Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dark side of the game.

1235»

• Registered Users Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭LeoB

wackokid wrote: »
    Well Leo the four umpires couldn't help him unless he asked them. Small picked it off the ground to clear Cluxo's bothún with an umpire less than a few feet away looking directly down at him. Under GAA rules he couldn't open his mouth and he didn't. What an efficient outfit is our GAAAAAAAAAAA. ??
    Hard to imagine a group of adults drawing up rules for a ball game within which is such a bizarre proscription on drawing a refs attention to a serious foul.
    Could only happen in Ireland.

What are they wired up for? Ordering the half time meal?;) From what I know they can draw his attention to "foul play" ie a strike on an opponent but not a technical free so he (McQuillan) was badly let down in many areas of the field. The umpires could previously draw the referees attention by moving away from the post and keeping their hand in the air. The linesmen on Sunday were simply disgraceful.

On the Cluxton push be Fermanagh I think the referee used common sense. It was not going to change the course of the game.

I am not G.A.A basher but ........... This has got to far with what appears to be blatant disregard for some teams and the rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

LeoB wrote: »
    What are they wired up for? Ordering the half time meal?;) From what I know they can draw his attention to "foul play" ie a strike on an opponent but not a technical free so he (McQuillan) was badly let down in many areas of the field. The umpires could previously draw the referees attention by moving away from the post and keeping their hand in the air. The linesmen on Sunday were simply disgraceful.

On the Cluxton push be Fermanagh I think the referee used common sense. It was not going to change the course of the game.

I am not G.A.A basher but ........... This has got to far with what appears to be blatant disregard for some teams and the rules.

I find that when doing linesman you have to be keep your eye on the ball/can't really track the off-the-ball action as much as when doing umpire, as with umpire the ball can often be up the other end of the pitch, whereas with linesman even if it goes to the other side of the pitch one quick long ball across and you can have a decision to make. Also when you're doing linesman you're moving up and down the sideline and need to keep an eye out for subs and coaching staff as well as other possible obstructions (random balls/gearbags/ waterbottles /physios/dogs/ kids playing/spectators etc) whereas with umpire you hardly have to move at all in comparison.
    There's also the fact that there is 4 umpires to 2 linesmen. Currently for the intercounty games the linesmen are refs but I'd like to see 2 of the umpires be refs as well. It would give naughty defenders that bit more to worry about if there was a ref as umpire.

Another option would be to increase the number of linesmen to 4 (say as opposed to having 2 refs) with the pitch split in half - this would make it far easier for linesman to keep an eye out for off-the-ball action especially when the ball is down in the opposite corner of the field.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭flasher0030

LeoB wrote: »

Eh???

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭elguapo

An antidote to the darkness. Mick Holden is a legend.

https://youtu.be/97iP0F56yZk?t=261

• Registered Users Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭LeoB

Eh???

I get your drift I think, He would I think have given a free had there been 2 points in the game. But Fermanagh were never going to beat Dublin on that day. Yes it was a free and it was a mistake not giving it but sometimes teams who are getting the run around deserve a bit of a break. It was sporting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

No dark arts in that game, fair play lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,223 ✭✭✭tanko

"These incidents can look different from different angles". Good man Ciaran Whelan, what a load of Bo**ox. If Philly McMahon was from Ulster i can only imagine his reaction.
    Will the Sunday game panel be frothing at the mouth about O mahonys rugby tackle on McMennamin like they did with Sean Cavanagh. Will they Fcuk?
    No stink of any of the teams playing today, not a chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭aveytare

tanko wrote: »
    "These incidents can look different from different angles". Good man Ciaran Whelan, what a load of Bo**ox. If Philly McMahon was from Ulster i can only imagine his reaction.
    Will the Sunday game panel be frothing at the mouth about O mahonys rugby tackle on McMennamin like they did with Sean Cavanagh. Will they Fcuk?
    No stink of any of the teams playing today, not a chance.

Whelan's completely shameless.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

aveytare wrote: »
    Whelan's completely shameless.

He was unstoppable in his day though....
    130972.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭aveytare

STB. wrote: »
    130972.jpg

I dare say Stephen O'Neill and Sean Cavanagh don't have nightmares about Whelan.

Same old ****e, no bias there though. No sirree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

130972.jpg

He wasn't.

