Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Where have all the old boardsies gone?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Crap, is 2008 now the barrier between old and new?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    I suppose most people here don't remember face kicker, thaedydal, being banned for mentioning a certain shakesphere play. I think when daft bought a stake, the admins lost power to do random things.
    What happened to Thaeds, I remember she changed her username but then disappeared off the radar!

And Tallaght01, Karl Hungus, they were mods now with closed accounts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

Crap, is 2008 now the barrier between old and new?

Only when upgrading your car.

A lot of the old stagers are frequenting their private forums, it keeps them away from the riff raff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I think the farther you go back the more it was nerds who did most of the posting.

Now that everyone is online all the time it's those who are the most idle, in or out of work, who do the most posting, so the percentage of absolute retards on boards has rocketed.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I remember when this was all fields.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 hickorydock

Some have got fed up, hate being disagreed with, only concerned with their own or like minded opinion, got in a sulk and stormed off, some take things too seriously and can't forgive - they have issues! Some have new ids. Some were banned, insulted and offended by someone on the thread. Some may dislike the moderator and have issues with them. These reasons come to mind. Oh and in case you are wondering which category I fit into it is the one where I was ignored on the thread. Did I mention that one at all!!!!!!!!!! Nothing worse than not being taken seriously. Believe me. Becoming invisible is not much fun on boards hence the name change. Oh another reason why people disappear
    They might have ..... well dare I say it .... died. Take your pick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

As someone who lurks the prison forum a little I noticed quite a few older members getting banned over the past year.

Boards started perma banning people who had a lot of infractions and a lot of the older members who had picked up infractions and temp bans over the years got the boot.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056423660
    ZAPH wrote:
    We used to be more tolerant towards serial offenders, but tbh all that happened was that those people just kept acting the dick and the mods got more and more pissed off having to deal with them. So we've lowered our tolerance a bit and we no longer put up with the rubbish that comes from people with records as bad as yours. It's made the mods lives a lot easier, and by extension the admins lives too, while allowing regular posters the opportunity to enjoy Boards without having to deal with persistent trolls and the like. Everyone's a winner really.

Example

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056455070

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I just read those two links there from Thrill and that's heavy sh1t to say the least.

I have a few bans and infractions over the years myself but if that link is anything to go by I better get my sponge-brain together. I will say though after all the few bans and infractions over the years you do easily get the jist and it does make you more relaxed and focused other than keep losing the plot all the time because of what might happen (A Ban) so it's beneficial with regards to learning how to conduct yourself on this site, and also know the consequences if not adhered to.

Glad I read those Links as it keeps me in check. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Funny that this thread is asking where all the old boardsies are gone, now all of a sudden they've resurfaced on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

Funny, until now i considered myself slightly 'noob'y, but i guess i've been here for ~78% of the time boards has (4071 of 5173 days as of today). Man, i feel old. :O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭RiseToTheTop

If you believe they put boardsies on the moon,
    boardsies on the moon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Jaysus I would have hated being on olden days boards with all their old jokes, ancient wisdom and old technology, good riddance to them is what I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

and dial up!

44leto wrote: »
    Jaysus I would have hated being on olden days boards with all their old jokes, ancient wisdom and old technology, good riddance to them is what I say.

Don't forget you're history son as boards.ie was made from wisdom and old technology. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

closed my account:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

This place used to be fun till all you young kids with your skinny jeans and floppy fringes moved in :P

zenno wrote: »
    Don't forget you're history son as boards.ie was made from wisdom and old technology. :pac:

Yeah well now we've got laptops and smart phones, in the t-olden days, the computers use to take up the whole downstairs and they had no spell check. We have moved on, Dev is no longer president, but the owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Psygnosis wrote: »
    Old school here
    Pfft...
    They probably have a private forum with a pre 2009 join date stipulation, and they sit around and laugh at the n00bs.

It's pre-2000.

Bloody 21st century blow-ins....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,733 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Shrugs - this place went downhill after it stopped being a quake only boards :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Anyone for a oldies v newbies melee fight to the death?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

I assumed they are all preparing for the upcoming Zombie Holocaust/Lizard-men Wars.

