Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

N25/N30 - New Ross Bypass [open to traffic]

• Registered Users Posts: 41 350125GO!

A new bridge at the South end of Town is been constructed at the moment.

Are referring to the new N25 bypass bridge or is there a second road bridge being built?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,459 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

350125GO! wrote: »
    Are referring to the new N25 bypass bridge or is there a second road bridge being built?
    N25 bridge.

The New Ross bypass scheme will transform the N25 along that stretch. The time saving along the route from having a direct dual carriageway will be immense.

If only we could engage in a similar level of roadbuilding countrywide.

marno21 wrote: »
    N25 bridge.

The New Ross bypass scheme will transform the N25 along that stretch. The time saving along the route from having a direct dual carriageway will be immense.

If only we could engage in a similar level of roadbuilding countrywide.

Yeah I already know about that hence my original question.

Indeed fair play to wexford, the county has had a serious amount of infrastructure improvements in recent years. Wexford town transformed completely while I lived there.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,459 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Indeed fair play to wexford, the county has had a serious amount of infrastructure improvements in recent years. Wexford town transformed completely while I lived there.
    Oh ya but I was just saying it again cos it'll have to be seen to be believed!

Between Enniscorthy and New Ross bypasses journey times in Wexford will drop a lot in the coming years. Oilgate-Rosslare could be on the cards soon also (along with Waterford-Glenmore but that won't be as exciting).

Oh ya but I was just saying it again cos it'll have to be seen to be believed!

Between Enniscorthy and New Ross bypasses journey times in Wexford will drop a lot in the coming years. Oilgate-Rosslare could be on the cards soon also (along with Waterford-Glenmore but that won't be as exciting).

I look forward to having a look this summer when I'm back for a college reunion. Always loved that Waterford - Wexford drive and imagioning what it would be like when all proposed improvements were implemented. Beautiful part of the world. If only Cork country had the same level of progress for their stretch of N25.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

The politicians of course will taken credit.

How did Wex town transform?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭m17

Bridge work to the end of march 18
    IMAG12094_zpsamjhvsgc.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,152 ✭✭✭✭josip

On the Kilkenny side, how can there be works commenced at a level beneath works that have already been completed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

(along with Waterford-Glenmore but that won't be as exciting).

Is there an official plan for this? A better idea would be to continue motorway due west from the end of the New Ross bypass, South of Mullinavat, to link to the N24 at Carrick-on-Suir. It would be roughly the same distance as Waterford-Glenmore and Waterford-CoS combined, little over 30km but shorter journeys for anyone not going to Waterford.

The idea being to create an actual network, tying in the M11, M9, and ultimately M8 and M7, via the N24 corridor without having to go as far south as Waterford.

I would have thought that of the people currently traveling through New Ross, a lot more of them would be headed for Waterford than Carrick On Suir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭NedNew2

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    Is there an official plan for this? A better idea would be to continue motorway due west from the end of the New Ross bypass, South of Mullinavat, to link to the N24 at Carrick-on-Suir. It would be roughly the same distance as Waterford-Glenmore and Waterford-CoS combined, little over 30km but shorter journeys for anyone not going to Waterford.

The idea being to create an actual network, tying in the M11, M9, and ultimately M8 and M7, via the N24 corridor without having to go as far south as Waterford.

That sounds like a great idea and makes perfect sense. However the terrain on such a route has to be seen to be believed. It's really hilly, it's very scenic but would be a massive job. I don't see it happening unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭annfield1978

When is this scheme due to open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Decoda

- Commencement Date: 26th January 2016
    - Permit to Use (PTU): 31st January 2019
    - Completion Date: 30th April 2019

The above is taken from a powerpoint presentation that was made to the TII last September. Has some nice details and statistisc etc. Below is the link to the PDF (size 9.7mb)

http://www.tii.ie/tii-library/conferences_and_seminars/nrc/nra-nrc-2017/5.4-Joe-Shinkwin-P-OLoughlin-N25-New-Ross-Bypass-TII-National-Roads-Conference-2017-.pdf

Regards

D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

josip wrote: »
    I would have thought that of the people currently traveling through New Ross, a lot more of them would be headed for Waterford than Carrick On Suir.