Offaly played Dublin in the 2001 Leinser Championship and Whelan was expected to run rings around Sean Grennan in the midfield as Grennan wasn't very mobile. Grennan knew this himself and right at the start of the game in an attempt to slow Whelan up Grennan mowed him with a belt and Whelan done nothing for the 20 minutes or so he was on and had to be taken off.

Whelan although a aquality player I never really liked him as he was always a great man to dish it out but he could never take it.

He wasn't.

Offaly played Dublin in the 2001 Leinser Championship and Whelan was expected to run rings around Sean Grennan in the midfield as Grennan wasn't very mobile. Grennan knew this himself and right at the start of the game in an attempt to slow Whelan up Grennan mowed him with a belt and Whelan done nothing for the 20 minutes or so he was on and had to be taken off.

Whelan although a aquality player I never really liked him as he was always a great man to dish it out but he could never take it.

Sorry Sean who ? :)

Whelan has 2 all stars to his name for good reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Sorry Sean who ? :)

Whelan has 2 all stars to his name for good reason.
    And the same number of All Ireland medals as Sean Grennan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

He has less.

Grennan won a minor hurling all ireland in 1989.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,923 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Even as a Dub I never liked Whelan at all.

There was an incident against Wexford in 2008 (I think) that forever turned me off him on top of never really liking him anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

[IMG][/img]Philly%20McMahon%20Eye%20Gouge_zpsxcajaebk.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭elguapo

mayo.mick wrote: »
    [IMG][/img]Philly%20McMahon%20Eye%20Gouge_zpsxcajaebk.jpg

Photos of controversial incidents can sometimes be misleading; this one is not.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,120 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

2015 has been a very controversial year in GAA, with many incidents of diving, time-wasting, sledging, violence etc.
    The black card came in, but we still saw lots of cynicism, lads perfectly happy to take a black for the team, and give another lad a chance to sub in.
    In fact "the dark arts" dominated the year, arguably moreso than the football.

We have a great sport here, and it's not too late for these things to be nipped in the bud.

From the 2016 season, zero tolerence on all this sort of thing should be introduced. If lads know that a lengthy ban is waiting for them if they engage in any of these dark arts, it'll soon cut it out.
    Nobody who trains all winter wants to be banned for the business end of the season.

In fact when very early in the season I saw a player each from Limerick and Clare hurlers red-carded, for innocuous but technically deserved red cards, I thought it boded well.
    But as the season went on, lads couldn't get a red card no matter what they did, we even had a clear red ignored in the final!

The worst is reds being rescinded for semi's and finals despite being entirely justified. It's madness.

Yes it is a travesty having come in after 95 and for the 13 years that he played with the Dubs that he didn't win an AI Medal.

In addition to the 2 All Stars, I suppose he can take some solace in the fact that he has 6 Leinster Senior Football Championship medals, one of which earned him the MOTM in 2006....against.....:)

• Registered Users Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Topcat32

Whats does Philly McMahon need to do to be banned? He has allready got away with biting, throwing headbutts, feigning injury and eye gouging, what will he do next??

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭paintitwhite

He may well be cited for eye gouging yet, if so his response will be interesting. If he accepts the punishment he would only miss NFL games but any other ban within 48 weeks would be doubled. In my view he'd be very liable to getting another ban within the timeframe and with the appeals process the way it currently is it makes sense for him to appeal if neccessary.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

Philly deserves a lengthy ban. Whether or not he actually gouged he shouldn't be messing his fingers around a fellas face, its clear his intentions were bad. I was never his biggest fan as a player but its sad that this crap taints what has been a great season for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Topcat32

I think he had an excellent season and is exactly what you want in a corner back but clearly there is a pattern of unacceptable behaviour. This isnt being helped by the GAA overturning bans and red cards. A possible difference this time is while players will generally shrug their shoulders at professional fouls, simulation and "all in" style confrontations, interference with eyes has possible life changing implications and will cause a lot of anger among players in general.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,054 ✭✭✭zetecescort

He may well be cited for eye gouging yet, if so his response will be interesting. If he accepts the punishment he would only miss NFL games but any other ban within 48 weeks would be doubled. In my view he'd be very liable to getting another ban within the timeframe and with the appeals process the way it currently is it makes sense for him to appeal if neccessary.

are bans not games based rather than time based nowadays?

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭paintitwhite

They are but if you get another suspension within 48 weeks your second ban will be doubled so if you are involved in anything for the rest of the season it would have devastating consequences.