Yeah well now we've got laptops and smart phones, in the t-olden days, the computers use to take up the whole downstairs and they had no spell check. We have moved on, Dev is no longer president, but the owner.

Ah I remember the day's in the office when 40 square feet of room was just for a computer and while standing beside this behemoth it was like standing out in the country with 50mph gales and the noise was decibelic madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Pippy1976

Why, exactly?
    Arawn wrote: »
    Aninomity.

Don't want people to figure out who I am and link me to my old user name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

Heard it all before tbh , still waiting for a thread on them immingrants though

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

boards got too popular and it got a lot harder to have a joke without some uppity **** getting offended, so a lot of people just stopped giving a **** and moved on.

I think it was 04-06 when it all started to fall apart, for some reason it suddenly got kinda popular among college students and then more noobs followed. There was a time when making 40 posts in one day wasn't common and was lightly discouraged as spam, now you see users who registered 10 months ago with post counts in the high thousands. ****'s crazy wack.

great for boards, great for just about all the users just a small minority didn't feel like rolling with the times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭recyclebin

i'm still here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

name changes, re-regs, the boards hacking, the new close account feature, others being around long enough to have gotten fed up of the place......

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Who can say where they have all gone.

/bubbles

this was the real ancients, when a human prodigy from the future walked in on this man. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

boards got too popular and it got a lot harder to have a joke without some uppity **** getting offended, so a lot of people just stopped giving a **** and moved on.

I think it was 04-06 when it all started to fall apart, for some reason it suddenly got kinda popular among college students and then more noobs followed. There was a time when making 40 posts in one day wasn't common and was lightly discouraged as spam, now you see users who registered 10 months ago with post counts in the high thousands. ****'s crazy wack.

great for boards, great for just about all the users just a small minority didn't feel like rolling with the times.

Would it not be the case because a lot of people now have more time on there hands with the celtic tiger having ended and unemployment so high.

realies wrote: »
    Would it not be the case because a lot of people now have more time on there hands with the celtic tiger having ended and unemployment so high.

This is correct as I myself have spent a lot more time on the internet since the tiger. I wouldn't be uploading this crazy parrot talking if i wasn't unemployed... amazing parrot though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

Posting to see how 'old' I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

old but not that old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

MOVE OVER OLDIES A NEW GENERATION IS HERE! and were not the world of warcraft nerds like you were, we like drinkin, pullin and going to the gym :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Where have all the posters gone

Banned by moddies every one

Mods from town and from the sticks

Mainly spotty pimply dicks

This is not to say that all

Mods can't smile and have a ball

But there are some ..tall men and runts

And some that are just fuckin cunts

So don't regret the posters past

Just air your views an have a blast.

Innit ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

The same reason I don't engage in the Youtube community anymore it got too big and full of too many passers by and eejits, can't connect with anyone anymore, I haven't been on boards for too long but I am already asking myself why I bother, for about six months I was posting a lot while procrastinating on my thesis.

you've been a member for like 2 years mate, hardly a vet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I notice this too, I miss seeing posters like Sarky and Mordeth around. Though they probably are, name changes confuse me.

Mordeth was pretty awesome :(

Tryna think whose gone from the old people I remember? Is that 6th guy still around?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

I'm still here, I just blend in with the wallpaper now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭Simi

I've been lurking in the shadows almost half my life...

ah the old lads right on cue, vets!!!!!! its an honour

saa wrote: »
    The same reason I don't engage in the Youtube community anymore it got too big and full of too many passers by and eejits, can't connect with anyone anymore, I haven't been on boards for too long but I am already asking myself why I bother, for about six months I was posting a lot while procrastinating on my thesis.

Maybe you are just not into the buzz anymore, and the el weirdo videos that are supposed to make people laugh. in my personal opinion, anything on any youtube site that makes you laugh even if it is a small one is bang-on. look at the positive and not the negative. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Still here, did take long break between postings over the years.

Yeh, the bloody Emo generation are taking over :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭HoPpiE

I'm most certainly mainly a lurker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

just had one of the busiest weeks of my life so wasnt really on at all for the last week, its only going to get busier so i may end up closing my account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

I'm not dead yet....

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭YuM

Hiding in the long grass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

Still here darlings

21/25