Yes, and they could continue to head for Waterford via the existing M9. My suggestion was about connecting the existing motorways into a network to open up as many journeys as possible on a few high quality roads.

If it can be done, a route like I suggested eliminates the need for major upgrades to the N25 between Waterford and Youghal, instead money is pumped into a new N24 which becomes much more than just the Waterford - Limerick road. Think in terms of facilitating journeys like, say, Wexford to Thurles, or Kilkenny to Cork, by joining up the existing motorways. Waterford is still as accessible but you don't have using the Waterford bypass when they don't actually want to be near Waterford..

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    ...Think in terms of facilitating journeys like, say, Wexford to Thurles, or Kilkenny to Cork, ...

Sound like you're a hurling man Pete, and you're thinking of the Division 1A matches next year?

Pics of pier 4 form the newross website
    February 18
    IMAG12110_zpspfvgfxv4.jpg
    March 18
    IMAG12111_zpszmv6t5p6.jpg

Pier three form the n25newross website
    February 2018
    IMAG12125_zpsntepsqil.jpg

Lastest pics from the n25newross website the barrow crossing February 2018
    1IMAG12180_zps1itjzkp3.jpg2IMAG12182_zpsyux5anwz.jpg3IMAG12183_zpssxyjphfu.jpg4IMAG12184_zpsfs4xth6h.jpg5IMAG12185_zpswzacfxpr.jpgLatest pics from the n25newross website the Barrow crossing March 2018
    1IMAG12140_zpsyv4sgz8y.jpg2IMAG12141_zpssdp6ynev.jpg3IMAG12143_zpsopr3qy9l.jpg4IMAG12144_zpsf5dbibzv.jpg5IMAG12145_zps79td119f.jpg6IMAG12146_zpsglx2xepc.jpg

Structures and earthworks March 2018 for the n25newross.ie website
    1IMAG12160_zpspea4mmsb.jpg2IMAG12161_zpskfilsjfe.jpg3IMAG12162_zpsuhubpsih.jpg4IMAG12163_zpscp8ojsw3.jpg5IMAG12164_zpsujkixnzf.jpg6IMAG12165_zpsqb0oc7he.jpg7IMAG12166_zpsjoeeti6g.jpg8IMAG12167_zpsdook0ub8.jpg9IMAG12168_zpsmtzaidvl.jpg10IMAG12169_zpsxsfyhioy.jpg11IMAG12170_zpscqmfg2hu.jpg12IMAG12171_zpsesp7t1rv.jpg13IMAG12173_zps4qpxpfpf.jpg14IMAG12174_zpsy8uvasco.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭VR6

Great pics M17 thanks !
    Looks like at least another years work before completion ?

The barrow bridge 20/04/18
    2018-04-23_12-09-03_zpswsfrm133.jpg22018-04-23_12-55-46_zpszpasljcf.jpg32018-04-23_12-56-35_zpswnhbtsem.jpg42018-04-23_12-57-07_zpsjjiqvi7h.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,563 ✭✭✭eagerv

Thanks for pics. I still cannot really picture how the construction will proceed; as can be seen from your last pic it's a long distance across.

I presume the upright pillars will be built to support the structure with cables as it is pushed out?

Have looked at Youtube films of this type of bridge construction but cannot really grasp the technique.

Will certainly be interesting in the months ahead..

• Registered Users Posts: 375 ✭✭Reuben1210

A few stunning pics of the Barrow bridge construction from the fb page!

31345178_1323377854429745_2938638426308904233_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=1b7e34012799baf4f922907ad124d509&oe=5B673DA5

31381348_1323378004429730_8296341996240880878_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=845d3ded9d292995c0b98d4276222762&oe=5B61B910

31440376_1323378137763050_3775026253847268405_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=0e93e2cc4aa40b200567a9018445d2e5&oe=5B5E2F8D

31404211_1323378277763036_4665212882129292639_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=7945a3290e922572781a100466b65be9&oe=5B57C682

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭blindsider

Great pics! Thanks for posting them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭NedNew2

And photos of an article from the local New Ross Standard:

NedNew2 wrote: »
    And photos of an article from the local New Ross Standard:

Anyone else read the first line as "...starting with travellers being evicted to facilitate the construction works"?

josip wrote: »
    Anyone else read the first line as "...starting with travellers being evicted to facilitate the construction works"?

