Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Derek Mooney Show *MOD WARNING IN 1st POST*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Thought he'd never get shot of that travel agent guy.. How many times did he say that he was bonded?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

syklops wrote: »
    Any specific reason for the 12 Angry Men clip at the start of the show?

They are discussing Jury Selection on the show now.

Terrific movie though.

As was Tony Hancock's take on the movie ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I'm sick of hearing George Mordaunt on the radio plugging his book Shepherd's Pie. It's getting beyond a joke at this stage. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

"..I did have a crush on Lisa Bonet, who was one of the daughters, DO you remember her?"
    Derek(sounding a mixture between baffled and outrage) No!

I thought it was funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

LOL! Had to laugh there, Derek and his guest were talking about the Cosby Show and Derek said he never liked it, didn't find it funny.

Yer man, whoever he is, said he watched it because he always fancied Lisa Bonet and Derek said something like that wasn't a reason to watch, hence the following altercation:

Guest: "Did you not fancy Lisa Bonet?"

Derek (emphatically): NO! :D

Now if it was Liam Bonet on the other hand...:pac:

Edit: beat me to it Syklops...:(

I wasnt the only one who thought it was funny then.

Nope!

So emphatic in his non-fancying of Lisa Bonet...we get it Derek, its not your thing. :D

It was kind of like the time he had the following question for Mooney's money:

"Which Gay presented the Rose of Tralee?"

I immediately thought...you? :D

"I love Bressie's forearm"

Oh shut up Brenda .. ffs...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

Oh jeez......Brek getting the hots on air for some guys' hairy forearm...I can picture her. :eek:

gavin_stacey_nessa.jpg

Time to hit the dial.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

"I love Bressie's forearm"

Oh shut up Brenda .. ffs...

She reckons there'd be good eating on it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

europa11 wrote: »
    Time to hit the dial.

My dial was hit nine minutes before you sent that post. :cool:

This is a bit raw isnt it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

She should have been taken into care

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

Indeed Jonanon. It really is a rag bag of a programme, isn't it? You could have anything on it.

Which is part of the reason it's so hit and miss.

Really the wrong show to be dealing with the topic of suicide at 3pm in the afternoon.

Is there anyone who is not familiar with the movie Titanic?

What is the need to recount us with the summary?

Just please, no Celine.

Noel Cunningham didnt want Brian Kennedy to know where he lived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,222 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

As if Derek would let 'Come Dine with Me' into his house, he already has enough stuff to hide :D

Noel Cunningham didnt want Brian Kennedy to know where he lived.

Would you?

More indignation from Derek about the model winning whatever they were talking about because some of the men got on with her. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

Guest says "A lady who will remain nameless"

Derek says "What was her name" ?:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

Really the wrong show to be dealing with the topic of suicide at 3pm in the afternoon.

Seems to be an RTE thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

ah jaysus, can't listen to a French accent on the radio.

I'm not rascist, but could they not have found an Irish computer expert? Or at least a Frenchman with better diction?

Jaysus Derek shut the F*** up.

If they are going to have a serious topic, then have a serious topic. I don't know if this is a piss take or not.

So far most of what I have heard is related more to marketing rather than super computers.

wait until Natural Language Processing becomes mainstream Derek....

dj3000.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Fcuking hell, that was a painful bit of radio.

What a terrible segment. He seemed obviously interested in the Titanic and for the most part was quiet, but the Super Computing segment was awful and seemed to have little or no preparation done for it. And no offence to the guy on talking about it but seriously. We don't have any super computer experts who are native speakers? A heavy french accent is uncomfortable to listen to on the radio.

Mooneys show once again being ruined by the pleb at the sound mixing desk. Playing Roy Orbisons song Pretty Woman as an introduction to three schoolgirls at the young scientist.

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭QuadLeo

Mooneys show once again being ruined by the pleb at the sound mixing desk. Playing Roy Orbisons song Pretty Woman as an introduction to three schoolgirls at the young scientist.

?

I doubt the sound 'pleb' decides what music is played. It's the producer you have the problem with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

i can never listen to the show on a Friday, i cant stand that Mayna ni Mowna woman.. She's unbearable to listen to. Please send her back to Kerry or wherever Shes from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

They seem to have put Brenda in the big pen

Jaysus, that fella is an awful hypochondriac :rolleyes:

Listen to them talking like anyone is interested...:rolleyes:

Wonder do all the old fogies turn off after Liveline or persist with this camp nonsense?:confused:

I'd say the former, keeping the ratings nice and artificially high...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,737 ✭✭✭sudzs

I dont usually listen... is it always like this?? :confused::eek::(

sudzs wrote: »
    I dont usually listen... is it always like this?? :confused::eek::(

This would be considered a good day.

They seem to have put Brenda in the big pen

Brek is looking well! :)

pig-pen_lrg.jpg

Where I am, the radio is over at the far side of the room.

My daily little game is to leave my desk as soon as Breck opens her mouth and have it switched to Newstalk before she finishes her first sentence.

I always manage it with time to spare. :)

3.7 seconds today.

europa11 wrote: »
    Brek is looking well! :)

Who's Brek? :confused:

Edit: I think I've copped it's Brenda, yea? Why are people calling her brek?

telekon wrote: »
    Who's Brek? :confused:

Edit: I think I've copped it's Brenda, yea? Why are people calling her brek?

Shrek's sister.......

He loves chicken nuggets but doesn't like buffalo wings? :confused:

Erm, will someone please tell Derek its not actual buffalo...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,782 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Question in today's quiz; Who is this Voice of Ireland judge singing?
    Answer; Sharon Corr.

The clip they played was Andrea Corr,

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Question in today's quiz; Who is this Voice of Ireland judge singing?Answer; Sharon Corr. The clip they played was Andrea Corr,

Sorry Paddy, you're wrong on this one.. This is the song they played..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,782 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Sorry Paddy, you're wrong on this one.. This is the song they played..

Ah Crap! Could have sworn that was Andrea.

Lapin wrote: »

My daily little game is to leave my desk as soon as Breck opens her mouth and have it switched to Newstalk before she finishes her first sentence.

3.4 seconds today

Mooney continuing to promote this stupid pantomime fight between Paul Martin and Brian Kennedy. :rolleyes:

We don't give a sh!t Derek.

telekon wrote: »
    He loves chicken nuggets but doesn't like buffalo wings? :confused:

Erm, will someone please tell Derek its not actual buffalo...:rolleyes:

Naaah, why spoil things :)

Paul Martin on The Mooney Show today... And so he takes another step closer to finally outing himself..

Cek .. is that Brek's brother?

2.8 seconds today !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

2.8 seconds today !

It really is bewildering how and why she is still employed in RTE. She has no broadcasting skills, no interviewing skills, doesn't articulate herself well and doesn't display an intelligent knowledge of anything, yet she seems unsackable. She was the same way when she was on the Gerry Ryan Show, fadó, fadó yet, 20 years on she is still annoying us on a daily basis.

I, too, will turn off the radio, rather than listen to her.