoo I hear ye say well boo hoo back say I.
    Any way as I have spend the best years off my life living in the bottle I could bless myself I have not committed seriously to any one as if I had it would be 'tears for the sun' and that one thing I am glad to avoid.
    Any way now am dry as a bone and footloose+fancy free, may be I should put up an advert in the Sunday papers what do ye all think
    All suggestions for said advert should be forwarded to my inbox.
    Yabbaddaaadooo.....:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Panda prons. Hawt.
    mikom wrote: »
    :D Occasionally, just occasionally mind, i drop the attempts at humor.
    Normal service will now resume.

*narrows eyes*

nnyes. Yeah well.. don't let it happen again! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

Too much fun being single generally way too much nagging in relationships I find.
    So single life for me so I can be a man whore and enjoy it:D

• Registered Users Posts: 26,558 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

the little creamy goodness inside me always tells me no when i should say yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

jizz speaks to you? hmmm:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Will be single 4 years this August! Holy crap where the hell did the time go!

Was constantly in relationships from the age of 14 and after the last seriously toxic one I decided enough was enough. I've had dudes ask to go "steady" and all that crap. But what's the point?
    With the dudes I've met in the last 4 years, on that day/night I meet them I can actually see how we would break up.

Due to travelling, starting college and being busy with college work, plus the fact I haven't met anyone who sends my heart fluttering..... I've had no time to get looking.

I've also been told I shouldn't hang out with my male friends every night we are out as it probably looks like I'm going with one of them.
    But feic that! They are my mates not giving them up!

To break all that down, I've felt that real spark once in my life and I can't and won't settle for anything less than that type of real spark again!

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭tink2

Im single cos I broke up with my boyf of 8 years last summer. I haven't really had any interest in meeting anyone seriously but am getting there now. However, went into town on Saturday night and seriously wonder how you could ever meet anyone there as everyone is just locked and so hard to find out if anyone is actually a nice/sound person!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,558 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

bazmaiden wrote: »
    jizz speaks to you? hmmm:confused:
    hey not my fault if your jizz doesn't have supernatural powers. try not to hold it against me yeh?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

I enjoy being single, wouldn't mind dating someone, but not really trying very hard

That's my option, i hang out with lads and when i hang out with girls i'm always in a big group which makes it impossible! Also i've been told that i scare lads off :( I honestly dunno how i do that....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Also i've been told that i scare lads off :( I honestly dunno how i do that....

Do you say "Howya yun fella.. scratch me fanny!!" to them?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 21,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭entropi

Single because I don't bother with the whole "chatting women up" thing when I go out, if it happens then it's because they approach me. I prefer meeting people through mediums like a house party, gigs, through other friends et al where you can actually find stuff out about each other and not end up shouting words to them like in a club.

If something progressed from singledom, to dating and a possible relationship...I'm not gonna complain, just that it ain't happening.

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭quicklickpaddy

I'm kind of on the opposite end of things than most people posting here... I'm nearly 20 and have always been seeing someone since about 15 with two long relationships thrown in too (including this one). I don't find them too stressful at all... In fact I find them less stressful than being single. Probably due to the fact that I'm not good looking enough to enjoy being single all that much :rolleyes: Although I always do make a very conscious effort to hang out with the lads just as much as I would have. Bro's before Ho's!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I've been single for a few years. I'm just so busy with work, I don't want or need the hassle of being in a relationship and all of the ups and downs that happen in a relationship. So I'm happily single. I suppose it would be nice to meet someone but it just hasn't happened. But I'm cool with it. Making love would be a great stress reliever! I don't get out much to meet people so meeting someone would be hard.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Voted every option.

Do you say "Howya yun fella.. scratch me fanny!!" to them?
    No apparently i come across as a strong lady :(

A lot of my mates say they would never approach me on a night out because they expect i'd have some big black bf or a bf and i'll tell them to go fcuk themselves :(

Imagine my horror :)

ilovesleep wrote: »
    I've been single for a few years. I'm just so busy with work, I don't want or need the hassle of being in a relationship and all of the ups and downs that happen in a relationship. So I'm happily single. I suppose it would be nice to meet someone but it just hasn't happened. But I'm cool with it. Making love would be a great stress reliever! I don't get out much to meet people so meeting someone would be hard.
    I'm sorry thats the biggest load of ****e have heard! :D

You'r never too busy for a relationship!

And ever hear of 'friends with benefits'? ;)

No apparently i come across as a strong lady :(

http://www.funnycoolstuff.com/images/strong-lady.jpg ??

• Registered Users Posts: 8,484 ✭✭✭Töpher

Clean the pipes more regularly so it can't trick you?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

I'm sorry thats the biggest load of ****e have heard! :D

You'r never too busy for a relationship!

And ever hear of 'friends with benefits'? ;)

Yes you can be too busy!! Esp if you are living in different towns quite a distance away and you don't have a car. See :p

As for the friends with benefits. They are extremely RARE to find :/

Töpher wrote: »
    Clean the pipes more regularly so it can't trick you?

Oooh... Graphic. I believe the correct term is Smegma

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=smegma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Oooh... Graphic. I believe the correct term is Smegma

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=smegma

Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

Not really sure tbh. For my part, I just seem to get too trapped in my head, which makes the initial steps of a relationship too difficult and I simply get too scared and pull back until the "threat" (for the extreme lack of a better word) dies off.

Then there's the fact that women are rarely interested in me. (I think the count is between 3-5 (at most) in the past 5 years). I could speculate on the reasons behind this but I honestly couldn't say so with certainty (also, different aspects would be turnoffs to different women, but irrelevant to others). The widest reaching and probably most correct answer is that I'm probably just too boring.

Although, I did have a friend inform me a while back that I'm kind of a jerk sometimes. And a different friend may have said something about me being creepy (she chose her words very carefully and it took me ages to even work that bit out). So those are also possible reasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 The.Wanderer

I've been in long term relationships since I was 16. There was never much more than a month between each of them and I just broke up with the last one in Feb.

I'm single now because I have had enough of relationships for a while. The last one in particular ended really badly so I need a break. A bit gun shy now I think actually! I'm really enjoying being single (only two months in but so far so good :p) and will be staying so for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 mimn

Because everyone I ever like I just can't seem to tell, be it because I'm too shy or because I'm scared of their reaction (especially if they are of the same sex...yeh I'm bi). And usually I only want to be with someone if I really like them, so that doesn't give me a big choice of people lol.

Then again I do like being single, so I don't know if I really want a relationship.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,962 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I don't want children, which tends to limit my options somewhat. (With this world in the state it's in, having kids is foolhardy, and no, I'm not going to inflict more people on it just to cover my pension - if I ever get to retire.)

I might meet someone who says she doesn't want children, and she might even mean it at that time, but I've seen what happens when the baby clock strikes 30 and the friends are all pushing strollers. All good intentions go out the window, and women will lie, cheat, steal, whatever it takes to get the bun in the oven, and damn the consequences.

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

I'm single because she finally realised how much of a spanner i am. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

i'm single because i was in one serious, monogamous relationship all the way from my mid teens to my early twenties, and now i'm making up for it -been single for almost two years now and still not over the novelty of first dates and kisses with someone new, love it.

in saying that, there are a couple boys in the world i do have really strong feelings for and probably would be dating if we were in the same countries.... but we're not, but on the bright side, i'm not ready for another real relationship yet anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

single on weekdays... the weekend.. well thats a different story ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Sure isn't it great being single! You can wait up as long as you like and play computer games or watch porn. You can order pizza whenever you like and can go out drinking on a schoolnight!
    Relationships are for suckers with Freudian issues! :P