ERECTED!!! not evicted

DRONE video of the new Ross bridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭cargo

ERECTED!!! not evicted

Jaysus they get all sorts of benefits in this country. Now there are even getting erected....

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

m17 wrote: »
    DRONE video of the new Ross bridge

Fabulous. I can't wait to drive over it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

This bridge project brings back memories of myself as a young lad of 12/13 keenly watching the M50 Westlink bridge construction, although that was a much less ambitious scheme. It was a very big deal at the time and as I lived nearby would cycle down to the Strawberry Beds to see its progress nearly every chance I could get!:o

JupiterKid wrote: »
    This bridge project brings back memories of myself as a young lad of 12/13 keenly watching the M50 Westlink bridge construction, although that was a much less ambitious scheme. It was a very big deal at the time and as I lived nearby would cycle down to the Strawberry Beds to see its progress nearly every chance I could get!:o

Now the West is won, worth every penny of the toll.

The barrow crossing 02/01/17
    IMAG12241_zpsyczyhdss.jpg
    02/05/18
    IMAG12240_zpsj1rhxcbe.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

The barrow crossing 02/01/17
    IMAG12241_zpsyczyhdss.jpg
    02/05/18
    IMAG12240_zpsj1rhxcbe.jpg

Cheers. Allot of work to be done still. Is the date 2017 or 2018 in the first picture

Pics from Staurday

wD6GBeq.jpg

This one was photo bombed by a local.
    mHSnV5E.jpg

ZG9RMVk.jpg

GfNAzRb.jpg

N9a429r.jpg?2

The barrow crossing 04/05/18
    IMAG12250_zpsiutbm0eu.jpg

The new Ross bypass 04/05/18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

40258402370_eb41fde4f0_b.jpg

40258409560_c130331845_b.jpg

40258402370_eb41fde4f0_b.jpg

40258409560_c130331845_b.jpg

Brilliant pics allthedoyles that second pic is pure class great work btw

Thanks M17. It shows the good progress been made at the Kilkenny side of the river .
    Hopefully we can soon see the same progress at the Wexford side , and shake hands in the middle of the river :)

Public asked to submit names for Ireland's longest (and tallest) bridge

The submission forms will be made available in late May or early June and completed submission forms should be addressed N25 New Ross Bypass Bridge Naming Submission, c/o Wexford County Council, New Ross Municipal District, The Tholsel, New Ross or c/o Kilkenny County Council, Piltown Municipal District, Ferrybank Area Office, Ferrybank, Co. Kilkenny.

Submission forms can also be posted or delivered to any Wexford County Council or Kilkenny County Council Office.

And the form can also be submitted by email to bridge@wexfordcoco.ie or bridge@kilkennycoco.ie

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/bridgey-mcbridgeface-public-asked-to-submit-names-for-irelands-longest-and-tallest-bridge-36893868.html

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Perhaps names could be suggested here (just for the craic).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

You can bet somebody will call it Bridgey McBridgeface.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

You can bet somebody will call it Bridgey McBridgeface.

Well, have you a better suggestion?

Brian Cody bridge... they were suggesting naming it after yet another Kennedy but the people of New Ross said enough is enough, the time of the bloody Kennedy's is well and truly past at this stage.

Part of the route has been updated by the satellite that Google uses.

G4KKaPr.jpg

I can understand that a lot of people would like a different name for the bridge and it would be good to move on, but I don't understand the 'bloody' bit.
    The Kennedys are still very fondly regarded in the area.

jca wrote: »
    Brian Cody bridge... they were suggesting naming it after yet another Kennedy but the people of New Ross said enough is enough, the time of the bloody Kennedy's is well and truly past at this stage.

Brian Cody Bridge might do from one side but not from the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,104 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

"The N25 New Ross Bypass Bridge" or "The Barrow Road Bridge"

why does it need a special name?

Forth Bridge
    Severn Bridge
    Golden Gate Bridge
    Øresund Bridge

they're all just named after what they do.

Brian Cody Bridge might do from one side but not from the other.

It was a joke Mr Moderator... I forgot to put a smiley face so the happy people on boards would get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Happy Dragon

"Barrow Bridge" has a nice ring to it.